Who will finish higher - North, Richmond or Collingwood?

Who will finish higher in 2017?

• North Melbourne

Votes: 76 17.6%
  • Richmond

Votes: 150 34.6%
  • Collingwood

Votes: 207 47.8%

Are you actually serious?

Yeah why sign a gun player when we could have some kid on our list who will most likely never make it :rolleyes:. Why even bother having anyone on your list who is over 28?

Makes sense to bring in 1 ageing player from another club. But not 3. We did it a while ago and we paid for it last year

Im not bypassing anything. Wells might be better in 2017 than X 18 year old, but unless Wells is taking you to a flag this year X is probably the better option for the club long term. I dont think Collingwood are in a position to challenge yet, and Wells isnt going to be in that premiership team.
Why doesn't every single club not in a premiership window just retire every 27+ year old player they have if they're not going to be in their prime during a flag tilt? I don't know about you but I don't like tanking - and that's exactly what playing an 18 year old unqualified player over Wells is.

How many times do Collingwood supporters need to reiterate this? Wells is not taking the place of a youngster. We have absolutely zero players on our list bar Varcoe (in some areas) who are anything like Daniel Wells. He is the only 30+ year old on our list, and in a sport where experience and mentoring is a 100% necessity, picking him up for free was a no-brainer.

Why doesn't every single club not in a premiership window just retire every 27+ year old player they have if they're not going to be in their prime during a flag tilt? I don't know about you but I don't like tanking - and that's exactly what playing an 18 year old unqualified player over Wells is.

How many times do Collingwood supporters need to reiterate this? Wells is not taking the place of a youngster. We have absolutely zero players on our list bar Varcoe (in some areas) who are anything like Daniel Wells. He is the only 30+ year old on our list, and in a sport where experience and mentoring is a 100% necessity, picking him up for free was a no-brainer.
Players already on your list are completely different to going out and paying big money to recruit one. And hes not free, he'll be using a list spot and cap room for 2-3 years

Cap space that the club are obligated to spend as part of the rules. Wells straight swap for Matthew Goodyear? Sign me up.

I think Wellsy will be great for the Pies. I hope his body stays right and he can have 1 or 2 more really good years. I rate the lists for this year as Pies, Tiges, North. Its the dawn of a new era with new club legends to be born out of the fire for North. I'm actually looking forward to it.

Wells isn't an outside mid. Of course he can get on the outside but as his pace has dropped off he has become much more of a contested player.
I don't think the club will be risking Wells too much in the middle - his frame is pretty much made of glass now. He's likely to play on the outside where he can gather the uncontested ball and create the play from the flanks I think.

I envisage him coming in more off the wings or a back flank for that outside ball. His pace has dropped off but he still has the step and creative flair. Plus he is an elite user.

I think that's the reason we brought him in. Stats show we are very efficient in the middle but it's not very accurate - we can't always trust Adams, Greenwood, Crisp or even Treloar to nail their targets. Wells does all the time. I'm really looking forward to seeing him play next year. I'm pretty keen to see how Josh Williams performs at North as well, him being the player you picked up with the compensation. I'm a fan of the draft, and you picked up a beauty.

His frame is fine. Its his calf/achillies that is his problem now. He has been managed since his plantar facia three or so years ago, followed by micro tears in his achillies and now a calf. If he can't get that right then he won't play anywhere. That said, if he can get it right then his best possie is on ball. His contested work is well underrated and he may finally get some public accolades for that now that he plays for the team sponsored by the Herald Sun.

I think that's the reason we brought him in. Stats show we are very efficient in the middle but it's not very accurate - we can't always trust Adams, Greenwood, Crisp or even Treloar to nail their targets. Wells does all the time. I'm really looking forward to seeing him play next year. I'm pretty keen to see how Josh Williams performs at North as well, him being the player you picked up with the compensation. I'm a fan of the draft, and you picked up a beauty.
Thanks mate. Its a good time at North for kids to make their name and I will be watching them all closely. Also you are right. That's the exact reason to get Wells in and I am 100% it will be a win-win.

His frame is fine. Its his calf/achillies that is his problem now. He has been managed since his plantar facia three or so years ago, followed by micro tears in his achillies and now a calf. If he can't get that right then he won't play anywhere. That said, if he can get it right then his best possie is on ball. His contested work is well underrated and he may finally get some public accolades for that now that he plays for the team sponsored by the Herald Sun.
He also struggled with Osteitis Pubis at the beginning of his career. I hear he was pushed to hard too early in junior days. But that is just speculatuon. I think this has lead a little to the feeling that he won't play unless he is 100%. The pies have the money and facilities to get him tip top. So we wait and see. He is massively under-rated by the Vic media. Are the pies offering a coaching role when he winds up ala Petrie at WC?

Yeah he was made to play through his OP which saw him struggling to get out of bed during the week. This certainly impacted his ability to play but that said Wellsy ain't one to push though the pain barrier later on in his time with us. He is well loved at Arden St but he frustrated a few at North in his time.

No idea re a coaching offer from the Pies but iwould doubt it very much given his personality.

Yeah he was made to play through his OP which saw him struggling to get out of bed during the week. This certainly impacted his ability to play but that said Wellsy ain't one to push though the pain barrier later on in his time with us. He is well loved at Arden St but he frustrated a few at North in his time.

No idea re a coaching offer from the Pies but iwould doubt it very much given his personality.
Looking back on the Laidley years. I just have to wonder what they were thinking. Our injury managment is woeful at times.

Reckon the Pies will finish 8 ladder positions higher than the best placed finisher out of Kangas and Tiges.

I agree North and Richmond won't be playing finals but it's a bit harsh to suggest they'll occupy the bottom 2 spots on the ladder.

There is it. The classic 'yoof' comment. That's what clubs like yours do and they don't win anything. Nah, if a youngster wants that spot, he'll earn it not have it gifted to him. Do some research, we don't even have anyone he's taking the spot of.
Yep, we copped the same shit for recruiting Dal, Waite, Higgins as free agents. People seemed to think we didn't still hit the draft.

God forbid a team trying to win a game of footy

This just has been 15 pages of tigers and Roos fans trying to troll each other....

Collingwood are going to struggle with having bugger all experienced key defenders In the team. their midfield is the only good thing about the side. The forward line? Any team with Jesse White and Chris Mayne in the forward line is not elite. I don't see them making finals.

Richmond are a strangle lot. Their Core is very good yet the rest of the 22 are plodders. Had they got a better coach than Hardwick then they should play finals every year. I see them the most likely to make finals out of the 3. They will finish anywhere between 5th-14th.

As For North....The Last time North has had a mediocre season was back in 1984 with 5 wins and 17 loses when they finished 2nd last They were top in 1983. Yet People bag out Freo for Being top in 2015 then drop to the bottom 4 in 2016. From 1985 onwards... The least amount of wins North has got in a season was 7.

North in 2016 look like Freo of 2015, AN ageing squad, a few guys have retired and a sharp decline is a possibility. They wont slide like freo in 2016. They will get between 7-10 wins.

That is just my opinion. I might be proven wrong and Richmond might finish bottom and North might go through the season undefeated.

I agree North and Richmond won't be playing finals but it's a bit harsh to suggest they'll occupy the bottom 2 spots on the ladder.
Yep, 8 spots higher is a fair leap unless you are suggesting the Pies will play finals

Wells isn't an outside mid. Of course he can get on the outside but as his pace has dropped off he has become much more of a contested player.

Some of Wells' best work was when winning his own ball but in recent times it increased his turnovers.

The see-ball-grab-ball-hack-ball-chaos instructions/gameplan left his outside game on the outer and probably partly why he left.

He didn't have the tank of Gibson or that double-edged free run from the opposition to utilize his preferred style.

As Gibson has showed you don't necessarily need pace or skill to play outside.
A targeted and professional game plan/dragging players that hack the ball too often/turn it over, would allow Wells to focus on his delivery/remaining uninjured and setting up his team.

Forcing Wells to play inside alongside a heavy midfield was asking for trouble.

North under Scott has never been able to set standards or create a professional instinct.

Systematic amateurism. They are more likely to laugh off stupidity and turnovers at training than do something about it.

The coaches lovechilds are some of the biggest culprits and the main reason why Brad will never have success no matter how proficient they become at chaotic mediocrity.

This just has been 15 pages of tigers and Roos fans trying to troll each other....
You say that like it's a bad thing?! ;)

Collingwood are going to struggle with having bugger all experienced key defenders In the team. their midfield is the only good thing about the side. The forward line? Any team with Jesse White and Chris Mayne in the forward line is not elite. I don't see them making finals.

Richmond are a strangle lot. Their Core is very good yet the rest of the 22 are plodders. Had they got a better coach than Hardwick then they should play finals every year. I see them the most likely to make finals out of the 3. They will finish anywhere between 5th-14th.

As For North....The Last time North has had a mediocre season was back in 1984 with 5 wins and 17 loses when they finished 2nd last They were top in 1983. Yet People bag out Freo for Being top in 2015 then drop to the bottom 4 in 2016. From 1985 onwards... The least amount of wins North has got in a season was 7.

North in 2016 look like Freo of 2015, AN ageing squad, a few guys have retired and a sharp decline is a possibility. They wont slide like freo in 2016. They will get between 7-10 wins.

That is just my opinion. I might be proven wrong and Richmond might finish bottom and North might go through the season undefeated.
Well, it might be 'just your opinion', but it's the second one of your opinions in a morning I find myself appreciating. Well said. :thumbsu:

I think you're right to point out our general competitiveness, insofar as we rarely drop right to the bottom reaches of the ladder. If 'Shinboner Spirit' counts for anything, I think this is part of it.

I've already commented in the 'Which team is in the most trouble age-wise' thread that I see our backline as being vulnerable with only Tarrant and Thompson holding down the KPD positions. We need one or more of Durdin, Nielson and even a shorter EVW to come good. I have confidence in the others, such as Macmillan, Wright, McDonald and (so long as he has the true defensive support around him, Atley). The additon of Marley Williams will be interesting. I haven't looked closely, but perhaps it's not as vulnerable as Collingwood's backline?

Our forward line isn't bad at all, and underrated (by afl.com.au at least, judging from the BF feedback). 2016 Petrie is no loss, and enables Wood and Daw guaranteed game time. Neither of them are rookies. Providing Waite's body holds up, he's an upgrade on Petrie and I think it's a safe bet Brown will continue to progress, and to step up from #3 to #2. If Garner and Turner stay fit, they provide defensive pressure to support the likes of Thomas and Higgins. In short, the forward line is, I think, a key strength.

The middle is where people see us dropping off most I think, and at a glance, that's fair enough. Harvey, Wells and Dal Santo gone. Outside class is the question mark; our inside mids, Swallow, Cunnington and Ziebell are up with the best (for their roles) but question marks on how the likes of Hrovat, Anderson, Dumont and Clarke go. Questions marks also on whether the likes of McDonald and/or Atley are used differently. Does Jy Simpkin get a go, sooner, rather than later? What impact might Mountford have? So, yes a short-term decline of some sort would seem to beckon. But how sharply, and for how long are the questions. I'm also hoping we can trade in a high quality OOC type into the middle and, in any case, Paul Ahern will be an injection into the 2018 team.