MRP / Trib. Hawkins 2 weeks, Duncan 1

Steve. I was lucky I got invited into the change rooms after round 1.
Steve approached us and asked who our favourite player was so I could meet them but I said Chappy and started asking why it was in our interests to let him go.
Asked a few questions but he may have got slightly irritated and was saying how Chappy was at fault etc etc. instead of talking about how good he was as a player it was just negativity from him.
Chappy had a few offside including Steve.

Yep. As did Jimmy. I suspect that watching Roo, Mitchell and Hodge all go in an adult and mature fashion out the door will have made both Chappy and Jimmy somewhat uncomfortable. Blind freddy could see Jimmy was cooked. Chappy I reckon had about one or two decent games for the bombers. Second year was a fiasco. He'd have been better to have settled at 8 games and retired a one club man. But I tell you he loves the Cats so much it hurts you can tell from what he says. So in the end no harm done. Same for Kel and my favourite Stokesy!!

Hock has made all the right calls so far I reckon. Would have liked a challenge and I'd like to understand a bit as to why not.

Don't think Kreuzer returned, to be fair.

Ideally, doctors are held in such high regard that they shouldn't be biased, but I think an independent 'third party' doctor to assist is not unreasonable.

Additionally, I think it'd be an idea to offer clubs a 'penalty free' tribunal review of ONE MRP call per year. A bit like the cricket or tennis.

True but he went around holding his shoulder which supports the suggestion he hurt his shoulder more than his head. The recovery according to someone who used to work at Carlton was focussed on the shoulder which he has had issues with begore. They did the concussion protocols but absolutely no issue.

A
But serious question - other than Papley talking on a Sunday footy show - what evidence can they introduce to suggest it was low rather than medium?

I get the whole thing is a farce made up by a dive and crap medical report - and im seething over it too - see the shit im spouting - but what can they show to prove low rather than medium - particularly in an environment that i predicated to guilt and appeal failure?

I dont see it but maybe ive missed something

GO Catters
Ask west coast they got Schofield off

I didn't think he was trolling. Just thought he was first to post we are not fighting the suspension on Mitch as we hadn't seen a formal statement from the club.

Go 49ers.

Yep it would seem you are correct and I unreservedly apologise for the slur. Daz is still onto them all. Actually is Daz the main moderator? The boss so to speak?

Sorry mate but it's not clear now. It's the inconsistency that is the main problem.
Which inconsistency are you talking about?

Hawkins it was a 3rd strike - that's why he gets extra.
Duncan's was right according to the evidence presented - should have been challenge down to LOW imo.
Merrett got done for 1 game.

If you are comparing these off-the-ball incidents to things like Buddy's spoil on Hodge - then I think the inconsistencies are with your comparisons.

I wondered when the trolls would come.

Remember big tough Tex jamming a guys head into a post then going ooops 'sorry I didn't mean it when I pushed your head into the post I was channeling Hodge coz he got away with it'.

I think I explained why I posted the info mate ... don't think calling me a troll is really necessary. If you want to discuss Tex, maybe not this thread - but he never jammed anyone's head into a post.

Last edited by a moderator:
True but he went around holding his shoulder which supports the suggestion he hurt his shoulder more than his head. The recovery according to someone who used to work at Carlton was focussed on the shoulder which he has had issues with begore. They did the concussion protocols but absolutely no issue.

Yeah, another good reason for independent doctors - even if they're alongside 'club' doctors.

Duncan's was right according to the evidence presented - should have been challenge down to LOW imo.

If you are comparing these off-the-ball incidents to things like Buddy's spoil on Hodge - then I think the inconsistencies are with your comparisons.

I think I explained why I posted the info mate ... don't think calling me a troll is really necessary. If you want to discuss Tex, maybe not this thread - but he never jammed anyone's head into a post.

giphy.gif

Martin was graded here as high contact and low impact, same as Hawkins. But Martin's was deemed 'careless' whereas Hawkins' was deemed 'intentional'.

I can't see how Martin's action was any less intentional than Hawkins' was.

Yeah, another good reason for independent doctors - even if they're alongside 'club' doctors.
I'm not sure the medical reports are a good thing at all. The injury sustained would have to pertain directly the action. So a player goes off concussed - that goes to the impact level. If a player is telling the doctor "it hurt where he punched me" and that is going into the report ... wtf?

We had Sloane reported last year for a mis-timed spoil on the bleeder that is Ebert, and the medical report put him out for a pretty important week (We dropped from 2nd to 5th by losing to WC in the last round) Ebert had taken a high hit earlier in the game, and was assessed for concussion but passed.

Any system that allows the opposition to put mayo on and directly improve their position (ie Sydney want top 4, and want Geelong's spot) I reckon it's a bad idea. If the reports are going to be used in the process - they should be able to be challenged.

giphy.gif

Martin was graded here as high contact and low impact, same as Hawkins. But Martin's was deemed 'careless' whereas Hawkins' was deemed 'intentional'.

I can't see how Martin's action was any less intentional than Hawkins' was.
Funny, it's mainly Geelong supporters that seem to see that one as an intentional strike. (Gerard Whateley was big on this)

I don't see a player trying to strike high there, it looks to me like he is swinging at the upper arm and slips over his shoulder.

Hawkins grabs a fistful of jumper and pushes his fist into Rampe's throat.

Funny, it's mainly Geelong supporters that seem to see that one as an intentional strike. (Gerard Whateley was big on this)

I don't see a player trying to strike high there, it looks to me like he is swinging at the upper arm and slips over his shoulder.

As hilarious as sniper Sloane breaking legs eh?

I'm in stitches...

Don't think Kreuzer returned, to be fair.

Ideally, doctors are held in such high regard that they shouldn't be biased, but I think an independent 'third party' doctor to assist is not unreasonable.

Additionally, I think it'd be an idea to offer clubs a 'penalty free' tribunal review of ONE MRP call per year. A bit like the cricket or tennis.

No he didn't but what I was saying was that if Carlton actually had something to play for, then he might have. Which in turn would have changed the outcome for Dangerfield.

It would be pretty easy for the club to turn the screws on the club doctor if it suited their agenda. Only have to look as far back as the Essendon drug saga to see how easily the club doctor was pushed aside.

If. Buts. Maybes.

It was a 'push' though and not a punch. What happens if a player aggressively fends off another player in the neck or gets them in the head. Do we rub them out too? Or a high mark results in a knee to another players head, thats a worse outcome than Hawkins pushing another player arguably in the shoulder area. Too many grey areas and its getting ridiculous. This is where its inconsistent because they could be classed as careless or intentional and high contact too.

Incredibly similar to the Hawkins one.
Very low force, debatable high contact, neither are particularly malicious.

Only differences are, Hawkins has Rampe's jumper Martin doesn't, Robertson actually reacts to his punch, Rampe doesn't, Martin has a wind up, Hawkins doesn't and Robertson absolutely deserves to be punched in the face, Rampe doesn't.

I thought it was an absolute joke at the time that Martin may be suspended for that.
After seeing this weeks decision, it's an absolute joke that he wasn't suspended.

Personally, I think the reason Martin got off had nothing to do with the Brownlow. I think the bullshit tactics of Robertson all game were the reason Dustin got off. Robbo deserved that little clip, and much much more IMO.

Good luck for the remainder of the season guys and girls ... time for me leave. After posting some missing info about your club, I get called a troll and have posters throwing insults re: Tex and Sloane? :(

Insults? He broke somebody's leg.

Don't let the door hit you on your way out.

Let me get this correct.

Martin runs up to a player from behind and swings his arm across the player hitting him in the throat and it's deemed as careless and low impact? What is careless about planning methodically to walk up to a player and smack him in the neck??

Seems as intentional as intentional can get.

Careless would be a Hawkins scenario with two players jumper punching in the moment and the tension is high and one hit gets a little high. Not a player planning to run up to another from behind and smack him in the threat...

That is the very definition of planned to the bone and not at all definition of careless which is a silly unintentional act

Fair enough. But don't call me mate.

Hang on I take it back.

I don't recall seeing any footage of Hawkins hitting Rampe's throat, whereas this clearly shows Martin hitting the Lions player in the head.

MRP / Trib. Hawkins 2 weeks, Duncan 1