Competitions 2018 Phantom Draft

Count me out, just not healthy enough at the moment.
No problem. :thumbsu:

I'll take over:

I'll start with bidding Essendon's Pick 34 on Bailey Scott, over to you Donstuie

Bailey's an inside mid who does a fair bit of damage on the outside with a solid burst of pace and extremely sharp kicking. Looks to hit them low and flat with power, meaning the ball will go to where it needs to as fast as possible, which is a terrifying prospect for any opposition defensive zones. Unfortunately given his still skinny frame, this means he often fails to do much more than scrub them along the ground when he's slightly off balance as he kicks, but that's something that can be ironed out with skills training and coaching up his game sense.

Captain for the Allies at the Championships, he really dug in throughout the Championships and was as prolific as anyone can be in 80-odd minutes of football, average nearly 23.5 disposals, nearly 5 marks, 4 tackles and kicked 5 goals across the 4 games. North will snap him up, and give him time to develop his skinny frame.

Another bid with Essendon's now Pick 35: Jarrod Cameron, SkyhorseTamer

Will cost picks 57 and 70, and 104 points of your future 2nd round pick.

Cameron was one I was looking at to inject some intelligence into Essendon's forward line. He's an out-and-out traditional small forward, who is clever with his leads and has the athleticism to get over the top of his opponents in the air and on the ground.

Smart and hard working, he'll help unlock things for a West Coast forward line that probably lacks a little zip when the ball hits the deck. Like his brother Charlie, he can work up the ground to assist well, but probably has a game style more reminiscent of Eddie Betts.

Another bid with Essendon's Pick 36: Connor McFadyen, Blugazi

It'll cost you 37 and 75, returning 36 and 58.

Rest assured everyone, I'll be doing additional write-ups for these guys as well, I'm definitely not stalling for time... :smilingimp:

Connor is someone who has a very ungainly look about him at 190 cms, and with his attributes, you typically see players who just wind up being very ordinary kick-mark players who do next to no damage at AFL level. What separates him from this cluster of mediocrity is the same thing that separates him from his opponents: his initial power and speed off the mark to swoop on the ball in the air and on the ground, and his agility to escape the contest with the football and snap at goal or to the leading player.

Projects as an inside mid who can rest forward and do serious damage (yes, I'm aware how much he sounds like Dangerfield), he clearly makes quick and smart decisions whenever the ball is within (or about to be within) 5 metres of him. He'll go a bit earlier than this at the draft, perhaps even as the second academy bid after Blakey, in the 10-30 range.

In fact, Blugazi has previously PM'ed me that preference, and will match (or already did as I prepared this post).

I'd actually like to bid for Will Kelly here too because he's another that'll probably be off the board, but HARKER's a cheeky shit and probably won't match for the sake of discussion, but in the spirit of that I'll just make a controversial live pick:

Pick 37 - Essendon - Kyle Reid

I've been somewhat targeting players that can allow Essendon to further bolster their midfield mix both directly and indirectly, with the value presenting in midfield players who play the game in a hurry and with power, as well as looking at Cameron who is a very smart forward that will work teams over with his tenacity and smarts.

Despite Butters and Taylor still being on the board, I don't feel they offer enough production as midfield prospects to bother considering. Instead, I'm going with the U18 All-Australian key defender in Kyle Reid.

Kyle's not exceptional at one thing, and at 193 cms he's not the typical modern full back, but he is extremely composed and does a lot of things at approaching an elite level. I see him as an intercepting CHB who will slowly start to take the game on as he realises exactly how talented he is, as evidenced by some games in the TAC where he's taken 7 or more marks and distributed the footy well for Gippsland.

Should be able to play as a medium defender from day 1, and offers a safe option for the Bombers, who can then release their glut of defensive runners and free-wheeling half-forwards to open things up a lot more. With his untapped versatility and smarts, he may even be able to transition into the midfield over time, further evidenced by some reportedly good endurance results at the combine.

Over to you gandaal

Jim those pick changes don't look right
By matching, they take pick 36 in the draft, and the points are deducted from pick 37, the remainder of which has enough points to buy into pick 58 at the draft.

Having only paid with a fragment of a pick, their last pick has to be deleted, so it in effect costs them pick 75. That it looks like an upgrade to you simply reflects the on-going discount.

There are three or four players I'd like at this pick. I'll go with the one who's least likely to make it through to my next pick. Plus he probably should be off the board at this point.

Pick 38: St Kilda--Zac Butters
Very skinny, but he's a very effective player with a bit of x factor about him, and continues to help me with my mission to add some character and flair to a very boring Saints list.

Butters reminds me of a young Marc Murphy, but probably lacks the proven and consistent ability to play midfield that Marc had. He's not a speed demon but he has good burst speed and evasiveness that buys him time. He has excellent vision and seems a good user of the ball.

In fact, Blugazi has previously PM'ed me that preference, and will match (or already did as I prepared this post).

I'd actually like to bid for Will Kelly here too because he's another that'll probably be off the board, but HARKER's a cheeky shit and probably won't match for the sake of discussion, but in the spirit of that I'll just make a controversial live pick:

Pick 37 - Essendon - Fraser Turner (Clarence)

I've been somewhat targeting players that can allow Essendon to further bolster their midfield mix both directly and indirectly (though the value has been there), and Turner is no exception.

Played on the wing for the Allies, being one of the four highly-touted Tassie kids this year, and basically ran everyone off their feet with his speed/endurance mix. Unfortunately this dominant display of athleticism and accumulation of possession meant that there were a few tired kicks, but his ability on the outside was basically unmatched throughout the Championships, averaging 23 possessions, 5 marks and nearly a goal a game.

What also stands out about Turner is a quick and clean set of hands, further underlined by how he balances himself before firing out a handball, or just in how he maintains his balance when pressured. This clean ball use showed up in his handball efficiency stats for the Allies and Tassie, which were apparently almost 90% (credit to AFL Draft Central for that stat). The best part of all these attributes is that he uses them to take the game on, and when he can't, he uses them to give that opportunity to a team mate.

With his speed, spread and read around the stoppage and his size at 186 cms, he looks to have a frame to build on that would play as an extremely balanced midfielder who can change roles at will. Essendon could use more genuinely strong bodies in midfield, and Turner is an extremely dynamic option at this point in the draft.

Over to you gandaal

By matching, they take pick 36 in the draft, and the points are deducted from pick 37, the remainder of which has enough points to buy into pick 58 at the draft.

Having only paid with a fragment of a pick, their last pick has to be deleted, so it in effect costs them pick 75. That it looks like an upgrade to you simply reflects the on-going discount.
Hey, Jimmae all of these delays seem to have frazzled you, check your Phantom Tracker, I took Turner a while ago.

There are three or four players I'd like at this pick. I'll go with the one who's least likely to make it through to my next pick. Plus he probably should be off the board at this point.

Pick 38: St Kilda--Zac Butters
Very skinny, but he's a very effective player with a bit of x factor about him, and continues to help me with my mission to add some character and flair to a very boring Saints list.

Butters reminds me of a young Marc Murphy, but probably lacks the proven and consistent ability to play midfield that Marc had. He's not a speed demon but he has good burst speed and evasiveness that buys him time. He has excellent vision and seems a good user of the ball.

Steal this late was hoping he would get through to Bulldogs. Same thoughts with the comparison to Murphy.

Hey, Jimmae all of these delays seem to have frazzled you, check your Phantom Tracker, I took Turner a while ago.
Ah ffs...

I guess my pick is Kyle Reid, I'll edit the write-up in.

I'll leave my thoughts on Turner here for others to read:

Played on the wing for the Allies, being one of the four highly-touted Tassie kids this year, and basically ran everyone off their feet with his speed/endurance mix. Unfortunately this dominant display of athleticism and accumulation of possession meant that there were a few tired kicks, but his ability on the outside was basically unmatched throughout the Championships, averaging 23 possessions, 5 marks and nearly a goal a game.

What also stands out about Turner is a quick and clean set of hands, further underlined by how he balances himself before firing out a handball, or just in how he maintains his balance when pressured. This clean ball use showed up in his handball efficiency stats for the Allies and Tassie, which were apparently almost 90% (credit to AFL Draft Central for that stat). The best part of all these attributes is that he uses them to take the game on, and when he can't, he uses them to give that opportunity to a team mate.

With his speed, spread and read around the stoppage and his size at 186 cms, he looks to have a frame to build on that would play as an extremely balanced midfielder who can change roles at will.

Well then.

Decided to go with Clark at Richmond's first because he was my clear best available and one of the inside mids I want will surely be there at my next pick.

Or not.

Ely Smith? Nope.
Xavier O’Halloran? Nope.
Luke Foley? Nope.
Jack Bytel? Nope.
Connor McFadyen? Nope.

And then deviating from that, somehow Butters lasts all the way to 38 only to be snatched from me by gandaal? **** you. :p

With pick 39 Richmond select James Rowbottom.

Clearly not the inside mid I was after but think this is around his range.

Strong mid who needs to work on his skills but from all reports a really dedicated kid.

Might not play straight away but suits the Tigers as he’s tough and quick and they can develop him to be a part of that next wave of midfield talent coming through.

ScottoP up next.

Pick 44: Bid - Kieren Briggs 200cm 98kg, 6/10/99, Pennant Hills/NSW (GWS Academy) Ruck

Easily the best ruck at the U18 Nationals. Does everything and more that you'd hope from a ruck including tackling and smothering. Also knows exactly what he's doing when resting in a forward pocket.

Over to you Coona Blues

Competitions 2018 Phantom Draft