Autopsy Autopsy: North Melbourne vs Fremantle: Round 1, 2019 - 82 point L (59-141) (No opposition posters)

What was interesting at the game was that there appeared to be a lot less North fans than in previous years. And plenty of them muttering that they'd had about enough of watching North in Perth (I know we won here last year), the general sentiment was that we generally get trounced.
Can't help thinking our FIFO approach to playing in Perth, with no training and virtually zero supporter engagement (no opportunities to get pics and signatures for kids) is having a real impact on our WA support.
Supporters, and especially kids, want to be able to meet their heroes.

What was interesting at the game was that there appeared to be a lot less North fans than in previous years. And plenty of them muttering that they'd had about enough of watching North in Perth (I know we won here last year), the general sentiment was that we generally get trounced.
Can't help thinking our FIFO approach to playing in Perth, with no training and virtually zero supporter engagement (no opportunities to get pics and signatures for kids) is having a real impact on our WA support.

We're not exactly getting spoiled over here either.

None of that shit matters though scotty.

We don't support pokies, have a shitload of community service awards in the cabinet, and we develop great young men.

The actual football side of things is a secondary matter.

I'm going to re-watch the horror tomorrow night, because its clearly a deeply intrinsic issue for our 2019 game plan - I saw so many contests that we just did not have numbers for, and we had bad match-ups and late arrivals all over the field.

We ****ed up.

The worst part of yesterday was that it didn't provoke a sound in anger out of me.

Years of empty words and inconsistent behaviour have become so endemic at Arden Street that the normal spontaneous thrills and disappointments were snuffed out of something I normally love.

There were enjoyable and deplorable moments within the game. But things stayed numb. Maybe because the JLT never struck me as merely some masterful "keeping powder dry" exercise and yesterday validated that suspicion.

Every year now just runs to the same basic script. We temporarily bounce back when expectations are lifted and then just as predictably shit the bed once they raise again.

The club's board proclaim Brad as the right man for the job. Brad proclaims his belief in his leaders. His leaders declare the playing group are hurt and can't wait to atone. If we're lucky someone mentions "Shinboner". The club spruiks some generic Rocky Balboaesque always fighting rhetoric.

And then things collapse again. More empty declarations of belief in the process and an approach of clinical objectivity. Rarely any sincere feelings of hurt or atonement. Certainly not since Boomer hopped off the list. Just empty words from a man and a group who seemed to have kidded themselves that human psychology and achievement can be boiled down to a sterile process that can be started up and left running reliably like a machine, as if opponents and conditions will never ever expose a flaw in the approach - even when they do.

The best thing i have seen written on this debacle.

its not the 70's, 80's or even 90's and we are certainly putting up no Carey type players that the kids in the schoolyard try to copy or following that club because of one of our players.

People now have a lot of options to follow in sport, entertainment and will sure not waste their precious time turning up to see a team that isn't on their way to winning a thing.

What struck me the most about this game on a personal note was that I felt more offended than angry. Over the last couple of years I have felt more distant and dispassionate about the club, so much so that my attendance rata is diminishing.

I don't care if we win next week as it means nothing as we all know how the year will end.

Once Scott goes, hopefully it will return but right now, I have emptied out my locker and looking to put my time and energy elsewhere.

It was a few years back, either post-game vs hawks or when he was a wce assistant coach. It stuck in my mind.

Yeah that's a great note. Thanks for sharing.

All successful organisations realise you need different leaders for different times.

Let's cast our mind back to when Brad started. We'd barely staved off death as a club. That we'd make it to 2019 was by no means a given. We had big debt, we still had shit buggery nothing at Arden Street, and we needed a complete and utter reset of the playing list post Laidley.

Brad was undoubtedly the right man for the job THEN. He came in and immediately stamped a sense of identity on the place. Publicly saying "Shinboner Spirit" wouldn't get us anywhere and we needed the mindset of an elite athletic organisation was the right thing at the time. Utah was the right thing at the time.

Brad did a great job in bringing guys like Ziebell and Cunners through and making them North men. Brad did a great job in creating a tight player culture that meant we didn't lose anyone during the great GC/GWS recruiting raids, and they went hard at blokes we could ill afford to lose at the time (Goldy and Spitta especially). Brad did brilliantly in taking on free agency and delivering us winners like like Higgo and Waitey.

Brad did so much for this club - and really in 2016, when a flag was there to be jagged, we were right there in the mix before injury struck. You need a lot of luck to win a flag and it just didn't go our way.

But NOW, the club is a different beast. For the first time we're debt free, we have our own VFL team, an AFLW team, we'll be achieving Caro's pipedream of playing games out of Arden Street. Arden Street itself is undergoing its SECOND major development since Brad arrived. The club is a vastly different place since he arrived, and for the better and for that Brad Scott deserves enormous credit.

Short of winning a premiership, Brad has done more for this footy club than any other coach (remembering we've only ever had two premiership winning coaches).

It is glaringly obvious we won't - short some massive turnaround in mindset and execution - win a flag under Brad. I reckon had we had Richmind 2017-18 injury luck in 2016, we would have gone deeeeep into those finals and could well have snagged one, but we didn't, so whatevs.

Time to recognise what Brad did, he took a club that was down and out, had barely survived death, and he put it in a position where we can win flags.

Does the list right now have the cattle to win the flag this year? Probably not but footy is a very funny game and changes quickly - it certainly has the cattle to play the second and even third week of finals, and half the work of winning a grand final is making one. Get there and anything can happen in the day.

But we need someone who is a far better tactical coach, someone far more more ruthless with selection, someone who knows you don't have to be an martinet type who screams at players, but also have the ability to get the most out of young men. Chris Fagan appears t be doing it very well.

I wonder what would have happened 18 months so so ago if Brad had gone to the Gold Coast and we got the Dewosaurus. Honestly, I reckon both sides would be better off for that.

In theory there could be an arrangement where someone else comes in as that "match coach" and Brad stays round to do the other side of things, but that wouldn't work in principle. Brad's been here too long

I hope someone quotes this post back to me in late September and I have to again thank my lucky stars that I follow Viz top tips and always keep a ready supply of pastry hats in my freezer to warm up and eat, but I very much doubt it.

We need to be very tough as an organisation - as a club - here and remember that what we do is win premierships. Everything else is secondary.

We've put the club on a stable financial footing, we've made the cultural change to a proper elite sporting organisation, we've expanded through to the VFL and now AFLW. Brad has been a huge part of that.

If some new coach came along and won a flag in 2021, entirely possible IMO, the list doesn't need a proper rebuild, Brad would get huge credit for the role he played in creating the conditions where that flag was possible. He won't be on the podium, but really, life's full of situations where people did huge amounts of hard work to create success that someone else gets the public adulation for.

Doesn't mean the hard work isn't valuable.

What we have to do know is recognise the Scott Era is over, and celebrate what he did for this club - he's a giant of our footy club. He arrived at a joint playing out of portables, a list that had Laidley plodders all through it, and a culture that was standing around dazed like civilians in Berlin emerging from a bomb shelter in May 1945.

He's produced a brilliant culture - we keep players and our players don't appear on the front page of the Hun with a crack pipe in their mouth and everyone who comes here from another club says the same positive things.

Brad's actually done his job for the North Melbourne Football Club. He didn't get a flag but then hey, as I said, only two people have in the VFL/AFL era.

Time to let someone else build on the work you did Brad. It won't be forgotten.

Its round 1 and last time we had a start to the season like this under Scotts (2015) it was only the umps paying more dodgy frees to WC than they actually won by that kept us out of what would have been a winnable granny by seasons end.

Yesterday was a disgrace, not because of the first half, where we lost but the second, where we gave up.

That's a good read btw and I'm not saying I disagree with it either but this season isn't over at all and its a bit sad the way people are giving up on like Mase does on a contest.

What struck me the most about this game on a personal note was that I felt more offended than angry. Over the last couple of years I have felt more distant and dispassionate about the club, so much so that my attendance rata is diminishing.

I don't care if we win next week as it means nothing as we all know how the year will end.

Once Scott goes, hopefully it will return but right now, I have emptied out my locker and looking to put my time and energy elsewhere.

This is the sort of shit that makes me angry.

It's nothing to do with your standpoint BE, I completely understand and somewhat share it. it's that we have rusted on supporters than are being pushed to the brink because of the club in spite of itself.

It’s a shame. One of my brothers lives in Perth (north man of course) sent me a pic before the bounce and was full of hope. I sent him a message of sorrow at half time and he replied “at least I won’t have to fight my way out afterwards like a WC game!”
We have some die hards in the west who sit with those hillbillies every time we play there. It’d be nice to see the club honour their support.
In fact it would be great to have someone from the club speaking only and always for the fans and someone from the coaching department speaking only and always about grand finals

We set the record straight this weekend. Nothing else will do. No excuses. Thompson will be back, Tarrant will be good for the run. The rest of the team will be chastened. Bailey ‘s on a high. Cunnington is mercifully off the hook. Let’s not talk any more of yesterday’s horrible happening.

EVW season is over with an ACL. I don't want to see him back on the park while he has chicken legs, he needs to put on some muscle to support his joints and he has to focus on staying on his feet at contests rather than go to ground as much as he does, he has the grace of a newborn Giraffe. I feel sorry for the kid because he can play. He needs the Ahern strength and conditioning regime now.
Just when you think you have read the worst post of the year something always comes along to top it.

I suppose Jon Patton has done three knees as his legs were not thick set enough?

Brendan Goddard next coach at least he would show some passion after a pathetic performance like that

I concur

A team of finger pointing seagulls would have lost by 76 points yesterday

And at the end they all would have cried to show some real passion

Great post!