Autopsy vs Snort Powder

My thoughts:

- Larkey showed some potential tonight.... How Campbell was played ahead of him is beyond me
- TT looked nice and looking forward to seeing him develop
- Turner and Zuhaar tried their guts out with their pressure
- Woods confidence in kicking for goal is shot.... Do we have a club psychologist to help with the yips? LT all over again with the set shots
- Pittard battles is bloody heart out.... Makes mistakes but far from our worst and takes the game on. Loved the long sleeves.... Needs more
- Lmac was not terrible but border line negligence to out him out there on one leg. See what he can do as a pure defensive stopper for the rest of the year
- Jmac should never pull on the jumper again
- Wright battles hard but the ankle injuries have taken their toll. Just hasn't got speed anymore. I'll always remember that brilliant intercept mark in the elimination final against the bombers which changed the momentum of the game in the 3rd quarter
- Hrovat deserved a call up based on his form in the VFL but he buggered up his opportunity
- Scoreline flattered.... Port took their foot off the gas and everything was junk time. Off the bottom of the ladder I guess
- Something wrong with BBB..... Just not looking up to it atm.... The decline in form has been shocking
- Forwards just have no concept of bringing the ball to ground in the forward 50 if they can't mark it..... Ppl ask why the crumbers aren't doing anything in the f50 but they need the ball to hit the deck to have an impact. Port was intercept marking all night long
- Cunners a gun, can understand his frustration
- Jed is a jet.... Sets the example so many other senior players dont

Cunnington put Ebert off the ground and when the player is actually sore they apply the 'potential to cause injury' clause which is subjective, but they do apply it consistently to head high elbows.

Not a chance he gets off with low impact.

Medium impact, careless, head high is 2 down to 1 and the best we can hope for. It could be graded as intentional, although I think less likely because he didn't set eyes on him and it wasn't actually behind the play. But throwing an elbow behind you with a player coming at you 100% fits the definition of careless.

Fine for the gut punch.

You're kidding yourself if you think he won't go for it. Reverse the jumper colours for a second and try to look at it objectively. Wouldn't be a person here calling it "nothing" if Ebert had elbowed Cunnington.

Using the MRP guidelines:
"Impact: Notwithstanding any other part of these guidelines, any Careless or Intentional strike which is of an inherently dangerous kind and/or where there is a potential to cause serious injury (such as a strike with a raised elbow or forearm) will usually not be classified as Low Impact even though the extent of the actual physical impact may be low. Such strikes will usually be classified at a higher level commensurate with the nature and extent of the risk of serious injury involved. "
Kidding yourself. It was an accident. Wasn’t even looking at him.

I think we need to bring Atley back into the forward 50, he was playing good footy for us there last year, we don't really need his stop, go back over the line and wait an eternity footy down back when there is room in front of him, he plays timid footy down back.

Totally disagree on this Tas. I reckon Atley is playing at least 3 times better this season off half-back than he did last season at half-forward. I'm almost certain he's top 3 in our BnF right now.

And he's been anything but timid; completely the opposite, in fact. I'd say he's right up there in our score involvements this season and has been taking the game on a lot more.

Plus, he's finding the pill more. His possessions the last 4 weeks: 25, 21, 22, 27. They're midfield numbers!

Cunnington put Ebert off the ground and when the player is actually sore they apply the 'potential to cause injury' clause which is subjective, but they do apply it consistently to head high elbows.

Not a chance he gets off with low impact.

Medium impact, careless, head high is 2 down to 1 and the best we can hope for. It could be graded as intentional, although I think less likely because he didn't set eyes on him and it wasn't actually behind the play. But throwing an elbow behind you with a player coming at you 100% fits the definition of careless.

Fine for the gut punch.

You're kidding yourself if you think he won't go for it. Reverse the jumper colours for a second and try to look at it objectively. Wouldn't be a person here calling it "nothing" if Ebert had elbowed Cunnington.

Using the MRP guidelines:
"Impact: Notwithstanding any other part of these guidelines, any Careless or Intentional strike which is of an inherently dangerous kind and/or where there is a potential to cause serious injury (such as a strike with a raised elbow or forearm) will usually not be classified as Low Impact even though the extent of the actual physical impact may be low. Such strikes will usually be classified at a higher level commensurate with the nature and extent of the risk of serious injury involved. "

Cunners tried to hit him to the body with his left elbow and the bloke ran right into the right accidentally. Play on!

While our current forward line is shithouse - we have managed to look like doing something for 3-4 years time with Larkey, Thomas, Zurhaar. Turner doesn't need to do nearly as much as he is currently required and can play a true defensive forward role with those 3 up there.

The sooner we can get Will Walker and Curtis Taylor us to scratch, the better. They are modern half forwards that can push up the ground and find the ball coming back. We have no one that can play that role atm, maybe barring Thomas.

Haha, fair enough, I just don't reckon we are in as bad a spot as many on here do.
Footy is a funny game, it can change so quickly. Never forget that Clarkson was 1 minute away from being sacked when Sam Mitchell laid that tackle to beat Richmond in the last minute and saved his career. Hardwick was a dead man walking and then won a flag. Buckley a few years ago it was a 50/50 as to whether it was sack or extend. Scott may or may not be the right guy, but I still back the boys in, I think we have the players, just not quite all clicking yet.

Go Roos
Give him another decade and see if we can crack a top four finish.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Gotta be f***ing kidding me.

Alright. So when Zurhaar, Goldstein and Tarryn Thomas all miss from point blank, does that make the team as a whole shit?
Never said we were world-beaters. Just made the point that we shoot ourselves in the foot with our goal kicking. Not exactly rocket science, even the commentators pointed that out mate.

Biggest fallacy is to think we made a “belated surge to cover the cracks”

We had very good periods of the match throughout the night and should have been closer, we just didn’t capatilise on it.
The last quarter we actually got reward for our 15 dominant minutes. 5 goals for it, instead of the 2 we mustered when we dominated for 15 minutes in the 3rd quarter and parts of the 2nd where we got nothing

No. Underneath the colours was though, and then came shabooh shabah. I only credited 1981 for the loved one. First album was OK though.
Descrip

All three were classics; throw in Listen like.... I had a love hate with Kick...Welcome to Wherever was their best work

Biggest fallacy is to think we made a “belated surge to cover the cracks”

We had very good periods of the match throughout the night and should have been closer, we just didn’t capatilise on it.
The last quarter we actually got reward for our 15 dominant minutes. 5 goals for it, instead of the 2 we mustered when we dominated for 15 minutes in the 3rd quarter and parts of the 2nd where we got nothing

Coulda woulda...shoulda

2019 mantra

Totally disagree on this Tas. I reckon Atley is playing at least 3 times better this season off half-back than he did last season at half-forward. I'm almost certain he's top 3 in our BnF right now.

And he's been anything but timid; completely the opposite, in fact. I'd say he's right up there in our score involvements this season and has been taking the game on a lot more.

Plus, he's finding the pill more. His possessions the last 4 weeks: 25, 21, 22, 27. They're midfield numbers!

All of our defenders are getting a lot more of the ball this year when it is in our defensive half for 3/4 of the game. That isn't necessarily a positive unless we are actually defending well and clearing it out of our defensive 50 effectively.

I dunno, I just didn't remember seeing any memorable passage of play that involved an Atley disposal. He averaged 11.2m with each of his disposals which is about half that of Thompson. It feels like we are using Phar Lap to pull a milk cart. His defensive stats are fairly average and we don't seem to be getting much run out of him, our back line looks stagnant and he doesn't gun it when there is room in front of him.

Guys, we were actually ok tonight.
We lost Higgins before the match, which is a huge out. They may have lost Jonas but our talls are nowhere near as dangerous as Port's mids, so we were hurt by that more than they were.
I'm telling you, we keep shooting ourselves in the foot when we blow our chances early in games. They kicked 2 out of their arse, and we missed simple chances, as well dropping bloody chest marks on MULTIPLE occasions 20m out directly in-front. It absolutely drains us when we get so close and then just lack the finish at the end.
When you think about the night rationally, there were actually very few players who were poor tonight. The boys responded.
Hrovat struggled, but he's not meant to be in the team, Wright is underdone and Marley needs to be in there. Apart from that, ill give you that Macmillan was average and Polec wasn't at his best but everyone else was actually quite good.
Everyone needs to be a bit lenient with Hall, he's not there to be our crack in contested ball winner, we got him for outside run. He kicked 2 goals!! Thats actually a decent output. Goldstein was solo rucking against Ryder and Lycett and absolutely won that battle. 21 disposals and 33 hit outs (should have had a goal).
I for one was REALLY impressed by Thomas and Larkey, both really showed up tonight. Ziebell responded like we thought, 24 and 2 goals is a seriously good game. Cunners was Cunners and Luke McDonald showed a bit of that fight that we have all desperately been hoping would come back. To keep playing was a warrior like performance, and he was definitely our best defensive player along with Atley.
I didn't put Brown in there because lets face it, we aren't doing him any favours in terms of how we deliver it to him. I agree, he needs to make more of a contest and change it up a bit, but constantly kicking to 2 on 1's is hard for him.
Even though LDU can be a bit frustrating when he gets caught, I absolutely love that he doesn't care and keeps taking the game on. He's going to be a player, has all the tools, just needs to time.
Also shout-out to Atley, he's having his best year. Just feel so safe when he has the ball. 25 touches at 88% efficiency, I reckon he can feature prominently in the B&F.
All in all, I think the scoring shot differential is a bit misleading, we were right in this for the whole game, bar that 10 minute patch in the 2nd quarter. We are just lacking that little bit of polish, as well as badly needing BJ in that midfield.
All in all, I was ready to write us off before the game, even sent a message saying that I'd give them one last chance tonight, but afterwards, I'm not as down on the boys as I thought I might!

I'll have what he's having.

Alright. So when Zurhaar, Goldstein and Tarryn Thomas all miss from point blank, does that make the team as a whole shit?
Never said we were world-beaters. Just made the point that we shoot ourselves in the foot with our goal kicking. Not exactly rocket science, even the commentators pointed that out mate.
We are light years off Geelong 2008.