25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
It would also leave us a lot of money tied up in an old, slow, washed up midfield when Max King is hitting his peak.
I wouldn't worry about the contracts. The banker will get it sorted. Front-ending is always there.

Our midfield is a weakness so if we can improve it we should. Good sides take the opportunity to sign good players.

There is no merit in bringing in someone who will be 29 next year for 4 years on 700k plus.

We need to start bringing in mids who match the age profile of the forward and backline lines. Not load up on more mids who we will be paying big money for in their 30s.
Getting gun mids in that age group is very difficult. Cerra will cost a fortune and might not actually be as good as Parker.

It would also leave us a lot of money tied up in an old, slow, washed up midfield when Max King is hitting his peak.
What’s your better idea for giving us a premiership winning midfield anytime soon?

And who are you referring to there?

Hannebery has just one more year on what was presumably a front-ended deal, that has reportedly been voluntarily reduced, while Parker is showing no signs of being “washed up”.

So only one guy sort of fits into your description there and he’s most likely going to be gone and off our books in 12 months.

Who else fits that description in our midfield?

I’d be fine with offering him 4 years. It’s far from unusual for guys like him to still be playing very good footy at 33yo, so that’s a potential 4 year window, and we need to well-and-truly be looking to seriously contend within that timeframe.

We finished 5th last year, despite fielding the 3rd youngest team each week on average, and could be so much more ready to contend next year than we were then (thanks to the additions of Crouch, Higgins, Sharman and Highmore, plus with King, Byrnes, Bytel and Connolly not being the babies they were then, with a couple more preseasons into Clark and Coffield, and with any more additions, like a Parker and/or Talia, but one thing we look to be really lacking in is experience and leadership, so it would make a significant amount of sense to me to grab a guy like Parker.

Especially for just cap space.

He would tick a lot of boxes and we could be contending immediately if we had him.

Then in 3 or 4 years just grab another one like him, like Geelong do. Rinse and repeat.

Imagine potentially adding Parker, Gresham, Ryder, Clark, Billings, Paton, maybe a Talia, and a top 10 pick, to the team we finished the year off so strongly with (being the only team to beat Sydney in the last 8 weeks, spanking Geelong until Max went down, and then smacking a top 8 contending Freo)!

We look an outside mid down to me. We have a lot of guys who play in close but not much on the outside. Especially with Hill down back and potentially losing Billings.

Interesting but there is zero noise about Bing interested in leaving and nominating us - I’d love it I just can’t see it unfortunately and you’d think we might have even heard an article about him weighing up his future if he was by now?. I think he’ll re-sign and stay put sadly. Ladhams might be ok from that bunch for ruck support
Otherwise think we are hitting the draft
We are keen on 2-3. Nothing major and not Bing this off season.

potentially 1 free agent.

Do you think we’re all good in that department? I reckon ours overall would have to be in the conversation for the worst in the league, and if you don’t think it’s important (especially if you want to be contending) you’d be kidding yourself.
I think its very easy to trot out the leadership line , Why do you say its so bad , No not a hunch , Proof
The leadership was fine when we beat Sydney and the Lions , so when we lose its all because of leadership is it ,,, Bull

Might stop us paying overs to kids who aren't earning it yet.

I wouldn't worry about the contracts. The banker will get it sorted. Front-ending is always there.

Our midfield is a weakness so if we can improve it we should. Good sides take the opportunity to sign good players.

If we lose Seb and Dunny we go backwards no matter how people rate them. That would cover the loss of experience.

Contract length and price in comparison to everyone else on the list always need to be considered.

Good club dont just sign everyone on big contracts because they are available. They consider the age profile of the rest of the list and who we have already playing certain positions at certain price points.

We are already committed to Steele and Crouch as mid/late 20s inside mids on good sized contracts. Neither are particularly quick but make up for it with their inside work. We dont need to bring in another of that type who is older, going to make us slower and on more money than both. We would be paying a premium to then move one of our already higher paid mids out of their ideal position for portions of the game because we need someone with different attributes starting in the centre square as well. If we are going to bring in a big money midfielder, they need to have traits that compliment when we have already committed too, not just double up on them. We need someone who brings something different - whether that is speed, being a goal kicking mid, elite kicking skills etc.

And we need to start bringing in mids who will be peaking at the same time as King. We are on his timeline.

Might stop us paying overs to kids who aren't earning it yet.
King just got a big deal.

clark and Coffield signed on again for more but not overs.

I think Highmore needs a new deal. Can’t see that breaking the bank.

not sure we are paying overs to kids anymore.

Jones may get paid well however.

the other one I’ve heard is Rhylee West. That could be to any of a few clubs though.
Not sure if you are joking.

but he is one that I have heard aswell.

wouldn’t be surprised if we had Naish training with us. I think Libba liked Him a lot in his draft year.

There is no merit in bringing in someone who will be 29 next year for 4 years on 700k plus.

We need to start bringing in mids who match the age profile of the forward and backline lines. Not load up on more mids who we will be paying big money for in their 30s.
Nonsense. It’s hard enough to get guns to your club without putting unnecessary restrictions on who you bring in.

After next year he’d possibly be the only old guy in our team, and even then he’d only be 30yo. Think about how much money Geelong have tied up in their over 30 brigade! Millions!

With the age profile of our team (so many in their mid 20’s) we really need to start contending ASAP, and if we’re planning on giving up two years worth of good picks for Bing next year, we need to get someone through FA who’s a gun and unrestricted, and they aren’t so plentiful that you can just be really picky about it.

What’s your better idea for giving us a premiership winning midfield anytime soon?

And who are you referring to there?

Hannebery has just one more year on what was presumably a front-ended deal, that has reportedly been voluntarily reduced, while Parker is showing no signs of being “washed up”.

So only one guy sort of fits into your description there and he’s most likely going to be gone and off our books in 12 months.

Who else fits that description in our midfield?
In 4 years time when King is hitting 24-25, our current midfield types will all be hitting 30. We need to start bringing through some younger mids, not committing long term to even older ones.

We have guys like Byrnes, Bytel and Clark but the problem is they're not good enough yet to be full time mids. Mids take time.

Nonsense. It’s hard enough to get guns to your club without putting unnecessary restrictions on who you bring in.

After next year he’d possibly be the only old guy in our team and even then he’d only be 30yo. Think about how much money Geelong have tied up in their over 30 brigade!

With the age profile of our team (so many in their mid 20’s) we really need to start contending ASAP and if we’re planning on giving up two years worth of good picks for Bing next year we need to get someone through FA who’s a gun and unrestricted and they aren’t so plentiful that you can just be really picky about it.
Geelong dont pay big money for their recruits. The only one they've paid big for is Jeremy Cameron as a key forward and even then, that was for less than GWS was offering.

If we are going to be selling the farm for Bing, then thats an even better reason not give a big money, long term contracts to Parker who will be past it when Ben is in his prime.

We have guys like Byrnes, Bytel and Clark but the problem is they're not good enough yet to be full time mids. Mids take time.
And they won't get the chance to develop in the middle if we add in Parker to the mix.

If Bytel couldn't get a look in because of Dunstan, then he sure as hell isnt getting a chance with Parker on the list.

Well there is if the player is elite and would help lift us to challenge for a flag tilt over the next couple of years.

Geelong already had one of the best midfields and added Higgins & Smith.

I'm not sold on Parker either, but I wouldn't rule him out just because he's 28.

If we moved on Ross, Dunstan, Carlisle, Geary, Frawley McKernan, Roberton but brought in a 29 year old Parker I don't think our age profile would be bent out of shape… Hannebery and Ryder to finish up next year.

Don’t think so, unfortunately. Tough as old boots though and can rest forward and take a mark there and be dangerous.

If we got him we could rotate him, Steele and Gresh between the midfield and forwardline all day and that would be a major headache for the opposing teams.

Our midfield still needs a major boost. We get shown up too often by the really good midfields still and if we got a Parker, Gresh and Steele in particular could spend a lot more time forward, and be a real handful there.

Steele could start playing much more of that Dusty/Stringer/De Goey/Petracca “striker” type role.

Plus we badly badly need more experience/leadership.

If we could get him on a 4 year deal I don’t think I’d be able to sign quickly enough.

Pretty much all contending teams have guys his age and older in them making major contributions. Geelong have about 8 of them.

Yeah I'd take him, obviously a reasonable chance that his body starts breaking down but it's not guaranteed to happen.

This year the guy's averaged:

27.8 disposals
13.3 contested
6.3 clearances
4.6 tackles
4.1 inside 50s
0.7 goals
0.8 goal assists

Midfield of Steele + Parker + Jones + Crouch + Gresh + Hanners + some of Clark, Byrnes, Bytel sounds like it's pretty solid to me.

Hannebery pay cut to fit in his mate Luke Parker

Yeah I’ve heard this a few times now, know he would take away a mid spot from a kid but boy would we fit our midfield well

Well there is if the player is elite and would help lift us to challenge for a flag tilt over the next couple of years.

Geelong already had one of the best midfields and added Higgins & Smith.

I'm not sold on Parker either, but I wouldn't rule him out just because he's 28.

If we moved on Ross, Dunstan, Carlisle, Geary, Frawley McKernan, Roberton but brought in a 29 year old Parker I don't think our age profile would be bent out of shape… Hannebery and Ryder to finish up next year.

Geelong added them for bargain contracts, not big money on a long term contract which is a big difference here.

Overall our age prior will drop, but the age of our starting midfield is already much older than up forward or down back. We need to start bringing in some younger mids so we have a strong midfield for when King reaches his prime.