25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Luke Parker is almost 29

We shouldn't be looking at spending big money on aging players.

Well there is if the player is elite and would help lift us to challenge for a flag tilt over the next couple of years.

Geelong already had one of the best midfields and added Higgins & Smith.

I'm not sold on Parker either, but I wouldn't rule him out just because he's 28.

If we moved on Ross, Dunstan, Carlisle, Geary, Frawley McKernan, Roberton but brought in a 29 year old Parker I don't think our age profile would be bent out of shape… Hannebery and Ryder to finish up next year.
Don’t even worry about the age profile.
Parker would be 30 in year 1 of this hypothetical deal.

your on the hook for 700k potentially a year and he is at the age where he has a higher chance of breaking down.

he doesn’t make us a contender and if he hypothetically does. He doesn’t make us a contender for the entirety of the deal. It just doesn’t make sense.

What’s your better idea for giving us a premiership winning midfield anytime soon?

And who are you referring to there?

Hannebery has just one more year on what was presumably a front-ended deal, that has reportedly been voluntarily reduced, while Parker is showing no signs of being “washed up”.

So only one guy sort of fits into your description there and he’s most likely going to be gone and off our books in 12 months.

Who else fits that description in our midfield?
I'd like to see us put more effort into developing midfielders. I'm not sure bringing in a aging mid is the answer.

Play Hunter Clark in the midfield where he has shown he can be a quality player.

Bytel has all the tools to become a gun if he can find more footy.

The top 10 of this year's draft is full of promising mids.

Bringing Parker in for the twilight of his career would push these guys back in the pecking order.

I think we also need to realise that teams like Collingwood and North are likely to make enormous offers to Bing next year. Tom Boyd-like offers.

North will probably offer him at least $8 mil over 8 years, which will give him plenty to think about, while Collingwood will likely need him much more than we will (if Max and Sharman The Great continue on as they left off).

Times have changed dramatically, I would be amazed if he ends up in our colours, unfortunately for supporters, money talks, I think that his family would be just as happy Bing plays in Victoria.

your on the hook for 700k potentially a year and he is at the age where he has a higher chance of breaking down.

he doesn’t make us a contender and if he hypothetically does. He doesn’t make us a contender for the entirety of the deal. It just doesn’t make sense.
interesting use of mathematrix.. he's 28 right now

We look an outside mid down to me. We have a lot of guys who play in close but not much on the outside. Especially with Hill down back and potentially losing Billings.

Think in his draft year Byrnes was touted as an outside mid, needs a bit more experience with hopefully Zac Jones taking him under his wing.

Times have changed dramatically, I would be amazed if he ends up in our colours, unfortunately for supporters, money talks, I think that his family would be just as happy Bing plays in Victoria.
Depends mate - normally I'd agree. He does have the whole "brothers playing for childhood club" angle though. If the Saints can set the lads up with some significant pathways, contacts and advice post playing career I reckon hes a shoe in to play with Max.

Not sure why he wouldn't help us to be a contender, he's the best midfielder in a side that just finished 6th… would slot straight in as our 2nd best mid and kicks goals.

If we could front end a shit load to next year after shedding a few family favourites, then we could potentially have someone like Parker on 400-500 for the 3 remaining years.

I don't think we'll do it or necessarily should but I wouldn't totally rule it out either.

Depends mate - normally I'd agree. He does have the whole "brothers playing for childhood club" angle though. If the Saints can set the lads up with some significant pathways, contacts and advice post playing career I reckon hes a shoe in to play with Max.
Yeah, twins are a special case I think. They could be sick of each other and happy apart. They could be apathetic about it all. Or they could have already decided they're going to play together in the AFL someday.
If it's the last case, it'll happen. How soon is the only question. End of this contract? End of the next? Only Ben and his family would know.

I have to confess, I don't watch a lot of Freo games. Maybe they tend to be on Sundays when I'm with my kids or maybe they just don't interest me.
Anyway, not having seen a lot of Cerra myself. How good is he?
From what I've seen, he looks classy. But is he another Billings type, who'll look good but not deliver a hell of a lot? Or is he really likely to become one of the guns of the comp with a solid output? 76 games in, 23 possessions, 5 i50s a game. It looks a bit Billingsish form a stats perspective.
(Not saying he plays the same role as Billings, but a lot of us have clearly been frustrated at him not becoming the player we hoped for)

In 4 years time when King is hitting 24-25, our current midfield types will all be hitting 30.
Yeah that’s why we need to start contending ASAP. We don’t have 4 years to wait until Max is 24/25yo!

Steele will be 26yo next year. Jones and Billings 27, Crouch 28, Ross and Hill 29yo.

These guys are in their prime years right now. Right now. As are Marshall, Howard, Gresham, Membrey, Sinclair, Wilkie and Butler. All 25yo or older next year. A big-assed chunk of our team.

And if his end to this season is anything to go by, Max is going to be ready to rip the comp a new one by as soon as next season, so our time to look to start contending is right now.

We have far too many guys in their prime years now to wait around for 4-5 years, especially when Max was already killing it by the end of this season.

We need to start bringing through some younger mids, not committing long term to even older ones.

And the thing about getting Parker is that he wouldn’t cost us any picks, so if we get him we’ve still got our valuable first rounder to grab a young mid, as I said earlier.

So grabbing Parker doesn’t stop us doing that.

It allows us to get the best of both worlds. A guy we can plug in immediately, who’s A-grade and helps us potentially contend immediately, and the fact he doesn’t cost us any picks leaves us with our first rounder, to grab the best available kid in the draft.

Given that getting Parker wouldn’t stop us grabbing one or more of these young kids in the draft implies that you are suggesting we trade for one or more of them, but who?

Which young gun mids are up for grabs that won’t cost us that first pick, or that won’t cost us the picks we’ve presumably got tucked away in case Bing nominates us next year?

Unless you’ve got a magic wand on you, I’m not seeing too many of them floating around!

Any Truth to Elliot Yeo wanting out of West Coast?

I think its very easy to trot out the leadership line , Why do you say its so bad , No not a hunch , Proof
The leadership was fine when we beat Sydney and the Lions , so when we lose its all because of leadership is it ,,, Bull
Um, how about all the games we capitulated in this year? That’s the sort of thing that happens when you don’t have enough leadership in the team.

They’re the guys who steady the ship when it’s all going to crap in a game.

It’s not so much of an issue when things are going smoothly in a game but it’s definitely something you need plenty of if you want to win a premiership.

Doesn’t he want 700x4?

Also 30 in his first year of any deal for a battle hardened veteran.

i ******* hope not.
He’s 28 now turning 29 soon in October so I’d say you’re getting 2 years at near his best still and then the back end on a bit of a decline. I’d like them to do it because it’s not going to cost picks or players. He’s also a pretty crafty forward, good mark for size so he can transition into a forward if/when physical decline occurs.

I like this one. Been really good in the VFL. 30+ most games. Would be cheap as well. Think his old man even wants him out of the dogs
Plenty of blokes can get it 30 times in the VFL , they step up to AFL and are crap , He is one of them

Trigger years seem to be the go nowdays. Would this make a difference to Parker coming on board. 3 and a trigger for a fourth? If his body falles over it is only three years. A bit of insurance.

For the concern that we will have an 'aging' midfield when Max is in his prime in 3 years time. This doe not take into account who will develop, and who we trade for in that period. The team is not static. Go back and have a look at highlights from the 2018 team and see how many have moved on.

Um, how about all the games we capitulated in this year? That’s the sort of thing that happens when you don’t have enough leadership in the team.

They’re the guys who steady the ship when it’s all going to crap in a game.

It’s not so much of an issue when things are going smoothly in a game but it’s definitely something you need plenty of if you want to win a premiership.
Its more than just leadership that causes a loss , if leadership was the sole cause of how a team played some teams should never be beaten
Lets just say we have different ideas on this and we move on , Im not one to go back and forth all day , we see that enough on here :thumbsu:

I wouldn't say no to Parker on the right deal.

After reading ScrappyDo's post yesterday though ... the whole extra mid solution might be right under our noses. With Paton coming back and Webster playing well, we could move Sincs there. He might tear it up given his much improved form.