25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Mate I’d be hoping Sonsies rumoured fall is just that little bit further and we snap him up.

I rate Sonsie so much Higher than Callaghan if not heap of good players will be around our pick.

At heart I'm a romantic. Wouldn't be a loyal Saints fan otherwise. But I can't understand the fascination with the idea of Bing solving our premiership problem. Max will hopefully be a superb player for us in the Lockett, Gehrig, Riewoldt tradition. Could any team have two of each of them playing together and both of them being as good as the one? Possibly two Nick Riewoldts but he played entirely differently to the Plugger and Frazer and the King boys. You can only have one Plugger or Big Frazer at full forward. The other one would have to play elsewhere and therefore simply couldn't have been either a Plugger or Gehrig.

The idea of having both the Kings so Ben could play somewhere other than full forward doesn't make much sense because that's where he is best suited. Ditto with the one we've got. We should be very very happy we've got Max but I can't see having a sort of clone also in the same team would work. I'd forget the notion of ever drafting Ben (unless he was sort of free!) as beautiful an idea as it is.

Waiting now to see how wrong this post is..............................!

This whole Dunstan DFA thing doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, IMO. I’m assuming it’s just one of those all too regular mistakes from a football ‘journalist’, due to a lack of basic research.

Unless there is a difference in how FA compensation is calculated when receiving a DFA vs a UFA. For example, the receiving team may be expecting FA compensation from a loss of a player, so they request Dunstan is made to be a DFA so as not to impact the compensation for the loss of their player. That’s quite a specific scenario, and is entirely dependent on this assumption being correct (and I have no idea). Even if it were correct, with Gold Coast being Dunstan’s alleged suitor, it wouldn’t apply as they’re not slated to lose any FA during this period, so it could mean another team is involved (one losing a FA).

Or, sadly, the club could just be stupid.

If they make us a better side we should look at them :thumbsupv1:

I reckon it's about the only thing that makes sense is if Adelaide don't match Crouch and Talia we let Dunny walk to them as a delisted free agent?

I have watched some of Callaghan highlights. I'm no expert on him but I don't rate him from it. He holds the ball too long, he'd get mown down every time he touched it in the seniors.
I just hope although it seems unlikely that some championship games can be played. He’s got all the tools gringo, the running circles round people stuff hanging onto the ball is just coaching.

If Billings is leaving to "try to play in a flag" then that says all we need to know about him.

Doubt it's true though.

To be fair we look a long way off and he's seen some dark days at the Saints. If I was him I'dd look around, hardly ever works but he might as well sniff around. I reckon he'd be a gun in a top 4 side. Probably ruins any chance of decent compo though.

To be honest. They can all piss off.

Ross Dunstan Billings.

Let him go to port. I’ll take their first rounder and go complete Dodoro and Bell and push for pick swaps etc to go along with it.

They would just walk away and make us match him on more money and make us look like morons.

Wait, so we have delisted him and cost ourselves a compo pick we would have got from his unrestricted free agency status?

zEs7nnq.gif

That is one of the dumbest things that I've witnessed.

You haven't witnessed anything as yet. And nothing dumb outside of those believing tripe that is reported.

This place is going to be absolutely toxic over the next 6 weeks if people are going to take lines from dolled up gossip columnists as gospel.

Already today the club are idiots for delisting Dunstan & forgoing any compo (which hasn't happened)

and Billings is a mercenary because its been reported that 'he wants to win a flag'. (which probably means with us).

Everyone, please hold fire until we have something to really whinge and carry on about.

I just hope although it seems unlikely that some championship games can be played. He’s got all the tools gringo, the running circles round people stuff hanging onto the ball is just coaching.

I thought that was his big trick? He kind of holds the ball to assess what's up ahead. He looks like he's trying to play the Pendles guy who stops time and space but looks less competent. Maybe he'll do it at the top level but I'm not convinced. Sonsie, Ward, Goater, Sinn, Hobbs, McDonald, Draper, Jackson, Browne, Erasmus. There are heaps that should be around our pick and even guys like Rachele who aren't a great need but look high end. I wouldn't trade up this year, there should be some great kids around our pick and without a great amount of exposed form it's a bit of a lottery.

You haven't witnessed anything as yet. And nothing dumb outside of those believing tripe that is reported.

This place is going to be absolutely toxic over the next 6 weeks if people are going to take lines from dolled up gossip columnists as gospel.

Already today the club are idiots for delisting Dunstan & forgoing any compo (which hasn't happened)

and Billings is a mercenary because its been reported that 'he wants to win a flag'. (which probably means with us).

Everyone, please hold fire until we have something to really whinge and carry on about.

They haven't yet but it does sound a pretty Sainty thing to do. Might as well get shitted off now, then when it happens it's out of my system.

This whole Dunstan DFA thing doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, IMO. I’m assuming it’s just one of those all too regular mistakes from a football ‘journalist’, due to a lack of basic research.

Unless there is a difference in how FA compensation is calculated when receiving a DFA vs a UFA. For example, the receiving team may be expecting FA compensation from a loss of a player, so they request Dunstan is made to be a DFA so as not to impact the compensation for the loss of their player. That’s quite a specific scenario, and is entirely dependent on this assumption being correct (and I have no idea). Even if it were correct, with Gold Coast being Dunstan’s alleged suitor, it wouldn’t apply as they’re not slated to lose any FA during this period, so it could mean another team is involved (one losing a FA).

Or, sadly, the club could just be stupid.

It never ceases to amaze me how so many of those who are paid to be professional commentators and 'experts' don't understand the basics of free agency.

Cam Luke from SEN (who is usually one of the better ones) made my ears bleed throughout trade week last year when he went on and on about StK having to give up their 1st pick for Crouch (this was not a discussion about the Crows possibly matching an offer).

Every year journos can't get the basics right so I have zero doubt that this is the case again.

It's common knowledge that we're letting Dunstan go. He's an UFA so if he has already got a few offers in front of him as has been suggested on here for weeks then it makes no sense for us to offer him a deal. There's a massive difference between saying 'No worries Luke, that's an offer beyond what we're interested in... off you go with our best wishes' and delisting a bloke.

No matter what some supporters want to cry about, the club has very smart operators in control.

They haven't yet but it does sound a pretty Sainty thing to do. Might as well get shitted off now, then when it happens it's out of my system.

How it is a Saintly thing to do?

What has happened in the past that is even in the slightest an indication of them doing something this stupid?

Melting is way more fun , Come on ,,, You know it is

Plenty of talent but I want that bigger mid, start him on the wing looks a ripper.
Owens is a bigger mid, Windhager is a mid forward so picking up a classy, skill full outside player could give us youth in every type of midfielder in one draft. Might not want to double up so they don’t compete with eachother for spots

Really, one would hope our list management team would have a pretty good handle on how free agency, delisting players, compensation works - wouldn’t you? Seeing as list management is, you know, their thing?

They seemed to work out how to get Brad Crouch the best possible way.

Might leave it to the experts, rather than the footy journos and trade “whisperers” before throwing our toys out the cot about the stuff ups they are making.

Melting is way more fun , Come on ,,, You know it is

It does my head in.

I come on here to read people's thoughts on potential trades and FA signings... not a hysterical whine about stuff that hasn't happened.

Maybe it's just 200+ days of lockdown but my sense of humour towards these things isn't what it once was.

Its never out of your system, Gringo 😉

Yeah the same way Burgoyne did at Hawthorn when he completed his on crutches and they hoped he would give them 3-5 years max according to Dunstall.

half a century later and 3 flags he finally pulled the pin.
Maybe we should be targeting Hawthorn’s medicos instead of players this off season