Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 6

Something something
Pursuit of the perfect is the enemy of the good.

I know that when the ALP goes to fix the budget the LNP have completely structurally stuffed, they won't cut critical healthcare items from Medicare as the LNP are doing and will do more if they get the chance.

Just because they won't oppose a tax cut doesn't mean they support it, nor that they won't raise taxes on the rich in some other way (i.e. corporate tax rates) to fix the budget without our children (education, health, debt) paying for it like the LNP are currently doing.

What about people who try for years and years? Rubbish take.
theres a genuine discussion to be had about health priorities in times when the system is stretched as it currently is

fully accept this is a highly sensitive debate and valid arguments exist on all sides ..... there are no winners whatever decision is made

So... A mere 121 days after actually being announced, we have finally received our allocation of Air Purifiers

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-09...ces-$190-million-ventilation-package/13553118

Without any consultation whatsoever we have been allocated 53, which is far more than we actually need given our layout. Perhaps we could also get some assistance with accessing RATs, given that both the state and commonwealth are telling us that we need to provide them to staff so that we can have enough personnel on site to function effectively??? Or is that too practical?

$125m would but a bloody lot of tests!

Was meaning federal so hoping towards better welfare/ social housing while taxing the fu** out of those who have more than one residential property
How would you see the self employed accessing the superannuation benefit of PAYG workers ? Buying a rental property is an easy way of addressing that for tradies etc.
Not Federal but still tax payable: https://www.sro.vic.gov.au/owning-property

Once you own property in Victoria, you need to be aware of:

I support an additional tax on multiple propertys to address the ownership issue, however it needs to be properly targeted.

Look at what happened when they did that last time.

I'd say they need to get into office first and then make their changes.

And don't spout "democracy" in here like a buzzword. The current federal government is the least democratic in our history. No federal ICAC despite promises and a balance sheet that effectively shows a heap of rorts and handouts to their rich mates.

It would help if they thought through policy, i.e dont listen to the bolted on activists that infect both sides of politics.
Does Mr Bowens advice still stand, 'cos its bound to get an airing in the campaign.

It would help if they thought through policy, i.e dont listen to the bolted on activists that infect both sides of politics.
Does Mr Bowens advice still stand, 'cos its bound to get an airing in the campaign.

In my view, if you are talking about franking credits and negative gearing then yes, it should be explored.

But I think Morrison and his merry crooks will have trouble getting cut through on those issues given they will be defending their lack of achievement, their poor character and their almost inexhaustible list of mistakes.

Labor needs to take the advice Richo gave them last time and STFU about policy. Just hammer these grubs on their character flaws until election day.

We are living with our tax system attacked by the government making it less progressive then they cry poor and reduce services

But can always find money for cops, army, detention of refugees, sueing people for defamation etc.

We aren't living beyond our means our governments are actively sabotaging the services they were expected to provide

Picking & choosing what constitutes acceptable Government spending is up for judgement on election day, regardless of whatever level of government.

Is it?

What about people who try for years and years? Rubbish take.

well looks like they are back on now so a moot point but if a couple of months was gonna be the difference between getting pregnant or not then maybe that boat has sailed for you - The epitome of middle class problems

It's probably the only thing that I would find myself siding with conservative Christians about - except I don't care enough to really take a side but if I had to choose I'd ban it

Without any consultation whatsoever we have been allocated 53, which is far more than we actually need given our layout.
So you're complaining that for once they may have over resourced you? Or that you have spares in case of inevitable breakdowns.

well looks like they are back on now so a moot point but if a couple of months was gonna be the difference between getting pregnant or not then maybe that boat has sailed for you - The epitome of middle class problems

It's probably the only thing that I would find myself siding with conservative Christians about - except I don't care enough to really take a side but if I had to choose I'd ban it
Why would you BAN IVF?? To stop people who are having trouble with fertility having babies? What would be the grounding for this?

Conservative christians don't want eggs being inseminated all over the place because they think each is a new soul.

What rational objection could one actually have, though?

Why would you BAN IVF?? To stop people who are having trouble with fertility having babies? What would be the grounding for this?

Conservative christians don't want eggs being inseminated all over the place because they think each is a new soul.

What rational objection could one actually have, though?

I said if I had to choose between the binary - I don't actually care that much but just that footage of the 40+ year old crying about the prospect of IVF treatments being postponed for a couple of months was too gross to stomach

It's about 6th on the list of priorities for the electorate as a whole, I reckon.
I must have missed the part where I get to vote on how my tax dollars are spent

I know they talk about how they plan on spending money but it's not like we have any control

Don't fact check me on this one, because I really couldn't be bothered looking it up, but I'm sure I read a fair bit of analysis from experts over the last few years that the way the job market is these days the recession definition is a bit of a political wank anyway.

Is the situation in hospitals improving?

Wouldn’t think so just yet. Perhaps it bit them in the ass with the fallout. Dan can’t lose his women voters. We made a decision to pause it, few days later there’s no impact on pandemic response 🤣🤣. Yeah na there’s no politics in this pandemic at all!

so your rationale is that we should still be in lockdown because changing minds/decisions is just playing politics?

Ability to get full time employment
Lower wage to housing price ratios
Benefit of Medicare, access to education (higher education)
Less competition with overseas jobs.

Yes you had it easy relative to the average 20 year old now. (I’m in between in mid 40s)

Thanks for that.

Its a generation not simply your average 20 y.o. I'm not sure how you want to compare apples with apples.
Say as a 20 y.o in the late 60s (me) & a 20 y.o today. I've a nephew of 21, if that helps.
I was working full time & going to night school 3 days a week. My nephew is doing a course in gardening, had a job, but tossed it in.
I owned my own car, my nephew does not.
I left home at 21, my nephew lives with (off) his mother.

My first job was in the accounting profession & there was no shortage of overseas workers back then. I had no problem getting a job, my nephew does, though he has tossed in both full time jobs he has had.

My job allowed me to understand the ASX and the housing finance market at a 20 year old. My part time study meant I took 9 years to complete, compared to some who came down the same path doing it in 4 years.

I do battle to see how as a 20 y.o life was harder or easier. Having more assets from working full time versus not, is common sense.

I said if I had to choose between the binary - I don't actually care that much but just that footage of the 40+ year old crying about the prospect of IVF treatments being postponed for a couple of months was too gross to stomach

Once it was announced that IVF services would be resuming, she was back on TV complaining saying it still wasn't good enough.

Any shred of sympathy I had went out the window. The world would probably be better off if this entitled barren shrieking banshee doesn't reproduce.

Thanks for that.

Its a generation not simply your average 20 y.o. I'm not sure how you want to compare apples with apples.
Say as a 20 y.o in the late 60s (me) & a 20 y.o today. I've a nephew of 21, if that helps.
I was working full time & going to night school 3 days a week. My nephew is doing a course in gardening, had a job, but tossed it in.
I owned my own car, my nephew does not.
I left home at 21, my nephew lives with (off) his mother.

My first job was in the accounting profession & there was no shortage of overseas workers back then. I had no problem getting a job, my nephew does, though he has tossed in both full time jobs he has had.

My job allowed me to understand the ASX and the housing finance market at a 20 year old. My part time study meant I took 9 years to complete, compared to some who came down the same path doing it in 4 years.

I do battle to see how as a 20 y.o life was harder or easier. Having more assets from working full time versus not, is common sense.
what percentage of your income was your car
what about rent/house
what about groceries