List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

We cant all be draft experts chief, some of us have day jobs! Hence why there is a discussion forum.

My uninformed opinion would be to use pick 10 for best available. From what I read, best available would be George.

Back end of the draft I'd add some KPD depth - Phillips, Leiu
I know legend, it is the point I was trying to make albeit, unsuccessfully. Hah
Prior to injury, I was very keen on George but there's opportunity now to grab him a little later.
I really like Hollands competitive streak and see him as a long term player wherever he ends up.

How are SPS, LOB, Dow trending?
They all align with the latter & are all struggling to find the ball, build their tank etc.
While we need class players we also require players that can win their own footy & cover plenty of ground too, it'll go some way to stopping an opponent from getting a run on.
To be fair, on the back of 19 games this year I'd say Lochie is trending upwards. But he can run. 5 & 6 years in for the other two who are still struggling in that regard.

This is true but it serves no purpose to let it out and does not magically make the decisions more potent because of your confidence. It just brings home the fact that other clubs get 'X' amount of goes at it before you get the chance to get 'your man'.

Hollands' dad Ben was an absolute jet. Didn't play many AFL games but was a freak in the Ovens & Murray Football League which back then was a very strong competition. Connor Rozee actually reminds of a young Ben Hollands

Campo twins and the Holland brothers for the next decade. Make it happen Austin :hearteyes:

Might as well grab Sam De Koning as well.

You know, just to keep the pattern... ;)

For those thinking they want Lachie Cowan, this from foxsports

“But should a Tassie licence get up and a club ultimately allowed to enter into the competition in 2025, the team no doubt would strongly target existing Tasmanian talent to ensure there’s a strong connection and representation from the state.

Asked how appealing the prospect of representing his state at AFL level is, Cowan said: “Down the track, that‘d be unreal to go back home and play for Tassie. I’ve played for Tassie since Under 12s all the way up until NAB League in my draft year. It’d be awesome.“

GWS are very interested, they’ll get 6 years out of him instead of 2 or 3 like a lot of their picks[emoji23]

He was still there at 11 so you were technically correct
as much as I still believe in the concept of nane, I shall anyway - god bless aph she does love to trample on the nuances of this place at times - my post was in response to kreuuuzeurns:

"Only takes one slip up from a club above us for things to change. Still think we get an unforeseen slider at 10".

also, fmd.......

None of us will look back at a selection of Hollands poorly when Elijah requests a trade home to play with his brother next season. Half forward/3rd forward target option sorted.

Campo twins and the Holland brothers for the next decade. Make it happen Austin :hearteyes:
And when our Hollands requests a trade up north. You can’t draft on what ifs.

I’m still of the opinion if we stay at 10 we may well whiff another draft. Nothing that’ll be left inspires me dramatically. I’d be trading back and hedging our bets. Get 3, maybe 4 in the first 30 picks and I reckon we’re better off.

GWS are very interested, they’ll get 6 years out of him instead of 2 or 3 like a lot of their picks[emoji23]

All interstate players would say the same thing if unfiltered...
Give them a positive, competitive environment and likelihood is they stay...

It's easy now days for players to request a trade to wherever they like, it's only a tiny % of interstate players that choose to go home...
We have a large portion of WA players, who don't want to leave because we provide a positive, competitive environment/culture...

Whoever drafts Cowan, if he turns out any good, will get a fantastic inflated return if Tassie target him in 5 years time.

Great investment rather than any reason to get jellylegs over recruiting him in fear of him leaving. Either he buys into your team and environment, or Tassie pay you big overs to get their boy back.

I'd take a Top 5 pick for a returning Lachie Weller type deal from a Tassie Club armed to the eyeballs with Top draft picks that they must trade(which is expected to be their initial gifts and instructions).

Whoever drafts Cowan, if he turns out any good, will get a fantastic inflated return if Tassie target him in 5 years time.

Great investment rather than any reason to get jellylegs over recruiting him in fear of him leaving. Either he buys into your team and environment, or Tassie pay you big overs to get their boy back.

I'd take a Top 5 pick for a returning Lachie Weller type deal from a Tassie Club armed to the eyeballs with Top draft picks that they must trade(which is expected to be their initial gifts and instructions).
The only qualifier here (and I'm going from poor memory) is that didn't GWS and GC, upon start up, have a 'free hit' of taking a player from other sides without compo coming back to that side who lost a player...?

Just like Port Adelaide and before that Adelaide lured our legendary South Australians home despite huge financial offers right?

So ferris after we grab the:

1. Holland bros.
2. Camporeale bros.
3. De Koning bros.

Who's next... the Marx brothers. :D

Re-drafting Ben Silvagni and Finbar O'Dwyer :cool::p

I just feel his best isn't quite strong enough for an inside role, and his best isn't quite quick enough for the kind of edge we need on the wing. When he hits his kicks it's great, but there's plenty of scrappy efforts.

Can football though, but the athletic package just doesn't quite reach what you want.

Much bigger fan of grabbing a more dynamic midfielder like Hewett and getting some speed out of the contest back into the rotation there. Can't help but feel we'll wind up trading 2-3 players at the end of 2023 that we had pencilled into be midfielders, so I think we should take advantage of our draft position to net some more quality in.

Conversely, if the Herald Sun are onto something - and they usually aren't - happy for us to use 29 or shuffle that pick slightly up to secure Hewett, who I think reads as top 10 talent. Absolutely no idea how he's not being spoken of ahead of Humphrey by many on here.
Agreed Jim. Hewett just screams 200 game gun. Cannot believe he wasn't in the top 25. I'd be surprised if he got past 20...

Hun's top 25 has Phillipou sliding to the Bulldogs...hmm.

Guess the 3 games Phillipou's father played for the scraggers should be enough to overcome the go-home factor.

11. Carlton​

Oliver Hollands – 183cm Midfield, VIC

The Blues are believed to be zeroing in on Hollands with their first pick, given they are keen to bolster their stocks of strong-running midfielders. The boy from Wodonga – who is the brother of Gold Coast’s Elijah Hollands – finished equal-first in the 2km time trial at the national draft combine earlier this month after placing equal-fourth in the YoYo test at the NAB League testing day in March. Hollands has spent a lot of time on a wing this year, where he has found plenty of the ball and makes good decisions. However, he is also developing his inside midfield game with his contest work. Fittingly, Hollands is a Carlton supporter whose great-grandfather Martin Cross played 36 VFL games for the Blues in the 1960s.

12. Western Bulldogs

Mattaes Phillipou – 190cm Forward/Midfielder, SA

A lot of clubs have Phillipou ranked 10-15 on their draft boards, but some consider him to be top-five on talent and say he would be “a steal” if he makes it to the Bulldogs at pick 12. The Woodville-West Torrens forward-midfielder is a good size and possesses impressive speed, aerial abilities and a good kick. Recruiters describe him as a player who “can break games open” with “matchwinning qualities”. There is also some romance about a potential move to the Bulldogs. Phillipou’s father, Sam, played three games for the club.

List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft