Preview Changes v Melbourne Demons, Sunday 3:20pm Marvel Stadium

I didn’t get to the game on the weekend and tbh I had zero fomo.

I expected to lose and we did and I am not even shattered or disappointed in the result.

With the poor umpiring, ridiculous tribunal decisions and the same old North performance - our club is still as irrelevant as ever.
And the AFL does not care for us. They just broke the round 1 attendance record, so to them the games in great shape because people still go to the footy.

It’s not in great shape.

Take me back to 2 weeks ago. Life was less stressful and more enjoyable when North wasn’t playing each week.
The campaigners at AFL HQ and even at our own club have sucked all the joy and life out of supporting this side.

last year was the first time ever I turned off so many games. I also left the gather round game.

We have become a joke and yeah I can’t disagree.

Some serious doom and gloom on here after a 3 goal loss to a prior year finalist but maybe this is a sign we are on the right track??

Interesting assignment this week, but if there is any silver lining we are better stocked in the defensive end with replacements then we are in the front half.

Ins - K Dawson, D Stephens (Sub)
Outs - Archer (Susp), Logue (Inj)

Tucker moves to half back and replaces Arch and Dawson replaces Logue. Much like the Doggie were, the Dees are gettable this week without May and Pickett and I fully expect another competitive performance, hopefully with a different result.

I expected to lose and we did and I am not even shattered or disappointed in the result.

With the poor umpiring, ridiculous tribunal decisions and the same old North performance - our club is still as irrelevant as ever.
And the AFL does not care for us. They just broke the round 1 attendance record, so to them the games in great shape because people still go to the footy.

It’s not in great shape.

Take me back to 2 weeks ago. Life was less stressful and more enjoyable when North wasn’t playing each week.
The campaigners at AFL HQ and even at our own club have sucked all the joy and life out of supporting this side.

Sounds like you need to step away from footy mate. Following your team shouldn't cause so much stress.

Some serious doom and gloom on here after a 3 goal loss to a prior year finalist but maybe this is a sign we are on the right track??
Agree.

Frustrating to leave a win begging, but I saw plenty of good work and I'm hopeful the players have also taken the lesson that but for 10mins of poor football they could have easily got the win.

I am more angry over Archer's suspension than I am at our performance. At this stage it looks like I may not make it to the game (still have a chance to make it) but I am doing all I can to make it. Happy the footy is back.

I'm not so upset. As soon as it was concussion I knew the AFL were going to put their finger on the scale. I'm actually just glad Jacko didn't break his leg... could have been a lot worse than three weeks out for him.

He's a young player, will bounce back in three weeks and as a 24-game player isn't going to win/lose us the next three games.

Out: Logue (inj), Archer (Susp), Phillips

In: Whitlock, Maley, Hardeman

B: Hardeman, Comben, Whitlock
HB: Daniel, Corr, FOS
C: McKercher, Parker, Scott
HF: Sheezel, Larkey, Simpkin
F: Zurhaar, Maley, Curtis
Foll: Xerri, LDU, Powell
Int: Tucker, Darling, McDonald, Konstanty
Sub: RHJ

Really want Maley in for the extra aeriel presence inside forward 50. Additionally, I reckon X will need a bit more genuine ruck support instead of Darling pinch hitting.

Whitlock can come in and play on Jefferson, given they are both relatively inexperienced. Comben should be able to deal with Aidan Johnson, while Corr can take Van Rooyen.

It'll be important for Simpkin/Konstanty to stop the impact of Salem, he cut up GWS last week off half back.

I know Tucker was sub, and not really suited to it, but 2 kicks only stat in 33% TOG, surely there are numerous better options available, should be dropped imo

I think we'll need him across half back with Archer out.

He should never be sub again though. Stephens I reckon is a good sub option.

Whitlock not even mentioned in the NMFC 'In the Mix' article.
I doubt the social media team have any idea who is actually in the mix

At least this current social media team we have at the club

Perfect time to give Whitlock a 1 week taste of afl against Jefferson who has just debuted

Then Logue comes back next week and he can go back to vfl knowing the level required

Interesting assignment this week, but if there is any silver lining we are better stocked in the defensive end with replacements then we are in the front half.

Ins - K Dawson, D Stephens (Sub)
Outs - Archer (Susp), Logue (Inj)

Tucker moves to half back and replaces Arch and Dawson replaces Logue. Much like the Doggie were, the Dees are gettable this week without May and Pickett and I fully expect another competitive performance, hopefully with a different result.
Stephens? Until he can improve his decision making and intensity then he can play VFL

It’s not in great shape.

Don’t be silly
Exciting game
Within a goal at half time
Seesaw 3rdqtr
Much better performance

my wish list:
  • defend, defend, defend
  • run, spread, run, more running
  • no juniors type errors. you're paid over $500k to mark it and kick straight.
  • we win

Not sure how we fit him in but surely Cooper has to come into consideration after his 6 goal effort. Interesting that the write up of the VFL mentioned his speed being a factor, now he’s got good footy nous, great mark for his size and excellent goal kicking ability but speed? Always thought the knock on him was he’s a bit slow for the role, anyway lets see if we can fit him in.

Thinking back to the game against Footscray, that might be the first time this decade that I thought we were truly competitive while simultaneously not playing very well.

The Bulldogs had some key players missing, but much worse sides on paper have had their way with us on days like the one that we had this past saturday.

Most of our best players were well down on their average output, our team structures were all off to start the game, and in general we played with a tangible sense of rust. That's been a surefire recipe for a 40+ point loss in previous years, regardless of opposition, yet we were well in that game and had plenty of chances to take the win.

I still have a shred of confidence left for this season, and find myself wondering what this side looks like with players like LDU, Sheezel, Comben, McKercher, and Powell all playing their best, and players like Daniel, Simpkin and Zurhaar not being so wasteful with their disposal. Part of me thinks that version of North Melbourne is good enough to beat Melbourne this weekend, and I'm looking forward to finding out.

Chom to CHF where he is needed and also is the easiest call to make.

Hardeman for Tucker works surely.

MWhitlock for Logue will have to do for now.

Harvey for Archer, Colby to go back, Cooper to jump into SF rotation with Jy, RHJ & Konstanty.

---
FB: Corr MWhitlock Hardeman
HB: FOS WDawson McKercher
C: Scott LDU Powell
HF: Sheezel Comben Curtis
F: Darling Larkey Simpkin
R: Xerri Parker Phillips
I/C: RHJ Zurhaar CD Konstanty
Sub: Harvey

In: Hardeman WDawson MWhitlock Harvey

Out: Tucker McDonald Logue Archer

No: Wardlaw, Logue, Goater, George.
Not a fan of Daniel, someone that can actually kick!

Thinking back to the game against Footscray, that might be the first time this decade that I thought we were truly competitive while simultaneously not playing very well.

The Bulldogs had some key players missing, but much worse sides on paper have had their way with us on days like the one that we had this past saturday.

Most of our best players were well down on their average output, our team structures were all off to start the game, and in general we played with a tangible sense of rust. That's been a surefire recipe for a 40+ point loss in previous years, regardless of opposition, yet we were well in that game and had plenty of chances to take the win.

I still have a shred of confidence left for this season, and find myself wondering what this side looks like with players like LDU, Sheezel, Comben, McKercher, and Powell all playing their best, and players like Daniel, Simpkin and Zurhaar not being so wasteful with their disposal. Part of me thinks that version of North Melbourne is good enough to beat Melbourne this weekend, and I'm looking forward to finding out.

Much better way of looking at things than the taking a bath with a toaster approach that some are rolling with.

Not a fan of Daniel, someone that can actually kick!

Ok you got me....He's on the bench being protected, so he's full of run for the beginning of Q4. Listed as CD (partly because he's small and I don't think his stature warrants the full name), we have so many of other candidates with those initials, I'm aware.

There is a quiet warning shot over his bow, which I'm in favour of - too. That performance is unacceptable. Too many mistakes.

Might be tad innocuous for someone as bright as you, of course.