Autopsy Round 10 - West Coast v St Kilda

I was speaking to a mate before the game and predicted this result. We have been in poor form, and traveling to WA is never easy for us and the home ground umpiring makes sure of it. After an emotional week I said the Eagles would just need a fast start to get their tails up and we we wouldn't go with them, and that is basically the way it went.

We get this weird malaise that takes over if a few players aren't putting in 100% effort, and it seems to spread. Suddenly no one is presenting or running for each other, every possession is under pressure and we get fumbly and can't execute the simple stuff - exactly the same as last week.

I think our team composition shows we have a lack of that middle-aged depth, and it makes the squad seem a bit unbalanced in terms of experience and maturity. Though we had a younger squad than our opponents again this week, we have our older leaders who seem to do all the heavy lifting and not much else in between, and I think that is partly why we go through periods where we are so lacking in composure.

In the end, after a performance like that, I'd rather a loss than a late comeback win that papers over the cracks.

Reminder that abusive language towards players, staff or each other isn't tolerated here. Thanks

Brad Hill needs to play VFL next week. Hunter Clarke will offer more than him.

If he’s selected next week, selection integrity is in the bin.

Should look to move him on at the end of year, just pay him out. Scared to make contact.

Still think Caminiti is a liability on field. Hope I’m wrong about him.

Higgins is a star, doesn’t stop giving 110%. Glad he picked his bag.

I was speaking to a mate before the game and predicted this result. We have been in poor form, and traveling to WA is never easy for us and the home ground umpiring makes sure of it. After an emotional week I said the Eagles would just need a fast start to get their tails up and we we wouldn't go with them, and that is basically the way it went.

We get this weird malaise that takes over if a few players aren't putting in 100% effort, and it seems to spread. Suddenly no one is presenting or running for each other, every possession is under pressure and we get fumbly and can't execute the simple stuff - exactly the same as last week.

I think our team composition shows we have a lack of that middle-aged depth, and it makes the squad seem a bit unbalanced in terms of experience and maturity. Though we had a younger squad than our opponents again this week, we have our older leaders who seem to do all the heavy lifting and not much else in between, and I think that is partly why we go through periods where we are so lacking in composure.

In the end, after a performance like that, I'd rather a loss than a late comeback win that papers over the cracks.

Reminder that abusive language towards players, staff or each other isn't tolerated here. Thanks
Sweet as we are mentally weak thanks for the heads up

We bitched to the league about 5 day breaks, but then serve up bilge in consecutive weeks with 7 and 9 day breaks.

Absolute loser mentality.

Thank god they don't show people our shame in primetime.

You’re all being very harsh.

We did club legend Andrew McQualter a solid here, I’m proud of the sentimentality.

Questions need to be asked.

Players.

Selection.

Coaches.

Pitiful excuse for a football club. For the last 14 years we've been told that the coaches are responsible for getting the team for the week ahead.

Every man and his dog knew that the Eagles would be smarting from the loss last week. And we open with a ****ing whimper.

Our skills are still shit. 3 years on and there has been no improvement in the skills. It is still headless chook footy.

Autopsy Round 10 - West Coast v St Kilda