Recruiting Mid Season Draft Thread - Welcome to Essendon Archie May, Lachlan Blakiston, Oskar Smartt & Liam McMahon!

Mcgrath
Parish
Langford
Tsatas
Caldwell
Zerrett
Kako
Gresham
Cox
Ridley
Perkins
Hayes
Gerryn
2MP
Roberts
Durham
HJ
Redman
Duursma
Caddy
Z.Reid*
Draper/Bryan*
B.Mckay
Guelfi
A.Clarke
Martin
Unwin
Z.Johnson
4 (top 26 picks)

Prior
Smartt
A.May
Vigo Visentini
ADW
T.Edwards

Senior - 32/36 (33 if we keep both rucks)
Rookie (6 - FULL unless promotions)

3 spots for
Setterfield
Shiel
Davey
Menzie
Hobbs
Laverde
Goldy
SEH
L.Mcmahon

3 spots for
Setterfield
Shiel
Davey
Menzie
Hobbs
Laverde
Goldy
SEH
L.Mcmahon
id be keeping those two, the others are "meh" to me.

Some chatter from this forum that we could see a left field cast off. A Darcy Parish, Nik Cox (concussion), or maybe Draper (FA)

Played 1 full game

Tank is apart of being a footballer

Hes 24, 1 game and unsigned. Hes far from a certainty to be on the list next year

IMO he doesn’t have the fitness or defensive aspect to his game to make it right now. A big preseason could change the fitness but his defensive work is woeful, the bloke is afraid to tackle. I’ve seen enough already to be ok if we cut our losses.

Kicking been a let down so far for me aswell

Doesnt have natural footy smarts

Kicking been a let down so far for me aswell

Doesnt have natural footy smarts

Yep, a bit of that might be fatigue but it’s not looked great at AFL level. It’s weird to be saying this but with Scott and Rosa I actually have a lot more trust in the list decision making now and the next few years so I’ll back whatever they decide on in.

Mcgrath
Parish
Langford
Tsatas
Caldwell
Zerrett
Kako
Gresham
Cox
Ridley
Perkins
Hayes
Gerryn
2MP
Roberts
Durham
HJ
Redman
Duursma
Caddy
Z.Reid*
Draper/Bryan*
B.Mckay
Guelfi
A.Clarke
Martin
Unwin
Z.Johnson
4 (top 26 picks)

Prior
Smartt
A.May
Vigo Visentini
ADW
T.Edwards

Senior - 32/36 (33 if we keep both rucks)
Rookie (6 - FULL unless promotions)

3 spots for
Setterfield
Shiel
Davey
Menzie
Hobbs
Laverde
Goldy
SEH
L.Mcmahon

Keep Setterfield and Hobbs and bring in a trade/free agent player.

Unfortunately I think Cox retires so that opens up another spot.

Try to move Tsatas, Parish and Gresham.

Prior also on the cusp depending on who comes in.

I would be surprised if we don’t extend SEH - has shown enough for me and can see him having a good career with us

The nuffie in me says Durham.

The brain though says Newcombe.
I don’t think it’s a nuffie perspective when the player you’re boosting often gets over 20 hard-won disposals per game, kicks team lifting goals, is quality above head and below knees, and can play in multiple positions. I think it simply comes down to the preference in player type. Hence, he brings more to the table. Newcombe is a great player though.

Durham or Newcombe? I reckon Durham brings more to the table.
duz for me. he came in as a complete player and hasn't missed a step since.

edit: newcombe's had some off games last season and this season, i'm biased (obv) but i can't think of any single significantly bad game that duz has played for us, except maybe missing that goalsquare goal.

I don’t think it’s a nuffie perspective when the player you’re boosting often gets over 20 hard-won disposals per game, kicks team lifting goals, is quality above head and below knees, and can play in multiple positions. I think it simply comes down to the preference in player type. Hence, he brings more to the table. Newcombe is a great player though.
Also Durham isn't a diving flog

I think this is the point missed by every casual observer making a point. The bulk of the guys haven't died. Hayes did his ACL but apart from that, the rest of the lot should return in 6 weeks. No point taking a KPD for 2 - 3 games, the guys taken are long term (May & Smartt) or genuine stop gaps (McMahon & Blankiston)
I was just thinking something similar, surely we cant play chess while everyone else is playing checkers? (we DESPERATELY need a KPD then pick up a KPF with our first pick)

I think North take May with pick 2, even after spooking themselves with the failure of Jacob Edwards couple of years back. Plenty of small fwds available later in this draft should they decide to go there

1. WCE - McCarthy
2. Roos - May
3. Port - Ramm
4. Blues - Newton
5. Dogs - Selwood
6. Dons - ???

Don't understand why people are melting about not getting a KPD. We actually have KPD depth and it's just a once in a blue moon event they all happen to be injured simulataneously.

Our tall forwards are... Caddy, Peter Wright and nobody else.

Picking for the future is the way.

Well picking for the future is easy to say now.
If Dons end up losing 90% of games for the rest of the year, multiple 100 point losses, the knives are going to be out for someone at years end.

Durham or Newcombe? I reckon Durham brings more to the table.
The fact that it's pretty close and i'm probably a little biased, it makes me paranoid that the answer could be Newcombe.
duz for me. he came in as a complete player and hasn't missed a step since.

edit: newcombe's had some off games last season and this season, i'm biased (obv) but i can't think of any single significantly bad game that duz has played for us, except maybe missing that goalsquare goal.
It's Newcombe, and it isn't close. I can't stand Hawthorne but all of these deserve to be in the delusional pearlers thread.

Well picking for the future is easy to say now.
If Dons end up losing 90% of games for the rest of the year, multiple 100 point losses, the knives are going to be out for someone at years end.

Why should it?

We shouldn't have expected to be any good, just because we've won a few extra games shouldn't change that expectation. Having most of our guys over 190cm out with injury just adds to it.

Taking a couple of short-term KPD's that have no prospective future at the club, to maybe lose by a bit less, seems wasteful.

Recruiting Mid Season Draft Thread - Welcome to Essendon Archie May, Lachlan Blakiston, Oskar Smartt & Liam McMahon!