Certified Legendary Thread The New Carlton Thread: 31st season without a flag for the eternal dickheads

My problem is with the ‘anti-social’ hotline. Who decides what’s ’anti-social’?

At a Pies game a few years ago with a group of (mostly) Pies friends, the Hawks supporting husband of one mate took umbrage with the behaviour of someone near us - mostly a lot of yelling and swearing -and rang the hot-line to complain. Security arrived and escorted the person out.

I was shocked TBH - hadn’t noticed anything too problematic. Storm in a tea-cup stuff. Nowhere near as bad as what a young VP used to hear in the outer at Vic Park.

I’m not excusing the effect of this matter on Voss and his family. He’s a public figure under enormous pressure.

It’s the context, the media beat up, the skewed coverage of this stuff - and once again a Pies fan is in the frame. Let’s not forget it’s only a few months since two Pies fans took loaded guns into the MCG.

At a Pies game a few years ago with a group of (mostly) Pies friends, the Hawks supporting husband of one mate took umbrage with the behaviour of someone near us - mostly a lot of yelling and swearing -and rang the hot-line to complain. Security arrived and escorted the person out.

I was shocked TBH - hadn’t noticed anything too problematic. Storm in a tea-cup stuff. Nowhere near as bad as what a young VP used to hear in the outer at Vic Park.

I’m not excusing the effect of this matter on Voss and his family. He’s a public figure under enormous pressure.

It’s the context, the media beat up, the skewed coverage of this stuff - and once again a Pies fan is in the frame. Let’s not forget it’s only a few months since two Pies fans took loaded guns into the MCG.
Great post. The can of worms this could open is interesting

I can't watch this shit, I've turned over to Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares USA
AFL, what are you?

gordon-ramsay-stuff.gif

His currency would be pretty low at the moment, I dunno I just think he would be a decent fit especially with him pushing up the ground as well
Be funny if he kicked 60 for us and won a flag. Imagine the heads popping off all the Carlton flogs everywhere

Were they Pies fans with the guns? I assumed they were Blues supporters too 🙄

Unfortunately - Pies fans. With a grievance against a security guard. And it was another Pies V Blues game.☹️

Jathanas expressed it better than I probably will, but for me thing to remember about a joke is that context is king.

I'm a stand up comedy fan and a couple of guys who would defend their right to tell an "offensive" joke more than anyone else had this to say about context:

"You can joke about anything, but not anywhere. You need to understand your audience and the setting. Context is everything." - Ricky Gervais

"It’s the duty of the comedian to find out where the line is drawn and cross it… deliberately. But you have to know what room you’re in." - George Carlin

A joke about murder amongst mates or on a footy comedy show is not equivalent to a message left on an official channel dedicated to reporting adverse behaviour. It can't be, because the context is so drastically different.

Five years is pretty hefty and I reckon that's where the debate is. 🙂