Autopsy Round 18, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Port

Harry was pure business tonight. to be fair tries his bloody heart out. Wacks away without question..
I was big on him early days but he slowly started he slowly heading in the Rotham direction but also continuous injuries didn’t help. He went back and did the basics, didn’t try to go for the intercepts but choosing to spoil and in that sense it also meant he wasn’t giving his direct opponent too much sapce. Started playing good footy and with confidence and form he’s now recently started playing that attacking style and is thriving.

I was frustrated with Bazzo but also wouldn’t mind seeing rhett stay in the side. Tho as a marking defender, Rhett seems tk two grab and tries to mark too many on his chest which is quite dangerous

If we were aware of a possible Graham suspension and Ryan being sore, probably the wrong week for TK to go find form in the WAFL. We were so light on in the middle today, unfair for Harley to carry all the midfield battles like he did.

For the amount of talent Port have, great effort. That's a 10 goal loss last season, improvement shown!
Would of loved us to go all in and have crippa the sub over long tbh. Probs hindsight though

I reckon Big H would like to have his time again but baz Williams hits the ball to ports advantage and no one is bodying Horn Flog. Reckon that'll be reviewed first thing tomorrow morning
Baz Williams always seems to hit the ball directly to an opponent! J Williams is a better placer of the ball in hit outs.

No i mean a proven AFL mid. While Graham is a dumb **** he was never going to meaningfully help out reid, he isn’t a notorious accumulator and while he does the team/defensive thing (which help a bit) he isn’t enough of threat for the oppo.

...... Dev?

I was big on him early days but he slowly started he slowly heading in the Rotham direction but also continuous injuries didn’t help. He went back and did the basics, didn’t try to go for the intercepts but choosing to spoil and in that sense it also meant he wasn’t giving his direct opponent too much sapce. Started playing good footy and with confidence and form he’s now recently started playing that attacking style and is thriving.

I was frustrated with Bazzo but also wouldn’t mind seeing rhett stay in the side. Tho as a marking defender, Rhett seems tk two grab and tries to mark too many on his chest which is quite dangerous
rothers played alongside gov, barrass and hurn on occasions and was never accountable for a top forward...
Harry always came in as a younger bloke when we had injuries to intercept 60+ inside 50s a game
Our boy Harry gets the baptism of fire, big F**k off boots to fill for the squad. I think he's doing ok

This was a game of two halves. If the game ended at half time, there'd be no negatives to list. If the game started after half time, you'd struggle to post many positives.

Positives:
  • Harley is a beast. 27 touches with very little support from teammates is massive.
  • Shanahan should be the foundation of our forward line going forward.
  • Hall may just become the midfield ball pig for us.
  • Thought Duggan was a lot better this week
  • I'm a fan of J.Williams. He's a smart footballer, strong hands and good kick for goal.
  • Brockman looks a special player when he gets his hands on the footy.

Negatives:
  • BWilliams looked disinterested.
  • Cripps looks like he needs to retire.
  • Owies did a couple nice things early but also a couple Owies things. I don't think he's AFL standard, and maybe his shortcomings were masked within a stronger Carlton side. But at the Eagles, it feels like he's getting games because we lured him over so kinda feel obligated to have him in our side.

Other:
Rioli, was a favourite of mine but now I just see him as a loser. Drug ban, smuggling drugs through the airport, the threats he makes to other players and now how overweight he is despite all the benefits of being in the AFL system. He's so talented, but sabotaging his career.
Port seem to produce a lot of flogs. Their supporters are known flogs, Cornes is a flog, JHF was a flog from before he even went there, and Butters is just oh so brave when he knows nobody can swing a punch. Even Dermy called it, saying Butters was lucky he wasn't playing in an earlier era.

Pos
  • Harley back towards peak fitness played a good game. Pity it’s all up to him
  • Edwards very good, intercept machine now
  • Baker gives such great effort consistently
  • Dewar is developing although had some poor moments
  • Shanahan looks the goods
  • Effort was there all day which is not something that could be said for previous few years

Neg
  • We continue to get so opened up in transition and out of stoppage: oppo seems to have nobody go near them
  • Harley was distracted in last quarter to our detriment
  • The same old passengers (BWilliams, Owies) and Butchers (Hutch, Duggan).
  • I’m ready to move on from Duggan
  • Our midfield is nowhere near up to scratch. Hewett doesn’t provide a contest or gets pushed aside too often, and is fading out of games badly. More preseasons will help, but I wonder how much of it is concentration and application. Hough is struggling a bit, not sure it’s his position, obviously is great back, but end of day this is first year in there and still relatively young. And Hall is second year player only. We just can’t compete with that combo atm. I fear we are years away from where we need to be in here.
  • Any chance of someone providing a contest for the outlet kick from D50?
Maybe Duggan needs to play midfield as a bigger body-tagger to hand pass out to our young blokes.
Hough could return to his best position - in defence.

rothers played alongside gov, barrass and hurn on occasions and was never accountable for a top forward...
Harry always came in as a younger bloke when we had injuries to intercept 60+ inside 50s a game
Our boy Harry gets the baptism of fire, big F**k off boots to fill for the squad. I think he's doing ok
Sorry my man, didn't read your whole post.. absolutely Harry has gone back and is doing the little defensive things better than he has before.
😔🙌😬

To be fair, if Kelly could bring any of that form from the WAFL back to the AFL it'd be huge.

He was almost back to his old self in the WAFL.

It's not a long term fix as a pairing with Harley, but neither is Houghs 9 touches or Hewetts 14D contribution.
Agree, it's just weird how he can't seem to perform consistently in any AFL role. But goes back to Wafl and does well. Is he being tagged always?

It would be wonderful for the remainder of the season if he played at a consistent AFL level, which also involves kicking goals as a mid of HFF. This is the $1.1 million dollar man? I've always defended him, or the unfair/fake/misinterpreted posts about him, but let's not confuse that with runs of poor performances.

Another week in the Wafl would be good to drive the point home (after his last 1 week Wafl stint), but we face the Tigers at Optus, which could be a win, and if he could find it in himself to play well, he'd be much needed.

Maybe Duggan needs to play midfield as a bigger body-tagger to hand pass out to our young blokes.
Hough could return to his best position - in defence.
We tried that with Duggan. He just dump kicks it to the opposition CHB or HB. Too slow, no right foot whatsoever which is a disgrace for a mature AFL player. And he need to stop running and grabbing the ball after a behind. We all know he is just padding his stats. McCarthy should be taking all kickouts.

And not sure who he could tag. Too slow to keep up with any decent mids.

I missed the game but I watched the kayo mini. One small thing I noticed was their was a lot of chat form us to the opposition. I don't think riling up guys like butters and JHF is a great idea. I know Harley can go toe to toe with these guys "kinda" even at this stage of his career but he's gotta remember not everyone else is at that stage yet so we get made to look a little silly. The talk also seems distracting for us.

Another solid start only for us to get run over in the last quarter although port inaccuracy flattered us.

Big pre-season me thinks so we can run out games properly and some of these young fella's can put on a bit of size.

🌈

+ Good to see Jilliams bounce back somewhat from a poor last fortnight. Reckon that marks him safe and ahead of Bailey in the pecking order next week.

+ No joke Hedwards was an a absolute machine. Potentially the best game I've seen him play.

+ Not to be outdone by Brockman. Turning into a weapon for this club, hope he goes on with it and rides the confidence. Stats don't do him justice.

+ He dropped off after HT but Bakers first half was incredible. Set the tone for the boiz, true

+ Hall is building into the season nicely as a second year inside midfielder. Will be bullish on him if he can stay in the park and do a full pre season next year.

+ Liked Dewars game. Thought he slotted back in nicely into defense, which allowed Baker to play forward.

+ Quieter game from Jobe slightly but he just oozes class.

+ Bazzo got through his long awaited return game, underrated positive this one.

+ The young team in general jumping the opposition out of nowhere and leading the game for 3 quarters. Say what you will it was a positive step forward despite the frustrating finish.

🚽

- Hough. Gee whiz mate how is a 9d game even possible.

- Bailey was fairly rubbish. Owies always cooks the team in front of goal. It's like he turns into a potato when there's big sticks involved. Cripps was lame again.

- The Harley treatment, enough said.

More positives than negatives.

Owies did a couple nice things early but also a couple Owies things. I don't think he's AFL standard, and maybe his shortcomings were masked within a stronger Carlton side. But at the Eagles, it feels like he's getting games because we lured him over so kinda feel obligated to have him in our side.
This. Has he ever had a breakout game? Has ever stood out in a game? He's just kind of there and almost does something good, but not quite. Yet he kicks 4 goals (?) in Wafl. Long was good earlier last year, but now doesn't seem to impact as much. Champion looks like a keeper.

Was Hough tagged?
Brockman/Dewar give away stupid frees is my negative.

Ports midfield tonight consisted of

Butters
Wines
Rozee
Boak
Jason Horne Francis
Drew
Bergman
Liddy

our midfield consisted of

Dewar
Hewett
Maric
Brockman
Hough
Reid
Hall
Hutchison

Travis Boak alone has played 100 more games than our entire midfield combined.

That’s right, our entire midfield. All eight of them.

There are no negatives tonight. That type of effort and performance with a team so young & inexperienced is inspirational.

Proud of the team and just laughable how pathetic Ports players were grandstanding against a bunch of kids as if they just won the grand final.

Whatever floats their boat, I’d be more concerned that again they are going nowhere…….fast!

The ****ing umpires helping port in the last quarter was pathetic, harley gets ma handled scragged slung after every kick and no down field free ever, held and every stoppage, hell hutchinson got punched in the head no 50. our guys get umpired differently. we must demand an explanation from the AFL via the club
If we could get more people sending emails to WCE HQ besides me, that would be great, maybe put some pressure on the club to take a more public stance on this. It's long overdue and whilst it's not the sole reason we're losing games, it definitely sucks motivation out of players on game day, what's the point if you're not going to get rewarded or treated differently because you're stuck on the bottom rung.

Ports midfield tonight consisted of

Butters
Wines
Rozee
Boak
Jason Horne Francis
Drew
Bergman
Liddy

our midfield consisted of

Dewar
Hewett
Maric
Brockman
Hough
Reid
Hall
Hutchison

Travis Boak alone has played 100 more games than our entire midfield combined.

That’s right, our entire midfield. All eight of them.

There are no negatives tonight. That type of effort and performance with a team so young & inexperienced is inspirational.

Proud of the team and just laughable how pathetic Ports players were grandstanding against a bunch of kids as if they just won the grand final.

Whatever floats their boat, I’d be more concerned that again they are going nowhere…….fast!
Yep the fact that Port players were having a dig at our guys after they FINALLY got the game sealed up (after getting some Ump help) was pretty pathetic. Says a lot about their club.

Super disheartening the way it played out given the start.

It'd be nice to fast forward through the maturing part of Harley's career and get to the finish product, unfortunately patience is required. Carrying far too much for a 30 gamer though.

Bailey's contest in front of the ball was weak.

Disappointed malaki got subbed i thought he looked great and composed.

Hough had his best game as a mid a couple of weeks ago so I'll give him a pass for today.

Brockman has genuine A grade talent so it's frustrating you only ever see it in patches.

Edwards and baker outstanding.

Hutch is frustrating the hell out of me. The fumbles and the f@^% ups.

Shanahan is an absolute winner of a pick.

Would like to see Hewett's first half touches this year vs his second half. I reckon he's had a lot of fade outs. Fingers crossed for a full pre season and launch into next season.

Pos:
We were slick and efficient early, got scoreboard pressure on them.
Harley was good when you look at the possessions but they did look for him a lot more.
J Williams solid
Shanahan - glimpses, but definitely quality
Baker was fantastic early on esp ground balls
H Edwards - Elite intercepting, very very happy with how he has developed - eat shit Simmo
Ginbey excellent just so reliable
Hutch kept trying
Malakai was good in patches - can def see the potential
Dewar was good I thought

Neg
Need more out of Hough (Was he tagging?), Hewitt, Hall
what happened to Brockman (and Ryan earlier) rolling through the midfield?
Hutch was a momentum killer
Cripps horrible
Flynn apart from that Goal didn't do much

Maric invisible after half time
Bailey Williams a total waste of space after the first goal
Hough needs to go back to defence. He's not a mid. Gross in , Cole out, Hough down back.
Cripps is cooked, he's trying but the game is slowly pulling away from him
Hutch is a forward that takes hangers, why do we persist in playing him on the wing?
Legs.... either too old, or not old enough. Don't have enough in between.

Autopsy Round 18, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Port