Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

I genuinely think 2 x 9 team conferences would be great.

You play each team in your conference twice, both home and away, with an old school top four finals schedule for each conference.

Then the two conference winners play off in the GF.

I reckon you could split 'interstate' clubs into different Conferences, so there'd be a game in each state each week, and all clubs would then visit each state for an away game throughout the year.

To do it properly, 3 Vic clubs would have to relocate though. One to Tassie, one to NT and one to Canberra.

Epic comp.

They should do it when it's a 20 team comp.

The conferences change each season depending on ladder positions of the season before.

And you can still have the rivalry matches ect if those teams are in different conferences.

Absolute no brainer in my opinion but it will be a brave decision.

After how close this season was for the top 9 or so teams, I'm more open to a wildcard round, and I wouldn't mind seeing it come in next year.

Get rid of the pre-finals bye and move it to before the Grand Final.

They should do it when it's a 20 team comp.

The conferences change each season depending on ladder positions of the season before.

And you can still have the rivalry matches ect if those teams are in different conferences.

Absolute no brainer in my opinion but it will be a brave decision.
I would move teams from Vic rather than adding more.

The Problem Statement for which my proposed solution applies, is the inequities of the Draw ultimately.

Having Conferences with too many Vic teams would disadvantage the non-Vic teams in regards to travel.

If Vic clubs relocated to Tassie (Hawthorn) NT (Essendon) Ballarat (Bulldogs) Canberra (North) and Sorrento (St Kilda) you'd be able to balance out the travel inequities a bit better.

You'd get a local game in every big city every week, with a fortnightly game in the smaller cities/towns.

The VFL were quick to end Gaff's season in 2018

But if it was a Pendlebury, Selwood or a Gotchin type who did the same thing, they would have been available for a possible prelim/GF...zero doubt

Like Cloke in 2002 and Rocca in 2003. God you vicbias lemmings are something else

If (when) Indian Pacific Limited get the extra priority pick they have been whinging for, that will bury your vic bias complaints for good.

After how close this season was for the top 9 or so teams, I'm more open to a wildcard round, and I wouldn't mind seeing it come in next year.

Get rid of the pre-finals bye and move it to before the Grand Final.

This season in my opinion is an example of why a wild card round is not a great idea IMO.

Depending on what system they go with, it could have ended with a 15 win team playing a 12 win team in a sudden death game. I don’t think that’s fair.

If (when) Indian Pacific Limited get the extra priority pick they have been whinging for, that will bury your vic bias complaints for good.

I'd be more concerned your minnow club selling home games and membership numbers being in freefall

I'd be more concerned your minnow club selling home games and your membership numbers being in freefall
As a member of a member-owned club, as opposed to a subscriber to a WAFC-owned franchise, I have more say in the running of my club than you could ever dream of having.

it took you 3 hours to come up with that :p

i think gaff deserved 20 weeks for that hit. WABias brought it down to something to placate the methheads

That the 30 second clock is a joke.

It's meant to take away umpire discretion as to when to call play on, but gives them even more impactful discretion about how far out from goal the clock even relates to. Do they even get to decide? Is it the bloke controlling the graphics in the scoreboard who decides?

It's not even in the bloody Laws of the Game.

Just let the umps give a warning then call play on.

That the 30 second clock is a joke.

It's meant to take away umpire discretion as to when to call play on, but gives them even more impactful discretion about how far out from goal the clock even relates to. Do they even get to decide? Is it the bloke controlling the graphics in the scoreboard who decides?

It's not even in the bloody Laws of the Game.

Just let the umps give a warning then call play on.

I think you've nailed the main problem with it (umpires having to make a call on if a player is kidding themselves, lining up for a shot 60m out) but in the main, I don't think it's a huge issue.

To stamp it out though, you could do two things:

1. Clock stops in time on of the fourth quarter after a player has held the ball for longer than five seconds after a mark/free kick. Time back on after he kicks/handballs or is called to play on. I'm pretty sceptical as to whether the league wants the games to go for a few more minutes though.

2. After a player has advised the umpire that they're having a shot, the subsequent kick can't be marked by a teammate (as if it were touched), but it can be marked by the opposition.

The clock starts as soon as there is a mark taken in kicking range. At least at Marvel and the G it does. Its irrelevant if the player has indicated he's taking a shot or not. Umpires don't decide when the clock starts.

2. After a player has advised the umpire that they're having a shot, the subsequent kick can't be marked by a teammate (as if it were touched), but it can be marked by the opposition.
Bit harsh, but I like you're thinking.

I reckon a slightly more digestible fix is that the 30 seconds is cumulative. So if Player A takes 22 seconds, then his teammate has only 8 seconds remaining - which is actually probably enough anyway.

I hate that trade and free agency talk has begun so early in the year, to the extent that it is totally dominating the ongoing finals series.

It's just awful that players are walking out on clubs one day out from their last match. It's awful that contracted players and captains are meeting with rival coaches then asking for a trade just because their team missed finals. It's even worse that finals teams are engaging in this rather than focusing on the game, but they have to, because of they don't now they will miss out.

The AFL needs to bring back and strictly enforced a moratorium on contracted players or their agents talking to rival clubs. No distractions until the end of the year.

Instead, have a contract and transfer window that starts a full week after the GF and runs until, say May. No player or agent can talk to other clubs until the next window. So the next TDK gets to May, still hasn't signed? Great.. let's talk in October. And in the meantime can we talk about actual footy for 10 minutes?

Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2