Have Richmond passed North and west coast

I guarantee you the tigers ask for assistance when they’re bottom 2 in 2 years time, I’d prepare to be ashamed.
Did we ask for assistance in 2010 when being compared to Fitzroy and facing a rebuild during GWS and GC launch? Nope, we refused. As if a pick end of R1 and some extra rookie spots is the answer to the Eagles incompetence.

We beat the Eagles by 10-goals on their home track in the first year of a proper rebuild, a year after we traded out 4 of our best players. We won 5 games to 1. Many of our elite youngsters barely played.

Meanwhile, in the strongest draft on record the Eagles picked Bo Allan .....bahahhaha.
We also picked Jobe Shanahan, who'll be better than any of the talls you picked before him.

Did we ask for assistance in 2010 when being compared to Fitzroy and facing a rebuild during GWS and GC launch? Nope, we refused. As if a pick end of R1 and some extra rookie spots is the answer to the Eagles incompetence.
Of course you didn't ask, the rules didn't change until 2012.

In 2010, you just had to win under a certain amount of games so no, Richmond didn't 'refuse' to ask, because they didn't qualify under the old rules to begin with.

Oh, your club also won 6 games that year.

Try reading up the history of the PP rules before making dumb statements like this.

We beat the Eagles by 10-goals on their home track in the first year of a proper rebuild, a year after we traded out 4 of our best players. We won 5 games to 1. Many of our elite youngsters barely played.

Meanwhile, in the strongest draft on record the Eagles picked Bo Allan .....bahahhaha.
You had how many picks and missed Shanahan and Reid?

Bahahahahaha

We also picked Jobe Shanahan, who'll be better than any of the talls you picked before him.

Jobe Shanahan has kicked 12 goals in his career to date.

Normally supporters wait a bit longer than this to start overhyping their recruits, mate

Jobe Shanahan has kicked 12 goals in his career to date.

Normally supporters wait a bit longer than this to start overhyping their recruits, mate
You not seen the Richmond fans? It was literally in response to a fan talking down Allan, as if Smillie didn’t have a worse year.

Overhyping unexposed recruits is quite literally all Richmond has, as they had 2 blokes under 25 in the top 12 of their B&F.

Maybe focus on your own club, mate. They've just asked the AFL for a handout, they are apparently walking three people to the pre-season draft, Liam Ryan wants out & Harley Reid is unhappy.

I know that your club is just recruiting from Richmond these days; but it doesn't explain your obsession with the B&F results.

Considering the Eagles list needs players between 23 and 28 due to multiple early retirements........they will cope perfectly fine. Young is a McGovern short term stop gap. Pretty basic concept really.

Thats been explained by the club on multiple occassions.

But whatever YOU need to do to cope......you go ahead and keep on coping. ;) :tearsofjoy:
Young is a McGovern short term stop gap.
Wow

I like Young and he’ll be reliable and he’s been in elite performance environments for a long time with his soccer background.
But mate you dont have anything close to a McGovern within the foreseeable future on your list.
Waterman took him to the cleaners.

What a shame we somehow messed up only securing Lalor, Smillie, Hotton, Faull, Trainor, Armstrong, Sims, Alger & North's 2025 pick 3 in the 2024 draft. Fiasco for the Tigers that. 🤣
Jesus that’s a rough list, so many picks to miss the best three players in the draft so far.

Replace the recruitment department now.

Maybe focus on your own club, mate. They've just asked the AFL for a handout, they are apparently walking three people to the pre-season draft, Liam Ryan wants out & Harley Reid is unhappy.

I know that your club is just recruiting from Richmond these days; but it doesn't explain your obsession with the B&F results.
Harley Reid so unhappy he just resigned?

I’d been told by Richmond fans all season how their young players have been carrying them to 5 wins only for 2 to turn up in the top 12. Just doesn’t add up.

Of course you didn't ask, the rules didn't change until 2012.

In 2010, you just had to win under a certain amount of games so no, Richmond didn't 'refuse' to ask, because they didn't qualify under the old rules to begin with.

Oh, your club also won 6 games that year.

Try reading up the history of the PP rules before making dumb statements like this.

There was plenty of talk at the time of Richmond badly needing and being given additional assistance outside the existing PP system, and were being encouraged to seek it. Brendan Gale refused to entertain asking for any extra help. So maybe don’t go off half cocked like you’re the smartest man in the room:

Jesus that’s a rough list, so many picks to miss the best three players in the draft so far.

I’d been told by Richmond fans all season how their young players have been carrying them to 5 wins only for 2 to turn up in the top 12. Just doesn’t add up.
2 words. Bo Allan. Wasn’t he the guy you got because you dropped down the draft order due to committing to Baker? Oh well … at least Baker is your best player.

There was plenty of talk at the time of Richmond badly needing and being given additional assistance outside the existing PP system, and were being encouraged to seek it. Brendan Gale refused to entertain asking for any extra help. So maybe don’t go off half cocked like you’re the smartest man in the room:

Cmon Shere, you know in two years time the tigers will be asking for assistance. Particularly with Tassie coming in.

It’s that or be stuck in propping up the ladder for another 30 years.

Why create all this material to go back in your face?

You not seen the Richmond fans? It was literally in response to a fan talking down Allan, as if Smillie didn’t have a worse year.

My worry is Bo Allan looked average in the lead up to the draft… poor disposal numbers, questionable skills (I desperately didn’t want us to select him as he was rumoured to be coming to us). He hasn’t dispelled those concerns with his WAFL and AFL performances thus far, but of course he has time.

Richmond weren't even remotely close to qualifying for assistance.

Your fan-fiction of Brendan Gale refusing to ask for assistance is the funniest thing in this thread, because no club asked for assistance then because it didn't exist outside of qualifying for PPs due to W/L record.

Are you too young to remember this?

My worry is Bo Allan looked average in the lead up to the draft… poor disposal numbers, questionable skills (I desperately didn’t want us to select him as he was rumoured to be coming to us). He hasn’t dispelled those concerns with his WAFL and AFL performances thus far, but of course he has time.
Not sure about poor disposal numbers considering he averaged 20d at the champs. His skills could do with some work.

He’s also one of the best athletes in the draft.

You can look at any of the draftees and find negatives, (Smillie - man against child, not actually a contested mid, non athletic. Lalor - questions over his production/injury) etc.

Cmon Shere, you know in two years time the tigers will be asking for assistance. Particularly with Tassie coming in.

It’s that or be stuck in propping up the ladder for another 30 years.

Why create all this material to go back in your face?
If we ever ask for special
Richmond weren't even remotely close to qualifying for assistance.

Your fan-fiction of Brendan Gale refusing to ask for assistance is the funniest thing in this thread, because no club asked for assistance then because it didn't exist outside of qualifying for PPs due to W/L record.

Are you too young to remember this?
Richmond were rebuilding during GC and GWS. In 2010 we were 0-9 with a percentage under 50%. Brendan Gale was asked multiple times in various forums (like referenced in that Age article) whether Richmond were going to ask for special draft assistance … he said no.

That’s ok … your club asked for assistance 5-years after making finals and 7-years after a flag…. In a year you’ll be getting pick-2 for Allen.

Meanwhile, Richmond said they’d not ask for assistance after a decade of no finals and 30-years since our last flag … with GC and GWS taking the Lions share of top draft picks.

As I said … I don’t believe we will ask for assistance and I will be embarrassed and disappointed if we do. It’s pretty demeaning and I never thought I’d think of the Kangas and Eagles as both being minnows.

Your club asked for help and that’s fine. If you support that then no worries, your call. I hope we never do.

Not sure about poor disposal numbers considering he averaged 20d at the champs. His skills could do with some work.

He’s also one of the best athletes in the draft.

You can look at any of the draftees and find negatives, (Smillie - man against child, not actually a contested mid, non athletic. Lalor - questions over his production/injury) etc.
I didn’t want him pre-draft. Did you? I think he’ll prove to be a poor selection. He may not. We can reconvene on this in a few years.

You mean told our young players carried us to 5 wins … like Lalor, Armstrong, Hotton, McCauliffe, Clarke, Smillie, Gibcus…. who barely played?

How could Richmond fans say young players who didn’t play carried us to 5 wins?

Have Richmond passed North and west coast