Unofficial Preview Round 2, 2019: Changes/pre-match discussion vs Brisbane Lions

Brad Scott would never drop McDonald, Turner and Simpkin.

If he does on Sunday it would amaze everyone that he actually did.

If JMac got dropped who would come in to replace him? I don't really think there is someone that is similar to him. Tom Murphy I guess but he is inexperienced and needs to build a better tank.

EVW replaced by Thompson
Wood replaced by Campbell
Lmac replaced by Murphy
Turner replaced by Thomas
Simpkin replaced by Ahern

Thompson is a like for like swap with the luckless EVW
Campbell coming in lets Brown stay out of the ruck and both he and Goldenstein can rest forward to offer a genuine tall option
Murphy played well last week, offers good distribution and should take the kick ins
Thomas to play Turners role but with greater pace. Offers good pressure and tackling and a decent set of wheels
Ahern is a much better midfielder than Simpkin

Why Pittard? He was actually the one half back who didn't disgrace himself. He was actually pretty solid, and compared to the rest of the guys down there, used it like Darren Jarman.

LMac and JMac absolutely deserve to go before he does.

I think Pittard is the better 1v1 competitor with the high ball between him, JMac and McDonald. His short-range disposal is also fairly solid, it is his long-kicking which is useless and he should be told never to go for a long kick again, then he would play to his strengths.

I just don't think Brad is any chance of dropping Macmillan and is less likely to drop McDonald than he is Pittard because McDonald is more "versatile". With the absence of Anderson he might be tempted to use him in the middle and ask him to apply some heat at stoppages. I think McDonald has a go, he is just a suspect defender and hasn't proven that he is a reliable user of the ball, at any range. Anderson was similarly suspect with ball in hand originally before finding his role in the midfield and he became fairly reliable at short range disposals, dishing it off and doing the 1%ers.

I just can't realistically find a spot in the back 6 for Pittard if Macmillan plays unless Atley goes back to half forward, that would leave us vulnerable to having slow ball movement out of the defensive 50 and have nobody in the back 6 that can hit a longer range target under pressure.

Look this comment might come back to bite me, but we should win this weekend and I think we are a good bet. If the result yesterday doesn’t put a rocket up them and fire them the **** up then nothing will. We will come out breathing fire and the Lions won’t be preparered for it. On our home deck too we’d want to put in a shift. On the flip side If we meekly bow down and are well beaten again then severe questions need to be asked and answered.
I agree with that sentiment in general. But the lions won’t be any walkover. I watched them last week at the Gabba and they made a lot of mistakes with rushed disposal. Yet still hit he job done after the reigning premiere looked to have The ascendancy. They are only going to get better and better.

I wouldn't. They both have about the same pace, but Tyson is better in the clearances and allows LDU to get forward.

Simpkin did enough to keep his spot, and Ahern doesn't play Turners role.

I agree on Simpkin, just stating I would prefer Dumont. Never mentioned Ahern playing Turner's role.

Not sure Tyson should be dropped either but LDU forward isn't pivotal. Froggy should be given back his wing.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Why Pittard? He was actually the one half back who didn't disgrace himself. He was actually pretty solid, and compared to the rest of the guys down there, used it like Darren Jarman.

LMac and JMac absolutely deserve to go before he does.
Pittard pretty decent I thought, 84% DE and only 2 clangers. When you consider how often the ball was in there, how much pressure the defence were under and what a shit show it was that's pretty decent. Plus he's fast and pretty good at defending one on one.

Out:
EVW (injured)
Wood (0 TACKLES, if your only getting it 8 times you need to apply max pressure)
Turner (low production, poor efficiency yet only 2 tackles)
IN:
Thompson
Thomas (can provide as much aerial threat as Wood whilst adding ground pressure)
Ahern (takes Simkins mid rotation roll whilst Jye moves to Turners pressure fwd spot)

I tried to make it sound like a good thing.
Actually the fact that we dont have anyone like him is a good thing you are correct, however we also have Lmac and he is probably even worse.

I think Pittard is the better 1v1 competitor with the high ball between him, JMac and McDonald. His short-range disposal is also fairly solid, it is his long-kicking which is useless and he should be told never to go for a long kick again, then he would play to his strengths.

I just don't think Brad is any chance of dropping Macmillan and is less likely to drop McDonald than he is Pittard because McDonald is more "versatile". With the absence of Anderson he might be tempted to use him in the middle and ask him to apply some heat at stoppages. I think McDonald has a go, he is just a suspect defender and hasn't proven that he is a reliable user of the ball, at any range. Anderson was similarly suspect with ball in hand originally before finding his role in the midfield and he became fairly reliable at short range disposals, dishing it off and doing the 1%ers.

I just can't realistically find a spot in the back 6 for Pittard if Macmillan plays unless Atley goes back to half forward, that would leave us vulnerable to having slow ball movement out of the defensive 50 and have nobody in the back 6 that can hit a longer range target under pressure.
Nah, Pittard to stay, his second and third effort showed his good work ethic. McFonald was well below average, no second effort and coughed it up to much

Am I crazy or did Cunnington barely even touch Wilson who took a dive? It looks like he slapped his arm not 'violently' punched him

Wilson clearly dived, and the media fell for it hook, line and sinker to the point of Caro, Robbo and Whateley having an almighty sook over it and deeming it as inconsistent.

It was a slap on the chest, didn't look great but thats all it was.

Am I crazy or did Cunnington barely even touch Wilson who took a dive? It looks like he slapped his arm not 'violently' punched him
Probably about the same as what Bernie got a few years back. :P

Wilson clearly dived, and the media fell for it hook, line and sinker to the point of Caro, Robbo and Whateley having an almighty sook over it and deeming it as inconsistent.

An the on the couch team an some other places. Fair dinkum soft as ****

Reckon there will be lucky to be 2 changes.
Out EVW Simpkin
In Thompson Ahern
But would Out Wood In Larkey as well.
Need games into McKay & Larkey this year.

I am warming a little to Christian. Starting to see incidents for what they are, not appeasing to media blow ups and agendas. Being a member of one of the most dirty back sixes ever assembled (think Gayfer, Kelly, Banks) this is how I initially thought he would be. Hopefully he continues on this path.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

I agree with that sentiment in general. But the lions won’t be any walkover. I watched them last week at the Gabba and they made a lot of mistakes with rushed disposal. Yet still hit he job done after the reigning premiere looked to have The ascendancy. They are only going to get better and better.

Think back to their last half effort at the Gabba last year

TBH we were a kick away from losing that...this ain’t a certainty

Reckon there will be lucky to be 2 changes.
Out EVW Simpkin
In Thompson Ahern
But would Out Wood In Larkey as well.
Need games into McKay & Larkey this year.
Think all three of those will happen. I personally would also drop Turner and McDonald for TT and Murphy respectively but think that's asking a bit much of Brad.