Autopsy Hawks defeated by Cats

Such a “not quite” game today, so many times we had chances, but it was not quite to be. Another week to suffer, and does the week drag out so much to the next game!

1. So many occasions when you have a break, have players loose, players running free, and you’re just waiting for that decisive handball or kick to create an easy goal and it just doesn’t happen. The inexperienced player makes an error, things don’t quite happen. And as usual, the turnovers were disastrous today.

2. I loved the effort, and I can’t find any fault in those wearing our colours: yes, mistakes happened but their endeavour was fantastic.

3. Those picking out individuals should be ashamed of yourselves.

4. The great part is that the competition is very close, there is very little between the teams. We only need to get some players back and we can turn it around.

Go Hawks, we are still in this thing.

No alarm bellz just yet realistically we should be 4-1 barring Injurys,few rough decisions and coughing up 5 goal leads.

The Next 2 weeks are a must and to get a few seniors players in.

Good effort all things considered.

Bloody Rohan plays his one good game for the year, GAJ nails everything, Dangerflog chips in with his usual input (albeit with plenty of help from the maggots) and we still get to within 3-4 goals.

Impressed with Lewis and must persevere.

Not fussed with Chad and the Skull as they are still building fitness and working out our game plan.

BB immense after being shaded early - fingers crossed he’s good to go next week.

Breust - WTF is going on and needs a 100 shots at goal during the week to remind him what to do.

Really happy with Brand - needs a fair run at it.

Not sure why some are criticising Rough - played his role well, showed plenty of leadership and creates for others.

Irish and Harry to have a spell and regain some confidence - Miles in and would love to see CJ given a chance as he has a bit of x-factor and may thrive at the higher level.

Plenty to like and will be there cheering the boys on against the silvertails next week.

Another thing. When a bloke is sitting on a bagel at half time, you gotta move him.

Gunner had to be swung forward in the 2nd half. It wasn’t working down back.

Likewise Scully. We’re playing him in the wrong spot. He ain’t a forward. Either play him on a wing or inside. Had to make that move and get him into the game.

Our fitness is worst in league ,questions need to be raised,wtf were we doing preseason playing tiddlywinks
How can you quantify this?

Especially considering....

436EFD24-7B1F-4F29-AD40-A06631DAB6CA.jpeg

Some of you guys that correlate goals being kicked late in a quarter as definitive evidence of a lack of fitness don’t seem to have considered any other factors.

How can you quantify this?

Especially considering....

View attachment 660042

Some of you guys that correlate goals being kicked late in a quarter as definitive evidence of a lack of fitness don’t seem to have considered any other factors.
I don't think the blokes running out can currently execute the game plan for the full quarter.

I'm not talking momentum, I'm saying the end of quarters have been brutal to us for weeks and not just when we have injuries.

We're carrying kids, under done players and injured players becuase of our outs and lack of options.

We clearly need good runners for what Clarko wants to do and we chase tail a fair bit with our current setup

And when we tire or switch off for a minute we see what happens

The good part of that for me is that it means when we are switched on and executing we are covering a large lack of experience and class with structure and intensity

The bad part is its not quite sustainable

I've grabbed the players from AFL.COM and they come in order of fantasy points which is interesting from a Geelong point of view as Gary Rohan came 12th for them and arguably won the game for them by half time. Anyway in General I've tried to look at the positive, a few you can't at the moment but they are senior players. I've taken it from the point of view that Geelong are the best team in the comp right now on exposed form so far this season. (Not that they should be favourites to win a premiership or anything like that)

Ricky Henderson - Probably passed JOM in our B&F after today at one stage this former supposedly Adelaide soft c*ck who never backed back into a pack did so and Tim Kelly decided he was safer not to contest. In case Ricky knocked him out even tho he couldn't see him. He's not just in career best form, he's arguably in the short list for All Australian.
Ben McEvoy - Got done a couple of times by sneeky Geelong pushing Stanley up forward as they swapped ruckman, said f'you I can do that too. And started to clunk them everywhere. Much better than his worst game of the year last week, losing him late who knows if that may have just got us and extra goal or two to put The game on the line.
James Worpel - Look a kid doing super, however a kid who is also a great blocker for centre clearances, watch JOM get the ball, watch JOM clear the ball or run clear with the ball, watch the bigger picture of Worpedo blocking every bloke near him to open the space that he does that without care everytime he hasn't got the ball, yet still impacts games through his other hardwork of getting the ball is super.
James Sicily - Class above anyone on our backline, perhaps any backline. Someone mentioned since the dogs game not a word from him... so also now mature.
Jaeger O'Meara - Good early, slowed down later, does have a tendency to do that but overall good.
Daniel Howe - That they moved Dangerfield to the forwardline says enough. He's more an accumulator than an impact player but as a tagger twas good early and looked much fitter than the week before.
Jack Gunston - Reasonable in defence certainly better than he's been up forward. A few shank kicks that gave away at least one goal, went forward late didn't really impact.
Jarryd Roughead - Played second ruck role as well as forward, he's okish in the second ruck role but it tires him out and his basically cactus as a forward half-way through the second because of it.
Blake Hardwick - Better overall, moreso in the first half, he was definitely trying to provide a little more run than previous weeks, which was good.
Jarman Impey - Strange Cat, was good, very good early but then disappeared for longer than Shaun Burgoyne does. I do wonder sometimes when he starts off well if teams try to play him on the 'dead' forward who's job is to go where the ball ain't. Always makes an attempt to be third man in.
Isaac Smith - Not sure about Smith this year, he hasn't been bad but he hasn't been good compared to say a Ricky Henderson... and maybe that's me noticing Ricky and thinking why isn't Smith better.
David Mirra - Certainly become the biggest scapegoat down back since Mark Graham. Mirra is a guy who tries his heart out, when no one runs to give an option Mirra does, when Mirra gets the ball and thinks, well he's in trouble. Needs to just stick with the limitations God gave him he was serviceable today.
Paul Puopolo - I'm almost 5'10", I used to play FB or CHB at times at local suburban footy... (so sh*t grade footy compared to this and I was way too short) Poppy's luck to be 5'7" he currently is our number one tall at an AFL team to bring the ball down against 6'4" inch athletic behomeths and it's usually two of them… how's he going... well he's doing a better Job than Conor Nash (who's not there to do the role), Jaryd Roughead and Jack Gunston and also Ceg's when he was playing... so I'd say definitely ok at his role given his height.
Chad Wingard - Somehow ended the day with 16 possessions, for a bloke who only needs 10 to win a game, that's the second week in a row he's had more and had basically zero impact on the game. Fitness? Dunno the only good thing was his 3 minute cameo in the centre when he got a few of those possies and looked dangerous.
Jack Scrimshaw - Not his best today, not horrid either. I'm ok with that I didn't expect much coming into the season, if that's his worst... there is an argument most would have thought that would be his best.
Tom Scully - Simply put a shocker, however played completely out of position and couldn't adapt. Given his first 3 games i'll cop that given the injury he's coming back from. Hopefully they don't make the same mistake again.
Luke Breust - Much Like Chad another stinker. Not sure what's wrong to be honest... something in me worries that playing a taller quick player on him removes all his aerial ability (much like Stratton on Betts) seems a bit lost too, like he can't work out why he isn't getting it.
Mitchell Lewis - Liked everything today... but most of all I reckon he set up at least two goals from push ons, or second punches stopping an opposition mark which wouldn't even get listed as stats, needs to be persisted with for as long as possible. Also seems like a bloke everyone loves at the club.
James Cousins - Exploited badly by Geelong the other way, I actually asked for him to go forward at half time and get Scully on the wing (as well as Smith and Hendo thru middle) They did send him forward a few times and I reckon he extracted the ball to set up a couple of goals we got. Make no doubt about it he's got pace and fitness issues... but so did Sam Mitchell early in his career so it just has to be managed and unfortunately we are short of true midfielders at the moment so he's carrying to big a load at this point in his career. He had a crack, just struggled and out of his depth against stronger opponents today.
Harry Morrison - The one thing I remember about harry in his first couple of games and then last year was his pace, the one thing I notice most about Harry this year is he seems not to be fast anymore compared to his opponent. I think that's his issue, I'm not sure why he seems slower either. He just can't quite break free.
Kaiden Brand - Geez way down here on Fantasy, don't think he did anything wrong, in fact struggle to think of one thing he did wrong off the top of my head (tho I do remember saying I'll wear that mistake because it was the right option) far better kick than Frawley, took a few good strong pack marks... TBH pretty hard to say anything else than a solid day in the office. He had a job and I reckon he beat his opponents overall. Quite happy with that.
Conor Nash - Doing a role asked of him... not sure what else he can do at this point of time... also not sure we have another player who could do it unless they try TOB or Schoe again.

Paragraphing wouldn’t go astray

Ok... I’m usually first to pick on Roughy but he stood up today as a leader and led by example.

Some other observations;
  1. Mitch Lewis has a real threatening presence about him, I really hope we give him a good shot at stringing a few games together.
  2. Worpel is a bloody ripper - future Captain material. Can’t wait to see him with Tommy & JOM in the future.
  3. Henderson would be leading the B&F
  4. I hope those calling for Poppy to be dropped previously really took note of his game today.
  5. Big Boy is the most underrated ruckman in the league, he may not be the best tap ruckman but his efforts around the ground are #1
Cannot question the young players endeavour and we have some real rippers coming through... Exciting times ahead.

Goals after the siren Q1 & Q2 and another goal with seconds left in Q3 is a sign of a young team.

Definitely have some senior players who I believe (hope) they’ll have some heat turned up behind closed doors, really need a kick up the ass.

I don't think the blokes running out can currently execute the game plan for the full quarter.

I'm not talking momentum, I'm saying the end of quarters have been brutal to us for weeks and not just when we have injuries.

We're carrying kids, under done players and injured players becuase of our outs and lack of options.

We clearly need good runners for what Clarko wants to do and we chase tail a fair bit with our current setup

And when we tire or switch off for a minute we see what happens

The good part of that for me is that it means when we are switched on and executing we are covering a large lack of experience and class with structure and intensity

The bad part is its not quite sustainable

I don’t think it’s a fitness issue, it has to be bottom 3-4 player issue along with a lack of leadership. There’s no other explanation is there? Our bottom 3-5 aren’t up to it and we lack severe leadership and ball winning ability with Shiels/Titch and Silk out.

We all know who aren’t performing, we all know the guys who need to be in the VFL and we all know our injury issues. I think come end of season we will be there abouts in the 8 and if healthy can cause trouble.

I don’t think it’s a fitness issue, it has to be bottom 3-4 player issue along with a lack of leadership. There’s no other explanation is there? Our bottom 3-5 aren’t up to it and we lack severe leadership and ball winning ability with Shiels/Titch and Silk out.

We all know who aren’t performing, we all know the guys who need to be in the VFL and we all know our injury issues. I think come end of season we will be there abouts in the 8 and if healthy can cause trouble.
I think for some of our blokes its a fitness issue, whether that be match fitness, niggles or just not enough preseason under the belt.

A few blokes that should be fit in theory really don't look it bag that could be mental and lack of leadership as you say

Our best fit 16-18 are as good as anyones in the comp. The sharp fall after that is what’s killing us.

If big boy is out next week I have great fears we will be 2-4 with a hard draw to come. Bottom 4 finish looking more and more likely this year

Does that mean you’ll call it season over and disappear or is that wishful thinking

Loved Worpel taking risks all day, especially when the game was to be won. Made a few blues that ended up goals going the other way but at least he has the mentality to be a winner.

Breust put in an absolute peaheart performance today. Very disappointed with his efforts.

Hendo surely has to be in the conversation for an AA squad spot.

Hope BigBoy going off was precautionary. He was fantastic again. Was a huge reason for us lifting in the last quarter with some big contested marks.

Loved Lewis' efforts. Have a player to work with. Hungry for the ball.

Our best fit 16-18 are as good as anyones in the comp. The sharp fall after that is what’s killing us.

Yeah completely agree... the key to winning premierships is to stay healthy.

Despite losing, did anyone enjoy our clear change in game style? We moved the footy quicker, we took chances through the middle of the ground and we rebounded with intent. We lost today because we simply don’t have the talent available.

Replace -
Mirra
Nash
Morrison
Cousins

With -
Stratton
Shiels
Burgoyne
Mitchell

And we are a completely different side, it’s not doom and gloom for me yet.

Loved brand Mitch lewis and Worpel. Those were great signs from the young boy, worpel held his own against those turds today. Lewis crunches packs with a purpose and must stay in all year regardless of his form. Just get games into him and Brand took some great relieving marks today and should hold his spot even when chip is fit.
Mirra just should never be allowed to play another game at senior level along with Nash