Dave The Man

Collingwood Magpies - Alan Didak 2009 Player Sponsor
Storm,Victory,Blue Jays
I excpect most people here Thought we where going to Draft Ellis and ?. Ellis was rated by BF and The Media as clearly the 2nd best talent in the draft behind Murphy and seen as the next Del Santo. Read SOME people's post before the Draft and saying how pumped they where about Ellis and Thinking he would be the next pie Superstar.

When we took Daisy instead of Ellis where you Shocked and Thought we stuffed up or where you okay with it?

Not looking at it know where Daisy is better but On the Day what where your Thoughts?

I liked Ellis a lot, but I liked Thomas and Pendlebury too, and while I can admit to having doubts at the time, I already knew to trust Hine a little - At the time his previous year's draft was looking excellent.

Egan, Rusling, Cloke, Iacobucci, Davies and Harry had all played senior footy and looked varying degrees of talented in 2005, so Hine pretty much looked like a genius at that point. Now we know that Egan, Yakka and Davies are gone, but Rusling, Cloke and Harry still all look like pretty good selections.

My point is, I probably wouldn't have had quite the amount of faith that I did if he I'd known that some of those guys would turn out the way the did, but the point is that I had faith in him at the time, and I have faith in him now.

It was really the draft we couldn't affort to get wrong, wasn't it?

I remember looking at the paper and thinking, this is just not right, this is so not right, where's my man Ellis ... and why the f... Pendlebury. Guess that's why I'm no talent scout.

It was really the draft we couldn't affort to get wrong, wasn't it?

True if we stuffed up Pick 2+5 we could still be a Bottom 8 Side but getting it right sent us back up to the Pointy end of the Ladder and I still think having Daisy and Pendles helped us in 2007 get as close as we did to the GF

1 game where he got fed the ball by more talented players?
I'll take Daisy, with improved core strength and endurance he could be a top 15 mid.

Switch on the GF Replay on Youtube & you will see why. Dave, no need for the capital letter on the Why.

I'm not sure we were watching the same game. I saw Ellis make a number of rudimentary mistakes that had the potential to shift the momentum back to Geelong. Looks a likely player, but Thomas has shown far more.

Ellis > Thomas.

Ellis has certainly improved a lot, and may well be in front of Thomas right now (not quite in my books, but a case can be made). But I have no doubt that Thomas will be the better player over their careers. Small forwards come midfielders take longer to develop than a half-back flanker. He just needs to put in the work in the gym and on the track, size and stamina before he becomes a midfielder, and once he does, he will dominate.

If we played Thomas off half-back where he could simply receive the ball, he would look brilliant providing so much run and carry and racking up the touches. But he's far more valuable to us using his brilliance where he wins the ball in the forward half.

I rate Ellis as a player, but I'm glad that we took Daisy despite being surprised with the decision at the time.

Ellis has made up some ground on Thomas, but in my opinion Thomas has far more scope for improvement than Ellis. I can see Ellis becoming an accumulator who generally uses the ball well, but Thomas is just naturally a lot more damaging.

I wouldn't be surprised if at the end of their careers Ellis ends up looking more impressive statistically, with Thomas being remembered as the overall better player.

If we played Thomas off half-back where he could simply receive the ball, he would look brilliant providing so much run and carry and racking up the touches. But he's far more valuable to us using his brilliance where he wins the ball in the forward half.

With all due respect to Dale, he doesn't have the touch by foot to play in such a role. He can be a good kick, but it isn't consistent enough for such a position.

Meh, besides Pendlebury and Thomas in reality we could've done better with picks 21 and 23. Stanley and Cook have hardly fulifilled their potential, whilst i still think Cook can become a servicable player, i doubt Stanley will make it.
We passed on players such as Ibbotson, Vince, Gilbert, Edwards and Warnock. I think we have too look at it in perspective. Anthony was a tick at 37, overall its a 3.5/5

I Recon it will be Stanley's year this year. Is a very good player IMO.
Was rated as being pick number 7 to pick 15 in the 2005 draft and was a steal for us.
Dont write stanley off has been showing great form in VFL.
And probly is a late bloomer. Dane swan never came out in his first years and was a star.
And i recon Stanley will do the same
he has been training very well in the pre season.
and was doing clearance work with fraser and wood when i went to watch them.
So dont be surprise if stanley will take over burns role in 2008

This is what Matt Burgan had to say about Stanley in 2005.

15 - GEELONG - Daniel Stanley(Geelong Falcons), 18 February 1988, 186.2cm, 89.5kg With Higgins and Birchall likely to be out of reach for the Cats, Stanley is the most likely option for Geelong at this stage. Although he has been linked with Essendon at No.7, Stanley could slide through to his 'home' town club. Melbourne is right in the mix for Stanley at No.12, should Higgins and Jones not land at the Demons, while he will also figure in Hawthorn's thoughts at No.14. Pfeiffer will also be strongly considered by Geelong, just before Adelaide has the opportunity to select him at either No.16 or No.17, when it has consecutives picks. McKinley is another in the mix. Stanley, a long-kicking defender, has genuine on-field presence and is terrific in one-on-one contests. He also possesses a good leap and is agile. Stanley represented Vic Country this year and was also an AIS/AFL Academy member.

I Recon it will be Stanley's year this year. Is a very good player IMO.
Was rated as being pick number 7 to pick 15 in the 2005 draft and was a steal for us.
Dont write stanley off has been showing great form in VFL.
And probly is a late bloomer. Dane swan never came out in his first years and was a star.
And i recon Stanley will do the same
he has been training very well in the pre season.
and was doing clearance work with fraser and wood when i went to watch them.
So dont be surprise if stanley will take over burns role in 2008

15 - GEELONG - Daniel Stanley(Geelong Falcons), 18 February 1988, 186.2cm, 89.5kg With Higgins and Birchall likely to be out of reach for the Cats, Stanley is the most likely option for Geelong at this stage. Although he has been linked with Essendon at No.7, Stanley could slide through to his 'home' town club. Melbourne is right in the mix for Stanley at No.12, should Higgins and Jones not land at the Demons, while he will also figure in Hawthorn's thoughts at No.14. Pfeiffer will also be strongly considered by Geelong, just before Adelaide has the opportunity to select him at either No.16 or No.17, when it has consecutives picks. McKinley is another in the mix. Stanley, a long-kicking defender, has genuine on-field presence and is terrific in one-on-one contests. He also possesses a good leap and is agile. Stanley represented Vic Country this year and was also an AIS/AFL Academy member.

Profile from footydraft .com from 2005:

Danny Stanley

Details:
Club: Ocean Grove/Geelong Falcons
DOB: 18 February 1988 Hgt: 186cm Wgt: 87kg
Position: Half Back Flank/Half Forward Flank
Natural Foot:Right
Honours:
Vic Country U16 2004 (vice captain)
AIS/AFL Academy 2004/2005
Vic Country U18 2005
AFL Draft Camp 2005
Draft Camp:
Mass: 89.5kg (9th)
Vertical Jump: 66cm (equal 7th)
TAC Stats:
2004 TAC Cup: did not play TAC Cup
2005 TAC Cup: 11 games, 6 goals, averaged 18.5 PPG, 5 times in best
2005 U18 Championships: 2 games, 0 goals, averaged 13.0 PPG
TAC Awards:
2005 TAC Cup Coaches Award: 13 votes
2005 TAC Cup Morrish Medal: 3 votes
Background:
Had a good taste of senior footy for Ocean Grove in the Bellarine Football League last year as a 16 year old and was also a vice Captain for the Vic Country under-16 side in last year’s championships. He earnt an AIS/AFL scholarship following his form in that carnival which saw him tour Ireland earlier this season. Upon his return to the TAC Cup in Round 3 this year he was named best on ground in the Falcons win over Bendigo, and some good form that followed saw him named part of the Vic Country U18 squad for this year’s championships despite only being a bottom age player. His form in his two championships games was reasonable, but he was hardly sighted following the carnival as he fell ill with glandular fever and missed a string of matches during August. It may cause him to slip down the list a little, and it could have affected his performances at draft camp where he ran an over 12 minute 3km. Very strong overhead and should be ready for some AFL in 2006.
Strengths:
- overhead marking is terrific
- Moves quite well for his size
- strong body for his age; could play AFL in 2006
Weaknesses:
- Missed a lot of footy late this season
- Kicking is poor
Footydraft.com comment:
Having missed a fair bit of footy at the end of the year it is tough to judge, potentially thought of as a first round pick mid year, but now might slip down the order into the second round.

Are people giving hine to much congratulations? Surely training facilities and the team envrionment have a massive say on how the player develops. We've seen a lot of players become better by switching to Collingwood

Meh, besides Pendlebury and Thomas in reality we could've done better with picks 21 and 23. Stanley and Cook have hardly fulifilled their potential, whilst i still think Cook can become a servicable player, i doubt Stanley will make it.
We passed on players such as Ibbotson, Vince, Gilbert, Edwards and Warnock. I think we have too look at it in perspective. Anthony was a tick at 37, overall its a 3.5/5
Yeah, we went mids, mids and more mids, much like 2008 really. I've never been a big fan of Cook, I know he has the speed, endurance and dedication, but he still runs around like a headless chook for mine. I do find myself wishing we'd gone for Warnock, lord knows we've needed a ruck for such a long time and we could have taken a punt after selecting three midfielders, I'm also somewhat of a Gilbert fan.

Having said all that, presumably we rated Cook higher than Anthony, so we would have missed out on Jack, not Cookie if we went for either of those players.

Yeah, we went mids, mids and more mids, much like 2008 really. I've never been a big fan of Cook, I know he has the speed, endurance and dedication, but he still runs around like a headless chook for mine. I do find myself wishing we'd gone for Warnock, lord knows we've needed a ruck for such a long time and we could have taken a punt after selecting three midfielders, I'm also somewhat of a Gilbert fan.

Having said all that, presumably we rated Cook higher than Anthony, so we would have missed out on Jack, not Cookie if we went for either of those players.
I think everyone here Wished we drafted Warnock instead of 1 of Cook or Stanley

I have higher hopes for Stanners, to be honest. I just can't wait for him to get a chance to line up in the centre square in the NAB Cup, I reckon it could be the making of him. All this HBF/wing crap must be denting his confidence, he's a natural clearance player.

I am a Bigger fan of Stanley then I am of Cook because Stanley can win Clearances and I heard him get double digits Clearances in the VFL.

So Mick at least should give about 5+ Games in a row in that Postion to see if he can make that Spot his own