Mega Thread 2012 AFL Fixture - all comments re the fixture in this thread pls

FFS they go interstate 4 times as a guest, 4 times a a host

not 3

Notice that i said "away interstate games"? Also you're wrong, it's 3 (WCE @ Subi, PA @ AAMI, Sydney @ SCG), which is twice the amount of away interstate games North have (they have 8 trips in total). No one is forcing Hawthorn to sell 4 games to Tassie, they do it by choice (gaining a definite home ground advantage in doing so).

Therefore it's a joke that their "home" games in Tassie are included amongst their interstate trips. Richmond, North, Melbourne, and the Bulldogs all sell "home" games interstate, and they all got at least 5 away trips interstate next year (with additional trips for sold games). Why should only Hawthorn not have to play 5 away games interstate?

Been on the phone with mates already today about the 2012 footy weekend in Melbourne

Penciling in Round 16 so far. West Coast are at home so we wont see them but thats no biggie when you have a chance to go to GEELONG VS. COLLINGWOOD at the MCG :thumbsu: plus 3 other games over the weeknend

Extra game at the G is a much better outcome for West Coast. Would have loved another one there against a Richmond or Melbourne because Collingwood and Hawthorn will be tough games but i'll take it

Happy that we dont need to use up a home game against GWS

Ok I think I you owe you an apology for jumpng the gun :eek:.
No dramas.
It's still a mighty tough draw without those points. The Top 4 from last year have the hardest draws by a fair bit.
In addition to having the toughness of the draw inflated by games they opted to sell to tassie, these same games are excluded from the home state team v interstate team section

ie Hawthorn have been awarded 6 points, which equates to having 5 home games against non-vic teams....

However, they play Sydney, Fremantle and Port in Tassie....so actually Hawthorn play 8 home games against non-vic teams, which should have received 3 points.

RC has basically ranked Tassie as if it is an away game for Hawthorn, rank it as a home game (which they all are) and Hawthorn would have a score of 79...to be the easiest of the top 4 teams, and an easier draw than the Bulldogs.

It'll be interesting to see what happens with the 3:15pm fixture on a Sunday leading into the 6pm news on Channel 7. With the longer quarters that have been eventuating over the last couple of seasons, on many occasions a game has gone just about to, or over the 3 hour telecast limit. To my knowledge the AFL haven't mentioned anything about shortening quarters yet.

Can't wait till we have a scenario where there is still 3 minutes on the clock, scores level and it's 5:59pm.

"Melbourne viewers will be leaving us shortly for the 6 o'clock news. If you wish to see the rest of the game switch over to 7mate now."

Travelling once in the last 8 rounds is a dream draw.

Travelling 3 times in the last 6 weeks is a nightmare

Collingwood basically travel as much in the last 6 weeks as Hawthorn do all year

Pretty pathetic the AFL decides that trips to Tassie should allow you less away trips

As for does travel make any difference?

2010 Collingwood had a dream draw, 1 or 0 away trips in the last 10 weeks, won the premiership, clearly fitter than the opposition

2011 Plenty of late travel including a trip to Perth in rd23 before the Cats in r24, Geelong easy draw to end year including bye in rd22, Cats win the flag and look alot fitter

So it's a dream draw (for Hawthorn) based on the not tired from travel factor.

I don't know about you, but I think travelling to GWS and coasting to a win after being 10 goals up at quarter time would be less tiring than a bruising four quarter encounter against Geelong in front of a big crowd at the G.

That's my point. Strength of opposition is a bigger factor on the difficulty of a draw than venue IMO.

Last round before finals we had to travel interstate - but due to the fact that it was GC, we basicaaly send a Box Hill team and rest our stars.

Contrast that to our last game against Geelong, where we were up at 3/4 time in a tough, physical encounter - Renouf got injured, Roughead was out on his feet and got a season ending injury, Guerra got injured, etc.

Which game do you reckon had more effect on our season.

Re: Clubs fixtures from worst to best according to The Age

Collingwood travel 5 times, Hawthorn 3.
Selling Home games should not count as interstate games in the fixturing process. So if the minimum a Vic club travels is 5 times interstate, then if you want to sell your home games it's added to the 5 or 6 away fixtures you already get. Meaning the Hawks should travel 5 times to play Away plus there 4 in Tassie.

Premiers: Hawthorn

Top 8 for 2012

Cats
Hawks
Eagles

Saints
North
Dogs
Crows
Dees
Tigers
Lions
Suns
Port
Giants

The fixtures on one AFL site had Essendon in round 6 playing Essendon :eek: ( it should have been the Lions we play , the AFL have since changed it )

North have a tough draw again.

Essendon v Hawks at Etihad should have been at the MCG.
Giants wont win a game in 2012 .

Different teams should play in Tassie.

Darwin should receive more games.

I hope the umpires learn from their 2012 mistakes as should the MRP :rolleyes:

So it's a dream draw (for Hawthorn) based on the not tired from travel factor.

I don't know about you, but I think travelling to GWS and coasting to a win after being 10 goals up at quarter time would be less tiring than a bruising four quarter encounter against Geelong in front of a big crowd at the G.

That's my point. Strength of opposition is a bigger factor on the difficulty of a draw than venue IMO.

Last round before finals we had to travel interstate - but due to the fact that it was GC, we basicaaly send a Box Hill team and rest our stars.

Contrast that to our last game against Geelong, where we were up at 3/4 time in a tough, physical encounter - Renouf got injured, Roughead was out on his feet and got a season ending injury, Guerra got injured, etc.

Which game do you reckon had more effect on our season.
I disagree, recovering from a tough encounter in Melbourne is easier than recovering from a trip interstate

You obviously disagree but from a Collingwood POV when we had a draw like Hawthorns next year we won the flag, when we had a draw with plenty of travel late in the year this year we looked flat in finals, no suprise we have the same draw next year...

Agree to disagree I suppose (with first class flights that are mostly 1-2 hours long and good conditioning coaches I still reckon it is less of a factor than games where you have to go hard all game and are still in danger of losing the 4 points)

But if the tiring aspect of travel (rather than opposition) is what makes Hawthorn's draw soft - why discount all the Tassie games?

You see, the issue people have with these games are that they are still home games and our opposition have to travel too (meaning they do not get a home ground advantage). Your point was that it is not about your opponent (as the GWS/Geelong example illustrated) but about the tiring aspect of having to travel - Hawthorn still have to travel when playing in Tassie (albeit of lesser duration).

"Melbourne viewers will be leaving us shortly for the 6 o'clock news. If you wish to see the rest of the game switch over to 7mate now."
All games are being shown live. So 7 will start the telecast at 2:00 and (hopefully) finish at 6:00

It's bullshit that teams who played GC only once last year don't get to play GWS twice this year.

They're 99% guaranteed wins. And i have no doubt some clubs who played the Suns twice last year have GWS twice this year. That simply isn't fair whatsoever.

Has any club drawn GC twice last year and GWS twice this year?

We played GC twice and play GWS twice this year.

Typical! Collingwood have an armchair ride again, and don't have to play Collingwood.To top it off they only are playing against 1 team above them twice.

My main complaints are:

1. Too many pre-arranged double-headers - in an 18-team league they should be scrapped & done at random

2. Too many Friday night games for Carlton (6)

3. Far too few Sunday games for both Collingwood (1!) and Essendon (2), resulting in only 4 6-day turnarounds for both clubs

4. Far too many 6-day turnarounds for both the Saints (9) and the Bulldogs (8). The Saints have a Mon-Sun-Sat-Fri stretch!

Premiers: Hawthorn

The fixtures on one AFL site had Essendon in round 6 playing Essendon :eek: ( it should have been the Lions we play , the AFL have since changed it )

North have a tough draw again.

Essendon v Hawks at Etihad should have been at the MCG.
Giants wont win a game in 2012 .

Different teams should play in Tassie.

Darwin should receive more games.

I hope the umpires learn from their 2012 mistakes as should the MRP :rolleyes:

No they dont.
GWS and Gold Coast twice.
Only Bombers and Eagles from the top 8 they play twice.

After getting roally bent over in the 2011 Draw, North Melbourne deserved to get a good fixture for 2012.

Interesting that the AFL declared that ALL Vic clubs would travel 5 times for interstate away games, but the Hawks only have 3?

Also interesting that yet again, Pies travel is clustered at the end of the year including a trip to Perth in penultimate round, again.

Happy we play the best sides repeatedly, not happy travel is clustered late in the year again.

I don't know why people give a shit if Pies travel or not, they have a great record on the road. We used to give a shit when Collingwood lost on the road. :p

No they dont.
GWS and Gold Coast twice.
Only Bombers and Eagles from the top 8 they play twice.

Listen to the man, our draw is tough. :p

Based on 2011 form/list:
1. North vs Bombers (50/50)
2. North vs GWS (win)
3. North vs Geelong (loss)
4. Swans vs North (loss)
5. North vs GC (win)
6. Eagles vs North (loss)
7. North vs Dogs (win)
8. Port vs North (win)
9. North vs Lions (win)
10. Hawks vs North (loss)
11. Bye
12. GC vs North (win)
13. North vs Crows (win)
14. Saints vs North (loss)
15. North vs Eagles (win)*
16. North vs Carlton (loss)
17. Tigers vs North (50/50)
18. North vs Melbourne (win)
19. Dogs vs North (win)
20. Essendon vs North (50/50)
21. Collingwood vs North (loss)
22. North vs Freo (win)
23. GWS vs North (win)

* we didn't play Eagles at home in 2011.

That would put us at 12 wins and 3x 50/50s based on this years form. Obviously teams will go forwards and backwards but i think it is pretty comical that you can get a draw in 2011 and on that form rack up 10 wins and get another draw with the same form that results in 12-15 wins, the 'luck' of the draw is that significant in terms of where you can end up.

FTA tv coverage by team

Adelaide - 5
Brisbane - 2
Carlton - 17
Collingwood - 15
Essendon - 16
Fremantle - 7
Geelong - 16
Gold Coast - 2
GWS - 5
Hawthorn - 12
Melbourne - 11
North Melbourne - 8
Port Adelaide - 3
Richmond - 12
St Kilda -12
Sydney - 8
West Coast - 7
Western Bulldogs -10

This gets to me so much I am really struggling not to leap into a foray of swear words that might get me booted!!

WTF???? It is the AFL FFS and as such teams that AREN'T in Vic also have supporters who don't have Foxtel.

I understand not have FTA coverage in QLD or NSW as it will get delayed anyway but WC, Freo, Port and Adel have an average of 5 FTS games while Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Geelong have an average of 16 FTS games each!!!!

Basically if you are an supporter on an AFL side that is not Victorian then the AFL is giving you no choice but to get Foxtel.

I might start a campaign to make the AFL pay for my Foxtel as surely as a paid up member of my club I have trhe right to watch as many games FREE as any other supporter??

NOT HAPPY!!!!

This gets to me so much I am really struggling not to leap into a foray of swear words that might get me booted!!

WTF???? It is the AFL FFS and as such teams that AREN'T in Vic also have supporters who don't have Foxtel.

I understand not have FTA coverage in QLD or NSW as it will get delayed anyway but WC, Freo, Port and Adel have an average of 5 FTS games while Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Geelong have an average of 16 FTS games each!!!!

Basically if you are an supporter on an AFL side that is not Victorian then the AFL is giving you no choice but to get Foxtel.

I might start a campaign to make the AFL pay for my Foxtel as surely as a paid up member of my club I have trhe right to watch as many games FREE as any other supporter??

NOT HAPPY!!!!

You get 22 fta games in your home state. More than any Vic club.

Not all WC supporters live in WA, read my details!!! Just like not all Collingwood supporters live in Vic.

As I said, this is the AFL and there are supporters of all clubs all round the country and those supporters have the right to see their team play for free just as much as a Collingwood supporter living in Melbourne.

Oh and by the way, WC games will nearly always be delayed in their home state even though Subi is always a sell out.

Why do the Blues play the Demons at the MCG as a home game, and the Saints at Etihad. Surely the venues should be swapped to at least give some semblance of a home ground advantage.

Quite odds the Blues home games are played at venues that are the predominant home ground of their opposition....

How about playing a "home game" against Melbourne and playing Hawthorn home at Etihad on a friday night. Why do we have to play Melbourne at the G? Why not Etihad?

Why on earth would the AFL put the Essendon Vs Hawthorn game at Etihad? Have they not learned that the game is too big for Etihad? What a waste.

Mega Thread 2012 AFL Fixture - all comments re the fixture in this thread pls