2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

I no of 2 NEAFL listed players in the Qafl rep squad. Obviously form not in the criteria.
dont mind the squad,were the any unavailable players? or any glaring outs?
shame the game is at burpengary and not yeronga as i cant see many gc people driving up? also looks like our team has a lot of grunt but not much speed and burpengary is huge.......

Great to see Paul Shelton nominated for Syd Guilford has been an amazing player for a long time,didnt realise he was only 29 still, also he must know something the rest of us or The Tight Shirt One "Mick the boss" dont. "Inevitably the league will change and we will play teams like Southport again" (apologies if slightly miss quoted) Three things will need to occur 1. Southport go broke 2.Morningside win Gold Lotto 3. The league gets turned on its head again!! Great player, great club, great optimisim on the first 2.......

Yeah I noticed that call by Shelton too. I'm surprised they published that. I hope it doesn't change again anytime soon.

But looking at the past as the best indicator of he future and that would say that give it 5 years and a new administrator trying to stamp his mark and another reshuffle is probable rather than possible.

Not sure if the neafl will stay but the next likely change is in nsw act imo

I wouldn't make much of this, the NEAFL will certainly change regularly but I doubt anyone has any major indications as to what just now.

I do wonder what the NEAFL clubs think of being apart of the NEAFL now that it's in motion. I dare say the NEAFL teams that dropped back to the QAFL are stoked that they did so. An ensured financial future, a hold onto their reserves and therefore core senior group, and most importantly the ability to play the boys who have been clubmen for years. With there being whispers of a national AFL Reserves competition, I would be surprised if Southport, Redlands and Aspley would see any benefit in playing the ACT/Sydney teams.

I wouldn't make much of this, the NEAFL will certainly change regularly but I doubt anyone has any major indications as to what just now.

I do wonder what the NEAFL clubs think of being apart of the NEAFL now that it's in motion. I dare say the NEAFL teams that dropped back to the QAFL are stoked that they did so. An ensured financial future, a hold onto their reserves and therefore core senior group, and most importantly the ability to play the boys who have been clubmen for years. With there being whispers of a national AFL Reserves competition, I would be surprised if Southport, Redlands and Aspley would see any benefit in playing the ACT/Sydney teams.
Ruffles,
hear what ur saying.... and agree......as ive said many times on this forum, the Neafl comp structure is a debacle...all over the place with Qld, NT, ACT,Sydney and AFL ressie sides in the comp. Yes trying to lift the standard of footy is fine, but saying this will provide a better pathway for players to get drafted is a joke. If one is good enough at whatever level he is playing at, he will get recruited by the AFL clubs..... and developed from there by playing in the AFL ressie sides, VFL, SANFL and WAFL comps and to a much lesser degree the Neafl .I mean each year the AFL clubs draft/recruit the best of the youngsters, then the best of any guys who are at 20 to 23 years of age and then there is the recruiting of the mature age guy at 25 years of age plus which is of a very small minority. So whats left at these tier two comps are still very good players who make the comp of a high standard, but 97% plus of these players will never get recruited into the AFL.
Whilst rugby league , rugby union and the ever growing soccer arena ( courtesy of the Brisbane Roars success over the past 3 years) in Qld remains strong, Aussie rules has a real battle here, as does the Sydney area.Whereas the Southern states, well aussie rules is the way of life down there and that wont change. Every year, these southern states provide some 95% of draftees.... and this will not change much......So let the Qld, ACT, and Sydney comps go back to grassroots level, where they can financially survive, whilst still providing a decent standard of footy, and the players that are starring will be looked at by AFL recruiters for sure.

I see Southport have loaded Surfers up with their NEAFL players because they are playing Labrador, monopoly should only be a board game!

Could be worse, notice some of Southport Rookie Listed players out of Demons today because playing for Suns Res tomorrow, is there supposed to be a limit of NEAFL players per game.

You're kidding aren't you? How much is Labrador playing their players compared to Surfers?

If monopoly was only a board game, and things were to be fair, there would be salary cap on all player payments at each Club and only then there would be a level playing field. It seems as though Labrador have loaded up more than any other Club and haven't had an issue with it....until now! First time they come up against a team with decent 'top ups' and the cry is foul. Cop it in on the chin and move on. Whats the old expression, "its only a rort, when you're not in it!"

You're kidding aren't you? How much is Labrador playing their players compared to Surfers?

If monopoly was only a board game, and things were to be fair, there would be salary cap on all player payments at each Club and only then there would be a level playing field. It seems as though Labrador have loaded up more than any other Club and haven't had an issue with it....until now! First time they come up against a team with decent 'top ups' and the cry is foul. Cop it in on the chin and move on. Whats the old expression, "its only a rort, when you're not in it!"

Well said

My Broadbeach have done it again, scraping home by 4 points against Sandgate, after coming from behind against Surfers last week... was a pretty good standard game and must say , Sandgate played very well and its hard to understand there position on the ladder at the moment based on todays performance.Still a win is a win, and Broady move into 2nd place on the ladder, but still have to come up against the Magpies, Labrador and Palm Beach in the run to the half way mark of the season.Must say Broady had only one Neafl player included in the side today, be it Brennan,, who played very well .
See Surfers beat Labrador. Yes they had three or four NEAFL players in the side due to Southports bye, but give them credit as they are improving immensely with their own list.
This comp is becoming very competitive, and even Morningside are not winning by large margins over the past 3 games...great stuff.

Good to see a few of you ex NEAFL snobs have decided that coming back to the masses isn't working out too badly for you.. Based on the talk in summer you would have thought that you were lowering yourselves toplay little league...;)

Yes, SMY, agree.... this comp will be much more interesting then the NEAFL debacle comp....grassroots footy, don't you love it!!

:D Oh I think any comp that is a legit football comp is good fun. I'm not sure anyone should be too sad re the NEAFL - I wouldn't be feeling sorry for the Qld clubs that decided to enter it, thats for sure and tbh if they didn't enter then the QAFL wouldn't be taking the same shape as it is either.
I know its hard for dyed in the wool followers of top tier footy in Qld to sometimes understand but that NEAFL comp has not been a legitimate comp for approximately 15 years, more or less since the Brisbane Cubs entered. It has always been compromised by firstly the Lions involvement and then of course the Suns. It is still a very compromised comp and exists purely and simply for the benefit of the AFL. I reckon you could guarantee that blokes in Qld will not get drafted unless playing in the NAEFL so this is why it needs to be of the higher standard. The AFL don't want guys having to move interstate if they don't have to I imagine to show their wares.

I remember playing at Maroochy and any given week we could have had Andrew Bews, Calthorpe, Dion Scott all back in our side depending on whether they had/had not been picked for the Lions seniors. We invariably still were beaten bc our finances were awful limiting our playing stocks, especially compared to the Southports of the comp. But it is what it is. I would argue EVERY side that has made the venture back down one step is far far more suited to this level of footy based upon ALL the factors that go to making up a footy club. On field ability is just one, ability to generate revenue is another, facilities is another. BUT the most important factor, quality of people in and around your footy club cannot be governed by anyone but yourselves and the way you spend your money cannot be either. This eventually is what puts the "club" into the football environment imo. People will gravitate to good clubs, slowly move away from ordinary ones. I would say that in the next 5 years the Morningsides of this world will still be strong bc of their history and good people around that club, but from my shallow knowledge of most of the clubs in the QAFL think all will be pretty solid places in the next few years. It should be a really good 2nd tier comp.
Plus i think people will find that guys at junior level will be less likely to move clubs now hence adding strength to their incumbent footy club.

:D Oh I think any comp that is a legit football comp is good fun. I'm not sure anyone should be too sad re the NEAFL - I wouldn't be feeling sorry for the Qld clubs that decided to enter it, thats for sure and tbh if they didn't enter then the QAFL wouldn't be taking the same shape as it is either.
I know its hard for dyed in the wool followers of top tier footy in Qld to sometimes understand but that NEAFL comp has not been a legitimate comp for approximately 15 years, more or less since the Brisbane Cubs entered. It has always been compromised by firstly the Lions involvement and then of course the Suns. It is still a very compromised comp and exists purely and simply for the benefit of the AFL. I reckon you could guarantee that blokes in Qld will not get drafted unless playing in the NAEFL so this is why it needs to be of the higher standard. The AFL don't want guys having to move interstate if they don't have to I imagine to show their wares.

I remember playing at Maroochy and any given week we could have had Andrew Bews, Calthorpe, Dion Scott all back in our side depending on whether they had/had not been picked for the Lions seniors. We invariably still were beaten bc our finances were awful limiting our playing stocks, especially compared to the Southports of the comp. But it is what it is. I would argue EVERY side that has made the venture back down one step is far far more suited to this level of footy based upon ALL the factors that go to making up a footy club. On field ability is just one, ability to generate revenue is another, facilities is another. BUT the most important factor, quality of people in and around your footy club cannot be governed by anyone but yourselves and the way you spend your money cannot be either. This eventually is what puts the "club" into the football environment imo. People will gravitate to good clubs, slowly move away from ordinary ones. I would say that in the next 5 years the Morningsides of this world will still be strong bc of their history and good people around that club, but from my shallow knowledge of most of the clubs in the QAFL think all will be pretty solid places in the next few years. It should be a really good 2nd tier comp.
Plus i think people will find that guys at junior level will be less likely to move clubs now hence adding strength to their incumbent footy club.

Interested to know what you think the better alternative would be to the current neafl situation?

I think the next step in the NEAFL is to allow the Suns & Lions to contract players for NEAFL only as they do in the VFL. This would open up another pathway for young players rather than heading interstate, strengthen the competition and connect the AFL clubs closer to the local people.

Interested to know what you think the better alternative would be to the current neafl situation?
I think the qld side of the NEAFL is spot on. The only changes required revolve around the Canberra/Sydney end. It is in the main a high quality comp is it not? There are blow outs but there are in the VFL too. What exactly is everyone's beef with the NEAFL ?

Yeah I don't know what the beef is either. I think most people have moved on now.
Watched Southport v Lions before Broady last week and really enjoyed the standard and see it as more a GC rep side than anything else. Super fit and well drilled.

Broady have done really well to hang on against Sandgate. They were really quick and played a great style of footy. Broady missing a few regulars in Stewart and Mckenzie though. Really impressed with the QAFL - good standard and appears it will be a pretty even season.
Coach Pedro has done a great job in rebuilding a young list so quickly at Broady.

Yeah I don't know what the beef is either. I think most people have moved on now.
Watched Southport v Lions before Broady last week and really enjoyed the standard and see it as more a GC rep side than anything else. Super fit and well drilled.

Broady have done really well to hang on against Sandgate. They were really quick and played a great style of footy. Broady missing a few regulars in Stewart and Mckenzie though. Really impressed with the QAFL - good standard and appears it will be a pretty even season.
Coach Pedro has done a great job in rebuilding a young list so quickly at Broady.
i reckon the new qafl is great! Watched UQ v West Mags UQ were competitve against the maggies (even though had a few senior boys out and had 10 more shots on goal), Panthers v Grange looked close going by the results would like to see the Morningside coach aknowledge another team though....

Yep what is the beef with the neafl. I have watched numerous games now and the standard is absolutely fantastic. Admittedly I haven't watched the Canberra teams but nt v asp,red,sharks in Darwin were super quality games and red v sharks,suns at casheez were fantastic. The problems lay in the draw, the logistics, number of Canberra teams.

According to a few of the VFL teams the AFL reserves is just around the corner.

I don't mind the idea of afl res signing players as the vfl do, I actually thought this was the way they were heading.

I think the Sharks may rotate a few more of there seniors through Surfers this week as to not allow them to have more than the one week off. Interesting call from the Labrador fan re sharks dropping back but I guarantee you one former shark at tigerland may still have most of the sharks boys covered come brown paper bag time!!

Unfortunately the QAFL rep game maybe a disaster with the large majority of the vafa squad having vfl or afl experience, and only 19 qlders on the paddock for there first run.

Yep what is the beef with the neafl. I have watched numerous games now and the standard is absolutely fantastic. Admittedly I haven't watched the Canberra teams but nt v asp,red,sharks in Darwin were super quality games and red v sharks,suns at casheez were fantastic. The problems lay in the draw, the logistics, number of Canberra teams.

I don't mind the idea of afl res signing players as the vfl do, I actually thought this was the way they were heading.

I think the Sharks may rotate a few more of there seniors through Surfers this week as to not allow them to have more than the one week off. Interesting call from the Labrador fan re sharks dropping back but I guarantee you one former shark at tigerland may still have most of the sharks boys covered come brown paper bag time!!

Unfortunately the QAFL rep game maybe a disaster with the large majority of the vafa squad having vfl or afl experience, and only 19 qlders on the paddock for there first run.

Abit of rumour-mongering there Doggy, especially considering I have first hand knowledge of this and know what a heap of the sharks boys are on also. I've heard a few cracking rumours but they were way off the mark. An opposition team manager had a crack at ours and started throwing figures our blokes were on, it was laughable.

We are well aware of the state of play with neafl players dropping back, it is part of the comp and the only way it can work.

Neafl is a good standard now, I also like the idea of the afl clubs signing neafl players. It is a good chance to look at some mature age players up close.

Anyway
Abit of rumour-mongering there Doggy, especially considering I have first hand knowledge of this and know what a heap of the sharks boys are on also. I've heard a few cracking rumours but they were way off the mark. An opposition team manager had a crack at ours and started throwing figures our blokes were on, it was laughable.

We are well aware of the state of play with neafl players dropping back, it is part of the comp and the only way it can work.

Neafl is a good standard now, I also like the idea of the afl clubs signing neafl players. It is a good chance to look at some mature age players up close.

Blackdog,
The NEAFL was of a better standard competitive comp over the past 2 years.With the restructure, the only teams that have improved are Southport, Redlands, Aspley and that's due to these clubs picking up the best players from the relegated Broadbeach, Morningside, Labrador and Mt.Gravatt clubs.
As a example, look at Southport... their weekly centreline/midfield side is Shreeve, Geary and Wells, Brewer and when Brewer goes forward for a rest, one Brennan takes on the ruck duties,....all of these guys were ex Broadbeach players as of season 2013,,,, not to mention their coach is Angus and fitness coach is Fox,,,, Broadbeach staff from 2013. Talk about a drain on Broady.!!!
Also, the Thunder have improved their list with a number of ex AFL players and WAFL guys now .
The AFL ressie sides have not improved, and the Sydney and ACT sides are now not up to the standard of the QLD , Thunder and Afl sides.
IMO, put the AFL ressie sides into the VFL comp, thus playing games in Melbourne one week and and games at home the next, pretty simple cost wise compared to the dollars the Afl/qld are spending now.
The VFL comp could drop at least 2 clubs , one being Bendigo gold, as they are not up to the standard of the VFL comp.
So, as a result, go back to the grassroots comps be it Qld, Sydney and ACT playing in their own league.This will make it more feasible for a club to survive financially and if a club has a young player that is of AFL potential, well this player will get looked at by the AFL recruiting scouts for sure.

seeing that a few clubs have just started up their own team. it inevitable

Anyway

Blackdog,
The NEAFL was of a better standard competitive comp over the past 2 years.With the restructure, the only teams that have improved are Southport, Redlands, Aspley and that's due to these clubs picking up the best players from the relegated Broadbeach, Morningside, Labrador and Mt.Gravatt clubs.
As a example, look at Southport... their weekly centreline/midfield side is Shreeve, Geary and Wells, Brewer and when Brewer goes forward for a rest, one Brennan takes on the ruck duties,....all of these guys were ex Broadbeach players as of season 2013,,,, not to mention their coach is Angus and fitness coach is Fox,,,, Broadbeach staff from 2013. Talk about a drain on Broady.!!!
Also, the Thunder have improved their list with a number of ex AFL players and WAFL guys now .
The AFL ressie sides have not improved, and the Sydney and ACT sides are now not up to the standard of the QLD , Thunder and Afl sides.
IMO, put the AFL ressie sides into the VFL comp, thus playing games in Melbourne one week and and games at home the next, pretty simple cost wise compared to the dollars the Afl/qld are spending now.
The VFL comp could drop at least 2 clubs , one being Bendigo gold, as they are not up to the standard of the VFL comp.
So, as a result, go back to the grassroots comps be it Qld, Sydney and ACT playing in their own league.This will make it more feasible for a club to survive financially and if a club has a young player that is of AFL potential, well this player will get looked at by the AFL recruiting scouts for sure.

Nah disagree Stuy - they won't get looked at unless the bloke is playing against AFL listed players, is an U18 kid on the National stage or a club takes a punt a la Zorko. The leagues will never be rated as highly as good country football leagues in Vic, the SANFL, WAFL. The whole reason for the NEAFL was to provide a platform that potential draftees could show their wares in an apples for apples situation. The AFL ressies sides will be swings and roundabouts, it matters nought whether they are as good as the Southports etc. The NSW sides will be rationalised in due course and be very good as well.
Bad luck for Broady but I would imagine there won't be the same exodus at the end of this year. 2014 is a bridging year imo.