2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Yep. It's important for qld footy to try and put its best foot forward, and that means IMO more guys from morningside lab pbc etc than uq and surfers.

Sadly davey not available as qld needs it's best players in.
agree must pick the best team just hope they dont have the top 4 blinkers on and agree Thick would have to be in contention

Incorrect. It was the div 1 guys. 6 from old xavs, several from old scotch old Brighton etc see footy record

http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=167709

Or see vafa annual report:

http://www.vafa.com.au/fileadmin/user_upload/Publications/VAFA_AR08e.pdf

I'm not saying that QAFL will beat vafa but maybe the gap not as much as one expects
. Premier, once again it depends on what strength side the VAFA bring up here.If we can field our best side and being a home territory game, surely this will help players say yes, I will play, instead of saying, no im not available, im injured, or their club not wanting their selected player to compete. You know where im coming from.!!
Will be very interesting to see the result... with the massive improvement over the past few years in Qld footy, NEAFL being the top level would surely defeat the VAFA rep side and the QAFL, the second level division may be competitive.

Hey guys , give us ur thoughts on the rep side,,, ie name a few players from ur club and from opposing clubs. Will be interesting to see .

Lab- featherstone, davey, barra, PBC- toddy Bryant, Jesse Derrick, bilton I think that's his name plays midfield, Bryce Perry-Bolt Surfers- denjies. Magpies- thick. Grange- brittan panthers - Abbey and there ruckman that's a few I can think of

ok, let me throw in a few names;
Labrador; Davey, seddon, brain,nickulas,wadsworth
Pbc; Bryant,derrick,dillon
Cats;stewart, haley, fife
magpies; thick, pope, jaenke pain
grange; Brittan, trewhella
Sandgate; colch
Vultures; Neate
Surfers; Dienjes
Panthers; Abbey, kinch,shelton, mollison,daye, Tomlinson.
Now that's 25 players that imo have a chance of making the side.... No doubt there are other players that deserve to be in this list, but I don't know of every players ability that should be on this list, so fellow posters throw in your nominees.

ok, let me throw in a few names;
Labrador; Davey, seddon, brain,nickulas,wadsworth
Pbc; Bryant,derrick,dillon
Cats;stewart, haley, fife
magpies; thick, pope, jaenke pain
grange; Brittan, trewhella
Sandgate; colch
Vultures; Neate
Surfers; Dienjes
Panthers; Abbey, kinch,shelton, mollison,daye, Tomlinson.
Now that's 25 players that imo have a chance of making the side.... No doubt there are other players that deserve to be in this list, but I don't know of every players ability that should be on this list, so fellow posters throw in your nominees.
And that's without any NEAFL contracted players that play in the QAFL, when not selected in their prospective Neafl side,,, ands there is quite a number here,,, that would make the QAFL side so much stronger if they qualify under whatever the rules are to be eligible.

Backs:

J.Brown K.Niklaus N.Tomlinson
J.Derrick M.Dillion Wooley

Mids:

Mollison S.Britton P.Shelton R.Davey

Forwards:

D. Stewart K.Abbey T.Overington
S.Seddon B.Perry-Bolt N.Kinch

Interchange:
B.Haire Janke-Caine Neate T.Rolfe

Obviously no neafl players named but thought that side looks competitive on paper.

Backs:

Mids:

Forwards:

Interchange:

Obviously no neafl players named but thought that side looks competitive on paper.

I'd have Matty Derrick in the back line, hasn't been beaten by an opponent since the start of last season

Stewart is a southport neafl player. My view is that any player that hasn't played neafl this year should be eligible regardless if they are neafl contracted.

There are some good players in that team. Hopefully it ends up being a strong team. Aflq should stream the match

Bloody oath they should be allowed to 2010 - in fact any player who hasn't played more than 3 NEAFL games should be imo.

SMY,
yes agree. And there are quite a few good players that have not played one or two games so far... these players would certainly add strength to a qafl rep side.

Hope my information is on the mark - first meeting with QAFL coaches last night, all big name coaches have come together to help out, Lake, Creswell, Trewella,Daniel and Zorko. Squad will be named on Monday, training starts next Wednesday at Yeronga. Remaining coaches have been contacted and had their input into the selection process of their side. So if one team has no representation it has been run by the coach of the club.

Backs:

Mids:

Forwards:

Interchange:

Well looks like Thick will make state team after he demolishes PBolt on Saturday, I don't think I've seen him get a touch against Thick or for that matter the Pies since I've been watching. It would be nice to make it 3 loses in a row for PBC.. Who better to do it.

i think PBC might have their measure,magpies are definitley rebuilding and PBC should go well,i thought you were a PBC supporter are trying to motivate your players, looking forward to getting down to Chelmer and watching hoping west maggies can put up a good fight

I assume that was a joke speedy? Would love nothing better than to watch a Magpie win. Just stating what I saw over the last two years, however I hope none of PB players read it, might have gone a bit early. Haha

Gun players getting Guilford Trophy nominations, smalls getting Rising star nominations.. I thought I was on the wrong website.I must be dreaming it.

How is Mt G v uni match of the round on website? I'm going to watch magpies v PBC. Should be a ripper

Uni Blues, Old Scotch , De la and North Old Boys at Elsternwick Park. Oh Glory days, gents was quick and fast footy in the 80's and too good for the VFA which is now the VFL.

Because Uni might win a game?

Because it's close to the aflq headquarters maybe? Maybe it's the game that may be the closest result? Def not the best 2 sides

On a side note though the comp is actually reasonably even all things considered. Must say I was wrong, I really thought morningside and Labrador would impose a bit of hurt on some teams.. But so far it hasn't really happened.

I noticed someone kicked 200 points in the vfl a couple of weeks ago, a couple of absolute smash ups in the neafl and then there was hawthorn v st kilda

Uni Blues, Old Scotch , De la and North Old Boys at Elsternwick Park. Oh Glory days, gents was quick and fast footy in the 80's and too good for the VFA which is now the VFL.

Yeah not sure about that LAB1 - played in both comps in that period and although the ammos was a very good standard, reckon the VFA had them covered. Saying this they had some great rep games against each other. Both are very, very good leagues and it is just incredible how many good footballers reside down there when you think of the country leagues, and some of the stronger metro leagues like the NFL, EDFL and the EFL.

Inaugural match against the V.F.A. for the Victorian Football Cup played at Sandringham and won by V.A.F.A. 23.12 to 19.17.

V.A.F.A. defeated V.F.A. 18.16 to 16.17 at Sandringham to retain Victorian Football Cup.