2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Yeah not sure Morningside are that much better than everyone else - depth wise yes, best 22, not sure. I agree Blackdog that the rookies are handled pretty well in the main. The odd **** up with communication but we have a couple of State 18's at Maroochy and they swing in and out and hopefully feel part of the group when there. Is hard for them as well as the club bc they often don't know where they are playing until the Thurs night. When you have some kids aligned with 3 sides this is a tough one. Morningside should be congratulated for their junior development program.

Lads, debacle may have been to strong a word and I would be the last to pot the Panthers. They are flying on field and off, TAB etc. This is just an underlying issue that has bubbled over time. It's extenuating this year with the added level of football. The fact they play 2 TAC cup games over the next week probably buries the issue on here for a while, but gives the hierarchy at the Panthers time to get it sorted in a way that's happy for all party's.

On field the Panthers couldn't have played any worse against the Lions, better to win ugly than lose ugly, but it probably shows there maybe a gap after Panthers, Tigers, Lions. Big Bryce Perry Bolt gave away as many 50's as he kicked goals! Most back lines would be under the pump with the lack of pressure Panther mids applied.

Gob smacked that P-Bolt is playing at this level of footy still. Obviously good mate of Cresswell but all the same, surely there is someone at PBC that can play FF?

Big call considering Palm Beach nearly beat them yesterday? By the looks of the scores same scoring shots & Palmy kicked 3 goals 7 in 1st qtr which wouldn't have helped! Was anyone there who seen game? Are Morningside beatable??

Of course they are beatable, any side is beatable. Palm beach had same scoring shots won the clearances but were hurt on the counter attack through skill errors.

Comp should be a tight one throughout the year which is only good for the game

Panthers have now defeated Labrador, Broadbeach and Palm Beach over the first 3 games at least 2 of these teams should be playing later in the finals and the other fighting for a spot in the top 5. Panthers are now 3-0 with a percentage of 177.47%. Hmmm not a bad start at all.

Gob smacked that P-Bolt is playing at this level of footy still. Obviously good mate of Cresswell but all the same, surely there is someone at PBC that can play FF?
Did you no that perry-bolt kicked 6 in that game even though they lost and kicked 5 in his last game! So can you please explain why your gob smacked he is still playing?

Lads, debacle may have been to strong a word and I would be the last to pot the Panthers. They are flying on field and off, TAB etc. This is just an underlying issue that has bubbled over time. It's extenuating this year with the added level of football. The fact they play 2 TAC cup games over the next week probably buries the issue on here for a while, but gives the hierarchy at the Panthers time to get it sorted in a way that's happy for all party's.

On field the Panthers couldn't have played any worse against the Lions, better to win ugly than lose ugly, but it probably shows there maybe a gap after Panthers, Tigers, Lions. Big Bryce Perry Bolt gave away as many 50's as he kicked goals! Most back lines would be under the pump with the lack of pressure Panther mids applied.
Perry-bolt only gave away two 50s yesterday and kicked 6goals so not sure how you work that one out mate?

Nothing wrong with a little flexing off the truth..calm down! The big fella a mate of mine and great that he still is playing, pardon the pun but football still needs colourful characters and BPB fits the bill, if he stays on the paddock he may kick 60-80 gls....great return

I just like to give credit where credit is due! I heard he has dropped 8 kilos since last year and is really fit! Maybe just needs to work on his kicking cause he also kicked 5 points yesterday to! And your right footy needs those characters out there!

Hi P-Bolt

:) If he's dropped 8kg then maybe I'm less gob smacked. If he was at last years playing weight then can't imagine he would be out there going so well. (even though FF is the one place you can get away with a little bit less fitness).

Perry bolt is moving pretty well with the smaller frame and is in the best few forwards in the QAFL I reckon. He still knows where they are that's for sure, and if he stays On the park a 60 goal player.

got out to Esplen on saturday and BPB did look in decent nick physically,loves a 5o though. PBC looked good and will get better. Panthers looked ok but will no doubt get better. everyone knows that Panthers will be strong this year (maybe to strong) but in years to come once the juniors of other clubs e.g Grange,Sandgate,West etc stay where they are rather then leave like they had to in the past the comp will even out. i think the QAFL will be a good comp if it is given time to flourish. my only concern is Uni.....and there MUST be a Sunny Coast team

I agree with a number of people on here, Morningside are the best side in the QAFL, but PBC and Lab both got within 5 goals, great for the league considering everyone thought the Panthers would beat everyone by 10 goals. Will they go undefeated probably yes, but come finals when it really matters and on that one big day in September who knows?? Wilston Grange and Broadbeach are also very competitive and its going to be a ripper race for the top 5. I watched Mt Gravatt yesterday against Labrador and they did not look as bad as what people have said, [ Admittedly Lab did kick badly ] I think at the moment going on early results the QAFL bare, Uni at the bottom and Morningside on top, is a very even comp. The NEAFL on the other hand is seeing some pretty untidy results, but that does happen in most leagues.
Hows the QAFL going to go against the VAFA,

Agree Speedy, Uni were a surprise to be in State League. And there needs to be a Sunshine Coast team. Not next year though because there is no relegation/promotion in the first year. But by 2016 I think you'll find Maroochydore knocking on the door. They ticked 5 out of 6 'pillar' boxes with finance the one that cost them a spot this time around. They are on their way to shoring that up.

Well said Speedy!! However Perrybolt hasn't had a kick against the Pies in the last Two years, but does manage a few 50s. Certainly we need a side from the Suncoast as I can't really see UQ being a threat unless they spend a lot of $$$$$ and more!

Potentially the SC team could end up becoming a stand alone side imo with the 4 coast sides remaining in the nth conference. Would take a lot of work and a lot of thinking but in the end it would appease most people in this area of the world. The issue previously with a NEAFL side coming out of the SC was purely and simply $$ and this will not change in the near future. To be part of the QAFL requires significantly less $$ and certainly not the quality of player required to compete.

I agree with a number of people on here, Morningside are the best side in the QAFL, but PBC and Lab both got within 5 goals, great for the league considering everyone thought the Panthers would beat everyone by 10 goals. Will they go undefeated probably yes, but come finals when it really matters and on that one big day in September who knows?? Wilston Grange and Broadbeach are also very competitive and its going to be a ripper race for the top 5. I watched Mt Gravatt yesterday against Labrador and they did not look as bad as what people have said, [ Admittedly Lab did kick badly ] I think at the moment going on early results the QAFL bare, Uni at the bottom and Morningside on top, is a very even comp. The NEAFL on the other hand is seeing some pretty untidy results, but that does happen in most leagues.
Hows the QAFL going to go against the VAFA,

Pheww - reckon they will do well to get within 8 goals. Arguably the best comp in Melbourne outside of the VFL.

Agree Speedy, Uni were a surprise to be in State League. And there needs to be a Sunshine Coast team. Not next year though because there is no relegation/promotion in the first year. But by 2016 I think you'll find Maroochydore knocking on the door. They ticked 5 out of 6 'pillar' boxes with finance the one that cost them a spot this time around. They are on their way to shoring that up.

If UQ play it right they could be the top club in the league. They have access to the best facilities and with the UQ brand I'm sure they'll never have difficulty finding sponsors. They've just got to figure out how to get class players to their club. However I think their major disadvantage is they don't have a junior club and community to bring kids up in.

UQ do have a partnership with Wests Juniors AFC. The U18 team traditionally has been a joint venture between the two clubs.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk

facilities are great? they dont have a fence around the ground changerooms are very small and the clubhouse is a canteen, Uni are in it for social fun footy and that is great but are competing at the wrong level. Easter week instead of getting the much needed training in it was decided to go to the Lions v tigers and watch the AFL and have a drink this is the clubs mindset and again nothing wrong with it but it is a social one first. i bet the stronger clubs trained first then went on their social activities?

Pheww - reckon they will do well to get within 8 goals. Arguably the best comp in Melbourne outside of the VFL.
I had no idea until a mate playing down in the VAFA told me he was hoping to be a part of the trip to Brisbane to play the QAFL ? His remark was" surely we would win by 20 goals" I hope that's not the case?

Yeah I reckon it could potentially be that Pinocchio too. Full of ex-AFL players, some on very good "packages", just rolled the EFL by 7 goals. I actually think a game bn the NEAFL and VAFA would be a good game if those AFL players who have already played senior footy this year with the 4 AFL clubs were excluded.

smy, agree,.. a VAFL rep side would beat a QAFL rep side by 10 goals plus at least. A full list Neafl side would most likely defeat the VAFL side, but not by much.