2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Watched Palm beach belt Broadbeach today. Game was only 5 minutes old and the heavens opened pelting down rain for most of the game. Palmys bigger stronger bodies were to much for Broady in these conditions but must also say, they (Palmy) regardless of the weather, where far to good for us. On todays performance Palmy will be right up there this season.

As a interested person so to speak, I placed myself next to the Palmy coaches box for nearly 3 quarters just to hear coach Cresswell and his crew during gametime. Must say, I was very impressed. Cresswell knows his footy, and consistently had his runners going out to deliver directions to his players that resulted in positives, he is quick to make sure a player is congratulated on the field and the same occurs when a player needs repreminding when he stuffs up or doesn't follow game plan .Discipline is very high , similar to the great John Blair coaching standards.
Must say, Its the first time I saw Perry-Bolt play. Is a good forward, knows how to lead, marks well and a good kick.Is a major cog in the Palmy team.

V
Watched Palm beach belt Broadbeach today. Game was only 5 minutes old and the heavens opened pelting down rain for most of the game. Palmys bigger stronger bodies were to much for Broady in these conditions but must also say, they (Palmy) regardless of the weather, where far to good for us. On todays performance Palmy will be right up there this season
Watched Palm beach belt Broadbeach today. Game was only 5 minutes old and the heavens opened pelting down rain for most of the game. Palmys bigger stronger bodies were to much for Broady in these conditions but must also say, they (Palmy) regardless of the weather, where far to good for us. On todays performance Palmy will be right up there this season.
Very much the same at Lab stuyd, however don't think the conditions suited our big Forwards. Don't think you guys will have too much trouble with Lab in a few weeks, from what I saw today on your big ground you guys will be to slick. Just seen the Vultures result, how good are they
As a interested person so to speak, I placed myself next to the Palmy coaches box for nearly 3 quarters just to hear coach Cresswell and his crew during gametime. Must say, I was very impressed. Cresswell knows his footy, and consistently had his runners going out to deliver directions to his players that resulted in positives, he is quick to make sure a player is congratulated on the field and the same occurs when a player needs repreminding when he stuffs up or doesn't follow game plan .Discipline is very high , similar to the great John Blair coaching standards.
Must say, Its the first time I saw Perry-Bolt play. Is a good forward, knows how to lead, marks well and a good kick.Is a major cog in the Palmy team.
magpies were really good till last Qtr again then got blown away, however don't think the conditions suited our bigger forwards, we have showed in patches we can compete with the better teams which is great for our young group.
The vultures are really surprising me good on them young group also.

Must say Davey from Labrador is headed for the Grogan this year. Also, Kinch at Morningside has been on fire for the past 4 weeks.

I see the QLD U18 Scorpions had a big win over Eastern Rangers TAC club side, up by about 50 points. That makes them 2 wins from 4 starts in the TAC cup, good signs. Played over at Redlands and from what I here a huge day over there.

Thats a shocking result from Broadbeach, not so much the margin - but only managing such a low score in what is an unusually high scoring competition.

Unfortunately I'm not a selector mate, just an onlooker.

I usually watch the lower divisions anyway, get down and watch some QAFA if you ever have time - great league!

any word on the make up of the QLD team?

Unfortunately Speedy I have heard a couple of players have had to pull out due to injury, and some due to work commitments. Ryan Davey I have been told has to work on Sunday for the Suns v Bulldogs and even the powers to be wouldn't let him become available to play. He trained with the group for the first couple of sessions only to be told sorry they wont give you the time off work.

Looking forward to see how our Combined NQ side go against you southern brothers from the QAFA. A big moment for us I would say as this will see where we are at in relation to future inclusion in a state comp. If anyone on the forum gets to see this game can you post your opinion, greatly appreciated

Im not his biggest fan due to some his past horrible acts on the ground in years gone by but BPR will have to get in has been very very good and is leading goal kicker! Just hope he has put his stupidity behind him so if he gets the opportunity to represent the state he does it with distinction and uses it as launching pad to be a respectful player on the ground who doesnt throw cheap shots anymore.

QAFL team up on web very interesting,would like to know who isnt available? PBC not a big representation? Mside obviosly dominant, all the best to them

A few Palmy boys are away I think (Derrick, Bryant) don't think it is the strongest side they could have but all the best to them. Hopefully can give the Vics a shake

Have heard that unfortunately a few boys pulled out, agree I would like to see Davey, Bryant,Derrick, Seddon to name a few but all unavailable. Had a look at the Victorian side and boy have they got some AFL VFL talent. Cam Howat,Tom Paule,Tom Roach, Murphy Ambrose, Joel Rice, and Will Tardif would cut the NEAFL apart. Good luck to the QAFL boys hope you can be competitive against a very strong outfit, just hope its not a flogging.

Well as expected, it was a belting, all over in the first 10 minutes.!!... really, a mismatch, as I said prior, the VAFA should of been playing the NEAFL rep side.
I saw the game report on the AFLQ thread, and this report is a joke, saying the VAFA side have played numerous games together thus that gave them a huge advantage. Fact is they played in the Melbourne metro league rep comp, which was some 10 weeks ago, and won. Now, that's no mean feat, defeating comps like the Essendon and district football league and the Eastern football league in the grand final.Also, after reading their website last week, the side they bought up here was missing 7 or 8 players from this earlier winning combination.
Credit to the QAFL guys for going into battle against very long odds, U were put up against a comp that is of a much higher standard. Total mismatch, as is having the NEAFL playing against tier one comps .( WAFL, SANFL etc.). If u want a competitive rep game, put the NEAFL side against the VAFA or the VIC COUNTRY rep side..and have the QAFL rep side play say a ACT OR SYDNEY rep side.

Well as expected, it was a belting, all over in the first 10 minutes.!!... really, a mismatch, as I said prior, the VAFA should of been playing the NEAFL rep side.
I saw the game report on the AFLQ thread, and this report is a joke, saying the VAFA side have played numerous games together thus that gave them a huge advantage. Fact is they played in the Melbourne metro league rep comp, which was some 10 weeks ago, and won. Now, that's no mean feat, defeating comps like the Essendon and district football league and the Eastern football league in the grand final.Also, after reading their website last week, the side they bought up here was missing 7 or 8 players from this earlier winning combination.
Credit to the QAFL guys for going into battle against very long odds, U were put up against a comp that is of a much higher standard. Total mismatch, as is having the NEAFL playing against tier one comps .( WAFL, SANFL etc.). If u want a competitive rep game, put the NEAFL side against the VAFA or the VIC COUNTRY rep side..and have the QAFL rep side play say a ACT OR SYDNEY rep side.

Could not agree more with you stuyd1, I went along and had a look at the game, and before anyone had even sat down Victoria was 7 goals up. To the QAFL boys and coaching staff credit, they hang in there as long as they could. I thought at one stage it was going to be a 20 goal loss, lucky it was only 12 -13 goals.

We should
Could not agree more with you stuyd1, I went along and had a look at the game, and before anyone had even sat down Victoria was 7 goals up. To the QAFL boys and coaching staff credit, they hang in there as long as they could. I thought at one stage it was going to be a 20 goal loss, lucky it was only 12 -13 goals.
We shouldn't be surprised, no Brittan, Davey, Nicklaus, Derrick, Bryant, Pope, Seddon, & Forbes to name a few. Why didn't they play, did they pull out or not get selected? If they play I'm certain it would have been a hell of a lot closer.

We should

We shouldn't be surprised, no Brittan, Davey, Nicklaus, Derrick, Bryant, Pope, Seddon, & Forbes to name a few. Why didn't they play, did they pull out or not get selected? If they play I'm certain it would have been a hell of a lot closer.
By the sounds of it they lacked forwards to kick goals I heard Abby had one or two kicks for the day and looked slower than a turtle walking backwards!!

I know Forbes is injured - could be a while before he is back out on the track and I think Bungles the VAFA may have had a few missing as well. Bottom line is that it is a significantly stronger comp than the QAFL which it should be. Blokes leave the AFL, end up at these old boys clubs and have their kids fees paid for them (allegedly of course). Its a substantial $$.

SMY,
spot on here. VAFA had 7 or 8 of their better players missing as well.Fact is their comp is as good as the NEAFL comp. This game against our QAFL rep side was a mismatch from the start... as is our NEAFL rep side playing against the WAFL and second tier comps.
Our governing bodies are just not being realistic about the whole structure of the so called Neafl comp and divisions below.

I wouldn't be surprised though Stuy if the NEAFL played the WAFL as a determinant for recruiters to get a line through potential mature age players for next year. Reckon this would be the major reason.

smy,
yes agree. There is a hidden agenda here for sure.

Enough of the state footy agendas... Who is going to win this weekend in the qafl? Going to be an interesting second half of the year, the shape up of 2-7 should be intriguing

so what are your opinion on the clubs that will be 2 to 7.///

I think morningside will almost certainly finish top, 2nd and 3rd will be very tight between pbc, lab and cats (could be decided on percentage). The last two spots for finals would be anyone's guess?

Hopefully there will be some upsets and games stay close

Morningside- a cut above the rest, will play in the Grand Final
PBC - going along nicely, have lost to Morningside and Lab.
Lab - the main contender if, only if they get everyone on the park.
Broadbeach- will be around the mark, but short of top 3
Sherwood- just a bit better than the rest, but will be interesting, surfers, Wilston Grange??

There's my top 5