2016 Rookie Draft thread: Needs and who do we take?

• Thread starter Thread starter mtooler

We just drafted one at pick 20...

He's fairly ready right now.

Florent could start forward as well as we could go small.

Richards wasn't much more than NEAFL or VFL standard
Actually Richards wasn't much chop at CHB in the NEAFL either and was on his way out when they decided on a last throw of the dice moving him forward. In that position he played a lot better (perhaps playing for his spot on the list) and ended up our best option as a third tall (after Bud and Tippo). I suspect the contract offer was suited to a NEAFL regular and that plus Ted finishing plus a bit of go home did the job on him. Not much point trying to keep someone who isn't 100% committed and the Swans did the right thing by him in delisting him so he would be dirt cheap. Guess no-one wanted to gamble on his commitment.

Gotta say I really like the look of the players we've picked up in both drafts. They all look like goers and appear, at this stage at least, to be 100% committed to the club. They all look like decent characters as well. It will be interesting to watch them develop. Given the success the coaching team had this year I reckon they'll go alright. Looking forward to a few ressies games to clock them.

Can't be disappointed with our drafts. Best available in our first 2 in the National Draft, then get an AA defender atnour 3rd, or ruckman/FWD 4th pick. Then we search for speed and X Factor in the rookie draft

And was elevated to the senior list as an elevated rookie. thus he was on the senior list mid season and able to play.

Similar to Papley playing last year, he was an elevated to the senior list.

yes but technically he was still playing as a Rookie. An elevated Rookie certainly but still a rookie.

You have to be kidding, he's weak as piss as well as being a dumb prick. Dug his own grave.

I agree Bedford. He will never be redrafted. We have now got an extra third tall and don't need him. Secondly he was soft as hell in the backline. He was lazy in some of his efforts in both reserves, seniors too. Every so often the runner would go out to him to put in more effort. It was always after one of his lazy efforts. A show pony I think.

Alright, assuming Reid is injured, who is going to help Buddy out in the forward line? I mean Richards being there meant that Buddy had more room to move around without having 2 defenders hanging off him.

Dawson, Hayward, Reid, AJ (if fit), Rohan, joey ( as he moves more into the forward line), Lewis Melican can play forward ( before you say 'he hasn't played a game and is on the Rookie list, nor had X and so was he), Maibaum can all play forward.

I also forgot Toby Pink. he played CHf for Glenelg U18. He is 193cm and like Dawson he is a huge kick. must be the muddy Adelaide water, Stewie Dew was a huge kick too.

As for all our draftees. I think we have done very, very well.

We got what we wanted and more. In fact I think we have pulled off a huge Rookie Draft move in drafting Fisher. He will be very good. So unlucky not to go in the main draft.

Hayward is freaky apparently. He kicked 9 in a Preliminary Final and 4 in the Grand Final. His highlight reel is pretty impressive. Takes Heens spot in the forward line as Heens moves into the mids. A bit light at this stage, as is Florent, but will build up nicely but never be huge. Hayward and Florent are the typical young body that is needed, lithe rather than built, fast, elusive.

Maibaum has a good CV. just a question over his marking, averages 7/game. I don't see that as a problem if he does everything else well.

Darcy Cameron is a mature ager who kicked 36 goals in the WAFL last year. Takes a huge mark. A very accurate kick, even with a strange, awkward ball drop. Probably because he is 200cm.

Pink takes a great mark, kicks really well and can win a game off his own boot, literally (he won the U18 SANFL grand Final with the last kick, a 70 metre point). So no big occasion nerves for this lad. Very talented young key forward, a development prospect. He is a buy now pay back later kid. needs to beef up and develop in the NEAFL. But I think he has every chance of not only surviving but flourishing. He seems to love a challenge. you gotta love that.

Ben Ronke, is quick, super quick, elusive, full of talent. Strange no club picked this kid up in the draft. I think we have one here. Look at the footage, I think Kinnear must have thought it Christmas when it got to our pick.

Sam Fisher is all class. Unlucky not to be picked up in the Draft. I think GWS were a bit bemused when we picked him up as I think they were looking to pick him themselves. Will play well in our system, will do better than he would have at GWS.

Shaun Edwards is super quick. Has to fix a few problems. I think Rhyce will start him off in the back pocket to teach him a lesson about defensive pressure. He can take a screamer but it is his run and carry that are the highlight of his game. His disposal is pretty good too.

Robbie Fox is a mature ager and ex-Tassie Basketballer. The footage of him is really good. He follows up and seems to have a huge tank. A tall mis at 186, he is a real workhorse and seems to have based his game on Joey. All about second efforts for Fox.

I think we have had a pretty impressive draft. Adding to the young impressive list we have been building over the last four years. Since 2012 we have looked to regenerate and have done so very well. Now is the time. In the next 5-7 years we need to win at least one premiership or it will have been for nought.

As for all our draftees. I think we have done very, very well.

We got what we wanted and more. In fact I think we have pulled off a huge Rookie Draft move in drafting Fisher. He will be very good. So unlucky not to go in the main draft.

Hayward is freaky apparently. He kicked 9 in a Preliminary Final and 4 in the Grand Final. His highlight reel is pretty impressive. Takes Heens spot in the forward line as Heens moves into the mids. A bit light at this stage, as is Florent, but will build up nicely but never be huge. Hayward and Florent are the typical young body that is needed, lithe rather than built, fast, elusive.

Maibaum has a good CV. just a question over his marking, averages 7/game. I don't see that as a problem if he does everything else well.

Darcy Cameron is a mature ager who kicked 36 goals in the WAFL last year. Takes a huge mark. A very accurate kick, even with a strange, awkward ball drop. Probably because he is 200cm.

Pink takes a great mark, kicks really well and can win a game off his own boot, literally (he won the U18 SANFL grand Final with the last kick, a 70 metre point). So no big occasion nerves for this lad. Very talented young key forward, a development prospect. He is a buy now pay back later kid. needs to beef up and develop in the NEAFL. But I think he has every chance of not only surviving but flourishing. He seems to love a challenge. you gotta love that.

Ben Ronke, is quick, super quick, elusive, full of talent. Strange no club picked this kid up in the draft. I think we have one here. Look at the footage, I think Kinnear must have thought it Christmas when it got to our pick.

Sam Fisher is all class. Unlucky not to be picked up in the Draft. I think GWS were a bit bemused when we picked him up as I think they were looking to pick him themselves. Will play well in our system, will do better than he would have at GWS.

Shaun Edwards is super quick. Has to fix a few problems. I think Rhyce will start him off in the back pocket to teach him a lesson about defensive pressure. He can take a screamer but it is his run and carry that are the highlight of his game. His disposal is pretty good too.

Robbie Fox is a mature ager and ex-Tassie Basketballer. The footage of him is really good. He follows up and seems to have a huge tank. A tall mis at 186, he is a real workhorse and seems to have based his game on Joey. All about second efforts for Fox.

I think we have had a pretty impressive draft. Adding to the young impressive list we have been building over the last four years. Since 2012 we have looked to regenerate and have done so very well. Now is the time. In the next 5-7 years we need to win at least one premiership or it will have been for nought.
Reckon you've nailed it. Everyone we have brought in (in both drafts) has higher potential than the ones we let go. Excluding really good players (in their time) like Ted and Benny. Cannot see one player that makes me go "Oh! No!". The odds are they won't all succeed but I reckon we'll get a few premiership class players out of this draft. All we can hope for. I might get a few bucks on a NEAFL premiership if I can get odds.

Did they play a game on the Rookie list????? No they were elevated as either an elevated Rookie during the season or post season onto the main list before they played in the AFL.

I never said AFL quality/level players are not developed on the rookie list and become stars. They are just not AFL level and quality at the time of drafting until they are elevated onto the senior list.
Tom Papley says HI :D

Club has already got players on its list that are not AFL Standard and then they Rookie
Shaun Edwards. Come at me as much as you want because I will say it right here and now he is nowhere near an AFL Standard player and I will repost this when he is gone after 1 year preferably joined by whoever made the decision to recruit him. Joke.

get the popcorn out... this should be interesting. I have a sneaky suspicion others will be quoting your post above and humble pie will be the order of the day.

Whether he makes it or not IMO he's exactly what I'd expect to be signed onto a rookie list. A player with an elite aspect of their game and a couple of sizeable but developable flaws. If he buys in and realises defensive pressure is a pre requisite for modern day AFL he'll be a super pick up.

P.S who do you think we really missed out on by taking him?

Reckon you've nailed it. Everyone we have brought in (in both drafts) has higher potential than the ones we let go. Excluding really good players (in their time) like Ted and Benny. Cannot see one player that makes me go "Oh! No!". The odds are they won't all succeed but I reckon we'll get a few premiership class players out of this draft. All we can hope for. I might get a few bucks on a NEAFL premiership if I can get odds.

Me too with Pink to kick the winner. by the way he is more a project player. A skinny 193cm, he is a largely unknown quantity or quality. but one thing the club does know is he has the nerve and confidence to finish off in the most pressure cooker situations. Was really good in Glenelg's two finals, might not have kicked heaps of goals like Hayward but he played a pivotal role in their wins, not withstanding kicking the 70 metre winner in a GF.

While not right away I think if he can find the ball more Fisher could break into the side halfway through the year. I like his disposal choices and effectiveness a lot.

I think both Ronke & fisher are two really good pick ups. In fact I like all of what we have done this year. The last four years in fact. sure we made a few mistakes, namely Sheep, Galloway, in the end Richards etc. They aren't all going to make it but on the whole some very good drafts and this could just be the cream.

I also like the fact we have taken on an unknown quantity in Pink. He might just be a sensational development player. He is not a now player. Being 193 and 84 he probably needs to put on some shape and do some strength work. He is a potential senior CHF if he has the goods. be very interested to see them all play in the NEAFL but this bloke in particular.

While not right away I think if he can find the ball more Fisher could break into the side halfway through the year. I like his disposal choices and effectiveness a lot.
Averaged 20+ touches in the championships, can find the footy when in the midfield.

I do remember though that his disposal efficiency was way higher than what we are used to from Swans midfielders though.

Not sure the bar is that high there though!

Are you sure as I recall him averaging about 12 when I looked at his stats? I do remember though that his disposal efficiency was way higher than what we are used to from Swans midfielders though.
Averaged 20+ in div 2 championship with ACT/NSW then averaged 12 with the Allies in div 1.

Me too with Pink to kick the winner. by the way he is more a project player. A skinny 193cm, he is a largely unknown quantity or quality. but one thing the club does know is he has the nerve and confidence to finish off in the most pressure cooker situations. Was really good in Glenelg's two finals, might not have kicked heaps of goals like Hayward but he played a pivotal role in their wins, not withstanding kicking the 70 metre winner in a GF.

didnt the kick fall 15m short and bounce through?

Transcript of the new reality show "Beatson and Dead Horse do the Draft."

A couple of days before the draft....

HORSE : Have you been to many games this year Kinn?
BEATSON : A couple. I watched that All-Stars game that all the highly-rated kids were playing in. There was a little guy Florent who dominated. We should grab him.
HORSE : Florent you say. Does he play anything like Tom Mitchell?
BEATSON : Nope, the complete opposite.
HORSE : I love him! Can I go around to his house to meet him?

During the draft.....

HORSE : So we've got my man Oli. Who else ya got for me Kinn?
BEATSON : I had to go to Adelaide for a wedding a while ago, so I checked out the prelim of the SANFL U-18s. There was one kid that kicked 9 goals!
HORSE : How many goals would that be in the TAC?
BEATSON : At least 6. The conversion rate has been all over the place since Trump won the election.
HORSE : Still pretty good. Sold!
BEATSON : Wanna go talls now?
HORSE : Yep. Who's good?
BEATSON : I dunno. When in doubt, go to the All-Aus team........ There's a guy Maibaum at full-back that nobody has picked yet.
HORSE : It's probably because everyone's scared of pronouncing it wrong. Lock him in. What about a back-up ruckman? Any tall guys in the state leagues? I don't wanna wait for some skinny kid to develop.
BEATSON : There's a guy Cameron in the WAFL who's 204cm. Played up forward a lot though.
HORSE : Even better. So that's the draft done for another year. We killed it!
BEATSON : There's still the rookie draft in a few days.
HORSE : Pffft. We always ace that one, no matter who we pick. Remember that plumber we accidentally picked last year when you clicked the wrong key? Classic!

Before the rookie draft.......

HORSE : Who've we got in the academies?
BEATSON : Not much. The GWS academies are way better.
HORSE : Can we Cunningham them again?
BEATSON : Let me check...... Yep. Sam Fisher. Sounds like an AFL footballer already.
HORSE : Cool. What about another Fothergill-Round medal winner?
BEATSON : Nah, Luke Ryan's already taken. I thought you'd probably want him so I watched a Coburg game, but he was outplayed by a few guys. Robbie Fox and some Calder Cannons kid.
HORSE : Can we get him instead?
BEATSON : I guess.

(Beatson scrolls way down to Robbie Fox, but instead of pushing the select button, he is poised to delete him. Horse notices just in time.)

HORSE : Nah, wrong key!
BEATSON : Yeah, Ronke. How'd you know that? Fine. We'll go Ronke.

(Beatson selects Ronke.)

HORSE : What happened to Robbie Fox?!
BEATSON : Huh?
HORSE : He'd better not be gone by our next pick.
BEATSON : No-one's ever heard of him so I think we'll be safe......See, no harm done.

(Beatson gets a text message)

BEATSON : Whoops! Shaun Edwards just messaged to say he was in Gundagai. I kinda hinted we might take him.
HORSE : The same Shaun Edwards that couldn't get a game for the wooden spooners last year?
BEATSON : C'mon Horse. You loved it when we did it with Laidler. And he's already driven all that way....
HORSE: Fine. Anyone left for the last pick?
BEATSON : Yeah, just give me a sec. Who was that kid that kicked that point to win the SANFL Under 18s? Was it Pink?

(Beatson googles "Pink Under 18s" and finds Toby Pink's youtube video amongst some others far less suitable for work.)

HORSE : So that's it then. That went quick. In all the rush I missed who picked up Xavier Richards.
BEATSON : Me too. Unless..... Ohhhhh....

BEATSON : Yeah, just give me a sec. Who was that kid that kicked that point to win the SANFL Under 18s? Was it Pink?

(Beatson googles "Pink Under 18s" and finds Toby Pink's youtube video amongst some others far less suitable for work.)

HORSE : So that's it then. That went quick. In all the rush I missed who picked up Xavier Richards.
BEATSON : Me too. Unless..... Ohhhhh....

So Beatson is now on a sex offenders register? :p