Game Day 2017 National Draft

The OP for our new picks must be accurate and informative. Who should do it?

• Anyone

Votes: 39 35.5%
  • Wait for TD

Votes: 71 64.5%

Warming towards Murphy at our pick, seems like the type of draft where picks 6-20 are an absolute raffle, so I wouldn't consider it a reach at all.

From the highlights reel/write ups he looks like the perfect modern day footballer, what are the knocks on him?

Warming towards Murphy at our pick, seems like the type of draft where picks 6-20 are an absolute raffle, so I wouldn't consider it a reach at all.

From the highlights reel/write ups he looks like the perfect modern day footballer, what are the knocks on him?

I say the Lack of Footy he has Played as been doing Cricket for some time

Lack of pace and clear position are his knocks.

Only to watch Stephenson become the Judd or Selwood of this draft over the coming years if he stays healthy.:eek:

Given his U18 performances, speed, endurance base and the highlights reel he just screams pick me.

He's D Thomas 2.0 for mine.

Not sure what I'm missing?

As I understand it the issue has to be controlled through medication which effectively seeks to stop his heart rate going above a certain level. Its interesting bc I have had one view from a club that he is fine and all good and 2 that have said - no chance for us.

Like you I am a fan and have had him as the 2nd best player next to Rayner on pure talent.

Reports on News saying that be no Power for Thursday and Friday could mean I miss the Draft. Though I make sure my Phone is Charged as Possible so I can Follow it but might not be able to do the Welcome Threads
I’ll turn off our aircon on Friday night.

As I understand it the issue has to be controlled through medication which effectively seeks to stop his heart rate going above a certain level. Its interesting bc I have had one view from a club that he is fine and all good and 2 that have said - no chance for us.

Like you I am a fan and have had him as the 2nd best player next to Rayner on pure talent.
Interesting.
Didn't we have in u 19s level John Stevens.
He played 78 or so games for the swans.

Had a heart issue. Lucky it was picked up and he's fine.

The story goes, our U19s coach Keith Burns picked up that something was not quite right with Stevens.
He'd run like the clappers but Burns called him over and asked him if he was always so agitated in puffing or that sort of thing! Stevens said my heart is racing. It always does....
He thought that was normal and he'd just run it off.

Burns sent him for tests. The tests Picked up the heart condition.

In many ways Stevens has said Burns might have saved his life.

Back to Stephenson do we think that maybe one day he might need surgery? After his career.
It's quite spooky.

Then again if he monitors it appropriately, he might be perfectly fine.

Interesting.
Didn't we have in u 19s level John Stevens.
He played 78 or so games for the swans.

Had a heart issue. Lucky it was picked up and he's fine.

The story goes, our U19s coach Keith Burns picked up that something was not quite right with Stevens.
He'd run like the clappers but Burns called him over and asked him if he was always so agitated in puffing or that sort of thing! Stevens said my heart is racing. It always does....
He thought that was normal and he'd just run it off.

Burns sent him for tests. The tests Picked up the heart condition.

In many ways Stevens has said Burns might have saved his life.

Back to Stephenson do we think that maybe one day he might need surgery? After his career.
It's quite spooky.

Then again if he monitors it appropriately, he might be perfectly fine.

yeah i dont know but would you take the risker would you go the next best player. Thats the questions clubs are now forced with. Dekka might go I have him at 6 but you know not worth the risk I will go with Aaron.

Back to Pies reckon their heads might be spinning. If they want a tall then I reckon they will look at Darcy or Aaron at pick 6 as not sure any other suitable ones will be there by the 2nd pick.....and it might be that is needed for tyler.....which staggers me - I would almost pass if he got bid there

yeah i dont know but would you take the risker would you go the next best player. Thats the questions clubs are now forced with. Dekka might go I have him at 6 but you know not worth the risk I will go with Aaron.

Back to Pies reckon their heads might be spinning. If they want a tall then I reckon they will look at Darcy or Aaron at pick 6 as not sure any other suitable ones will be there by the 2nd pick.....and it might be that is needed for tyler.....which staggers me - I would almost pass if he got bid there
Do you see much difference between Fogarty and Bonar

I would be Tempted to go IF it was in Melbourne

I can just see it now. The crown palladium with Gil on stage and 19 booths surrounding decked out with laptops for the 18 clubs to make their selections and DTM to make his welcome threads.

My favourite memory from any draft night was from 2009 when a poster that I can’t remember sorry, took a photo of Ross Lyon’s reaction when collingwood read out Luke Ball as our pick 29 after he famously said good luck getting to collingwood as he walked out of the trade negotiations.

I can just see it now. The crown palladium with Gil on stage and 19 booths surrounding decked out with laptops for the 18 clubs to make their selections and DTM to make his welcome threads.

My favourite memory from any draft night was from 2009 when a poster that I can’t remember sorry, took a photo of Ross Lyon’s reaction when collingwood read out Luke Ball as our pick 29 after he famously said good luck getting to collingwood as he walked out of the trade negotiations.
Well that photo needs to be found post hste!

They'd need 19 laptops set up, all logged into Dave's BigFooty account with a new thread ready to go for 19 different players, all so he could run across to the right computer and click 'create thread'

At 38 i'd be happy with any of Harry Petty, Sam Taylor, Butts, Toby Wooller and Noah Balta. You think they'll all be gone by 38? Personally i'd risk it. Best available at 6.

No reason, i just like doing things like that ;)

Frankie I have met Dave in person on a few occasions.

He is probably the most passionate Pies supporter I know.

I have also pulled him up on occasions on this site for going over the top in the past.

I have made a conscious decision not to disagree with people here anymore.....my point is Dave loves doing the welcome threads what is the harm in letting him continue doing them?

No need to reply mate.

At 38 i'd be happy with any of Harry Petty, Sam Taylor, Butts, Toby Wooller and Noah Balta. You think they'll all be gone by 38?
If the rumours are true that balta is the slider and there at 38, l reckon he is worth the risk on talent alone

I'd pass on the heart thing if it was very early pick. Unless they thought Wayne Carey or Tony Lockett or even Matthew Pavlich.

But less than that, no it's a pass from me.

Frankie I have met Dave in person on a few occasions.

He is probably the most passionate Pies supporter I know.

I have also pulled him up on occasions on this site for going over the top in the past.

I have made a conscious decision not to disagree with people here anymore.....my point is Dave loves doing the welcome threads what is the harm in letting him continue doing them?

No need to reply mate.
CFC2010, come out to playay.

If the rumours are true that balta is the slider and there at 38, l reckon he is worth the risk on talent alone
Absolutely at 38.

Coffield then Balta then Petty then Brown.

Tasty nights work.

Or imagine Rayner, Balta, some other unexpected slider then Brown. Then we all wake up....

I'd pass on the heart thing if it was very early pick. Unless they thought Wayne Carey or Tony Lockett or even Matthew Pavlich.

But less than that, no it's a pass from me.

Life's not fair in a lot of ways. Easy for us to be dispassionate and make a call, and I agree with you. If I were Stephenson though i'd be feeling pretty shitty about it and keen to prove people wrong.

Absolutely at 38.

Coffield then Balta then Petty then Brown.

Tasty nights work.

Or imagine Rayner, Balta, some other unexpected slider then Brown. Then we all wake up....
If the club takes a risk, Bonar or Stephenson could be worth it