Analysis 2017 Non-Crows Discussion Thread - Part V for Vendetta

Osteo? Use Gotu Kola--also known as Pennywort. I have it growing in my yard. Two to three small leaves a day will change your life. Can also get pills from health shops.
Is that the same pennywort that grows on the edges of lakes and such? I used to find heaps of what I called "pennywort" down lake alexandrina

Yes. It's a swamp or pond plant. If you plant to grow in a backyard, you have to use heaps of water to start it off. Takes care of self with normal watering after it establishes. Leaves taste slightly bitter, but not too bad.

Look GremioPower, I'm going to frank with you, I don't like the idea of loading up on delisted reserves and my opinion has nothing to do with the fact Port's involved. I would have the exact same opinion if it were any other club doing this except one, which is my own, because if it were my club I'd be even more critical.

They are depth because they are proven AFL assets that most probably can play well against SANFL opposition. They are depth because they are replacements, i.e. worse than the players on our First-XXII. That's all.

First of all your definition of "depth" is incorrect. A player is only considered depth if they can come into the team and provide a meaningful contribution so the team as a whole can continue to perform to a standard approximating their norm, in other words their worth as depth is determined by how closely they compare to the player they are replacing. If just being worse than your first 22 was enough to be considered depth as you suggest, then any average Joe off the street would fit the bill.

Furthermore, they aren't AFL assets, that's why they were playing reserves football and then got delisted.

The plan, however, is not to get rid of them. The point is that we are allowed to get rid of them with no costs if we think they won't be able to contribute in 2019. On the other hand, if they prove to be valuable for the team, and if they want to stay, then we could still re-sign them.

Here's the thing, when you acquire a player and at the same time have plans on how to get rid of them so soon afterwards, it's tantamount to acknowledging they don't have much if any value.

McKenzie, Trengove, and (possibly) Thomas are low-risk/high-reward moves. They are not supposed to make us AFL Premiership favorites or anything remotely like that

That "low-risk/high-reward" expression gets used far, far too often by fans seeking to justify the acquisition of cheap players. They're cheap for a good reason. Their previous clubs would know better than anyone else what they have to offer and they chose to let them go, the rest of the league decided they weren't worth anything as well by not trading for them. Does Port know something about these guys that the other seventeen clubs don't? This isn't a case of low-risk/high-reward, it's low-risk/low-reward.

My guess is your club didn't have much in terms of quality picks this year to fill out your list after the large number of departures it had to contend with, so they found some placeholders to fill those last remaining spots until next year. Placeholders who are cheap, have AFL level fitness and are familiar with the requirements of the job.

Excuse me, folks. I know it is not my house, but I would like to say that MRB37 is right on this. The DFA signings were primarily to serve the Magpies. If they end up to be good enough to play for the Power, that's a plus. They will be busts only if they cannot contribute for our SANFL side, either by playing well or mentoring the kids (for Trengove and Thomas).

This at least makes some sense, though admittedly I'm not a fan of recruiting for the success of reserves sides.

We all need an out at sometime in life & BF can provide that out, never found your posting style offensive at all maybe a little wacky at times though.

Did I ever say that I was old & I mean really old.
I always pictured you as looking something like this.

upload_2017-11-23_14-16-0.png

I always pictured you as looking something like this.

View attachment 439576
Not far off:thumbsu:

I always thought of this Noddy
a20adafa41ac613166146adcc323bfe2--noddy-holder.jpg

But Noddy Holder looks like this now.... (Really old)

Noddy-Holder-286165.jpg

This might shock some of you but I’m not elite in real life

I am shocked

We all need an out at sometime in life & BF can provide that out, never found your posting style offensive at all maybe a little wacky at times though.

Did I ever say that I was old & I mean really old.

You're delightful Nodster ...a real delight

Not far off:thumbsu:

They're mean Noddy

I imagine you look like this...
upload_2017-11-23_16-30-0.jpeg

Probably going to say something that is obvious but Im going to say it.

This forum has been a life saver for me at some times in my life, I have had some horrendous dark moments and if not for the banter, the lols, the memes and the Janus with his bs, Im not sure where I would be. I have had endured some scary moments and its comforting to hear arguments about which player to choose or what jumper we should wear. Its the silly arguments that makes this forum sometimes a peaceful place to be.

Actually I do where I would be if not for BF, but thats a darker place.

Anyways those that post on here over this time of the year are in some part of need of companionship, not all, maybe very very few. Sometimes I am one of them.

Thank you to all that have made me smile this year. Even if it is once.

I apologize if I have pissed some people off on here, yes at times I have done it deliberately. Sometimes I should know better that maybe those people are like me that are in need of a friendly chat or banter.

To those that I have hurled hurtful comments at, I am sorry.

We Fly as One mate! :)

I agree.

I was angry and very bitter on our GF performance. Some posters didnt like that. However, the fact remains Im still here in November dreaming of another chance.

If I had given up, I wouldnt care to post or read in here anymore.

Growing older is not correlated with grumpiness nor reason, compassion or wisdom any more than being young is related to any of these things. My take on it is that people are arseholes or not whatever age they be.
Yes people who are young arseholes become older arseholes

But I find my tolerance to be less and less , whether that be stupidity or rudeness or a combination. I used to sit back and swallow all that I felt , but now I let people know if they do wrong. Not in a rude way , well mostly not, but I find someone being a bully etc I will stand up and say something.

Yes people who are young arseholes become older arseholes

But I find my tolerance to be less and less , whether that be stupidity or rudeness or a combination. I used to sit back and swallow all that I felt , but now I let people know if they do wrong. Not in a rude way , well mostly not, but I find someone being a bully etc I will stand up and say something.

I just think in general (and I include myself in this ) people cannot tolerate the idiot factor as much - because there are just so many more idiots these days !

I agree.

I was angry and very bitter on our GF performance. Some posters didnt like that. However, the fact remains Im still here in November dreaming of another chance.

If you weren't pissed off with our Grand Final, then you wouldn't really care passionately about our club. The fact you took a while to get over it just means you do care about the club.

We have the list to threaten again, so hopefully along with some luck we can snag that flag we deserve.

Correct, if they want to make the AFL Draft more popular they need to start nationally televising U18 games. Otherwise the draft is never going to hold the same interest here as the NBA and NFL drafts do in the US.

Some college football games have bigger crowds than the NFL - we will never get to that unless they televise U18 games and that won’t happen as the production costs are too high.

By the way, age is a state of mind. Sometimes I act like a teenager other times my age (mid 50’s). The important thing is to make a person, be it family, work colleague or random stranger, on this earth happy each day - make someone laugh.

And one more thing, those people who piss you off and drain what I call your life force - get them out of your life. I no longer suffer idiots (which doesn’t full explain why I respond to Janus!)

Look GremioPower, I'm going to frank with you, I don't like the idea of loading up on delisted reserves and my opinion has nothing to do with the fact Port's involved. I would have the exact same opinion if it were any other club doing this except one, which is my own, because if it were my club I'd be even more critical.

First of all your definition of "depth" is incorrect. A player is only considered depth if they can come into the team and provide a meaningful contribution so the team as a whole can continue to perform to a standard approximating their norm, in other words their worth as depth is determined by how closely they compare to the player they are replacing. If just being worse than your first 22 was enough to be considered depth as you suggest, then any average Joe off the street would fit the bill.

Furthermore, they aren't AFL assets, that's why they were playing reserves football and then got delisted.

Here's the thing, when you acquire a player and at the same time have plans on how to get rid of them so soon afterwards, it's tantamount to acknowledging they don't have much if any value.

That "low-risk/high-reward" expression gets used far, far too often by fans seeking to justify the acquisition of cheap players. They're cheap for a good reason. Their previous clubs would know better than anyone else what they have to offer and they chose to let them go, the rest of the league decided they weren't worth anything as well by not trading for them. Does Port know something about these guys that the other seventeen clubs don't? This isn't a case of low-risk/high-reward, it's low-risk/low-reward.

My guess is your club didn't have much in terms of quality picks this year to fill out your list after the large number of departures it had to contend with, so they found some placeholders to fill those last remaining spots until next year. Placeholders who are cheap, have AFL level fitness and are familiar with the requirements of the job.

This at least makes some sense, though admittedly I'm not a fan of recruiting for the success of reserves sides.

Well, our disagreements are clear. We won't go much further in the conversation.

1) I still think that:

- picking 3 players is NOT "loading up;"
- the three DFA signings are better bets than any 18-year-old we could pick in the draft;
- Picking Trengove and Thomas is not limited to what they can contribute on the field;
- depth is replacement level, which is below "First-XXII" level;
- any draftee wouldn't be in your own definition of depth;
- our three FA signings, by taking places in our First-XXII, they have improved our depth; and
- Port couldn't have done anything different that would improve more the team now and for the future.

What would you suggest that we could have done differently?

2) We agree on, though, that:

- our 3 DFA players are primarily Magpies' players;
- we don't expect much from them on the field.

Your issue seems to be on the fact that Port supporters are OK with that.

I agree.

It was a shattering day and I was at the game. Never felt so numb before in a sporting context. We invest a lot into the club emotionally and financially so you had every right to be bitter and angry. This experience will make us more resilient as supporters. We just have to roll with it and keep supporting the boys. :thumbsu:

Well, our disagreements are clear. We won't go much further in the conversation.

1) I still think that:

- picking 3 players is NOT "loading up;"
- the three DFA signings are better bets than any 18-year-old we could pick in the draft;
- Picking Trengove and Thomas is not limited to what they can contribute on the field;
- depth is replacement level, which is below "First-XXII" level;
- any draftee wouldn't be in your own definition of depth;
- our three FA signings, by taking places in our First-XXII, they have improved our depth; and
- Port couldn't have done anything different that would improve more the team now and for the future.

What would you suggest that we could have done differently?

2) We agree on, though, that:

- our 3 DFA players are primarily Magpies' players;
- we don't expect much from them on the field.

If you think the reason Power did what they did was anything but a panic move because they have very little coming through ... have a listen to this podcast with former Port Adelaide recruiter Craig Coombes, see what you think. He doesn't see a huge upside for the Crows in 2018 either but we did finish second and added Bryce Gibbs ... maybe we don't need the same level of improvement to contend next year.

https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=155934

If you think the reason Power did what they did was anything but a panic move because they have very little coming through ... have a listen to this podcast with former Port Adelaide recruiter Craig Coombes, see what you think. He doesn't see a huge upside for the Crows in 2018 either but we did finish second and added Bryce Gibbs ... maybe we don't need the same level of improvement to contend next year.

https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=155934

Some people at PAFC's Big Footy Community have seen this coming before it happened. It is not "panic," but a stage of a larger plan.

Have you been listening to Silent J again? ;)

If I got you right, his thing is explaining after the fact. I am saying the opposite — there were people who wrote we would "skip" the draft this year by pushing for FA players. Rockliff, Motlop, and Watts can make our team better than it was, and we were really close to a Top-4 spot.

Moreover, before the DFA period, there were long discussions on Trengove and Thomas. It is all there. It wasn't a surprise and it does make sense. No panic...

---

On FA, Port brought 2 players and lost 1; (+1)
On DFA, Port brought 2 and lost 3; (-1)
On Retirement, Port lost 2 (-2);
On Trading, Port brought 1 and lost 5 (-4).

The result is: 5 in; 11 out (-6).

Port will bring Thomas (DFA #3), 4 young players, and still have a pick remaining to either call-up someone experienced or another youngster. We are OK.

We are OK.
I could post a picture of the Iraqi communications Minister.

If I was a Port supporter I would hope we will be ok. The strategy is fine and could lead to a short term fix but the long term , which I think is your main focus , concerns me a lot. Its a philosophy thing so my way may not work either , but these DFAs could end up harming the development of your kids. I hear what people say that the kids can learn from these experienced players. Possibly, but they (kids) are the elite of their group. What they need is to test themselves against the elite of the next group. Not sit and stagnate at SANFL level waiting for a chance

Yes, you cant fit everyone in and it needs very good management but given a choice over a Lindsay Thomas in a forward pocket or a ( who have you got left? ) Sam Gray? give me Sam Gray every match. If thats the case then why get LT in the 1st place??

Bottom line is its up in the air and if the price v cost is equal then why not. And I shall stop rambling

Blah blah ...

My issue is those Port supporters that are are not just "OK with that" but are delusional enough to think this strategy was planned ( no way did you expect 5 to walk from your club) and that this untargeted recruitment fiesta guarantees you Top 4 and a flag!

Read your own board