2017 Trade and FA thread

I don't think they'll be after anything they can get. Sure, they might be interested in off-loading some of their players for early picks but they're not going to toss everyone out the door for nothing. They have no reason to given their age profile is actually pretty young now - that's part of why they're struggling.

Would we be looking to offload guys like Rocky or Zorko for a third rounder because they probably won't be here when we're on the way back up? No, because we think they have more value to us and if they do want out we'd expect better value than that.

You mean the club that tossed out Sam Mitchell for essentially pick 88 and Jordan Lewis for essentially pick 66? I reckon if someone for example like Taylor Duryea or someone of similar ability could net them a 3rd round pick they would take it.

They are not rebuilding their club with 2 picks inside the top 40. If their form continues i wouldn't be surprised to see them send a broom through the list and try to get as many draft picks as possible. They have very little talent coming through. Lions fans know how it ends.

You mean the club that tossed out Sam Mitchell for essentially pick 88 and Jordan Lewis for essentially pick 66? I reckon if someone for example like Taylor Duryea or someone of similar ability could net them a 3rd round pick they would take it.

That's an incredibly different scenario and surely you can see that. Two club legends, on very significant coin, when they have multiple well-compensated players joining. Who's joining Hawthorn this year? How much are players like Duryea on?

They are not rebuilding their club with 2 picks inside the top 40. If their form continues i wouldn't be surprised to see them send a broom through the list and try to get as many draft picks as possible. They have very little talent coming through. Lions fans know how it ends.

Lions fans also know how building your future around third round and later picks ends.

There's a reason our focus has shifted to multiple top 30 picks. Hawthorn knows that better than most as they were the ones that basically wrote the book on it (or contributed to it, if you've read Emma Quayle's first draft book). Offering them a pick close to 40... meh.

That's an incredibly different scenario and surely you can see that. Two club legends, on very significant coin, when they have multiple well-compensated players joining. Who's joining Hawthorn this year? How much are players like Duryea on?

Lions fans also know how building your future around third round and later picks ends.

There's a reason our focus has shifted to multiple top 30 picks. Hawthorn knows that better than most as they were the ones that basically wrote the book on it (or contributed to it, if you've read Emma Quayle's first draft book). Offering them a pick close to 40... meh.

I'm not saying they are building their future around 3rd round picks, i'm saying they are going to try and gain as many picks as possible. They will not restrict themselves to picks inside top 20. If someone is wiling to offer them a 3rd pick for a player they feel isn't essential they would be foolish not to do the deal. Think we can agree that they will be moving at least a couple big names on to get into the draft early. Come seasons end they will be happy to discuss any player. Personally i hope Clarkson sits on his hands and does little but i highly doubt it.

yep, wouldn't mind that although of those i listed as OOC (Fyfe, Martin virtually no chance to come to us) i would have Pittard, Johaniison, Kelly, Smith, Fantasia, May and Hopper in front of Darcy based on needs.
Fantasia has re-signed with the Bombers. I think young, quality midfielders is arguably the greatest need on our current list. Sure we could really use a quick half back flanker with decent foot skills and a dangerous small forward who is quick, applies defensive pressure and can kick goals but I think we need to add 3-4 quality, young midfielders asap. I can't see us luring Kelly, Smith or Hopper. Kelly is likely to re-commit to GWS apparently whilst the Vic clubs are in hot pursuit of Smith and Hopper. It is doubtful May leaves the Suns considering he is Co-Captain and they finally look like they might be on the up. Pittard and Johannisenn will likely receive offers from just about every club in the league but I'd definitely look at them as options. Pittard as a free agent would be very handy.

I just feel like of all the players you listed the one we'd be most likely to lure to the Gabba would be Parish. I think we'd have to offer a decent amount of money but his best mate Matho is here and he also knows guys like Schache, Skinner, Berry even Keays through the academy and Henriksen was his Vic Country coach. In all likelihood he re-signs with the Bombers but if we are willing to throw some money at him(Heavily front loaded) perhaps we can shake him loose.

Imo our targets should be-

Aliir Aliir as a young, talented KPD to partner Andrews. Has lived in Brisbane in the past.

Charlie Cameron and Jarman Impey. If we were able to add both our side would automatically be much quicker. Play them both as small forwards and they would apply a hell of a lot of defensive pressure on the opposition's defenders. Cameron is originally from Brisbane isn't he?

Darcy Parish as a quality, young midfielder with a couple of seasons under his belt.

Note: We'd have to offer all of these guys overs in order to pry them away from their current clubs I'd imagine.

Very easy to trade a player and gain a pick or use a future pick. i disagree we don't need any more mature players - i would say we don't need players who have only a year or two left but we could really do with a solid AFL player who has had 5 or 6 seasons. We are still youngest list in the comp.
If the majority of our draft picks turn in to "hits", and if they all stay, we won't remain the youngest team in the competition forever. Or rooted to the bottom of the table.

As I said in my previous post which you replied to, I am only interested in recruiting top tier talent. That talent could be in the 24 to 26 age group and be an established player, or could be in the 20 to 23 age group and be a player who still has growth in their game but still be identifiable as a future star player.

However it is unlikely such a player would be interested in joining Brisbane, but you never know, if another Bundy wants a change of scenery, and out of the fishbowl that is Melbourne/Victoria, I'd give it serious consideration. But I do have a clear reluctance in trading first round draft picks.

Maybe it's easier for me, being a relatively new fan, that I haven't been worn down by more than a decade of failure post the championships years, and have the patience (and preference) to see the club build year on year.

Fantasia has re-signed with the Bombers. I think young, quality midfielders is arguably the greatest need on our current list. Sure we could really use a quick half back flanker with decent foot skills and a dangerous small forward who is quick, applies defensive pressure and can kick goals but I think we need to add 3-4 quality, young midfielders asap. I can't see us luring Kelly, Smith or Hopper. Kelly is likely to re-commit to GWS apparently whilst the Vic clubs are in hot pursuit of Smith and Hopper. It is doubtful May leaves the Suns considering he is Co-Captain and they finally look like they might be on the up. Pittard and Johannisenn will likely receive offers from just about every club in the league but I'd definitely look at them as options. Pittard as a free agent would be very handy.

I just feel like of all the players you listed the one we'd be most likely to lure to the Gabba would be Parish. I think we'd have to offer a decent amount of money but his best mate Matho is here and he also knows guys like Schache, Skinner, Berry even Keays through the academy and Henriksen was his Vic Country coach. In all likelihood he re-signs with the Bombers but if we are willing to throw some money at him(Heavily front loaded) perhaps we can shake him loose.

Aliir Aliir as a young, talented KPD to partner Andrews. Has lived in Brisbane in the past.

Charlie Cameron and Jarman Impey. If we were able to add both our side would automatically be much quicker. Play them both as small forwards and they would apply a hell of a lot of defensive pressure on the opposition's defenders. Cameron is originally from Brisbane isn't he?

Darcy Parish as a quality, young midfielder with a couple of seasons under his belt.

Note: We'd have to offer all of these guys overs in order to pry them away from their current clubs I'd imagine.

Great post. You've really done your homework on Parish - sounded like it could really happen! (calm down, calm down) :)

I highly doubt Adelaide would let Cameron go. However we might be able to snatch Impey, if Port continue to slide this season. Then again, he has been one of their real form players of late, right? As such, they might be reticent to let him walk. Then again, if Hinkley goes and he's still unsigned, I am sure he'd be ripe for the taking. He'd be fantastic up forward for us together with Squizzy.

Im a bit nervous about Johannissenn...not the cleanest of ball users and can butcher it a bit. Could become the new whipping boy at the Lions.

Very easy to trade a player and gain a pick or use a future pick. i disagree we don't need any more mature players - i would say we don't need players who have only a year or two left but we could really do with a solid AFL player who has had 5 or 6 seasons. We are still youngest list in the comp.

totally agree here. I'd have a go at Gunston. Still only 25

Dustin Martin has shown signs of not wanting to present to the media in Melbourne. Maybe a Buddy style move north would suit his lifestyle. Laid back lifestyle, out of public eye, good weather and we sure have room in our salary cap. Make a move lions and become relevant again!

I like the ideas. The key area of our list that we lack is speed, goal kicking small forward and a inside mid.

All the Victorian clubs will be chasing the big name GWS players, Fyfe and Martin. We certainly need to nab a talented young mid and I think this gives us the perfect opportunity to pouch someone like a Matthew Kennedy (GWS) as a very gettable target.

Also if Ablett wants to head home, then I can see someone like a Steven Motlop as a gettable target with Bundy, Walker and Hunt (Coach) being at the club. I doubt the Cats would offer the same money to Motlop as he's on now, so I expect a pay cut is on the table if he stays with Geelong. I would trade someone like a Gardiner or Taylor to Geelong for Motlop. We need some line breaking speed in the front half of our ground. I know Taylor has a turn of speed, but he's no where near as a damaging player as Motlop. Also Gardiner in my opionin is easily replaceable. I can see someone like Himmelberg replacing him.

Lastly we need a goal kicking small forward. Brandon Matera really is the only decent small forward on the market that is gettable and isn't going to cost us much in terms of a trade. These past couple of games shows us how damaging he really can be. One to keep a close eye on.

Dustin Martin has shown signs of not wanting to present to the media in Melbourne. Maybe a Buddy style move north would suit his lifestyle. Laid back lifestyle, out of public eye, good weather and we sure have room in our salary cap. Make a move lions and become relevant again!
Don't worry, Martin will be in Lions colours round 1 next season.

upload_2017-4-18_21-52-52.png

With all the bikies up here, he'd have no trouble finding mates too. C'mon Dusty, come on up to Qld!

Motlop is a restricted free agent so we should be able to get him for free if we can entice him

dusty would be ridiculous if we could get him

kennedy and a quick forward should really be the targets

don't see the point in getting any key position players if we have all the building blocks there, any players we bring in would only be good enough as small term solutions who would only hinder our further development of players.

With all the bikies up here, he'd have no trouble finding mates too. C'mon Dusty, come on up to Qld!

Could be a problem if the LNP gets back in, having the entire team imprisoned under VLAD Mk II would probably hamper performance a little.

interesting comments from Knightmare on the draft board re our strategy in this years draft/trade/FA period to a question i asked re what we should do with our 2 first round picks.

Port I predict finish higher than that. They should be a top 8 team.

Brisbane most need a key forward. *even assuming Ballenden as an academy player I'd still look at another key forward, viewing Hipwood as a natural key defender.

You'd have to look at those key forwards predicted to be available and assess whether they're the best player there firstly. If you feel a midfielder or someone else playing another position is clearly better, they could be chosen, or otherwise some trade offer if clearly better than whatever players will be there could make that a viable option.

Overall it's about securing a star level talent, or the greatest possible talent with that pick, with something of a leaning towards a key forward if they look as good as the clubs other options.

Hopper and Kennedy both I feel will be better than a pick in the 6-10 range in this draft. They both look to my eyes like clear best five picks from their draft year and would also if in this draft (if I was picking) be players I'd take perhaps even as high as picks 1 or 2 if I'm picking today. They're both out and out guns. Hopper, Kennedy and I'd also bundle Setterfield in with that group. They each possess greater contested ball winning power than the existing GWS mids possess.

Cameron Rayner as a midfielder through is increasingly becoming my favourite in this draft and the one I'd most want to nab with an early choice. He's the one I look at as possessing genuine super-star talent. Davies-Uniacke may be another.

interesting comments from Knightmare on the draft board re our strategy in this years draft/trade/FA period to a question i asked re what we should do with our 2 first round picks.
I read this on the draft board and have to disagree, quite vehemently actually. The notion of getting another KPF on top of Ballenden would skew our list. I understand his notion of Hipwood playing back and he did have a fantastic u18 carnival playing back but look at him being manhandled by the backman of other clubs the last few weeks and then think how would he go with key forwards. To add to this I think that Andrews and he are similar types especially build and it would be a bit of a liability. If anything we need a May type of back man to take the gorillas. It also shows that KM hasn't really looked at our list balance and our greatest need of mids, mids, mids and small forwards. We are as slow as treacle as well so don't see how bringing in two KPF in this draft would help. I also have read his notion of it being a strong draft key forward and ruck wise and not really taking a shine to the mids. Watch as the national champs start and how the top 10 will be all mids bar 1/2 KPP. I know he puts a lot of work in and thankful for it but he is wrong here for our list.

yep, i was surprised when he mentioned a key forward as well. would be good to get a 3rd tall type IMO ah la Tom Lynch (crows), James Sicily although not at the expense of an elite mid. what did you think of his assessment of Jacob Hopper and Matthew Kennedy, probably likely they would head to a victorian club but would you use our first or second pick on one of them as KM suggested or rather go for a Fogarty/Rayner at the end of the year? what about you lionshine or any other BL BF draft experts;)

2017 Trade and FA thread