Milux
About time we steal one from them. Would kill to have him here. Andrews and May in the back line for the next 5 years.Would Steven May be gettable ?

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
About time we steal one from them. Would kill to have him here. Andrews and May in the back line for the next 5 years.Would Steven May be gettable ?
When you do start it up, could you please tag me in it, and I'll bring my monkey along.Are you thinking what I'm thinking B1? PP mainboard thread time?
Hi guys. Hope not intrusive and genuine question.
Your young developing tall spine looks fantastic. Assuming you retain them, I kinda doubt you'd draft another developing tall. And assuming you have Pick 1 (not trying to rude, just realistic.) it seems there might be some talls being looked at with Pick 1 this year. (If Carlton have Pick 2 I'd say they definitely go tall).
With Boyd looking like a ruck fwd, we need a young KPF to take over from Cloke and Redpath in a couple of years. What it would take to prise pick one from you?
You'd imagine our first rd picks this year and next (likely 11-18) could be on the table plus something. What is the something?
You'd think Close and Freeman would be attainable. Close for a 2nd round pick abd Freeman for a 3rd or 4th
If we were offered a best 18 quality midfielder or small forward, plus two picks in the 11-18 range, I'd think seriously about it.Hi guys. Hope not intrusive and genuine question.
Your young developing tall spine looks fantastic. Assuming you retain them, I kinda doubt you'd draft another developing tall. And assuming you have Pick 1 (not trying to rude, just realistic.) it seems there might be some talls being looked at with Pick 1 this year. (If Carlton have Pick 2 I'd say they definitely go tall).
With Boyd looking like a ruck fwd, we need a young KPF to take over from Cloke and Redpath in a couple of years. What it would take to prise pick one from you?
You'd imagine our first rd picks this year and next (likely 11-18) could be on the table plus something. What is the something?
This situation may unfold if Brander or Hayes push up and become number 1 candidates. Would need a 3rd club to get involved IMO. If clubs a very keen to move up to pick 1 the Lions will play hardball. Something like pick 1 for pick 4 and 10 or 4 and a good young player.Hi guys. Hope not intrusive and genuine question.
If we were offered a best 18 quality midfielder or small forward, plus two picks in the 11-18 range, I'd think seriously about it.
This situation may unfold if Brander or Hayes push up and become number 1 candidates. Would need a 3rd club to get involved IMO. If clubs a very keen to move up to pick 1 the Lions will play hardball. Something like pick 1 for pick 4 and 10 or 4 and a good young player.
Yeah hard to see happening. A third club usually gets involved if they win (see Saints JOM).
No point asking for what we likely won't have and won't get bent over to have to get. Which maybe makes it a deal breaker for you.
Just IMO. But Brisbane need to get some decent young mids in either via draft or trade. Probably both. Again just me but if Brisbane could get a decent young sub 23 ready made mid and two 10-18 picks which they could use on mids for P1 - this year may be the year to do it.
Drafting another developing KP wouldn't make sense to me. Just IMO.
Jacob Hopper please! Come and join your best mate Jake Barrett.
I think most of us would agree with this. But, as you alluded to above, there'll be differences of view about what we'd settle for on 'ready made'.
We're accumulating some very capable young players, but we also have a bunch of depth players that we have either put years into or recruited as mature players but remain a fair way below the standard required. I can see why we'd be keen on multiple high picks rather than one very high pick, but we are such a young side that we need quality reinforcements sooner rather than later. That's to say I agree with POBT that we'd really need a midfield contributor in that deal.
The trick is that very few sides, other than maybe GWS, are in a position to strategically let those players go.
It's interesting - I'd say other than GWS we are the only team with the depth to trade reasonable mids. We actually run a deep mid rotation - probably deeper than GWS due to their better tall fwds. By way of our big injury list for the last three years we have more than normal seasoned players. Last year we lost Stevens and Hrovat - both seen to be good pick ups for their new clubs.
As you say the trick is what is good value. And even harder is convincing them their future is in Brissie.
It's food for thought. But I reckon if they could convince an accetpable player to both clubs of the move - both Brissie and the Dogs could benefit from such a deal.
I take your point about the deep midfield and it's an interesting though.
It may be unfair, but other than your really big names (Bont, Macrae, Hunter etc) I have a perception of the dogs being a group of players that excels within a good philosophy/system, where I perceive the GWS kids as more standalone talents that could move to a different club and more readily make an impact. I completely accept that could be bias on my part, but I think we'd need a PR win to part with a pick 1 and I think it would almost certainly take a recent high pick (someone like Hopper, unrealistic as it may be) to make that happen.
Posted on the phantom draft board about this lions pick 1 and what to do. Knightmare was of the opinion that he would give up pick 1 for Hopper alone although he conceded GWS would probably have to throw something else in eg. Matt Kennedy or another pick somewhere.Yeah can see your point. We are largely blue collar.
So for example - you'd prefer say Hopper and GWS' first Rd pick instead of say Jong, and two Dogs first Rd picks?
The other point of interest is appetite. I wonder if GWS would prefer seasoned players rather than (another) no 1 pick.
Posted on the phantom draft board about this lions pick 1 and what to do. Knightmare was of the opinion that he would give up pick 1 for Hopper alone although he conceded GWS would probably have to throw something else in eg. Matt Kennedy or another pick somewhere.
Yeah can see your point. We are largely blue collar.
So for example - you'd prefer say Hopper and GWS' first Rd pick instead of say Jong, and two Dogs first Rd picks?
The other point of interest is appetite. I wonder if GWS would prefer seasoned players rather than (another) no 1 pick.
Yup, I thought this as well.Jacob Hopper please! Come and join your best mate Jake Barrett.

Just IMO. But Brisbane need to get some decent young mids in either via draft or trade. Probably both. Again just me but if Brisbane could get a decent young sub 23 ready made mid and two 10-18 picks which they could use on mids for P1 - this year may be the year to do it.
Drafting another developing KP wouldn't make sense to me. Just IMO.
Probably depends on how we view Hopper though. I personally think he's going to be better than just decent.Pick 1 would net us the top rated midfielder in the draft though, in a side that's sorely lacking in young top end talent in the midfield. I feel we'd be needing to get something back that was more than a decent young midfielder and late first rounders.
Pick 1 would net us the top rated midfielder in the draft though, in a side that's sorely lacking in young top end talent in the midfield. I feel we'd be needing to get something back that was more than a decent young midfielder and late first rounders.
Probably depends on how we view Hopper though. I personally think he's going to be better than just decent.
Just watched the GWS v Bulldogs game (I was out that night, sue me) and Hopper stood out as really solid for a second year player. He's stood up a few times this year since he's moved into the middle with GWS's injuries. I'd love to see him in Lions' colours.