Game Day 2018 Grand Final discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter PieLebo87

I moved from Melbourne to Perth a few months ago to be closer to my extended family who are all rabid and I truly mean RABID Eagles fans.

All they ever talk about is Eagles this Eagles that. To prove this, when I looked for some consoling when Cyril announced his retirement, not even 30 seconds into the conversation it turned into something about Lewis Jetta FMD.

Gonna be a long summer here, and I copped it when I happened to be living in Adelaide for two years in 97 and 98. I'm some kind of lucky charm!

However I be using the 'let's see if you can win b2b' all summer here as a clutch and reminding all it's difficult to do so and only great teams achieve this. Then further default to 3peat where needed. Must say tho Eagles fans do have a respect for Hawthorn so could be much worse if I supported any other team

Spewing Sammy went to Eagles he basically has shown them the light in how tto win at the G.
They are pretty shocking at times. I didnt even realise but channel 7 is one the main sponsors of the WCE so that expalins the tone of the news coverage as well.
Im actually also a WCE member (so my wife has someone to go to the games with) so going to see them play every week is just slightly annoying as well. Their fans dont take too well to someone sitting in the members area supporting the oppostion every week :P

Yes, I am of similar opinion to you. However Eddie is very over exposed here in Melbourne and that can get very annoying at times. Best not let him have a premiership ;)

Yep, Eddie is on radio and television in Melbourne every day, and having his say on any footy topic whatsoever.

This might shut him up for a few days.

#Eddiewobbles

I definitely thought west coast got the rub of the green. For mine neither WC's first and last goals should have counted. Not to mention all the impossible to work out centre square infringements that umpires seem to pick out of thin air.

But when you’re a closet Collingwood hater (or any oppo hater) you only notice the decisions that your honorary team didn’t get their way so it becomes a completely subjective argument that no one will ever totally agree with.

Actually, the whole point of my post was I am objective because I didn’t care who won, unlike yourself for example who is heavily invested in the outcome.

So no, I didn’t only notice some decisions because I’m a closest Collingwood hater, my views are just what I thought watching the game without bias.

There were free kicks missed both ways and questionable ones paid, that happens every week and is heightened in a GF with the stakes so high and the pressure on all involved.

As I said, I thought collingwood got the rub of the green for majority of the day - that is my view as a neutral observer.

FWIW - I don’t actually live in Melbourne or Perth, so there are no carry-ons and saturation I was hoping to avoid with the result, no ongoing banter at work I need to deal with or obnoxious supporters around me, unlike most people watching.

What's that like 1x in a row & with no proteges going on to get a senior role, let alone win Premierships???

I think he's hinting that Sam Mitchell is a protege developed by Adam Simpson.

Pretty quick development!

I think he's hinting that Sam Mitchell is a protege developed by Adam Simpson.

Pretty quick development!
Yeah, his personal brilliance & 12ish years under Clarko probs didn't develop him much...:drunk:

He was huge in the third, he was one of the main reasons WCE were able to get back in to the game. Still, he spudded it up in the first half and nearly had an even worse drop mark than in 2015.
Couldn't believe that mark he dropped, could have cost them the game.

I live in the North-East Victoria/Southern NSW region, and 2 houses in my street this week were completely decked out in Eagles colours. Flags, Jumpers, steamers and the lot. Didn't see any Collingwood ones though. Super surprised. It did add to the week though. People were flat on the two clubs being unlikeable for neutral fans. Seeing some passion in the form of house decorations made it feel like grand final week, and then the game delivered in absolute spades. True classic. Going to be talking about this one for a while. That passage of play leading to the winning goal will grow and grow in folklore because the level of skill involved in that entire passage was next level elite. To see it take place in one sequence of play in a grand final was actually quite breathtaking.

Just watched the replay, first time with the sound up (at a BBQ yesterday)

After listening to him speak, I reckon Shannon Hurn really should be playing NRL.

I live in the North-East Victoria/Southern NSW region, and 2 houses in my street this week were completely decked out in Eagles colours. Flags, Jumpers, steamers and the lot. Didn't see any Collingwood ones though. Super surprised. It did add to the week though. People were flat on the two clubs being unlikeable for neutral fans. Seeing some passion in the form of house decorations made it feel like grand final week, and then the game delivered in absolute spades. True classic. Going to be talking about this one for a while. That passage of play leading to the winning goal will grow and grow in folklore because the level of skill involved in that entire passage was next level elite. To see it take place in one sequence of play in a grand final was actually quite breathtaking.

Correct. The marks were outstanding. Likewise the decision making. Topped off by a clutch goal that you’d kick 1 in 10. Phenomenal play considering there was 2 mins on the clock and what was at stake. Plus Ryan’s first game on the G, ever.

I'm getting a bit anti-cox because of how ridiculously pumped up he was by the media in prelim week.
He had a good solid 3rd quarter, the kind of quarter they needed from him.

It was meant as a compliment to De Goey - he reminds me of 2016 stringer and he's great to watch. Has a similar build and goal sense.
I’ve been off him since he outmarked Neville Jetta and got in his grill about it , only had a one foot height advantage!

Will be interesting to see how he fares next season , clubs will put a lot more work to into him . Still gets knocked of balance fairly easily

None of this matters, mate.
When you lose a Grand Final there are no excuses, the game is gone and the season is finished.

And Collingwood tends to lose more than others so get used to it!
Not every oppo supporter is a flog! No need to be mean to everyone.

And the chanting "USA! .... USA!". There I was thinking it was a match between Collingwood and the Eagles. Kept expecting LeBron James to run onto the field.
I was more worried they were invading AUS next, considering they’ve pretty much invaded every other country but then I remembered, the USA are friendly to arse kissers so we’re OK.

That was definitely illegal blocking. Every day of the week

Even assuming the umps let a bit go on both side all day, nothing was as as blatant as that one.