List Mgmt. 2020 Draft (December 9) discussion thread

Our currently owned picks:

24 - Blake Coleman
43 - Harry Sharp
48 - Henry Smith

Our currently owned 2021 picks:

1st (MEL), 1st (BRI), 3rd (WCE), 3rd (BRI), 4th (MEL), 4th (COL), 5th (BRI)

I am yet to see him perform it. Most people want to use Bailey's speed on the wing or at HFF.
He's just turned 21 years old...very few are stars from the day they play their first game. Highly un-likely Maher will be either. Longer term the team needs Bailey to be the quick inside mid who takes the ball out of congestion and deliver it to a team mate.

Bailey isn't the big bodied mid we need in the guts. He's somewhat explosive but lacks 10kgs on the likes of Dangerfield, but isn't as explosive as athe lighter mid types such as Williams or Bolton.

Really want the club to get all the lads on a weight gaining program. Might take a season for the lads to adjust but 2022 onwards they will be massive. With big legs.

Bailey isn't the big bodied mid we need in the guts. He's somewhat explosive but lacks 10kgs on the likes of Dangerfield, but isn't as explosive as athe lighter mid types such as Williams or Bolton.

Really want the club to get all the lads on a weight gaining program. Might take a season for the lads to adjust but 2022 onwards they will be massive. With big legs.
#sizematters

Again, Bailey just turned 21 years old. Danger is nearly 31. Quick weight gain is not good, its got to be gradual or injuries will come and bite you big time.

Bailey is also something like 10cm shorter than Dangerfield as well.

Coleman has been named in the top 40 from Kevin Sheehan's AFL article.
It is listed in alphabetical order so named early.
Also short highlight video for those that have not see the video

Blake Coleman
Brisbane Lions Academy/Morningside
180cm 79kg 06/08/02

Indigenous small forward with elite level speed and goal sense. Very dangerous overhead for his size demonstrated by his mark of the day in the QAFL Grand Final playing in the winning team for Morningside. Prominent for the Lions Academy in five matches in the NAB League in 2019 averaging 10.2 disposals as a bottom-ager with his best performance kicking four goals vs the Eastern Rangers. Caught the eye with his speed and agility for Team Brown in Futures match on MCG AFL Grand Final day and is the brother of Lions promising first-year player Keidean. Eligible for Brisbane Lions in Draft being a member of their Club Academy.

Weapon - Aerial ability and goal sense

Traits like - West Coast Eagles' Liam Ryan

Kevin Sheehan also named Carter Michael in his top 40.

Carter Michael
Brisbane Lions Academy/Maroochydore FC
188cm 74kg 22/05/02

Medium midfielder/defender who is a penetrating left foot kick and can break the lines with his pace. Is footy smart and a consistent ball-winner putting in an eye-catching performance for Team Dal Santo on AFL Grand Final day gathering 14 possessions. Solid performer for Lions Academy in two All-Star matches against the Gold Coast Suns in 2020 averaging 18 disposals. Speed was elite in Queensland Combine recording 2.91 seconds for 20 metres. Eligible for the Lions being a member of its Club Academy.

Weapon - Dynamic left foot kick and pace

Traits like - Brisbane Lions’ Daniel Rich

Carter Michael
Brisbane Lions Academy/Maroochydore FC
188cm 74kg 22/05/02

Medium midfielder/defender who is a penetrating left foot kick and can break the lines with his pace. Is footy smart and a consistent ball-winner putting in an eye-catching performance for Team Dal Santo on AFL Grand Final day gathering 14 possessions. Solid performer for Lions Academy in two All-Star matches against the Gold Coast Suns in 2020 averaging 18 disposals. Speed was elite in Queensland Combine recording 2.91 seconds for 20 metres. Eligible for the Lions being a member of its Club Academy.

Weapon - Dynamic left foot kick and pace

Traits like - Brisbane Lions’ Daniel Rich

Richmond will be after our academy player as usual.

Coming out of trade week it looked like we were primed to take 2 academy players given the late picks we had accumulated. We have subsequently removed 3 half back flankers from the team. Carter Michael getting a fair bit of talk in various media circles.

1+1+1 = 3

I expect him to end up being taken by the Lions.

I definitely do not see him as a Daniel Rich type though. Athletic, good defensively with pretty good skills but nowhere near the elite level that Rich is at.

Surprising that he's considered top 40, but maybe he's rated higher in clubland than he is by BF draft watchers. I don't think we've seen his 20m time reported before. That's a pretty high speed, and we can always use more speed.

Suddenly the accumulation of all those picks in the 60s makes sense, if we intend to match both Coleman and Michael. I wonder if we have a deal prepared with another team if Coleman is bid on before 25 though.

Surprising that he's considered top 40, but maybe he's rated higher in clubland than he is by BF draft watchers. I don't think we've seen his 20m time reported before. That's a pretty high speed, and we can always use more speed.

Suddenly the accumulation of all those picks in the 60s makes sense, if we intend to match both Coleman and Michael. I wonder if we have a deal prepared with another team if Coleman is bid on before 25 though.
Quite a few of the genuine draft watchers had it as a toss up between Coleman and Michael for the Lions top academy prospect coming in to the year.

I believe the view is that Coleman showed he had the physical attributes everyone knew he had, showed more consistency in his game, and the ability to get up the wing.

Whereas Michael looked the same player he was last year, when draft watchers wanted to see if he could go through the midfield this year.

For what it’s worth Coleman went at pick 22 in the BF Phantom Draft, with Melbourne bidding on him, and Brisbane not matching.

I did point out that Brisbane traded those picks to Melbourne.

Is that because he wasn't played through the midfield, or didn't perform despite being played there?
Largely due to lack of opportunity at Maroochydore, playing HBF and pushing on to a wing, and with the U18 Championships being canceled.

I didn’t get to watch much of the two academy games against Gold Coast, but believe he played mostly hbf as well.

If Michael goes within the top 40, I very much doubt he will go to The Lions.

We wouldn't be giving up a pick in the top 40 for him with our next pick being 53 so I doubt there will be much better value at that range anyways
The hope would be taking pick 25, the remainder used on Coleman, and then if we want Michael it's whatever is left over.

Don't reckon either Coleman or Michael would be so high on draft lists if there had been a regular season of junior footy this year (especially in Vic...).

Not wanting to be greedy or anything. But do we have a top 5 academy kid on the horizon in the next few years? That'd be super.

I guess in hindsight, you could say we've already had one in Harris, but I want more :D

If Michael goes within the top 40, I very much doubt he will go to The Lions.
What else are all those picks in the 60s for then? Surely it depends on the odds of the players we like dropping to 53.

Not wanting to be greedy or anything. But do we have a top 5 academy kid on the horizon in the next few years? That'd be super.

I guess in hindsight, you could say we've already had one in Harris, but I want more :D
Yes, Marcus Ashcroft's son Will.

List Mgmt. 2020 Draft (December 9) discussion thread