• Nathan O'Driscoll

Votes: 14 10.1%
  • Zane Trew

Votes: 3 2.2%
  • Other

Votes: 13 9.4%

Watched Logan today he’s going to be a Beauty, should of kicked 4 in shitty conditions and i agree with a previous poster he had the better if DGB last week although only a scratch match.
The stuff I read about him was that he is a leading forward. Is that all you saw or does he have other tricks?
My mate has done a lot of work with a lot of these young guys. Reckons western is one of the quickest blokes he’s seen on a footy field. Very hard worker too. In state 16s they played him off half back in an Adam saad type role.
Western got cloked at like 2.72 20m last year I think. Draft guys salivate over blokes that do 2.9. Not surprised he looks quick on field.

It looks like we will have 2 picks before any bids on walker or western this year. Our own first (I’m predicting 5-11 or so after the discount is applied) and Melbournes second (can see that being pick 25 or thereabouts). Of the high end WA talent, I reckon DGB, Mcdonald, Trew and O’Driscoll will all be off the board by our second pick.
Seems less likely a bid will come for western or either walker brother before our second round selection.
If Logan McDonald keeps kicking 3 or 4 every week in the WAFL and there’s no footy played in the NAB league he won’t be long entering top 5 calculations. Clubs live big key forwards at the top of the draft order.

I'd happily take him with our first if he keeps kicking league goals. As long as he has more than one way to get the ball he can be dangerous at AFL level.

First year in a while I have genuinely liked some of the WA prospects around our picks (except iHill). Of course we aren't going to know much about Vic players this year.

The stuff I read about him was that he is a leading forward. Is that all you saw or does he have other tricks?

Western got cloked at like 2.72 20m last year I think. Draft guys salivate over blokes that do 2.9. Not surprised he looks quick on field.
I saw Western for the first time today. Knows how to get the footy. Doesn't fumble.

It looks like we will have 2 picks before any bids on walker or western this year. Our own first (I’m predicting 5-11 or so after the discount is applied) and Melbournes second (can see that being pick 25 or thereabouts). Of the high end WA talent, I reckon DGB, Mcdonald, Trew and O’Driscoll will all be off the board by our second pick.
Seems less likely a bid will come for western or either walker brother before our second round selection.
If Logan McDonald keeps kicking 3 or 4 every week in the WAFL and there’s no footy played in the NAB league he won’t be long entering top 5 calculations. Clubs live big key forwards at the top of the draft order.

if Western continues this form he will get a bid before 25

Also a few other NGA products playing in this weeks games:
- Jesse Motlop starting in the midfield for SOuth Freo colts
- Brandon Walker starting on the wing for East Freo cols
- Chris Walker starting on the bench for East Freo colts
- Kobe Farmer on an extended bench for Peel colts

Also worth noting that a future gun is playing for East Freo Colts in Jed Hagan, starting on a wing. He won the state under 15s two years in a row and was playing state 15s at the age of 12. One of the most promising young players to come through WA footy in a while by the looks of it.

Also a few ex NGA players playing in the WAFL this weekend:
- Tom Medhat starting at CHF for West Perth league team
- Manfred Kelly starting on forward flank for South Freo ressies

Is Jed Hagan within Freos NGA?

Yah but I would prefer Mcdonald if they are around the same pick range.
McDonald playing seniors at wafl is a better gauge than playing colts, if Trew does debut, I remember Logue
Doing the same in his draft year.
Griff looks to be on track to become a star with time, and I was happy we downgraded to get him.

Yah but I would prefer Mcdonald if they are around the same pick range.
Yeah I also like what I’ve seen and heard about McDonald.
I am really bullish on the WA talent this year and the diversity that it could bring to our list.
McDonald, Trew and Grainger- Barrass....
Being very WA centric but with the Eagles out of the reckoning unless a trade like Gaff gives them currency - I really want to take advantage of our picks and even use a future pick to load up this year.

I am really bullish on the WA talent this year and the diversity that it could bring to our list.
Being very WA centric but with the Eagles out of the reckoning unless a trade like Gaff gives them currency - I really want to take advantage of our picks and even use a future pick to load up this year.
Yep, this is the year that talent outside of Vic will be given more focus.
We would be silly not to look inwards, with previous top 10 picks coming from other states.
Salary cap pressure, other clubs enquiring.
WC usually go BA first round, but will take WA talent or prioritise, good practise to build a war
fund.
It also has done no harm in winning premierships, and for our club getting the balance right has
always been a struggle,

Conspicuously not including O’Driscoll there (who I think is our most likely selection, Has direct links to the club, and seems to be the highest rated). What are your thoughts?

I think DGB and O’Driscoll need to be the highest on our hit list at this stage. With Trew next and then McDonald.

I didn’t hang around to watch the colts yesterday but looking at the stats, there was a few standouts. Anyone know anything about McPartland who got 40 touches? Or Harry Quartermaine who kicked 7 goals?

It looks like Kobe Farmer had a good game too based on the stats.

Conspicuously not including O’Driscoll there (who I think is our most likely selection, Has direct links to the club, and seems to be the highest rated). What are your thoughts?
Yeah that’s the quandary - O’Dricoll or Trew???
I personally like Trew and so do a few people I know at club level (WAFL).
He is dual sided and has really good kicking efficiency, can take a mark and gets dirty - can play inside and out.
Same with O’Driscoll except his kicking is still developing- a bit of disposal under pressure can be misleading when reading stats - plenty of experts out there who rely on stats for and a few highlights packages.
I’m going to get to a few games in August to have a look and my god-son is a Year 8 at Aquinas and runs water for the First XVIII.
When term starts and the Alcock games start again I will be back to have a look.
I really liked English in his draft year even though I wanted SPS, English is projecting top 5 from that draft, he is unbelievable and previous knocks on him have been unwarranted imo. Skills of an mid-sized mid in a giants body, so Grundyesque.
Goddard played well for Claremont yesterday -as a rookie I would like to see us add if we don’t chase a mature back up.