24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

To me Lethers is 3 years in to a pretty full on rebuild. To throw the cards in now seems an overreaction. We have 30 players already taken out of our 45 listed in 2017.

Carlisle, Roberton and Geary nearly certainly done from that remaining 15, Dunstan, Billings, Ross all potentially leave as FAs. Out of the remaining players we have Webster, Battle, Marshall, Steele, Mc Kenzie, Sinclair, Membrey, Gresham. Long and Lonie potentially in trouble too.

To me we have Steele and Marshall are 100% best 22. Sinclair, Gresham if fit, Membrey probably and the rest are GOPs.

Cut too hard and there is not much more cutting to do. Not all our youth and ring ins are going to make it so realistically you can't keep cutting for ever. You need to bond and grow and you potentially lose any culture. Most people seem happy to keep the trash and get rid of the ones that are competitive but limited.
I'm keenly aware that this is likely the last opportunity to get something back for the 3 in question.
Dunny was delist material only a few months ago but now he's worth something.
Seb will be past it after another contract, and JB l just have no confidence in any more but he has some residual value at the moment.
Whilst none are at peak value atm, l just think that it will only decrease rapidly from here on and now is the time to sell.

Is this implying that we aren’t defending well?

Yes but i'm not talking about our defenders exclusively.

We are very easy to score against because all 22 of our players are clearly instructed to attack first, defend second- especially our mids.

A noble aspiration, because it's the attractive football we all crave to see every week- but in reality, it doesn't win flags.

We are currently like GT's team, but without the elite talent.

Not saying we need a ross lyon approach to fix the situation... but I believe we do need to do what melbourne did under roos for 2 years.
Ie- learn to defend right across the ground first and foremost.
Then once we've got that mastered- then we look to add attacking flair.

It sucks, but that's how you win flags in modern football- keeping the opposition scoring low.

If you don't have that key ingredient- you are wasting your time.

I'm keenly aware that this is likely the last opportunity to get something back for the 3 in question.
Dunny was delist material only a few months ago but now he's worth something.
Seb will be past it after another contract, and JB l just have no confidence in any more but he has some residual value at the moment.
Whilst none are at peak value atm, l just think that it will only decrease rapidly from here on and now is the time to sell.

I remember this conversation about Hickey and Bruce as well. People puffing their chest out about how King would take care of it and Membrey would kick 100 goals without Bruce being selfish. Now we look ike we could do with a Josh Bruce type still but fortunately we are getting King coming on to lessen the impact. Still have a lot of issues up forward though.

Dunstan might get us a second round pick but we aren't going to replace his immediate impact for that pick for a few years at least even if we assume Bytel can make a bit of a surge. I'd keep all of them on reduced contracts. Another 3 years of bottom 6 doesn't sound to good to me. It's not like any of our guys are getting us a first round pick to get access to the guns.

My plan would be to keep the older guys, develop the youth including our first pick and academy selections. Start to phase those guys out to depth and look at some free agents to push them out sooner. When we have a better class of best 30 cull them. The churn isn't a model to build a list. It will be one finals series in a 15 year drought if we don't start to make some inroads to having a competitive list. We have to stockpile talent at some point or we will fall over every time we get an injury.

Yes but i'm not talking about our defenders exclusively.

We are very easy to score against because all 22 of our players are clearly instructed to attack first, defend second- especially our mids.

A noble aspiration, because it's the attractive football we all crave to see every week- but in reality, it doesn't win flags.

We are currently like GT's team, but without the elite talent.

Not saying we need a ross lyon approach to fix the situation... but I believe we do need to do what melbourne did under roos for 2 years.
Ie- learn to defend right across the ground first and foremost.
Then once we've got that mastered- then we look to add attacking flair.

It sucks, but that's how you win flags in modern football- keeping the opposition scoring low.

If you don't have that key ingredient- you are wasting your time.

Our forward line is our biggest issue still. Long, Butler, Lonie, Kent are all below average. Higgins and King are guns potentially. King has had a few weeks of looking ready to play to his best but we still lack a second tall. I know everyone says Marshall is Kings second tall forward but he's never kicked more than 13 goals in a season. Membrey is playing a more mobile role and not able to make space for King to work in and is missing his shots on goal.

When our midfield was firing we had one of the most effective defences in footy. Ratts changed the game plan and spread players around against WC and it failed. In the Carlton game our midfield fired but the defence looked leaky especially once we lost Howard. On top of that, apart from a quarter from King early and a some junk time goals from Membrey our forward line was completely dysfunctional.

If we had a second tall forward target it would make us much more effective and a good crumber like Butler was last year would give us a bit more ability to punish.

I remember this conversation about Hickey and Bruce as well. People puffing their chest out about how King would take care of it and Membrey would kick 100 goals without Bruce being selfish. Now we look ike we could do with a Josh Bruce type still but fortunately we are getting King coming on to lessen the impact. Still have a lot of issues up forward though.

Dunstan might get us a second round pick but we aren't going to replace his immediate impact for that pick for a few years at least even if we assume Bytel can make a bit of a surge. I'd keep all of them on reduced contracts. Another 3 years of bottom 6 doesn't sound to good to me. It's not like any of our guys are getting us a first round pick to get access to the guns.

My plan would be to keep the older guys, develop the youth including our first pick and academy selections. Start to phase those guys out to depth and look at some free agents to push them out sooner. When we have a better class of best 30 cull them. The churn isn't a model to build a list. It will be one finals series in a 15 year drought if we don't start to make some inroads to having a competitive list. We have to stockpile talent at some point or we will fall over every time we get an injury.
Nah getting rid of billings, ross and dunstan has reached fever pitch even though the return will most likely be average at best. If they do walk it’s going to be an epic trade and draft period, get ready for the melts.

Our forward line is our biggest issue still. Long, Butler, Lonie, Kent are all below average. Higgins and King are guns potentially. King has had a few weeks of looking ready to play to his best but we still lack a second tall. I know everyone says Marshall is Kings second tall forward but he's never kicked more than 13 goals in a season. Membrey is playing a more mobile role and not able to make space for King to work in and is missing his shots on goal.

When our midfield was firing we had one of the most effective defences in footy. Ratts changed the game plan and spread players around against WC and it failed. In the Carlton game our midfield fired but the defence looked leaky especially once we lost Howard. On top of that, apart from a quarter from King early and a some junk time goals from Membrey our forward line was completely dysfunctional.

If we had a second tall forward target it would make us much more effective and a good crumber like Butler was last year would give us a bit more ability to punish.

One of biggest issues, that has been a problem for years, is our midfield are not great when the opposition has the ball.

It is mitigated when our pressure is manic but that has rarely been the case this year. Steeley and Crouch are tackling maniacs but too many of the others are either poor tacklers or their positioning means that they can't put physical pressure on the opposition.

You're correct in saying that our defence is pretty effective, but no defence can withstand the easy ball that opposition mids (and half backs) are delivering.

I disagree that all of our small forwards are below average... I think it's more related to the way we set up that allows the ball to be taken out far too easily if Winx or Skunk don't mark it. Butler and Long are excellent pressure players when they're in a position to impact... too often they're nowhere near the fall of the ball though.

Re: Roma... well he was a pretty reliable kick at goal in previous seasons but he's been terribly wayward this season. I agree that Skunk should be playing closer to goal but I suppose they're trying to separate the oppositions key defenders to give Winx the space to go one on one.

It must be noted last year we did make finals and Dunstan only played one game and this year the team has been totally terrible and we are one game out of the 8 , Dunstan is not going to make any difference to this team as shown on the weekend.

The only loss Dunstan will be is depth, Gresham should move into his spot and I'm hoping we get the development from the kids Clark and Bytel because as shown on the weekend it not how much you get the ball , it is what you do with it and no matter what happens Dunstan will never be a clean user of the ball.

Our midfield is really needing a good user of the football and hopefully we can snag a player to fill that void as well as a key position player and a ruck.

I would not count out this team from recruiting anybody , who knows they might be in talks with Josh Kelly or a player that is wanting out of a team they don't want to be at.

I'm not to concerned about a ruckman because there are a few players on the market that are better than Hunter and we should be able to secure one.

Our main target should be a key defender and that is a hard position to fill because anyone good will cost us.

With about 8 positions to fill with Dunstan , Geary , Frawley , Roberton , McKernan , Hunter , Alabakis , Carlisle - I 'm pretty sure will get the best mid available with our first round pick and pick up a couple of our kids in Owens and Windhager and any others will be picked up in the draft late or rookie draft leaving us requiring another 3 list spots to fill - which one will be a ruckman and hopefully a good free agent and a key position player.

How we get the ruck and key position player I don't know but this year a few teams might need to clear space in the salary cap and we might be able to score something good for not too much.

Nah getting rid of billings, ross and dunstan has reached fever pitch even though the return will most likely be average at best. If they do walk it’s going to be an epic trade and draft period, get ready for the melts.
I would bet Billings and Ross will not leave because it would require them to get out of there comfort zone if they had to go to a new club and fit into the team , where Dunstan had been stewing in the 2s thinking he may never get another shot so he would be more than prepared to move.
One player not being mentioned is Lonie , he has not even been looked at the past few weeks , even Sharman got a run before him so I would think he will most probably be out the door to anyone looking for a small forward.

I completely understand your point of view but I just think it will produce the exact outcome that you say you want to avoid.
Of the 3 I'd hold on to Dunny if any, but he looks the most likely to leave so I'm counting him as gone.

AFAIC we have better options on the list to do what what we need and I want culture change as much as anything and as such I'd be pushing JB and Seb out the door.

For your Josh Bruce example I'll raise you a Josh Battle. Why this poor kid is rotting in the 2's when as you say we could use a foil for Max is beyond me. Or why when we obviously need to fill at CHB and he's shown he can do it, is again beyond me.
All whilst we're using Skunk as a HHF FFS. No, this is a selection problem, not a "could use a Josh Bruce type" problem

JB's position can be occupied by Snaggs or Sincs and we can leave Coffield in the team. JB is the most easily replaced of the 3 and I'll go so far to say that if you don't notice him when he's playing, then you won't notice when he's missing either. Indeed when he was missing earlier this year I didn't notice at all.

I've lost a lot of faith in Ratts this year. Some of it is over tactics but mostly it's about selection, and at this point I don't believe he's in line for another contract. As I said in the previous post I believe 2023 is the target, and I honestly don't see any room for Ross, Dunny or JB in that team.

I would bet Billings and Ross will not leave because it would require them to get out of there comfort zone if they had to go to a new club and fit into the team , where Dunstan had been stewing in the 2s thinking he may never get another shot so he would be more than prepared to move.
One player not being mentioned is Lonie , he has not even been looked at the past few weeks , even Sharman got a run before him so I would think he will most probably be out the door to anyone looking for a small forward.
I can't really see anyone taking Lonie on. For us he's handy depth and I think if he walked to the DFA market he'd end up regretting it very quickly.

I hope billings and Ross stay I’m not in the camp that thinks they’re easily replaced.

I also don’t believe either just dial it in even if the optics may sometimes suggest they do. Look at the distance they cover and the pace, both very good players often unfairly maligned imo.

Lonie is behind quite a few so maybe he’d welcome a move if he has any interest he’d be mad to stay. Dunstan probably needs to move on as well, despite his run of form he must know he’ll be the first mid dropped. They’re not the only ones I’m happy to move just about anyone as long as the compensation is good enough. Billings for an early first if he wants out no problem but a second round pick, no thanks.

I thought Carlton's forward line was a big contrast to ours. They were working in unison, and when they combined with their midfield to make it very very hard for us to get the ball out. If the game is being played in their fifty, scoring opportunities just happen.

I completely understand your point of view but I just think it will produce the exact outcome that you say you want to avoid.
Of the 3 I'd hold on to Dunny if any, but he looks the most likely to leave so I'm counting him as gone.

AFAIC we have better options on the list to do what what we need and I want culture change as much as anything and as such I'd be pushing JB and Seb out the door.

For your Josh Bruce example I'll raise you a Josh Battle. Why this poor kid is rotting in the 2's when as you say we could use a foil for Max is beyond me. Or why when we obviously need to fill at CHB and he's shown he can do it, is again beyond me.
All whilst we're using Skunk as a HHF FFS. No, this is a selection problem, not a "could use a Josh Bruce type" problem

JB's position can be occupied by Snaggs or Sincs and we can leave Coffield in the team. JB is the most easily replaced of the 3 and I'll go so far to say that if you don't notice him when he's playing, then you won't notice when he's missing either. Indeed when he was missing earlier this year I didn't notice at all.

I've lost a lot of faith in Ratts this year. Some of it is over tactics but mostly it's about selection, and at this point I don't believe he's in line for another contract. As I said in the previous post I believe 2023 is the target, and I honestly don't see any room for Ross, Dunny or JB in that team.
It will be interesting to see what we look like with a full team next year.

I think dunstan will leave and if we’re very lucky that might get us a second round pick. So we take the best young mid with our first hopefully Callaghan falls to us but we’ll get a good mid at our pick. We have the two nga kids to eat up some late picks and whatever is left after the trade period for best available.

Undoubtedly we’ll trade some players out and others in and five or more will be cut. I think that’s enough, four maybe five if we push it is enough from this draft imo. I’d think battle and long might get some interest and wouldn’t be surprised if both are traded.

Anyway the club will do whatever they think best and I for once won’t be that fussed as long as we bargain hard. We need quite a few things and I don’t rate many as untouchable so bring it on.

Your right Marshall has never really done that well up forward but he also hasn't played that much up there. Last year was a reduced season, the year before that he played 100% ruck, and this year he's had injuries and the yips but he's actually taken quite a number of contested marks inside f50.

Whoever worked with King on his goal-kicking should spend a bit of time with Rowan. If he's accurate I can see him kicking 25 or so goals in a full season as a 50:50 ruck forward. That would be bloody handy for the team.

I get a little sick of people complaining about Battle being played out of position. I agree he looked good at CHB a few years ago but he's never been that impressive forward.

We have tried him down there in a number of games this year and last year and he hasn't delivered the goods.

Fair enough. It really is a shame he was omitted and than injured after his best game of the season on the wing.

May be wrong, but didn’t he have a good game in the forward line earlier this year? I can’t remember the game but my recollection was that he was very very close to clunking a heap of marks and was in the right position place plenty of times. Seemed like he may have improved if he was kept there at the time.

Fair enough. It really is a shame he was omitted and than injured after his best game of the season on the wing.

May be wrong, but didn’t he have a good game in the forward line earlier this year? I can’t remember the game but my recollection was that he was very very close to clunking a heap of marks and was in the right position place plenty of times. Seemed like he may have improved if he was kept there at the time.

He looked good in the forward line against North but even that day he couldn't kick straight. And North were pretty rubbish at the time.

2022 without Ross, Dunstan or Billings.
(Gears, Robbo, Chip, Hanners, Jake)

B: Wilkie, Doogs, Pato
HB: Webster, Highmore, Sincs
M: Steele, Marshall, Hill
HF: Butler, Battle, Higgins
F: Membrey, King, Gresh
R: Ryder, Crouch, Byrnes
INT: Clark, Jones, Bytel, Dmac
(Not too bad actually. Lots of good ball users)

Depth is: Wood, Lonie, Long, Coffield, Connolly, Claverino, Cooper, Joyce, Alison*, Heath*, 2021 Draft picks and various spuds like Kent, Smack, Punter etc.

Although it would leave us short on depth l reckon it's the way to go. We're much better running talented kids than limited GOPs who aren't taking us forward.
You say play the kids over very limited GOPs then have dmac in the team while Coff and Leo are out? Righto.

One of biggest issues, that has been a problem for years, is our midfield are not great when the opposition has the ball.

It is mitigated when our pressure is manic but that has rarely been the case this year. Steeley and Crouch are tackling maniacs but too many of the others are either poor tacklers or their positioning means that they can't put physical pressure on the opposition.

You're correct in saying that our defence is pretty effective, but no defence can withstand the easy ball that opposition mids (and half backs) are delivering.

I disagree that all of our small forwards are below average... I think it's more related to the way we set up that allows the ball to be taken out far too easily if Winx or Skunk don't mark it. Butler and Long are excellent pressure players when they're in a position to impact... too often they're nowhere near the fall of the ball though.

Re: Roma... well he was a pretty reliable kick at goal in previous seasons but he's been terribly wayward this season. I agree that Skunk should be playing closer to goal but I suppose they're trying to separate the oppositions key defenders to give Winx the space to go one on one.

I reckon we are pretty good with Dunstan and Steele in there. Both are pretty good tacklers and hard at it. Probably a poise and quality issue with them in. Crouch and Jones both pretty solid this year as well with the defensive stuff. I think when we didn't have enough ball winning types inside we were exposed because we are a bit slow on the chase.

Definitely seem to have had games where the defence was like a few against an army though. Roma is a good player but he struggles as a stand in the hole forward. He's better roaming.

It must be noted last year we did make finals and Dunstan only played one game and this year the team has been totally terrible and we are one game out of the 8 , Dunstan is not going to make any difference to this team as shown on the weekend.

The only loss Dunstan will be is depth, Gresham should move into his spot and I'm hoping we get the development from the kids Clark and Bytel because as shown on the weekend it not how much you get the ball , it is what you do with it and no matter what happens Dunstan will never be a clean user of the ball.

Our midfield is really needing a good user of the football and hopefully we can snag a player to fill that void as well as a key position player and a ruck.

I would not count out this team from recruiting anybody , who knows they might be in talks with Josh Kelly or a player that is wanting out of a team they don't want to be at.

I'm not to concerned about a ruckman because there are a few players on the market that are better than Hunter and we should be able to secure one.

Our main target should be a key defender and that is a hard position to fill because anyone good will cost us.

With about 8 positions to fill with Dunstan , Geary , Frawley , Roberton , McKernan , Hunter , Alabakis , Carlisle - I 'm pretty sure will get the best mid available with our first round pick and pick up a couple of our kids in Owens and Windhager and any others will be picked up in the draft late or rookie draft leaving us requiring another 3 list spots to fill - which one will be a ruckman and hopefully a good free agent and a key position player.

How we get the ruck and key position player I don't know but this year a few teams might need to clear space in the salary cap and we might be able to score something good for not too much.

Disagree on that. Since he came in he's been in our top 6 players. Dunstan playing well doesn't man he makes no difference. That's illogical. That's like saying we should trade Steele because he makes no difference to wins this year. I hope Gresham does stay on the park, we miss his game. I'd still play him forward with runs on ball.

Not sold on a KPD unless it's a cheap to fill in. I don't think it's as pressing as a forward and a couple of mids coming through.

Disagree on that. Since he came in he's been in our top 6 players. Dunstan playing well doesn't man he makes no difference. That's illogical. That's like saying we should trade Steele because he makes no difference to wins this year. I hope Gresham does stay on the park, we miss his game. I'd still play him forward with runs on ball.

Not sold on a KPD unless it's a cheap to fill in. I don't think it's as pressing as a forward and a couple of mids coming through.
You rate Dunstan far , far more than me and having Gresham back I don't think Dunstan's loss will hurt.

You say play the kids over very limited GOPs then have dmac in the team while Coff and Leo are out? Righto.

Yeah well I've also said I'd like to see those kids push him out but the fact is that he's doing the job very well at the moment and he's contracted and not a FA, and neither Leo, Coff, Clark, Bytel or Byrnes are wingers.. So there...
"Doing the job very well"? Just like Dunstan was for 3 weeks before he pumped the brakes again? Also for the record, dmac hasn't been doing things well, he's just not been a complete and utter liability for every moment spent on the field. But that will change, just like it did for Dunny. And when it does I'm going to hold everyone raving about McKenzie's "resurgence" accountable.

Your right Marshall has never really done that well up forward but he also hasn't played that much up there. Last year was a reduced season, the year before that he played 100% ruck, and this year he's had injuries and the yips but he's actually taken quite a number of contested marks inside f50.

Whoever worked with King on his goal-kicking should spend a bit of time with Rowan. If he's accurate I can see him kicking 25 or so goals in a full season as a 50:50 ruck forward. That would be bloody handy for the team.
Bang on there. His kicking has really dropped off but if he can get it right he is more than capable of 30+ goals. Not too many many key backs are going to outmark him and the best KDP will be on King anyway, best part is you get a big forward for nothing. Hasnt got back to his best form though IMO and the season is basically over.