24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

I think your pretty close to the mark there. Clark is the one who needs to have a big pre season and have a big year through the middle. Gresham will slot straight back in if he is injury free.

I would be looking at including Sinclair in the midfield group permanently next year. Great spread speed and power out of stoppage with great running power, decision making, marking and importantly disposal. He could well become a competition top 30 in my view but probably not from a half back flank.

I’m a huge fan of Billings team first attitude, which he has displayed his whole career and as such think we must stick to our moniker/slogan and show him loyalty. His football will always be best 22 on account of his efficient foot skills and decision making.

Bytel and Byrnes have showed enough promise to round out the group.

I would keep Dunstan as depth because he would come reasonably cheap for the output we get from him.

We will forget about Ross pretty quickly.
Spook does not want to be Depth

Jamie Cox off to the Marylebone Cricket Club as its new Assistant Secretary (Cricket & Operations).

And according to Tony74
Plus assistant coaches but I’ll let the club announce them at the appropriate time
Thank **** for that. What a disaster that was.

Would be pretty OK with Billings staying.

Ross or Dunstan? Not too concerned.
Just to be different. I think billings is the easiest of the lot to replace.

For mine if I was going to keep 1 it'd be Dunstan.

But personally I think all three need to go.

Its an interesting comparison between 2004 (when the 'almost premiers' group really got into action) and 2022.

In 2004 we had Banger, Frankie and Thommo as our over 30's... all still going pretty strong.

In 2022 we'll have Paddy, Gears and Hanners... 1 going pretty well & 2 unlikely to play much of a role.

In the vital 25-30 bracket we had the

G-Train (28)
Maxy, Powelly & Aussie (27)
Sammy Hamill (26)

Next year we will have;
28- Seb, JWeb, Hill, Crouch
27- Skunk, Sincas, Jones, JB, Dunstan
26- Roma, Steeley, Doug
25- Dmac, Butler

The 22-24 year old in 2004 were;
Lenny, Milney, Bakes (pre anti-vaxxer days) & Heath Black

2022;
Gresh, Highmore, Battle, Paton, Snags, Hunts, Coff & Bytel

The 'kids' (18-21) of 2004
Roo, Chips, Kosi, X, Joey, Goose (21)
Ball, Gram (20)
BJ (19)

2022;
Winx, Coops (21)
Byrnes, Connolly, Allison (20)
Maxy Heath (19).

Now it's obvious that the difference in talent is stark (I reckon that's apparent across the league). The senior guys in 2004 were an undoubtedly a stronger, more talented group but next year we will have a larger proportion of the list move into the prime of their careers (the 22 to 30 year olds).

What does stand out to me is the lack of high end young talent (no doubt a result of poor drafting but also no priority picks available any more).

My point;

We have enough senior players to support the youth coming through... but we need draft picks to get more youth onto the list. We don't have the issues the GC have for the simple fact that our senior players are better than theirs.

Next year is a critical year for the 22-24 year olds to step up & take this team to a new level. It's time that Gresh, Highmore, Battle, Paton, Snags, Hunts, Coff & Bytel establish themselves as consistently high performing AFL players.

We need to bring more kids along & hitting the draft as hard as we can is the best way to do it.
Absolute bang on

SAINTS TARGET SWANS BIG MAN

St Kilda has reportedly set its sights on Swans tall Hayden McLean

Rowan Marshall has emerged as a star of the future for the Saints who, according to AFL.com, are looking to form a long term ruck partnership.

McLean is off contract at the end of the year and could provide support to Marshall while also an option to play forward.

The 22-year-old is one of a number of Swans players coming off contract as they look to manage a tightening salary cap.
I dont know much about the kid but I do like the idea

Apologies if has been posted but:

According to Hawks insider with a very good track record (Hodgeball for those of you playing at home):

Josh Battle is disgruntled and gettable. Wants to be a forward instead of a Mr Fix It and wouldn't be surprised if he isn't at Saints in 2022 despite contract. Collingwood and Melbourne went hard a few years ago.

If true i don't blame him

You don't get anything more relliable than a Toyota. JB is a bit too boring for a German car, maybe one of those big old 1980s Volvos with the orthopaedic-sandal style bumper bars in vanilla beige.
And a starter motor that picks and chooses when to go.

According to Hawks insider with a very good track record (Hodgeball for those of you playing at home):

Josh Battle is disgruntled and gettable. Wants to be a forward instead of a Mr Fix It and wouldn't be surprised if he isn't at Saints in 2022 despite contract. Collingwood and Melbourne went hard a few years ago.
We are Gunna get a lot of 3rd round picks from the Trade period

I don't mind that - he's not very good

next year it won't
the years after it hopefully will
I guess that's the point
I'm not so sure about that. We've got Pato and Gresham to come back in and Bytel although not gerting the possession numbers yet has vastly better disposal than Dunny.
As I've said all along we can cover the outs with existing cattle. It won't be like for like which is what's got people spooked, but it will offer a better quality of disposal ie: less turnovers, and a tangible path forward based on SKILLS and good judgment.

It's moving sideways to move forward. Whilst there's a risk of going backwards in the very short term it's better than the risk of doing nothing for 12 months and passing opportunity by.

I'm not so sure about that. We've got Pato and Gresham to come back in and Bytel although not gerting the possession numbers yet has vastly better disposal than Dunny.
As I've said all along we can cover the outs with existing cattle. It won't be like for like which is what's got people spooked, but it will offer a better quality of disposal ie: less turnovers, and a tangible path forward based on SKILLS and good judgment.

It's moving sideways to move forward. Whilst there's a risk of going backwards in the very short term it's better than the risk of doing nothing for 12 months and passing opportunity by.
I am 100% on board with all of that

They do both have risk but from experience the last time we followed this exact model is why we have half a dozen GOPs being paid like stars because we shipped out the older generations for these guys to get a clear run at it. We are paying Hill and Hanners each the kind of money that would have paid for two of them. It's a bit rich to have to cull your core players because you spent up big on a bunch of overpriced sh*t boxes that went nowhere. Luckily we had to spend that money because we wouldn't have been able to otherwise and leadership and stuff.

I'm not sure how much time the club thinks it can spend being uncompetitive. If Bytel and Byrnes don't come on then we are looking at waiting for the layer under them to come on.
But you have said Satan is operating in a completely different method to other clubs and the prior incumbents. So why do you now reference past history as the basis of your argument? He, as you acknowledge, is marching to a different drum. Surely you measure him on his performance to date?
And why say that we are culling core players because we overspent on Hill and Hanners? That’s not why we are having a discussion about retaining three FA’s. The question is whether they add value to the team, now and for the next three years. Not what someone else’s getting paid.
As for whether Bytel and Byrnes come on, the counter argument is simple.
What if we have already seen the best of Ross and Dunstan?
Where does that leave us in three years?

Your argument for retention of Ross and Dunstan is based on culture and depth. You may be right for next year.
I doubt whether that is true for 2023 and 2024.
But we will still have Ross and Dunstan hanging around our necks like dead albatross.

But if Ross and Dunstan both only get us a band 3 compensation, then those picks will be about 40 and 41.
So then we'll have two 3rd round 18yo draftees in the best 22 every week instead of two seasoned GOP's. How will that make us better sunny3193 ?

I thought band 3 was second round, which would give us picks in the 20s.

Band 1 is first round, band 2 is end of first round.

Crouch ended up as band 3 compensation for Adelaide, which was immediately after their second round pick which was pick 22.

If Ross or Dunstan ended up band 2 compensation then we would be delirious. That would be picks 19-20.

I think I got that right.

I’d be pretty disappointed to lose battle. He’s shown he has the ability to play football at AFL level. hes worth persisting with
I don’t think we are trading him. If he is disgruntled he can get over it. He wants to play as a forward but does and hasn’t really performed. We don’t have much tall depth that’s ready to go. But I can see why things might of changed in the last couple of weeks with Sharman coming on. He will still be on the list next year

I'd trade him while there's demand. I like the way he plays. Aggressive and brave. But he's undersized and runs on train tracks.

But if Ross and Dunstan both only get us a band 3 compensation, then those picks will be about 40 and 41.
So then we'll have two 3rd round 18yo draftees in the best 22 every week instead of two seasoned GOP's. How will that make us better sunny3193 ?
#40 and #41 will not be replacing Ross and Dunstan next year.
You know that.
Their replacements will be from the existing list: Clark, Gresham, Bytel, Byrnes etc.
Now whether #40 and #41 are adequate replacements, please see: Paton, Byrnes, Connelly, Highmore, Wilkie et al.
Plus we can bundle those picks into something better.

And if we do retain the two FA’s and not get #40 and #41 then we have Dunstan and Ross on the list till 2024 with zero guarantee their performances will not decline.

Pretty good mail, wonder if he’ll get shot down too?