25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Dal and BJ running through the delisted players and whether they'll get another chance. Both seemed pretty positive about Michael Harley. 198cm 100kg key back just delisted by Hawthorn. Hawks backline is clearly their deepest line so it's not a major shock he was delisted. Anyone know much about him? He seems to be that big defender that can shut down the gorilla forwards that we need and won't cost anything.

Great clubman. Knows his role & can play it well…. Problem is that he’s not very good & even when Hawks needed a KPD, he didn’t get a game

His missus has great norks tho…. 😏😂

Dal and BJ running through the delisted players and whether they'll get another chance. Both seemed pretty positive about Michael Harley. 198cm 100kg key back just delisted by Hawthorn. Hawks backline is clearly their deepest line so it's not a major shock he was delisted. Anyone know much about him? He seems to be that big defender that can shut down the gorilla forwards that we need and won't cost anything.

We’ve already got Joyce that can do that.

Then trade him out next year

You are Sun Ra... taking psychedelics in excessively heavy doses. Sharman is a god, they should take our licence off us if we trade him.

If Sharman proves he's the real deal next year it's quite difficult to see the sense in going after Ben King.

i think it depends on how much confidence they have in marshall to be the number one ruck and if any of these guys go past Membrey.

it could be something like:

R Marshall
CHF BKing
FF MKing
Third Tall Sharman

Tim will be 28 next year. If we get Ben, in Ben's first year Tim will be 29, thats when things start to drop off for talls. He would be competing with Sharman for a spot if Ben comes. Sharman is 21 now. So when we have Ben he will be 23, that's when the penny drops for talls and you start to enter consistent football.

At some point we have to play on "actual" results rather than building on "potential". what i mean by that is we are going to have to make a call as to who is going to provide the better forward outcomes and who is going to provide better ruck outcomes. this means we need to make a call on Marshall. Will he be able to be number 1 ruck and provide a point of difference there, if not we need to find someone who can and he needs to earn his spot as a fwd. if he can't out perform a Ben or Max up forward then he loses his spot or needs to come off the bench/find another position/role.

looking at stats Ben is a 50 goal a year forward. he has more of an impact on the scoreboard than Rowan does. Likewise Max so it makes sense to prioritize both in the fwd line over Rowan.

Rowan has a better impact around the ground and in the ruck. so it makes sense for him to take the ruck when Ryder retires. weather or not he can maintain that is another question and weather or not the resting ruck situation is ok is another question.

if i was to throw up a third option... what about Marshall turning into a defender who can also ruck. similar to McGovern when he was unbelievable. Mark Blicavs is another. this allows the fwd line to remain untouched and remain potent. it also would mean marshall has the flexibility to real rotate where needed. be it fwd for a bit. in the ruck for a bit. down back on the oppos resting ruck.

Here are Melbourne’s awesome small forward brigade goal averages:

Sparrow: 0.3 and a massive 8 disposals a game.
Neal-Bullen: 0.6
Pickett: 1.6

Richmond during their flag years:

Multiple guys at either a goal a game or under.

Hawthorn and West Coast are an exception to that because their smalls had decent goal averages. But they were still super quick.

If you think that guys like Long, Kent and even Hind the year before have no value as forwards because they don’t kick bags of goals then you’re simply wrong. Pace and pressure in the forward line is what gets you a flag and I’m a little concerned that we’re getting away from that.

Just on Trade Radio - people need to keep this in mind when they hear about all the prospective "deals" and moves that are supposed to be happening.

Trade Radio goes 13 hours a day for 10 days - so 130 hours. And last year there was a total of 28 trades. Lotta dead air time there!!!!
I listen to trade radio for white noise as I go to sleep and on walks for the same reason. It’s less annoying to hear nuffies talk about footy for hours on end than when idiots on actual talkback radio talk about their inane anecdotes or boring lives.

He was disappointing before injury. He wasn't as disappointing as Coffield though so sort of got ignored.
Even Steele said in the game he got injured that was the first game he was really happy with Clark’s effort at the ball and that it was something he was working on. It’s not like the players and leadership group didn’t notice it too

Hawthorn and West Coast are an exception to that because their smalls had decent goal averages. But they were still super quick.

If you think that guys like Long, Kent and even Hind the year before have no value as forwards because they don’t kick bags of goals then you’re simply wrong. Pace and pressure in the forward line is what gets you a flag and I’m a little concerned that we’re getting away from that.

Sides set up guys who would have been flankers etc like extra wings now. Often you'll have a set up at the bounce with 2 tall forwards and one small inside 50 then a ring of players around the outside of the square. Guys like Sparrow sprint towards the middle of the ground when the ball gets bounced. Kosi is probably the one that sets up inside 50 but even he is up the ground often.

Melbournes defence is more than May and Lever too, I heard Jennings saying that their use of wingmen to fall back and block up space in their zone is their trick. That's actually not unlike Richo's method, every player is expected to pull back to seal up holes then wave-run back. Have a single player forward of the ball as the rest speed back to form some structure up forward.

They just had an Essendon fan suggest pick 11 as a straight swap which is even worse!
BJ had a laugh at it.

A funny moment yesterday.
They were talking about Battle, and Dal was suggesting that BJ went through the same struggles - being shifted around rather than locking down a position.
There were a few seconds of awkward silence (I didn't have the video on, but assume BJ was staring daggers), then BJ goes "To be fair, I offered more than Battle". Happily rates himself, Beej.

i think this post makes a lot of sense, but i wouldn't just isolate it to the fwd line.

this is something i was trying to highlight years back in the pre-season game vs the pies. our players did not get as much time/space with the footy as the pies players got. we just dont apply anywhere near the same pressure on the opposition than we get applied to us. that means we rush kicks/dont get as much clean footy. it affects everything and ultimately kicks inside 50 that can result in scoring opportunities.

if you look at melbourne winning that grand final. they were all over the dogs early. the attack on the man was next level. even the very first bounce, viney basically poleaxed a guy in the first 3 seconds.

but the thing that really cut up the dogs was the break away from stoppage, which is something I hadn't seen before. well atleast since richmond, who don't really win alot of stoppage. the amount of clean footy they got from the stoppage when they went on the scoring spree was next level. the dogs couldnt go with them. the dogs tall defenders are seriously shite so already had their backs against the wall trying to defend anything coming in.

but their defencive pressure across all lines was excellent. something i think we are trying to address given the comments about "running power". i think we are recognizing that our mids just aren't very good runners. Hill is elite. Sinclair goes well. McKenzie can run. the rest? they seem like plodders tbh. Steele can be like that given he's a contested and tackling beast, but i don't think you can carry the rest. Jones is the only one with burst.

there is absolutely no doubt we need a side that is better at applying pressure and running harder to provide options. we need to clean up the ball use and decision making too.

BJ had a laugh at it.

A funny moment yesterday.
They were talking about Battle, and Dal was suggesting that BJ went through the same struggles - being shifted around rather than locking down a position.
There were a few seconds of awkward silence (I didn't have the video on, but assume BJ was staring daggers), then BJ goes "To be fair, I offered more than Battle". Happily rates himself, Beej.

I can't stand listening to Bj, one of the most arrogant blokes going around. Zero self awareness. Is still very bitter at the saints.

Sure, pressure from small forwards are good, but have you ever had a midfield of:

Dusty, Cotchin, Prestia, Lambert & Edwards

or

Gawn Oliver Viney Petracca & Harmes

I honestly don’t think our smalls of Higgins, Butler, Long & Kent are that bad. It’s the unaccountability of the mids to run both ways - Ross, Dunstan, Clark - that is the issue

Fix the midfield & we’re a top 6 team

Melbournes defence is more than May and Lever too, I heard Jennings saying that their use of wingmen to fall back and block up space in their zone is their trick.

Watching the GF I was super impressed with Langdon both forward and back, D-Mac did a decent job of that pure winger role this year but Langdon is just next level. He pops up in the back pocket when they need a body, then thirty seconds later he pops up in the forward line on the overlap. Just ridiculous running and positioning.

Hill can do this too.

I'd take a look at Hartley on a minimum wage/rookie contract… considering our key defender stocks.

We looked rooted when Howard went down this year and have just delisted two more key defenders.

We need at least 2 more mature tall backs on the list next year.

Couldnt agree more mate. Blokes tank is enormous and has the footy nous to back it up. Sensational player.