List Mgmt. 2022 AFL Draft & Rookie Draft

Think Hayes will be a beauty, still seems like he will grow beyond his current 197 cm, reads the play well, great decision maker and uses the ball well.

Will start as a 3rd tall, then once he fills out will play as a KPD
Would you use our 1st on him

What’s his desire like? You make him sound like a too 2-3 pick, I assume he goes when he feels like it…

Sorry mate I'm only an occasional visitor these days, hence the delayed response.

Look I think many people are getting too hung up on one particular player or another when IMO once you get out of the top 6-8 you could nearly throw a blanket over the next 20. Whilst many have bemoaned our lack of outside run at times, not untrue, I'd also argue that one of the major reasons we lost our last two games is that we don't have a competent ruck who can drag down a big contested mark around the ground, gallop faster than a two-legged giraffe, be a marking threat when resting up forward and snag a goal or two. We also got exposed for our lack of KPP depth mid way through the year.

I'd rather see Austin get creative and trade Picks 10 & 28 with the Tigers (12 & 19) or the Swans (14 & 17) to get two Picks inside the Top 20. GWS & Melbourne may be other options once other trades have been done. With that I'd try to get one of Cowan, Burgiel or Hollands with one and acquire one of Barnett or Hayes with the other. We're not in full rebuild any more so in such an even draft I'm OK with this approach.

Jelwood mentioned jedd busslinger to the cats maybe they'll snag Bowes and 7
How can Selwood possibly know how the draft will work out, it`s bollocks!!! (not to your reporting of it, but to his forecast.....) Maybe it`s who they would like, but he may go pick 3 or any pick before 7 and who can tell so far out from the draft....:rolleyes:

Really like the look of Phoenix Foster, needs time to develop but certainly knows where the goals are...

I also like the look late in the draft of Koby Cockshell and Will Verrall from South Adelaide, what are your thoughts on them?
I am always cautious with rating talls who’s predominantly play state league juniors. On minimal viewing I was not “taken” by either, but Verrall showed a bit and has a great profile as a player who can ruck and be effective at either end. A few years ago would be sought after late in the draft, but these days project talls are largely left to develop in state leagues. Cockshell projects as a more mature, strong body “beating up” on the kids. (Purely my impressions)

I am aware Foster could be viewed in the same light, but he showed plenty in the early carnival games before an ordinary game on limited minutes at GMHBA and being left out of the final game. Was suggested it was a rotation. Lemmey and Scully were the hyped keys and Barnett the AA ruck was not available early games. Foster is forward first, but was first ruck in the absence of Barnett, ahead of Keeler, which was interesting. Late birthday and a body shape suggesting more growth, it will be interesting to see where Foster lands.

My “obsession” with him is due to us not needing replacement key forwards for many years. We do need depth and a presence up forward in the reserves. I do not want a journeyman depth type, a youngster cheaply with enough presence to contribute quickly and the scope to go to a higher level is the obvious. I am not in the camp calling for another frontline ruck, but he is a great each way bet. Showed glimpses forward and around the ground arguably as good as any one seen through the championships. Late birth, immature etc, etc. Just caught my eye. Does have a National draft invite, so may not go as late as some think.

Sorry mate I'm only an occasional visitor these days, hence the delayed response.

Look I think many people are getting too hung up on one particular player or another when IMO once you get out of the top 6-8 you could nearly throw a blanket over the next 20. Whilst many have bemoaned our lack of outside run at times, not untrue, I'd also argue that one of the major reasons we lost our last two games is that we don't have a competent ruck who can drag down a big contested mark around the ground, gallop faster than a two-legged giraffe, be a marking threat when resting up forward and snag a goal or two. We also got exposed for our lack of KPP depth mid way through the year.

I'd rather see Austin get creative and trade Picks 10 & 28 with the Tigers (12 & 19) or the Swans (14 & 17) to get two Picks inside the Top 20. GWS & Melbourne may be other options once other trades have been done. With that I'd try to get one of Cowan, Burgiel or Hollands with one and acquire one of Barnett or Hayes with the other. We're not in full rebuild any more so in such an even draft I'm OK with this approach.
I have been criticised for advocating trading a future first for 2 picks in the 20s and try to take 5 picks inside 40 because the draft is even. What is your view?

The Tigers won't have those picks anyway, they will need to trade both for their GWS acquisitions.

Whist that may be your view there is nothing between the 1st 20 is not necessarily the view of our recruiters who most likely have a shortlist of 3-4 at our pick 11 who may be gone by trading out.

Yep, but no matter what pick we start with, there is a tendency to try to negate the 'chook raffle' (or 'chance' element) which doesn't give Austin and Agresta much to do. Cowon, for example, would be a good pick up if it means we get more of a chance to get a key position player we rate into the bargain.

Hey everyone, now that footy season is over I've been trying to do a bit of research based on which type of player I want selected at our picks. If there's someone I've forgotten please let me know!

KPF - pick 10 (available from 5-15) Aaron Cadman, Matthew Jefferson, Isaac Keeler
Outside mid - pick 28 (available from 15-40) Mitch Szybkowski, Olli Hotton, Oliver Hollands

Keller likely gone at pick 28
(If we could package pick 28 and Setterfield to Essendon for Pick 22, more likely available)

Verrall or Foster are the one that interests me as a rookie picks and to nurture and develop... Both have decent ruck craft and can kick goals...
Setterfield is worth more than a pick upgrade.

I want him to stay after his last two games. Was bloody fantastic. Keeps that up, they'll have to find a rotation for him.

Hey everyone, now that footy season is over I've been trying to do a bit of research based on which type of player I want selected at our picks. If there's someone I've forgotten please let me know!

KPF - pick 10 (available from 5-15) Aaron Cadman, Matthew Jefferson, Isaac Keeler
Outside mid - pick 28 (available from 15-40) Mitch Szybkowski, Olli Hotton, Oliver Hollands
IMO if Busslinger is still on the board at our pick we simply must take him.
If not the it gets interesting.

Good Evening Ladies & Gentleman!

Currently undertaking as per usual, a mass Draft and Trade period coverage on my own channel and Blue Abroad!

Thought this may be of interest as it has never been done before! I will be doing pocket profiles of every player entering the AFL Draft, Starting with the combines and rounding up with those entered come lodgement date!

you can follow here!

will be doing 5 a day week days! taken 12 months of hard yakka so excited to share with you all!

Much Love Pommy

Covered :

NAME
Jed AdamsUploaded
Edward AllanUploaded
Will AshcroftUploaded
Harry BarnettUploaded
Jaxon BinnsUploaded
Hugh BondUploaded
Shadeau BrainUploaded
Coby BurgielUploaded
Jedd BusslingerUploaded