Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:
I reckon top 3 will be H. Reid, D. Curtin, A. Reid

Players of these sizes/abilities don't grow on trees

Edit: just saw Davo-27's top 50 rankings - his top 10 is:

1. Harley Reid
2. Daniel Curtin
3. Archer Reid
4. Jed Walter
5. Ashton Moir
6. Nick Watson
7. Koltyn Tholstrup
8. Jack Delean
9. Harvey Johnston (Sand)
10. Nate Caddy

No Duursma or Lorenz ?

Just a thought, will Harley Reid being a Tasmanian impact him being drafted? I wouldn't have thought so because of how good he is. Being Tasmanian might pull him to Tasmania should they ever get a team in the AFL. However, he'd be great until/if Tasmania get a team, and his team would be adequately compensated anyway.

Like I said, I still think he'd be taken at pick 1 regardless.

Just a thought, will Harley Reid being a Tasmanian impact him being drafted? I wouldn't have thought so because of how good he is. Being Tasmanian might pull him to Tasmania should they ever get a team in the AFL. However, he'd be great until/if Tasmania get a team, and his team would be adequately compensated anyway.

Like I said, I still think he'd be taken at pick 1 regardless.
He's not Tasmanian.

That's a relief.
I was responding after reading post #364 in this thread by 'Hawk vision', who mentioned he's a Tassie kid.
They played against Tassie, I mentioned he was 50% better than the next best on the field, who was a Tassie kid. Maybe didn’t word it well. Harley is definitely a country vic lad 👍

1. Harley Reid
2. Daniel Curtin 195cm
3. Archer Reid 203cm
4. Jed Walter 194cm

5. Ashton Moir
6. Nick Watson
7. Koltyn Tholstrup
8. Jack Delean
9. Harvey Johnston (Sand)
10. Nate Caddy 191cm

Caddy as a tall is debatable, I think more a third tall

We still need a 3rd tall. An Walter is linked to the Sun or GWS i thought, so untoucbale for the rest of us?

Just watched the Stingray's v Power game to see how our boy Ziggy kicked his 6 goals, and he had a day out really. Kicked one on the left from the boundary around his body after a good mark on the lead, another on his right in much the same way at the opposite end, kicked one in the goal square from staying down and grabbing it off hands, and kicked another from the front of a pack at the other end. Kicked one from straight in front with a strong lead but just missed another from about 48 metres out, where the ball cleared the fence(so he's got a good leg).

Only 192cm's but is mobile and has some footy smarts. He doesn't play with a high intensity, but it seems to work for him.

Would be interested to know what others thought of his game.

Is he MSD or National draft at the end of the year? The article didn't really make it clear

Connor O'Sullivan is 2005, he's not in the MSD. He's a sharp player, but his set shots need some work and he looks more comfortable as an interceptor than a forward target. He has had a few plays where he'll get worried out of what should be an easy mark, then clean up at ground level and spot up a short target or whiz it through the goals himself. I wouldn't be surprised if he's had a few massive growth spurts, he plays like a small forward at 198cm at both ends of the ground. Exciting player, but not really in our range unless we get a pick around 15-20 at the moment.

Excerpt from the full article. Mods, sorry if I'm not meant to copy/paste. Please delete if required :thumbsu:

YOUNG RUCK EARLY MID-SEASON FAVOURITE
Young ruckman Clay Tucker has emerged as one of the top mid-season draft prospects after a hot start to the season for Eastern Ranges.
The 204cm product – who has impressed clubs with his ruck craft, marking around the ground and tidy skills – stood out with two goals, 11 disposals and 20 hit-outs in wet conditions in front of a host of AFL recruiters on Good Friday.
Tucker attracted interest as a rookie selection last year but was left on the board, with the developing ruck seeing significant improvements after training with Box Hill Hawks over the summer.
He will be one of the headline acts of the Young Guns games – featuring the top over-age talents ahead of the mid-season draft – that will take place next month.
Over-age prospect Ziggy Toledo Glasman, who received a state combine invite last year, put forward his credentials with 6.2 for Dandenon Stingrays last week.

Strapping Young Lad Your man, below:
Meanwhile Will Elliott, the son of Test cricketer Matthew, will make his return for the Oakleigh Chargers this week after the 203cm tall was sidelined with a knee issue in his draft year.

It would be fairly massive if Will Elliot could actually perform. 203cm tall with mobility, I actually wanted to see him at Box Hill but spots are a real premium there.

Clay Tucker looks nice but I think he's a ruck/forward rather than the other way around, and I'm not sure that's what we need given we have 4 rucks. If he's best available, I'd just take him and develop him as a forward.

Excerpt from the full article. Mods, sorry if I'm not meant to copy/paste. Please delete if required :thumbsu:

YOUNG RUCK EARLY MID-SEASON FAVOURITE
Young ruckman Clay Tucker has emerged as one of the top mid-season draft prospects after a hot start to the season for Eastern Ranges.
The 204cm product – who has impressed clubs with his ruck craft, marking around the ground and tidy skills – stood out with two goals, 11 disposals and 20 hit-outs in wet conditions in front of a host of AFL recruiters on Good Friday.
Tucker attracted interest as a rookie selection last year but was left on the board, with the developing ruck seeing significant improvements after training with Box Hill Hawks over the summer.
He will be one of the headline acts of the Young Guns games – featuring the top over-age talents ahead of the mid-season draft – that will take place next month.
Over-age prospect Ziggy Toledo Glasman, who received a state combine invite last year, put forward his credentials with 6.2 for Dandenon Stingrays last week.

Strapping Young Lad Your man, below:
Meanwhile Will Elliott, the son of Test cricketer Matthew, will make his return for the Oakleigh Chargers this week after the 203cm tall was sidelined with a knee issue in his draft year.
With so many other clubs in desperate need of a ruckman you just know there will be a huge deal made if we pick Clay Tucker and then he spends the rest of the season at Box Hill.

Looking forward to it.

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread