Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread

Who would you prefer we pick with our first pick?

• Nick Watson

Votes: 157 37.6%
  • Zane Duursma

Votes: 135 32.3%
  • Colby McKercher

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Daniel Curtin

Votes: 51 12.2%
  • Nate Caddy

Votes: 11 2.6%
  • Conor O'Sullivan

Votes: 7 1.7%
  • Ryley Sanders

Votes: 4 1.0%
  • Darcy Wilson

Votes: 2 0.5%

Same rule applies to this thread as other years, keep it on topic about the kids.
Don’t get bogged down on what other teams might do or where they will finish.

Trade speculation belongs here.

That's also where you can discuss your mock drafts or pick trades.

Any McCabe, Dear or Maginness talk belongs here.

Last edited by a moderator:

SA looking pretty hopeless. Vic Metro stacked with underagers, particularly through the middle. A very good allies team with it's best talent tied up in Academy/Tassie kids.

I don't know enough to be definitive, but it feels like a draft where not many picks outside the first couple dozen in the open draft will deliver. A good year to be able to bank McCabe as a late first or second round pick I feel.

He's in the North NGA as a Tasmanian, but he won't go outside the top 4 let alone top 40. Launie lad as well, every chance he's not tempted by Hobart FC entering the comp.
Top 4 you reckon? Does look class. I'm coming around to the fact even if we end up with pick 6 yet again we will get a jet.

Yes.
This kid is absolute class.
Would love him at Hawthorn.
In the first half of the Allies v WA he wasted the ball a bit. Missed targets under not a lot of pressure. I was surprised by this given his reputation. Sanders was the class in that game. Much cleaner.

Yep it's a good observation as I has sanders way above too. Can't see McK top 4 at all.

Top 4 you reckon? Does look class. I'm coming around to the fact even if we end up with pick 6 yet again we will get a jet.
I do reckon. My big sticking point with him was his opposition and level of competition, but up against state teams, in with other top talents (so much so that he got pushed out to the wing) he still puts up undeniably impressive numbers. He isn't a great fit, plays very similar to Ward and Mackenzie, but you don't pass on talent. He's in the top 5 right now, I don't think he'll be falling out any time soon either.

Ball use though?

Not as neat in close but more damaging going deep, still a very good kick who likes to bite off the tough ones. He likes to play with ball in hand like CMac and Ward though, he'll make sure he takes a good option and doesn't mind holding it in congestion until an option appears. Where Ward and Mackenzie are looking for open teammates to spot up a kick too, Colby is usually looking for an opening to turn on the jets and get a few metres clear before sending it long. It might sound like they're very different, but everything up until that point, from the workrate, stoppage positioning, vision around packs, and defensive efforts are all very in line with our other young midfield draftees. He's one who would work well in Sam's overlapping-run centric playstyle, maybe as an apprentice to Impey, Amon, and Moore in his first years along the left side of the ground.

Another Tasmanian rising through the ranks is Sanders, who could be another one we look at if we pick up a pick around the back half of the top 10. He'd be a marked improvment over Worpel if we could get him a year or two at Box Hill to build his frame. There's always a need for contested extractors who get there hands to the foot and find a clean path to your damaging midfielders, and Sanders is certainly in that top tier this season. Probably closer to 10 than 5, but anything can happen.

When it comes down to it, you can't compromise on talent. While I agree wholeheartedly that we need a key position player going forward, the draft has a way of making needs-based decision making look silly down the track. There's a lot of footy left to play this year, but if we're choosing between one player who we think is going to be a 9/10 but doesn't fit our list right now and a 8/10 who does, I'd be going for the 9 every day of the week.

Connor O'Sullivan looks a likely KPP from some highlights I saw. Looks like he will become a mountain one day. Can kick it like a mule (bit awkward) and is fast and has agility. Close to 200cm chf/chb. One to watch if we keep winning games

You got him top 5 in the country ?

But you also said he was pushed out to the wing in his own team due to top talents.

Player Watch 2023 AFL Draft Pool Discussion Thread