Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Curtin will be lining up for Norf next year
If you ask their board, Reid, McKercher, Sanders, Duursma and Watson will be, too 🙃

One of my mates growing up was a gun at every sport he played and was this in footy, but the *ery didnt stop there. He played golf between tee and green right handed but putted and batted left handed in cricket, bowled right handed.

Absolute mind *.
It helps explains why he’s so good at faking the handball then stepping the other way to deliver by foot.

I have a mate who bowls right handed and bats left. Weirdo!

(disclaimer; I am generally right handed but occasionally bat left as well)

I didn’t take your comment as a criticism - was just adding to it.

Watching the next video my observations are;

• can find the ball
  • low centre of gravity for a tall
  • neat kick
  • great evasive step/candy seller
  • not overly dominant in the air compared to other strengths (to your note Guy Threepwood 👍)
  • seems to be right handed and left footed!

I think I’d still prefer McKercher/Duursma/Watson/Sanders but won’t be disappointed if Curtain is our man.

Just watched the second video. Agree with a lot of your thoughts on him. I said he reminded me of Crisp in video number 1 with the way he ran out of defence, video number 2 he was giving me Jeremy Cameron vibes the way he was moving. Watching that with no knowledge of him at all, I'd guess he was a 185cm type who will fit in nicely off a back flank. That he's got scope to be a key back at 195cm with those other skills is intriguing. Having him learn under May and Lever would be is an exciting prospect.

I have no problems with Harmes wage next year. Yes it sounds obscene in isolation, but clearly he took unders for the past few years.
Don't forget this guy has been best 22 for years and was a major contributor in our flag year. He's earned his payday even if he sits the reserves all next year.

I'd rather just have someone else pay it, it isn't like we can rip his contract up and deny him his money.

NSW are playing Queensland in the U18s, 21 of the selected NSW players are tied to the academy, 25 of the Qsld players are tied to the academy

5 of GCs players were AA in the U16s

Ridiculous comp sometimes.

NSW are playing Queensland in the U18s, 21 of the selected NSW players are tied to the academy, 25 of the Qsld players are tied to the academy

5 of GCs players were AA in the U16s

Ridiculous comp sometimes.
I'd rather they just get rid of academy bidding all together but at the very least they've got to limit it to one kid per year or something. It's getting out of control.

It's bullshit. I don't mind the academy system but you've got the northern clubs who can train blokes from 13 years old on AFL systems, running etc and are completely ready for AFL when they join.

They want full access to academies they should have them and get out of the draft.

Or every Vic club should be able to take on half a dozen undrafted teens and let them play for their VFL side every year and then get access to them if they want them.

It's bullshit. I don't mind the academy system but you've got the northern clubs who can train blokes from 13 years old on AFL systems, running etc and are completely ready for AFL when they join.

They want full access to academies they should have them and get out of the draft.

Or every Vic club should be able to take on half a dozen undrafted teens and let them play for their VFL side every year and then get access to them if they want them.
The justification for academies has always been that these kids wouldn't be playing AFL without them but honestly that's bullshit now with how established the AFL is in the northern states now. Not to mention the academies taking on father-son prospects of other teams who were always gonna play footy. There's also no reason the AFL couldn't run the academies themselves. Why do the clubs even need to be involved?

Funny, Sydney actually asked the AFL to have the entire state of NSW to recruit from in exchange for getting out of the draft back in the early 00's. They got denied cause the AFL knew that would be an insane advantage no club could compete with.

On your last point that's basically just zones. Ironically the thing that forced a club like the Swans to move to Sydney.

The justification for academies has always been that these kids wouldn't be playing AFL without them but honestly that's bullshit now with how established the AFL is in the northern states. Not to mention the academies taking on father-son prospects of other teams who were always gonna play footy. There's also no reason the AFL couldn't run the academies themselves. Why do the clubs even need to be involved?

Funny, Sydney actually asked the AFL to have the entire state of NSW to recruit from in exchange for getting out of the draft back in the early 00's. They got denied cause the AFL knew that would be an insane advantage no club could compete with.

On your last point that's basically just zones. Ironically the thing that forced a club like the Swans to move to Sydney.
Except it's not limited to an area it's just find 6 kids that's want to play and train with you anywhere in the state. Surely the more guys that get a go the more you'll find. Bet you'd have a few listed every year

Reckon the academies are there because interstate kids have no interest in staying on to play in front of 4 thousand fans each week for GC or the Giants. Need to have a critical mass of local kids or bin the whole thing.

Except it's not limited to an area it's just find 6 kids that's want to play and train with you anywhere in the state. Surely the more guys that get a go the more you'll find. Bet you'd have a few listed every year
Just feels like it's trying to fix a problem by creating more ambiguity rather than addessing the actual issue and embracing the purity of the draft.

Yeah maybe mines more a separate argument to the draft, I just think a stack of kids probably fall through the cracks because they don't wanna play VFL and don't get drafted so go back to the bush or give it up because they need to make money. Or get on the glass BBQs with their friends

Ah yeah I see what you're saying. There's definitely a lot of kids being lost to the system with basically all of the talent coming out of private schools these days.

There are some restrictions on the northern academies. But it’s something around finishing top 8 and only being able to pick 2 players in first round. Which is probably rare that there’s going to be 3 like Gold Coast this year. It’s a huge advantage that I kind of get. But Sydney is staring on their own feet as are the lions. But limiting it to one player per draft would be an idea particularly in the early rounds for clubs that are regularly playing finals would be an idea.

Check out the 2025 draft at this stage has like 10 of the AA players tied to northern academies. Reckon the outrage from that might just be enough to change the system.

Highlighted are the players available in the open draft.
qFjDIla.jpeg

Check out the 2025 draft at this stage has like 10 of the AA players tied to northern academies. Reckon the outrage from that might just be enough to change the system.

qFjDIla.jpeg
Yep another kid who probably goes to Tassie aswell.

Less than half the kids are available for the draft.

What a bloody joke

Chuck in a WC priority pick and a couple of compo picks for free agency

qFjDIla.jpeg

Kalani White 🥰 SOJ.

They'll change the academy rules at the same time as the F/S and we'll miss out in our most promising one in over a decade lol.

Shrek Film Wedding GIF by PeacockTV

qFjDIla.jpeg
I guess the counter argument is that a lot of that talent would potentially be lost to the game if there were no academies

Also, wtf is up with the development of talent in the traditional footballing states if the AA team is loaded with northern state players?

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

I guess the counter argument is that a lot of that talent would potentially be lost to the game if there were no academies

Also, wtf is up with the development of talent in the traditional footballing states if the AA team is loaded with northern state players?

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk
Because the Vic kids are playing Tac cup, coming from all over joint. The northern ones are getting down the AFL clubs being given programs etc. They get huge development advantages

I think you've answered your own question. The AFL has basically allowed grassroots programs to continue to degrade in traditional footy states while the northern academies are given free reign and heaps of funding.