Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Maybe. Did I say they did in my post?

If your point wasn't the contradiction than what was it? That people have different views? Amazing observation.

I mean, that's the whole point... Everyone's throwing out drastic measures due to the current emotion of losing finals and not actually taking a good look at the full context. Once it gets to "trade Oliver" you know things are getting a bit silly.

No one actually thinks the club is going to trade Oliver. What people are saying is if we were ruthless in our pursuit to get better, trading Oliver would make the most sense as he has a lot of currency and at present is a luxury we don't really need.

Eh not really, you'd know better than anyone that there have been some pretty broadly competing views on this board all season.

We're never going to trade Oliver, it's just a point of discussion about our list needs. I think there's a point to be made that our best footy was played when he wasn't there and we had a half-functioning forwardline. Forced us to change the way we played and we didn't miss him a great deal. Tell me if you could play the finals series again but you could replace Oliver with Petty would you do it?

What's your opinion instead of just crapping on other's?

Well firstly, how about not trading our best player (4x Bluey) for 18 year olds, especially when people on the board are simultaneously complaining about our midfield depth.

Also, how about not trading our highest pick for an injured old key forward who would take up a huge chunk of our salary cap.

Then, very roughly, something like...

Grundy pick for McAdam and future 3rd.
Bundle up picks from Tomlinson and Harmes trades, plus maybe that future 3rd, to GC for Chol.
Trade pick 34 for Paddy Dow.
Have a look at some cheap key position injury cover like Hamling, Day, etc.
Brown retires, Jordon leaves, Melksham re-signs, D.Smith delisted, K.Turner and AMW re-sign.
Do some pick swaps, maybe using our future first, to ensure we have 3x top 20 picks and use them on best available.

Not saying any or all of that will happen, but that's a reasonably realistic off season for us IMO.

Indeed. So many people here banging on about recruiting key forwards miss the point entirely - our game style and the way we enter the forward line is rubbish and unless that changes it doesn't matter who is up there.

I actually would rather we recruit good ball users in the midfield than forwards.
This argument isn't entirely valid. Friday night was hardly perfect but we had plenty of prime opportunities that we couldn't convert.

Eh not really, you'd know better than anyone that there have been some pretty broadly competing views on this board all season.

We're never going to trade Oliver, it's just a point of discussion about our list needs. I think there's a point to be made that our best footy was played when he wasn't there and we had a half-functioning forwardline. Forced us to change the way we played and we didn't miss him a great deal. Tell me if you could play the finals series again but you could replace Oliver with Petty would you do it?

He was also one of our best players when we won a flag. I find it strange that a few of the people suggesting we trade Oliver are also blaming Goody for our game style being no good. I don't think winning a few games without Oliver means we're better off without him, anymore than winning a few games with Grundy instead of Gawn means we should keep Brodie and trade Max. It seems a bit of a false equivalency for mine.

No one actually thinks the club is going to trade Oliver. What people are saying is if we were ruthless in our pursuit to get better, trading Oliver would make the most sense as he has a lot of currency and at present is a luxury we don't really need.

Right, so we should trade all our good players for high draft picks, and our 4x Bluey winner is not needed.

Makes sense.

Isaac Smith: "The worst thing they can do is go and throw all the toys out and start making emotional decisions"

Ryan Gosling Clap GIF

Yes, that's exactly what I said, trade all our good players.

Stop being hysterical. You are a good poster when you are sensible.

You literally said trade Oliver because he has currency. Come on mate, that logic is just not sound.

Well firstly, how about not trading our best player (4x Bluey) for 18 year olds, especially when people on the board are simultaneously complaining about our midfield depth.

Also, how about not trading our highest pick for an injured old key forward who would take up a huge chunk of our salary cap.

Bundle up picks from Tomlinson and Harmes trades, plus maybe that future 3rd, to GC for Chol.
Brown retires, Jordon leaves, Melksham re-signs, D.Smith delisted, K.Turner and AMW re-sign.
Do some pick swaps, maybe using our future first, to ensure we have 3x top 20 picks and use them on best available.

Not saying any or all of that will happen, but that's a reasonably realistic off season for us IMO.
Thank you for posting a sensible and reasoned argument. I agree with most except the Oliver bit and Chol (other posters say he is lazy).

Not a huge huge fan of Chol, but just trying to find a reasonably priced forward/ruck. Doesn't seem to be much around in that space. Any ideas?

Mostly fair suggestions but Paddy Dow is a ball butcher of the highest order. Last thing we need.

He was also one of our best players when we won a flag. I find it strange that a few of the people suggesting we trade Oliver are also blaming Goody for our game style being no good. I don't think winning a few games without Oliver means we're better off without him, anymore than winning a few games with Grundy instead of Gawn means we should keep Brodie and trade Max. It seems a bit of a false equivalency for mine.
You wouldn't trade him for cheap, you'd want at least two top ten picks for him to even consider it but I get your point.

Maybe I'm naive but I do think our gamestyle comes largely from us playing our hand as it's been dealt and trying to minimise the weaknesses of our forwardline by playing such a hyper-defensive game style. But the knock-on effect of that has basically meant our best players haven't really been as damaging as they could be. My biggest fear for next year is we overspend on one player and go with the exact same gamestyle. We're going to lose a lot of depth this off-season which will leave us very vulnerable to injuries that will happen.

Mostly fair suggestions but Paddy Dow is a ball butcher of the highest order. Last thing we need.

Similar to the Chol one, I'm 100% open to hearing options. Would love to just have an upgrade on Dunstan and I reckon he is that. Thoughts on any other reasonably priced, gettable midfield depth?

This board's trade ideas currently....

Trade Oliver so we can get high picks and rebuild.
Trade our first pick for Lynch because we're in the window and just need a key forward.

:think:
Mindboggling isn't it. We were 1 poster going through away from a prelim. 2 conversions out of 72 away against the Pies. We got unlucky with injury. We got unlucky with conversion. Our midfield doesn't need a major overhaul. FFS. We've proven we are in the mix. We lost both finals by 9pts combined and arguably dominated both games really. Tweak the midfield mix a little, get a couple of capable forwards and we'll be in the mix again. Trading Oliver and massively overhauling the midfield are just mindless overreactions which I was getting sucked into myself. But watching the finals replays, we got unlucky mostly. Change a coach or two, get a few new faces on field, we go again.

You wouldn't trade him for cheap, you'd want at least two top ten picks for him to even consider it but I get your point.

Maybe I'm naive but I do think our gamestyle comes largely from us playing our hand as it's been dealt and trying to minimise the weaknesses of our forwardline by playing such a hyper-defensive game style. But the knock-on effect of that has basically meant our best players haven't really been as damaging as they could be. My biggest fear for next year is we overspend on one player and go with the exact same gamestyle. We're going to lose a lot of depth this off-season which will leave us very vulnerable to injuries that will happen.

Yeah great points. Definitely agree on the overspending too, which is why I kinda focused more on those role player types in my trade period scenario with high end draft talent coming in.

As much as Goody has copped it, I actually think he did a good job for the most part this year in adjusting our setup and style to make the most of our personnel. Having TMac and Smith as your key forwards does mean you need to consider that stuff as you mention above. We did still manage to generate enough opportunities to win in both finals, but it's on the players for not finishing when they should have. Need a lift from them this offseason in terms of commitment and time spent at the club IMO.

Not a huge huge fan of Chol, but just trying to find a reasonably priced forward/ruck. Doesn't seem to be much around in that space. Any ideas?
No idea, I don't really follow other clubs outside Melbourne. Just use a late pick to either trade or pick a developing ruck. I actually think rucks are overrated and if we are just lucky we have one of the best ever right now. If Max goes down we have Schache as the break glass at the moment.