List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

Cox is the one that worries me; if he left then I think that sets us back far more than any of last year's trades, and in conjunction presumably with Pearce a couple of years later to Tassie rips a big experience hole in the backline, even with some talented key position defenders being developed. I just can't help but think that all the talk at the start of the year about getting Naughton or Pickett must be driven by some trade that we were inevitably going to have to make because someone was tempted by a massive contract, and I can imagine Adelaide being a tempting prospect for him if the offer was there, given they seem to be on the rise again.

I would rather we retained Cox and lost Treacy than the other way around.
I mean by all reports (meaning snuff) he’s not going anywhere

nat-fyfe-step-closer-to-new-deal-v0-nuf1l42zav2b1.jpg

Cox is the one that worries me; if he left then I think that sets us back far more than any of last year's trades, and in conjunction presumably with Pearce a couple of years later to Tassie rips a big experience hole in the backline, even with some talented key position defenders being developed. I just can't help but think that all the talk at the start of the year about getting Naughton or Pickett must be driven by some trade that we were inevitably going to have to make because someone was tempted by a massive contract, and I can imagine Adelaide being a tempting prospect for him if the offer was there, given they seem to be on the rise again.

Tasmania is mostly a non-issue with Pearce. They will be entering in 2028 and Pearce will turn 33 during that year. He'll be lucky if he's even still playing. We could give him a 2 year deal when he is UFA end of 2025, with our blessing to go to Tasmania after that if he is still hanging on.

Sam Taylor is a RFA end of 2025, so we could also target him over Pearce (e.g. he might be cooked like Hamling is now). Also an option to replace Cox if he leaves end of 2024. That would leave us in a hole for 1 year when we should be contending, and maybe we just bite the bullet on a trade with GWS. Colin Young loves a move mid-contract to give himself a pay rise. We still probably have to trade for him one year later, as they will presumably match our offer if their salary cap has been controlled by then. It will also give WC less time to move out of basket case status.

I don't disagree we aren't getting anything meaningful, but you'd get some throwaway pick 45+ for him.
Coming off a season where he was actually playing football conceivably you might get a fourth rounder sure. But he's out most if not all of the year and 31 next.

Even in some demented world where someone wanted to offer a forth rounder why would we do it? Even if a fully fit tabs would be held out of the 22 by the current setup, he'd be one injury away from being in. People want unproven state leaguers at full forward if we get injuries chasing a flag next year??

Coming off a season where he was actually playing football conceivably you might get a fourth rounder sure. But he's out most if not all of the year and 31 next.

Even in some demented world where someone wanted to offer a forth rounder why would we do it? Even if a fully fit tabs would be held out of the 22 by the current setup, he'd be one injury away from being in. People want unproven state leaguers at full forward if we get injuries chasing a flag next year??
Whilst I agree with this post entirely Josh Corbett is a long way off being an unproven state leaguer.

He's undersized but still a KPF with AFL experience.

Now we know the team can function without Taberner we can give him longer to get his body right. That way we get good footy out of him if/when required. It'd be a miracle if him or Corbett aren't required at all next year.

Whilst I agree with this post entirely Josh Corbett is a long way off being an unproven state leaguer.

He's undersized but still a KPF with AFL experience.

Now we know the team can function without Taberner we can give him longer to get his body right. That way we get good footy out of him if/when required. It'd be a miracle if him or Corbett aren't required at all next year.
Absolutely. If anything we probably need one or two more experienced bodies that are happy (enough) to sit in the twos. A winger, a ruck* and key back. Hamling looks cooked to me and you'd think Colyer is ready for the next phase of his life even if the club doesn't think so (they probably do).

*in hindsight drafting two inexperienced rucks when our number 2 ruck isn't a full time ruck seems off to me.

Reidy is 23 in two weeks, Knobel is 19 in a month. Yes, neither have AFL experience but the ruck position is more about size and strength than nous for a fill in role anyway and Reidy is at least on paper, taller and heavier than Luke Jackson.

I'm not suggesting that we have a ready to go Darcy replacement but Reidy is clearly that option for now until Knobel builds over the next three or so years.

How’s Cornes suggesting we trade Darcy for ‘a first round pick’ because Jackson is a “ruckman” and Brayshaw and Serong need the help. Hello dickhead, we have two first round mids already who can’t get a consistent spot in the team. What a ******* stupid flog.

You know Kane is a like a dog with a bone once he gets an idea or strategy in his head.

Especially with his 25 media gigs he will be worse then Suma about that. Whenever Darcy or Jackson have a shocker he will demand Darcy be traded as Jackson is a ruckman.
Now Adrian Barich on the Quarters and Barra podcast is sprouting the same rubbish. i rarely listen now Duff has moved on, but the title this week sucked me in…

You'll still get some token pick.

And as I said, I wouldn't push him out, I would let him go for his own sake if he wanted better opportunities.

Luke Jackson isn’t even that good as a ruckman imo. He got absolutely smashed in the ruck by Gawn and Grundy but smashed it around the ground, something he’d do whether he’s in the ruck or not.

Not every list build has to be the same. Yes - it’s against the trend having two gun players that are rucks but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t work. It clearly was working so I don’t see what the issue is.

Now Adrian Barich on the Quarters and Barra podcast is sprouting the same rubbish. i rarely listen now Duff has moved on, but the title this week sucked me in…
Don't listen anymore.

Being based in Sydney duff and quarters was a great podcast with a freo element to i enjoyed getting proper analysis about the club. Not from some naive muppets in Victoria.

Unfortunately Adrian Barich is a dribbler and I cbf wasting 2 hours of my week listening to him

No we've got actual key forwards doing actual key forward things and people would be happy to lose them... :drunk:

We shouldn't be happy with losing either of them.

Don't listen anymore.

Being based in Sydney duff and quarters was a great podcast with a freo element to i enjoyed getting proper analysis about the club. Not from some naive muppets in Victoria.

Unfortunately Adrian Barich is a dribbler and I cbf wasting 2 hours of my week listening to him

Duiff does his own radio show that they convert into podcast segments

Mondays with Barlow talking freo
Tuesday with Haselby

It’s not bad

Luke Jackson isn’t even that good as a ruckman imo. He got absolutely smashed in the ruck by Gawn and Grundy but smashed it around the ground, something he’d do whether he’s in the ruck or not.

Not every list build has to be the same. Yes - it’s against the trend having two gun players that are rucks but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t work. It clearly was working so I don’t see what the issue is.
And.... Gawn and Grundy are a pair of gun rucks.

They'll come around to Jackson the midfielder when he is averaging 25 possessions and 10 clearances a game, around about half way through that season when he starts being talked about as a Brownlow Medal chance.

If he keeps playing like this clip anything is possible. I can't believe how good he's been starting in the centre as a mid. He's like a giant Chris Judd with Swita's pressure.

This 100%

He was at 70 ruck contests.

He won 15 hit outs.

Who cares about hit outs. Clearances are what counts.
Ruckmans job is to take marks around the ground and generate clearances, if he generates clearances by being twice as athletic as the other ruck once it hits the ground then the hitouts are irrelevant.

I also think a Dogga clearance is different to your average clearance because it’s often him bursting away from some treacle slow ruck