List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

Is there any possibly of coming to an agreement with Tabs to pay him out?
Don't see the point of paying him out if you're gonna get Chol: there's no real reason for Gold Coast to trade him for significant value, so they'd really be after a team that will cover his contract. Plus given Schache somehow earned another 1 year deal and Essendon gave games to Weideman, I have to assume there will be a market for Tabs (at least on part of his contract).

It might be harsh but if we were paying someone out it would be Kuek, not Tabs.
We could commit to fully resourcing and funding the rehab of his ACL, the most important period of which takes place in the first 2 months post surgery, so he should already be mostly though that while on the list in 2023.
The chances of him making it now, as a project rookie key position player that was already coming from a long way back, are very low.
It’s unfortunate for the kid but he’s probably close to 2 years away from an AFL game in a best case scenario. It takes several months to get back to full sharpness and match fitness after a knee reco, even after the player makes their return to footy.

We could commit to fully resourcing and funding the rehab of his ACL, the most important period of which takes place in the first 2 months post surgery, so he should already be mostly though that while on the list in 2023.
The chances of him making it now, as a project rookie key position player that was already coming from a long way back, are very low.
It’s unfortunate for the kid but he’s probably close to 2 years away from an AFL game in a best case scenario. It takes several months to get back to full sharpness and match fitness after a knee reco, even after the player makes their return to footy.
Legit? Tabs would have been delisted if he didn’t have a contract. Kuek was showing plenty.

Is Treacy doing enough to have locked in his spot?

Probably not, But Treacy does a lot around the ground and in the contest that helps the other forwards.

Look, I’m all for getting Chol IF it comes with pick 4 for us to take on his salary too but he ain’t getting picked over JT but I think we would have trouble convincing him to come to Perth

Tabs is done. He has been a good stop gap but is now so injury prone, he can not be a part of our premiership planning.

If you play Chol you have to remove Sturt or Treacy. You can’t play Amiss, Sturt, Treacy, Chol and Jackson/Darcy.

Now there is a definite argument that Chol could take Sturt or Treacy’s spot but then they would not be developing in afl… both have played enough footy at Wafl.

I suppose the question is do you want to drop Treacy/Sturt in favour of Chol? Not sure that we gain much in that.
I think you can play Amiss, Treacy and Chol with Darcy/Jackson. If we also have Jackson spending way more time playing as a midfielder as that makes us a better team if his brief time this year when he started in the centre square with Darcy rucking is anything to go by.

Mate, cool off on the autism bashing. I’ve got a daughter who faces enough challenges without such simple-minded banter further alienating neurodivergence.

I'm sorry your daughter is having difficulties but as neurodivergence is not a recognized medical condition, do you not find that using that term you are more likely to find opposition than support? It strikes me that there are so many (mostly teenage and young adult) people claiming to be neurodivergent that it actually takes away from methodical approaches of providing support for people and creates further isolation.

I accept that language and communication cannot be the individual labelling of their own private thoughts but rather the shared labelling of shared experiences by the community of language users. That is not to say that we don't each have individual feelings or that we can have difficulties understanding others, but it is meaningless to discuss these or meaningfully label these private feelings - it is better to accept and celebrate them as private, or to capture them through artistic expression by dancing around the edges of what can described and understood by everyone.

If (for example) we each conjured a far different image for the word "rabbit" would we not have more problems in the world than solutions, and then wouldn't every individual would also suffer?

Legit? Tabs would have been delisted if he didn’t have a contract. Kuek was showing plenty.
Showing plenty, I’m not so sure about that. I thought he was a long way off an AFL game and JL said as much there one day before he got injured - “he’s got a number of things to keep working on” or words to that effect. He’s extremely skinny too, when he returns from the ACL injury to peel next year he’d need to have a lot of extra muscle on his frame to have a chance.

I define showing plenty as coming in for a few AFL games and having moments where genuine AFL traits are on display at the highest level, not WAFL.
Eg: Treacy is showing plenty (he’s also 2 years younger than Kuek), Emmett is the same. Lots of players look great at state league level but out of their depth at AFL level.
Where do you see him fitting into our B22 in future if we keep him?

As for Tabs - yeah you are probably right. His body seems stuffed. It sounds like we need another developing key forward in this years draft then

I'm sorry your daughter is having difficulties but as neurodivergence is not a recognized medical condition, do you not find that using that term you are more likely to find opposition than support? It strikes me that there are so many (mostly teenage and young adult) people claiming to be neurodivergent that it actually takes away from methodical approaches of providing support for people and creates further isolation.

I accept that language and communication cannot be the individual labelling of their own private thoughts but rather the shared labelling of shared experiences by the community of language users. That is not to say that we don't each have individual feelings or that we can have difficulties understanding others, but it is meaningless to discuss these or meaningfully label these private feelings - it is better to accept and celebrate them as private, or to capture them through artistic expression by dancing around the edges of what can described and understood by everyone.

If (for example) we each conjured a far different image for the word "rabbit" would we not have more problems in the world than solutions, and then wouldn't every individual would also suffer?
I would’ve thought you’d simply apologise and move on. Nobody is clicking on this thread to read a debate on this topic.

Or...you know...we could put some small effort and common courtesy in trying to understand things a little more broadly.

Not a good look. We can place him onto the LT injury list and replace with SSP or MSD.

As for Tabs apparently the back injury flare up is minor. We may have been in a position to trade him a few weeks ago but now I think that is highly unlikely with the recent exacerbation and minimal game time over the past two years. He will play out his contract.

Yes read that last night. I’ve done the figures as well. I know Snuff said he had, but if there are bids around the expectation of 3, 10, 17 for example GC are well short on points. They need some (1-2 or at least one very good) second round picks.

A trade for pick four which combines a F1 and current good second round pick would be very enticing for GC.

Yes read that last night. I’ve done the figures as well. I know Snuff said he had, but if there are bids around the expectation of 3, 10, 17 for example GC are well short on points. They need some (1-2 or at least one very good) second round picks.

A trade for pick four which combines a F1 and current good second round pick would be very enticing for GC.
They will move Hollands on for something like pick 20

Then we would easily give up 21 and F1 for pick 4, to name but one club.

Also I reckon the third of the academy guys could slide to pick 15 or so easily enough

I dont think it's a co-incidence that Chol is being heavily rumoured as being shopped at basically the same time everyone started to know Flanders was staying. I'm taking this as proof they are doing what I've been screaming about on the draft board for like a month. Getting a good future 1st is their number 1 priority and the rest will take care of itself