List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

So unless there are a couple of half decent players wanting away from the remaining finalists I reckon we just take Henry and use any further gained picks or upgrades on the draft.
No more rejects please.

Lol

The final result...​

Starting hand: Picks No. 6, 59, 76 and 82
Final hand: Pick No. 51 (Ryan Byrnes) and 82 (Leo Connolly, readjusted to pick No. 64)
Acquisitions: Dougal Howard, Paddy Ryder, Bradley Hill, Zak Jones, Dan Butler, Ryan Abbott (delisted free agent), Ryan Byrnes (National Draft), Leo Connolly (National Draft), Jack Bell (Rookie Draft)
Departures: Jack Steven, Blake Acres, Josh Bruce, Jack Newnes (delisted free agent)

This was another one of James Gallaghers trades, he's been moved on and from his Linkedin account it seems as though he is no longer involved in AFL or football in general.
are there two james gallaghers?as there is one at north but says started there in 2021 & ours left after 2022,both hailing from adelaide it seems

That old chestnut.

"Acres confided in those close to him that he had no choice but to explore the Dockers option but was deeply hurt by St Kilda’s manoeuvre, which will take him away from close friends and a club which has been his home for six years. He is said to feel as if the club backed him into a corner, but is also pragmatic about the opportunities a fresh start will bring."

"I was pretty settled in Melbourne at the time, but for footy and my professional career it was a really good fit for me. To be able to play the position I wanted to play in for my entire career and not get moved around and play the ruck, and a deep forward role at times and play consistent minutes on the ground [was appealing]."

Gee that makes me sad reading that. Hadn't read any of those articles before. Even he didn't like playing in the ruck.

Luckily most of those from that era have now been moved on

Still remember the vision of Richardson and Kingsley having a very frank discussion in the coaches box. We can now see who is the better coach and that's Kingsley by a country mile ... Carlisle forward anyone.

Just watching footage of Cowboy Neale and how we won our one and only premiership after 69 years of trying and how old the 66 players are now.
Fare dinkum if you didn’t love this club you’d cry.
Wonder if the second one will take another 69?
It reinforces to me the need for us to be absolutely ****ing ruthless in all we do.

Remove the floor.

Clubs get whatever it is, call it $15m, and spend it as they see fit.

If they spend $10m on players and $5m getting rid of debt or paying coaches then so be it.

Edit: And McKay is leaving because he's sick of losing. He's hitting the prime of his career and is still at the start of a rebuild with North.
And you're proving my point. Players still want to win. Unless your club develops a loser culture like ours did and the players will stick around for the extra 5-700k over their careers.

Just watching footage of Cowboy Neale and how we won our one and only premiership after 69 years of trying and how old the 66 players are now.
It reinforces to me the need for us to be absolutely ******* ruthless in all we do.
Not sure most of us have another 69 years….

So they better hurry up

This exactly.

I spoke about it in the post match thread but for the final I was sitting next to an elderly couple who said this could be the last time they see a finals game so they had to drag themselves to watch it.

It was cold as shit and raining and they sat through it.

Really broke my heart. Hope we get some success for them and all the other people who have stuck around for ages.

Remove the floor.

Clubs get whatever it is, call it $15m, and spend it as they see fit.

If they spend $10m on players and $5m getting rid of debt or paying coaches then so be it.

Edit: And McKay is leaving because he's sick of losing. He's hitting the prime of his career and is still at the start of a rebuild with North.
Hope he doesn't go to Essendon then...

Not sure what point you're trying to make, but assume you'd be happy if we give fremantle a 1st, 2nd, 3rd & 4th rounder for Henry but then throw in Byrnes as a sweetener?

Acres was a slow burn 2019 was a poor year hampered by playing in the ruck, but he'd played some pretty elite games in his time with us.
2016 rd 22 26 disposals, 8 marks, 7 tackles
2017 rd 7 23 disposals, 8 marks, 3 tackles, 2 goals
2017 rd 20 30 disposals, 5 marks, 6 tackles, 1 goal
2017 rd 22 30 disposals, 4 marks, 3 tackles, 1 goal
2018 rd 1 30 disposals, 9 marks, 4 tackles, 1 goal

Byrnes is going okay, but we haven't seen anything remotely like these games yet. Good athlete, meat and potatoes… decent utility.

BTW It's not having a sook 5 years later, it was absolutely said at the time. Probably prefer Serong & Acres (plus 3 picks) in the side than Wood & Hill personally. We're still talking about it now because that trade has set us back years, we paid absurd overs to look like a destination club.

The point I am making is that quite simple - Acres was an overpaid underperformer at St Kilda who would have been getting $500k+ in 2019 to play at Sandy.

I'm happy that he's eventually decided to pull his finger out and make use of his natural talents but I'm also fully aware that its taken 3 clubs, 4 coaches and 9 years to get to that stage.

As to his real worth - well Freo offered him $180k at the end of 2022 before he jumped at Carltons offer of $300K+.

I think that says it all.

Yep, 100% should have drafted the year before. It was hubris when we were in hurry to get players in and develop them. Florrent and Simpkin both apparently on our radar that year. Simpkin is no star but he's a lot closer than either of our guys so far. Club captain so he's got leadership qualities too. It was in our era of having to look like we "won" trade periods because we couldn't do it on field.

We got a second and a late second for postponing our first. Seemed like a good deal on the surface.

We drafted Ben Long and Josh Battle with the two Hawks picks. Long giving us the Hotton pick last year.

If Coff and Hotton come good i'll call it a win.

So they better hurry up
2035 is 12 years away,that sounds a bit better,im budgeting for 2042(living till that is,but 69 years = flag in 2035

The point I am making is that quite simple - Acres was an overpaid underperformer at St Kilda who would have been getting $500k+ in 2019 to play at Sandy.

I'm happy that he's eventually decided to pull his finger out and make use of his natural talents but I'm also fully aware that its taken 3 clubs, 4 coaches and 9 years to get to that stage.

As to his real worth - well Freo offered him $180k at the end of 2022 before he jumped at Carltons offer of $300K+.

I think that says it all.
Yep he was never the Key Forward / Second Ruck that the great developer Richo dreamed of…

The salary and contract balls ups are not the players fault.

He was developing and performing pretty well when played in the right position.

Fremantle completely shat the bed last trade period trying to remedy a salary cap disaster… a team on the cusp of challenging suddenly finishing 14th.

That old chestnut.

"Acres confided in those close to him that he had no choice but to explore the Dockers option but was deeply hurt by St Kilda’s manoeuvre, which will take him away from close friends and a club which has been his home for six years. He is said to feel as if the club backed him into a corner, but is also pragmatic about the opportunities a fresh start will bring."

"I was pretty settled in Melbourne at the time, but for footy and my professional career it was a really good fit for me. To be able to play the position I wanted to play in for my entire career and not get moved around and play the ruck, and a deep forward role at times and play consistent minutes on the ground [was appealing]."
[emoji817]

Now imagine how he felt when the dockers said they were only prepared to offer him 150k a year at the end of 2022.

The rumours around the traps was that he wanted to go back to WA. I'm starting to see this as more rumour than fact.

This was another one of James Gallaghers trades, he's been moved on and from his Linkedin account it seems as though he is no longer involved in AFL or football in general.

I'm really happy for Blake.
This is not true he was very happy in Melbourne. He wasn’t devastated to have to go back bc his family and friends were there but he certainly didn’t suggest/ask for it. In fact he was totally in shock about the trade - last minute as it was.

Yep, 100% should have drafted the year before. It was hubris when we were in hurry to get players in and develop them. Florrent and Simpkin both apparently on our radar that year. Simpkin is no star but he's a lot closer than either of our guys so far. Club captain so he's got leadership qualities too. It was in our era of having to look like we "won" trade periods because we couldn't do it on field.
Also traded out of 2017 for Austin then bought another one off Port for Clav. Though Battle is still going and Long went for Hotton. Still an awful return

This retrospective look at acres and pining is weird.

He just wasn’t that good with us.
He had one moment where he ran through the middle of the ground against Freo and people have been waiting, no, expecting that he's capable of that every time he gets the ball and they won't let go.

Reality is he's still not the smartest footballer in the world. Yes he kicked the winning goal the other night, but he should have gone back, run 30 seconds off the clock and then kicked it, instead he left a minute on the clock and gave Melbs the opportunity to kick a leveller, lucky they didn't take it.

He still loves to hit up a long pass to a spectator in the crowd multiple times a game and I still think Wood's last couple of seasons have been better than Acres - I'd love to some peoples FB history looking up old girlfriends and kicking themselves over that one that got away, or perhaps ran away?

I don’t mind what they’re doing with Gresham because put simply he’s driving this as a restricted free agent we’re just trying to play it smart. There’s no way he’s worth the sort of contract that will get us a first round compo pick to us and we can match if we think the compensation is insufficient. Howard may well be on the table but he’s also contracted so again I’d imagine that the club is thinking blow our socks off or jog on.

So potentially we wind up with two extra first round picks which would catapult our rebuild or we hold one or both and hope they have better years. The real risk imo is doing nothing and winding up with another decade of being a 14 - 8 team, nether really in contention and never with those top few picks that provide access to the game changers.

Good sides do it all well, draft, trade and picking over bargains. I‘ve loved our drafting the last two years, I really rate rtb and he rates the team he’s assembled so I’m backing them in this year no matter who winds up staying or going.

If Gresham wants to leave we have the option of matching and keeping him. If he wants star money and pushes band one it's obviously a calculated gamble and probably pushing towards letting him go.

If you get a second round pick back and his wage is under $750k you have to wonder if we'd be better off keeping him. I doubt the pick we get back gets a player as good back in weak draft.

He's still young and has his best footy ahead of him and if we were to go to market and find the equivalent player he's probably costing more. There is always a benefit in keeping your better players over losing them regardless. It takes time and energy to find players and banking some saves you time and money. We struggle to attract free agents ourselves as well.

It sounds like we are hoping to get in on the cap space trading scheme where clubs with tight caps dump their junk on you and give you a pick back to take-on their debt. Geelong was in the right place at the right time with a very poorly run club offering silly deals. I can't see too many more of those types of trades happening again.

If we end up with a spud on high wages and a second round pick it seems like a walk down another road that is distracting us from the real work that needs doing.

Lol

The final result...​

Starting hand: Picks No. 6, 59, 76 and 82
Final hand: Pick No. 51 (Ryan Byrnes) and 82 (Leo Connolly, readjusted to pick No. 64)
Acquisitions: Dougal Howard, Paddy Ryder, Bradley Hill, Zak Jones, Dan Butler, Ryan Abbott (delisted free agent), Ryan Byrnes (National Draft), Leo Connolly (National Draft), Jack Bell (Rookie Draft)
Departures: Jack Steven, Blake Acres, Josh Bruce, Jack Newnes (delisted free agent)
Looks bad till you remember Stuv was cooked, GOAT was meh, Jill was super meh and Bruce was a dickhead.

That old chestnut.

Yeah, I think we broke his heart. He plays his best footy against us since. I think he might hate us now.

It reinforces to me the need for us to be absolutely ******* ruthless in all we do.

We have been ruthlessly stupid is part of the problem. It's not been lacking in ruthless, it's lacking in plan and direction.