Inj: Murray

Jones Butts Worrell
Curtin Keane Michalanney
Milera Dawson Hinge
Rachele Walker Pedlar
Rankine Fogarty Thilthorpe

ROB Laird Soligo

Keays Gollant/Murphy Nankervis Smith
Perfect. Jones definately in defense if he makes the team and Hinge on the wing is his best spot, maybe even some midfield. Unfortunately I think the coaches will find a way to put Crouch or Sloane in but would love it if they have the courage to pick this side.

Crows players under 25 team (30 players)

F. Gollant. Worrell Rankine
Hf. Schoenberg Fogarty Soligo
C. Nankervis Berry. Cook
Hb. Hamill. Murray Jones
B. Curtin. Butts. michalanney
R. Thilthorpe Pedlar Rachele
I. Bond Keane Parnell Murphy Dowling Sholl mbhenry Taylor
Borlase Ryan Edwards
Nice side.

B: Michalanney, Butts, Nankervis
HB: Cook, Worrell, Curtin
C: Taylor, Pedlar, Jones
HF: Schoenberg, Murray, Murphy
F: Rankine, Fogarty, Gollant
R: Thilthorpe, Soligo, Rachele
I: Keane, Berry, Sholl, Edwards
Sub: McHenry
E (from): Dowling, Ryan, Parnell, Hamill, Borlase, Bond

On talent I'll go

B. Michalanney Murray Worrell
HB. Ryan Keane Nankervis
C. Soligo Pedlar Jones
R. Butts Rachele Curtin
HF. Taylor Thilthorpe Edwards
FF. Rankine Fogarty Gollant
B. Berry Cook Schoenberg Dowling
Em. Chook raffle
Yeah, that's about right... but reckon Murray is a better ruck option than Butts as has played there...

Just a normal all-ages side. I’ll have a go.

F: Thilthorpe Fogarty Rankine
HF: Rachele Walker Keays
C: Hinge Dawson Smith
HB: Milera Worrell Curtin
B: Michalanney Butts Jones
R: O’Brien Pedlar Laird
I: Crouch Soligo Nankervis Taylor

Reserves

F: Bond Himmelberg Sloane
HF: Murphy Gollant Welsh
C: Sholl Berry Cook
HB: Ryan Keane Parnell
B: Burgess Borlase Hamill
R: Strachan Dowling Edwards
I for Injured: Schoenberg Murray

Just a normal all-ages side. I’ll have a go.

F: Thilthorpe Fogarty Rankine
HF: Rachele Walker Keays
C: Hinge Dawson Smith
HB: Milera Worrell Curtin
B: Michalanney Butts Jones
R: O’Brien Pedlar Laird
I: Crouch Soligo Nankervis Taylor

Reserves

F: Bond Himmelberg Sloane
HF: Murphy Gollant Edwards
C: Sholl Berry Cook
HB: Ryan Keane Parnell
B: Burgess Borlase Hamill
R: Strachan Dowling Taylor
I for Injured: Schoenberg Murray

You named Taylor twice but otherwise just about spot on, although I think Burgess will surprise many and will get an early opportunity.

Oops. I'm that keen to see him in action. Still front of mind is his handball to Pedlar, who then launched a goal from 70m, in that SANFL Final in 2022.

Reckon he’ll play alongside all of Butts/Keane/Worrell to start off with, a bit like how the Cats have gone with a Kolo/SDK/Henry/Stewart structure at times

Allows Curtin to play loose a lot of the time, intercept where necessary, and provide attack out of the defensive 50

Hopefully pushes up the ground over time, of course
Agree but gave me a smile at the same time.
That Cats backline has about 10,000 games of experience compared to ours.

MM. Butts Curtin
Milera. Worrell Nank
jones crouch. Hinge
pedlar. TT. Fog
Rach. Tex. Rankine

Rob Dawson Laird
Soligo Keane smith Gollant
sub keayes

bloody premiership side😜 would love to have Murray available would love to get Taylor in but he’ll have to wait his turn

Worrell Butts Michelanney
Hinge Keane Milera
Soligo Crouch Jones
Keays Thilthorpe Pedlar
Fogarty Walker Rankine
O'Brien Dawson Laird

Rachele Dowling Nankervis Curtin

Squad appears deep enough to keep them fresh/hungry.
Top four finish has to be the minimum target.

MM Butts Worrell
Milera Keane Curtin
Soligo Crouch Hinge
Rachele Walker Keays
Rankine TT Fog
O’Brien Dawson Pedlar
Int: Nank/Taylor Berry Cook Laird
Sub: Nank/Taylor

Current best 23 prediction (to be played round one)

B: Josh Worrell (17 games) - Jordon Butts (60 games) - Max Michalanney (22 games)
HB: Mitch Hinge (43 games) - Mark Keane (10 games) - Daniel Curtin (0 games)
C: Chayce Jones (76 games) - Jordan Dawson (109 games) - Jake Soligo (37 games)
HF: Lachlan Murphy (98 games) - Taylor Walker (260 games) - Luke Pedlar (26 games)
F: Izak Rankine (68 games) - Darcy Fogarty (79 games) - Josh Rachele (34 games)
R: Reilly O'Brien (110 games) - Rory Laird (224 games) - Matt Crouch (143 games)
I: Ben Keays (113 games) - Riley Thilthorpe (46 games) - Brodie Smith (247 games) - Wayne Milera (96 games) - Rory Sloane (255 games)

E: Kieran Strachan (10 games) - Ned McHenry (60 games) - Sam Berry (39 games)

Couple of points
  • I was here in the like for like thread about 12 months ago about Murphy. I think there's a spot for a role like his in every team and that's why he continues to play most weeks. Has good endeavour and gets his hands dirty. Team first player. These players aren't the prettiest and I think supporters can have a tough time getting around them. Looking in as a supporter of another club though, I like what he adds.
  • Sloane is an experienced placeholder until Edwards, Dowling or Berry can nab the spot off him. I agree with you all in that I wouldn't want to see him regularly unless he turns back the clock. I do think he starts the year though.
  • want to see Keays play almost exclusively as a forward with Pedlar picking up his midfield minutes. A potent goal kicker and two way runner, Keays can really pressure defenders into turnovers and force more scores. I rate him.

B: Josh Worrell (17 games) - Jordon Butts (60 games) - Max Michalanney (22 games)
HF: Lachlan Murphy (98 games) - Taylor Walker (260 games) - Luke Pedlar (26 games)
R: Reilly O'Brien (110 games) - Rory Laird (224 games) - Matt Crouch (143 games)
I: Ben Keays (113 games) - Riley Thilthorpe (46 games) - Brodie Smith (247 games) - Wayne Milera (96 games) - Rory Sloane (255 games)

Couple of points
  • I was here in the like for like thread about 12 months ago about Murphy. I think there's a spot for a role like his in every team and that's why he continues to play most weeks. Has good endeavour and gets his hands dirty. Team first player. These players aren't the prettiest and I think supporters can have a tough time getting around them. Looking in as a supporter of another club though, I like what he adds.
  • Sloane is an experienced placeholder until Edwards, Dowling or Berry can nab the spot off him. I agree with you all in that I wouldn't want to see him regularly unless he turns back the clock. I do think he starts the year though.
  • want to see Keays play almost exclusively as a forward with Pedlar picking up his midfield minutes. A potent goal kicker and two way runner, Keays can really pressure defenders into turnovers and force more scores. I rate him.
As a Collingwood supporter.. its really no surprise you like L. Murphy!..

he got a massive 7 possessions against you guys in that game we played you at the MCG this year.. including this absolutely enormous last quarter…

IMG_0284.jpeg

yep.. can see he really got his “hands dirty” that day.. he was probably the difference for the Pies that day.. 2 point loss with the game on the line and he, as a senior player, didn't even get a fxxkn touch in that last 1/4.
But alas, it was the umpires fault we lost right?…

then there was Round 7 in Adelaide against your Pies this year..

12 possessions from the murph that day, including a huuuuge biggly 3 possession last quarter in that 1 point crows loss.. helped the pies immensely that day!

as a forward he doesnt hit the scoreboard. As a mid he barely gets any touches..

but wait.. he applies ”defensive pressure in the forward line” you can hear his fan club squeal!!..

ah, no, thats not exactly true either.. he usually gets outdone on that front by the rest of the small forwards in our forward line.

Yep.. I can see why a Pies supporter rates him!

As a Collingwood supporter.. its really no surprise you like L. Murphy!..

he got a massive 7 possessions against you guys in that game we played you at the MCG this year.. including this absolutely enormous last quarter…

View attachment 1864751

yep.. can see he really got his “hands dirty” that day.. he was probably the difference for the Pies that day.. 2 point loss with the game on the line and he, as a senior player, didn't even get a fxxkn touch in that last 1/4.
But alas, it was the umpires fault we lost right?…

then there was Round 7 in Adelaide against your Pies this year..

12 possessions from the murph that day, including a huuuuge biggly 3 possession last quarter in that 1 point crows loss.. helped the pies immensely that day!

as a forward he doesnt hit the scoreboard. As a mid he barely gets any touches..

but wait.. he applies ”defensive pressure in the forward line” you can hear his fan club squeal!!..

ah, no, thats not exactly true either.. he usually gets outdone on that front by the rest of the small forwards in our forward line.

Yep.. I can see why a Pies supporter rates him!
He plays a dirty role that doesn’t reward every week. Every good side has a forward that knows their limitations, and they make the natural forwards - Rankine, Rachele etc. - better for it. His pressure is strong, he can find the footy, and he can kick a goal more often than not. He has a role in most sides in the comp. Can play. Would happily take him at the Pies if McCreery didn't play the same role.

Think you're missing Nankervis.

But everything you are claiming is simply untrue.

He gets fxxk all of the footy.

He kicks fxxk all goals as a small forward.
12 in 2023
9 in 2022
9 in 2021
7 in 2020.

Gee.. atleast hes gradually hitting the scoreboard more each year I suppose!

Thats an utterly deplorable return.

He provides the least amount of forward pressure when compared with guys like rankine, keays, mcadam (whos no longer there) rachele and pedlar..

He, for a senior player, goes MIA for quarters, even whole games, at a time.

Its all just smoke and mirror bs that his fan club like to spin to explain their love for the bloke.

His limitations extend to every facet of his game.

I would swap him for McCreery in a fxxkn heartbeat..

Nice side.

B: Michalanney, Butts, Nankervis
HB: Cook, Worrell, Curtin
C: Taylor, Pedlar, Jones
HF: Schoenberg, Murray, Murphy
F: Rankine, Fogarty, Gollant
R: Thilthorpe, Soligo, Rachele
I: Keane, Berry, Sholl, Edwards
E (from): Dowling, Ryan, Parnell, Hamill, Borlase, Bond
Where's Sloane? You know he'll be there.

You are welcome to him.

Pedlar, Rachele, Rankine all not only can hurt the opposition but also apply pressure. Murphy does neither.

You are welcome to him.

Pedlar, Rachele, Rankine all not only can hurt the opposition but also apply pressure. Murphy does neither.
Rankine/Murphy/Rachele all average a similar amount of pressure acts (all about average for a forward). Rankine probably the most effective of the bunch due to his closing speed

Pedlar’s actually the worst of the lot by quite a way, but obviously offers a lot more on the offensive end compared to a Murphy type

Rankine/Murphy/Rachele all average a similar amount of pressure acts (all about average for a forward). Rankine probably the most effective of the bunch due to his closing speed

Pedlar’s actually the worst of the lot by quite a way, but obviously offers a lot more on the offensive end compared to a Murphy type
Yes..

But the Murphy fan club love to trumpet the falacy that Murph is there “playing a certain role”.. and that role is, according to them, to apply a heap of forward pressure..

This is clearly bullshit because he provides equal to or less than the blokes around him in that forward line.

So why is he still there?…

we should be immediately looking to replace him with a lad that not only provides equal or more pressure as Murphy does but also does what a forward should do first and foremost..

kick fxxkn goals.

You want to apply pressure to oppostion teams and opposition defenders then the best way to do that is to kick plenty of goals.

There’s literally zero need to apply pressure in your forward line if you, and every one of you forward line team mates, is first to the ball and peppering the goals with it everytime it goes inside your forward 50!

Having a useless hack like Murphy in there does one thing… it allows opposition defensive lines an out..

Cause he barely kicks goals and barely ever gets his hands on it.. it gives his direct opponent a heap of confidence to leave his man and go help double team one of the oppositions better forwards.

Making someone like Rankine or Rachele or pedlars life just that bit more difficult.

Yes..

But the Murphy fan club love to trumpet the falacy that Murph is there “playing a certain role”.. and that role is, according to them, to apply a heap of forward pressure..

This is clearly bullshit because he provides equal to or less than the blokes around him in that forward line.

So why is he still there?…

we should be immediately looking to replace him with a lad that not only provides equal or more pressure as Murphy does but also does what a forward should do first and foremost..

kick fxxkn goals.

You want to apply pressure to oppostion teams and opposition defenders then the best way to do that is to kick plenty of goals.

There’s literally zero need to apply pressure in your forward line if you, and every one of you forward line team mates, is first to the ball and peppering the goals with it everytime it goes inside your forward 50!

Having a useless hack like Murphy in there does one thing… it allows opposition defensive lines an out..

Cause he barely kicks goals and barely ever gets his hands on it.. it gives his direct opponent a heap of confidence to leave his man and go help double team one of the oppositions better forwards.

Making someone like Rankine or Rachele or pedlars life just that bit more difficult.
Regarding the bolded - there’s only so many goals to go around, it’s important to have players in your forward line who (as a collective) offer a wide range of skills. Murphy’s the weakest of our forwards at present, but he still provides neat enough skills, quality stoppage work and seems to know how to get involved in scoring chains

I think there’s many ways our side can, and should, be improved by replacing him (ie athletic medium marking forward, which I think is a must-get in the next 12 months), but unlike a ROB or Sloane, I don’t think he’s providing a net negative presence in our side

Also - being first to the ball 100% of the time in the forward line just isn’t going to happen - absolutely never, so there’s always a need for some kind of forward pressure

Couple of points
Sloane won't be in the middle. I doubt he makes the side.

He’ll be given every single opportunity to make the 22..

Including a massive leg up from the “experience and continuity” selection policy of the club.

You’d have your house on him in the R1 22 rather than him not.

Opinion 2024 Round 1 Team