List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

Interested to know what we are giving up
Dodson, Wilson and windy are more important than getting aleer
Of course - keen for a stimulating discussion here instead of baseless statements.

It shouldn't be any more than around a second round pick, in my view. Third round would be excellent value.

Saints have shown they aren't afraid to walk away from deals previously.

I'm confident that we won't get screwed as I don't believe we will allow it.

Make your own 23 now and see how many you have left out if we land TDK Ryan and Aleer.

Only area we have no cover for is King.

That’s a Geelong problem. Not a stkilda one
Sorry that's not my thing , 1 - I don't have time as some of us have to work 2- Who knows who will be on the list end of the year , 3 - Blokes who have been average the previous year can jump out of the ground AKA Hall , 4 - So many things can change between now and then, 5- best of all Cant be F cked.

Oh , Two things , very slow backline and Pou is not a HBF , He is a see ball get ball kid , needs to be played as a mid or i think he will go missing in games

I reckon he's ready to catch fire. Surely we find a compromise.
Can't help but agree with this. Has steadily improved year-on-year and is the third highest rated midfielder on our list this year - after Macrae and Steele who are closer to the end than the beginning. Can't do a lot if North can offer him significantly more money than us though...

To this I say
1. I did not feel great when the AFL paid for Lockett to Sydney. Lockett told Stan Alves he did not want to go but the money was too good.
2. I did not like Barry Hall getting AFL money to be poached
3. I did not like it when the AFL blocked Ben Kimg from coming with money outside the SC for the nepo's
4. I don't like it when we have been in the bottom half for 15 years and top 8 and top 4 clubs get free generational FS based on an arbitrary formula that precludes 5 current potential St.Kilda FS who are playing for other clubs
5. I don't like it that we are not able to take top ten NGA's but 4 other clubs can and do.
6. I don't feel great when our club does the only thing available to it, to improve, bank SC, and when we use it, it is used against us to try to destabilise the club by moron nuffies in the media.
Karma, you may be right, but not in the way you think.
Well said

We all know Carlton have a sorded history of arrogance and corruption, but how would we feel if we lost the best ruckman we have had in sometime. I strongly believe in karma in footy and things like this have an odd way of coming back and smacking you in the face. So let’s be the bigger group and not rub it in their faces.
This stuff doesn’t work. I spent an entire off season doing nothing but wishing good luck and well wishes to Geelong, and in particular wishing nothing but good health (and safe farm work) to Tom Hawkins and it made zero difference to our on field performance unfortunately.

Why’s that? Both are similar value trade wise and if Geelong want to push for Marshall then they can pay up with something equal or more than he is worth
5 years different in age is enough, no way its a straight swap

If the Kangas are offering five years on decent money that would probably elevate his value nearer to a late first than an early to mid second, in my view.

Would be roughly in that area.
I think footy fans in general have this one a bit backwards.

If clubs come offering decent money to players (not counting genuine stars of the game) it often makes it a bit easier to chisel them out.

If Windy was being offered a little bit more, we can play hardball and if we hold him at the club both player and club can move on. If it's significantly more he's likely to dig his heels in and make clear he is out the door one way or the other.

North don't have a late first and they won't work to get one. It's #21 (at best!) or bust.

Of course - keen for a stimulating discussion here instead of baseless statements.

It shouldn't be any more than around a second round pick, in my view. Third round would be excellent value.

Saints have shown they aren't afraid to walk away from deals previously.

I'm confident that we won't get screwed as I don't believe we will allow it.
I agree future 2nd
Pick 9 I believe we need another key forward Marsh?
Fincher
2025 draft and trading
Key back aleer
Key forward marsh
ruck tdk
Mid fincher

West coast are delusional for what they want for Ryan
Most delusional fans in the country

I don’t really understand why we won’t give Windhager a longer deal. I don’t mind Ryan Byrnes as much as others, he’s been on the list for ages. Windhager for 4 years seems a no brainer, to me.

I can’t see a world where he gets 18 months in the seniors and is too shit to play senior footy after that

Hi all I Come in peace.

Firstly congrats on signing nas genuinely stoked for you all. Secondly what’s windhagers trade value IF he decided to request a trade elsewhere?
If you want to think relatively objectively

Band 1 compo for free agents is 900k/year over 5 years - so that puts it in the 1-18 range. Since that's the lowest tier of band 1, we'll say pick 18

Your offer to Windy is around 700k/year over 5 years (I think? Correct me if I'm wrong), but Windy is still 4 years younger than the minimum free agency age so he's still that developing player that is yet to reach high-paying levels. Kind of evens out imo but depends how you guys see it

Based off that, I'd say it'd have to be at least pick 20 (RICH early second) + a bit more

I don’t really understand why we won’t give Windhager a longer deal. I don’t mind Ryan Byrnes as much as others, he’s been on the list for ages. Windhager for 4 years seems a no brainer, to me.

I can’t see a world where he gets 18 months in the seniors and is too shit to play senior footy after that
I doubt its our choice to only offer him 2. I think he's the one that wants 2 because 2027 is when all our best players are OOC and Tassie start building their list so that inflates the market for more pay

It's just the money isn't enough for the next 2 years

I doubt its our choice to only offer him 2. I think he's the one that wants 2 because 2027 is when all our best players are OOC and Tassie start building their list so that inflates the market for more pay

It's just the money isn't enough for the next 2 years
Fair point. I just presumed it was the case given north offered 5

Hi all I Come in peace.

Firstly congrats on signing nas genuinely stoked for you all. Secondly what’s windhagers trade value IF he decided to request a trade elsewhere?
He's a dead-set gun.

Would be 2 x top ten picks, bare minimum........or player equivalents to top ten picks.....

And maybe a swap of some later picks to smooth it out.......in our favour of course.....

Fair point. I just presumed it was the case given north offered 5
I would say this is likely the big dilemma for him.

Does he sign on for less for two years at St Kilda and back himself for a pay day in 2027?

Or does he take the extra money now from North, get 5 years and see what happens?