List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Don't so sure.

All of the below are examples where players requested a trade and were denied and held to their contracts.
  • Rory Lobb - Contracted to Fremantle, requested trade back to GWS
  • Bobby Hill - Contracted to GWS, requested trade to Essendon
  • Josh Dunkley - Contracted to Western Bulldogs, requested trade to Essendon
  • Joe Daniher – Contracted to Essendon, requested trade to Sydney
  • Tom Papley – Contracted to Sydney, requested trade to Carlton
  • Tim Kelly – Contracted to Geelong, requested trade to West Coast.(got done the year after)
  • Bryce GibbsContracted to Carlton, requested trade to Adelaide. (got done the year after)
  • Cameron McCarthyContracted to GWS, requested trade to Fremantle. (got done the year after as he sat out entire 2016 season)
These are the ones I can think of but there are more.
I see 2 of them involve SOS either not ponying up more for a trade or not taking less than they believe

Twomey made me laugh on SEN this morning.

- Wilkie, Dogs are making him think. They shot their shot the moment they lost JSoS. Saints won’t want to lose him.

And then straight into Merrett

- No Essendon won’t lose him. None story.

😂 How are they any different?!?

Twomey made me laugh on SEN this morning.

- Wilkie, Dogs are making him think. They shot their shot the moment they lost JSoS. Saints won’t want to lose him.

And then straight into Merrett

- No Essendon won’t lose him. None story.

😂 How are they any different?!?
Guess which club he supports :tearsofjoy:

Obviously. Clubs should advocate for themselves.

I personally believe if Geelong wanted to host their finals in Geelong, they should have every right too. I feel as strongly about this as any issue in footy. I think anyone who disagrees is a moron.

Don't expect to see other clubs advocating for them though.
I can see several arguments for and against.

I have no problem with interstate teams playing finals at Geelong. I think you’d run into a problem if it was Collingwood and you’re potentially locking out 60,000 fans, GMHBA 40,000 ? MCG 100,000.

The AFL use crowd numbers to justify all sorts of things. I’d feel aggrieved if I was a Geelong supporter and all of a sudden a home final ended up at the oppositions home ground but when has the afl been fair.

Something which gets disregarded in this conversation is the workrate of players before they get that set shot.

Look at Plugger. Dead eye. No chance in hell that he'd be maniacally chasing defenders to apply pressure. Look at Gehrig - kicked 100 back when the full forward didn't have to leave the goal square except to lead. Meanwhile Roo was making repeat 100m leads and got flack for spraying them more.

Sharman did far more running than he ever had in a previous season, and I think that impacted his set shot accuracy.

Owens is a genuine concern though because his technique is poor. He could be chilling with no opponent all game and he'd still be a 50/50 prospect from 35m out directly in front.
Whoever talked Owens into the pole up the butt approach needs a slap imo.

Guy looks like a cat in clothes, sometimes with a unique action you’re better off going with what feels natural. Yeah sure work on ball drop etc and practice but what really matters is it being repeatable.

He’s never going to be a sharpshooter but if he can nail the gaols he should kick then I’ll be happy.

Talking about fatigue I think Wilson is a prime example of that. He has a great leap and is quite a good kick but try both running end to end at pace all game.

It's just funny how he doesnt even try to hide it.
I think the thing that constantly stumps me, is:

A) How easy people think it is to lure players from us

And

B) How cheap it will be to do so. Even after Ross goes on Agenda setters and when talking about NWM he mentions how difficult Gubby sos and himself are to deal with. Which would also extend to Wilkie.

Not to ride you too hard, but how is it a life changing offer?

I’m sure he is being compensated very well before even taking in additional payments to do with leadership, media and KPI rewards.

Do you know his current remuneration? Or what the dogs are actually going to pay him, beside from media speculation?

Does 100k difference really change your life when you’re already earning vastly more than the lay person? Cal’s an accountant, I’m sure if there’s one thing he’s across aside from the oppo forward, it’s his finances. But you can’t take for granted the other non-monetary values he places on being at the saints.
Of course its life changing , and no i don't know what he is on now so yes i am just reading the media speculation just like you and everyone else does that's unless you are an ITK and actually know what the offer is and what he is on now
If he was on 800 now and is offered 1.1 (Yes mate I'm guessing) That's an extra 1.2 over 4 years , i would call that a fair amount wouldn't you ?

You basically asked me how i know what he is on and what the offer is then proceed to say its 100k difference, LOL
Just because you have such a connection to the club it doesn't mean every player bleeds red white and black like a lot on here after all it is a Job , they are not fans.

Some of the biggest names in the game have changed clubs over the years for money so please don't give me the old he has mates , ect ect at the club
Thanks for reminding me that Cal is an accountant , i did hint at that , anyway its not going to happen.

Of course its life changing , and no i don't know what he is on now so yes i am just reading the media speculation just like you and everyone else does that's unless you are an ITK and actually know what the offer is and what he is on now
If he was on 800 now and is offered 1.1 (Yes mate I'm guessing) That's an extra 1.2 over 4 years , i would call that a fair amount wouldn't you ?

You basically asked me how i know what he is on and what the offer is then proceed to say its 100k difference, LOL
Just because you have such a connection to the club it doesn't mean every player bleeds red white and black like a lot on here after all it is a Job , they are not fans.

Some of the biggest names in the game have changed clubs over the years for money so please don't give me the old he has mates , ect ect at the club
Thanks for reminding me that Cal is an accountant , i did hint at that , anyway its not going to happen.
On the 100k difference in salary thing...

Why does this not appear to be applicable to Geelong players?

Wilkie in talks with the club on an extension. Manager being a pos and using Bulldogs offer as leverage.

You cant castigate Wilkie's manager, when NWM's manager just eeked out a 2M per year contract using the same tactics. I thought it was interesting Nas decided to stay a month before he signed, yet his manager played SOS and we kept upping the offer.

Wilkie is not an unreasonable individual but the club need to pay him what he is due. If the club thought they could pay some individuals well over market value and not expect others to want their slice of the pie, then they would be mistaken.

So
Saints stir the pot with regards fs and academy rorts.
Then take aim at the nepo babies.
Then change the amount gun players are worth and go hard at the draft upsetting all the other clubs.
Then
With under a weeks planning the dogs come out of the blue and make a significant offer to one of our best contracted players, Wilkie.
Next
Wilkie wants out but we hold him due to contractual obligations and he is disgruntled. Wilkie becomes toxic which spreads through the group causing a mass exodus next year.
Conspiracy Theory
We’ve upset the hierarchy big time and the afl and other clubs have colluded to shut down the brash Saints. Dogs being used by big clubs and afl. Wait and see for their payoff.

You cant castigate Wilkie's manager, when NWM's manager just eeked out a 2M per year contract using the same tactics. I thought it was interesting Nas decided to stay a month before he signed, yet his manager played SOS and we kept upping the offer.

Wilkie is not an unreasonable individual but the club need to pay him what he is due. If the club thought they could pay some individuals well over market value and not expect others to want their slice of the pie, then they would be mistaken.
No offence mate but you think everyone should be paid what they are due.

Facts are that you want to build a list that gives Wilkie & Sincs a chance of a flag. Everyone is taking a haircut on what they can get on the open market.

I can see several arguments for and against.

I have no problem with interstate teams playing finals at Geelong. I think you’d run into a problem if it was Collingwood and you’re potentially locking out 60,000 fans, GMHBA 40,000 ? MCG 100,000.

The AFL use crowd numbers to justify all sorts of things. I’d feel aggrieved if I was a Geelong supporter and all of a sudden a home final ended up at the oppositions home ground but when has the afl been fair.
Which is why no team should have the mcg as their home ground.

Obviously. Clubs should advocate for themselves.

I personally believe if Geelong wanted to host their finals in Geelong, they should have every right too. I feel as strongly about this as any issue in footy. I think anyone who disagrees is a moron.

Don't expect to see other clubs advocating for them though.
It’s either a home ground, or it isn’t.

I get it for the Grand Final, but everything else should be fair game

So
Saints stir the pot with regards fs and academy rorts.
Then take aim at the nepo babies.
Then change the amount gun players are worth and go hard at the draft upsetting all the other clubs.
Then
With under a weeks planning the dogs come out of the blue and make a significant offer to one of our best contracted players, Wilkie.
Next
Wilkie wants out but we hold him due to contractual obligations and he is disgruntled. Wilkie becomes toxic which spreads through the group causing a mass exodus next year.
Conspiracy Theory
We’ve upset the hierarchy big time and the afl and other clubs have colluded to shut down the brash Saints. Dogs being used by big clubs and afl. Wait and see for their payoff.
They all become sovereign citizens and live in the hills and start a footy competition and win the flag in that competition in 2028 and everybody is happy but all eventually die of measles.

I do agree that JSOS body is a concern but sometimes a player needs a new environment (and probably some nice farm land while wearing Cotton On sports active gear) to get their body right, like Jack Martin did at Geelong.

Thanks for reminding me that Cal is an accountant , i did hint at that , anyway it’s not going to happen.

… I HIGHLY doubt the difference in what he will earn at the saints, and what he will earn at the dogs will be life changing.

Hmm I could get behind this.

Every Melbourne club splits their home games between the G and Marvel
This would make a world of difference.

Unfortunately it really just comes down to the haves having more power than the have nots.

The MCG tenants would rain hellfire if this was to happen. The afl would need to put equity over profit, and the big clubs get bigger and on it rolls.