List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Wilson might have deserved to be dropped, but probably not before Byrnes & Jones.

And why make up some dumb story about Darcy really wanting to play VFL to find form, it's just deflecting the fact that we were blaming and dropping kids for our poor form while we kept playing mature shit-trucks.

100% on Nas, we should have made him an offer far too good to refuse 12-18 months ago. We had the money, he was already a gun but SOS & Gubby were too busy giving each other golden showers.

Regardless of anyone else, Darcy deserved to be dropped.

I feel like we're heading towards having to pander to players to a ridiculous level.

Give me Hugo Garcia all day every day.

Somewhere in these player/player manager/club negotiations they need to be signed up to a complete confidentiality contract. Playing these things played out in the media is rubbish.

Having our offer to TDK in the public for so long has really hurt us and is obviously making it tough with subsequent deals. Yeah we have plenty of salary cap room but screaming it from the roof tops just excites the vultures.

If all else fails SOS needs to contact some of his Carlton marfioso contacts and get them to pay this Ben Williams a visit. ;)

it’s hilarious that there are people out there who think Jason Bourgoyne is a good source to quote when saying he hasn’t made his mind up.

Of course he’d say that to the media. It Nas confided in him that he’s leaving at the end of the year, Jason isn’t going to announce it to the media lol.

There’s nothing to gain from listening to what he said. It’s a throwaway line from the same book that gave us “training the house down”

Regardless of anyone else, Darcy deserved to be dropped.

I feel like we're heading towards having to pander to players to a ridiculous level.

Give me Hugo Garcia all day every day.
Compare Wilson to Garcia is night and day, yes Wilson maybe more outside, but his skills and decision making is not up to par currently to be playing in the first team. Maybe the bar is low with Hill consistently making mistakes but not being pulled up on it..

For something that's not meant to be about the money. It sure is turning into a shake down to extract every last penny.

The problem nas has is his contracts at Port and Adelaide are front loaded on long term deals. So although he's making alot up front. He's taking a massive pay cut at the back end when the cap goes up.

It makes more sense to get a big 2 year deal on the table then get port or Adelaide to increase their offers on the back end.

Wilson has some weapons but is the softest player in the team, including Hill.

He needs toughen up and learn to straightline the ball, not be so tentative.
I’m sure he has heaps to work on and I’m sure he’ll take your views on his hardness on board.

It’s on the coaches to get the most out of him, not make up stories about wanting to play at a lower level.

For something that's not meant to be about the money. It sure is turning into a shake down to extract every last penny.

The problem nas has is his contracts at Port and Adelaide are front loaded on long term deals. So although he's making alot up front. He's taking a massive pay cut at the back end when the cap goes up.

It makes more sense to get a big 2 year deal on the table then get port or Adelaide to increase their offers on the back end.
For Nas it isn't about the money

For his manager it is about the money

It's been the case for months

I hope you are correct, but you say it all like it is a fact.
NAZ has not said he wants to stay, we don't know what the manager is doing, nobody in the media know what is going on, none of his mates know either,see Jase Burgyone's presser when he resigned.
I admire your confidence and I understand your narrative is put together by what had been said and media reports by some, and by the obvious observation that we have $ to spend, but it is all speculation, until there is a definite, yay or nay, I and everyone else will be completely uninformed.
I really hope you are correct and he signs for at least 2 years and you can say I told you so.
Until then I will be sceptical about playing games/hardball with arguably the best player in the league.

Nas is not completely devoid of responsibility for "what his manager wants".
I’m going to ask you both one question.

IF money is so important.

Why is it supposedly going to cost us MORE to retain Nas and in LESS YEARS than what it will cost for him to go to an SA club?

Isn’t that statement backwards?

Whilst simultaneously the club had an agreement and then Ben Williams walked back the state of play within the last 3 weeks.

Doesn’t that statement point to a bigger issue at play?

You know that's not true.

Managers only do the bidding for their players. If the player wants the deal done on lesser terms the manager will make it happen.

If nas wants to stay the manager makes that happen.

Nas is clearly ok with his managers actions because he is ok with extracting a $ value for what he is worth.

He and is family are not idiots. They've seen what the AFL system is like. Theyre going to cash in whilst they can.

Could this team be more competitive next year?

ln Bold means either new players, new positions for existing players & developing players.

B. Wilkie Caminiti  Garcia

H.B. Hastie Aleer Sinclair

C. Travaglia Owens Wilson

H.F. Hall Sharman Butler

F. Tauru King Higgins

Foll. TDK NWM Windhager

l/C. Heath, Phillipou, Boxshall, Henry, Wood-sub

Have left out Hill, Macrae, Marshall & Steele to show if we could fill their positions immediately, think we can.

Managers only do the bidding for their players. If the player wants the deal done on lesser terms the manager will make it happen.

Nas is clearly ok with his managers actions because he is ok with extracting a $ value for what he is worth.

He and is family are not idiots. They've seen what the AFL system is like. Theyre going to cash in whilst they can.

Cash in on what ? He has been offered the same money everyone else is going to pay on a far longer deal.

He wants more money he can stay longer. This really is as simple as it gets.

Manager trying to fatten his commission.

I also really don’t subscribe to the notion that is isn’t about money. It might not be the main reason, but it absolutely is relevant the $$$. We need to pay up!

Cash in on what ? He has been offered the same money everyone else is going to pay on a far longer deal.

He wants more money he can stay longer. This really is as simple as it gets.

Manager trying to fatten his commission.
If all reports are correct, Ports and Crows deals are front ended with the first two years at 2m/year. We’ve offered around 1.4m/year on a 2 year contract. Would you be leaving 1.2m on the table?

Managers have a % commission

Could this team be more competitive next year?

ln Bold means either new players, new positions for existing players & developing players.

B. Wilkie Caminiti  Garcia

H.B. Hastie Aleer Sinclair

C. Travaglia Owens Wilson

H.F. Hall Sharman Butler

F. Tauru King Higgins

Foll. TDK NWM Windhager

l/C. Heath, Phillipou, Boxshall, Henry, Wood-sub

Have left out Hill, Macrae, Marshall & Steele to show if we could fill their positions immediately, think we can.
Garcia back pocket is genius

That may be, but he will be 28 in a month. So you can understand why we went younger in the draft. We went for Collard as a forward instead whom the jury is still very much out on(and then Hastie).

T\However the 4 year younger Max Hall is tracking pretty well for us, playing the same type of role. Our list rebuild looks to be aimed at us having peaking from say 2027 on. Hence also why TDK in now...

Could have taken him at the rookie or preseason/ mid season drafts too.

The other thing at play here is that Ben Williams, an SA-based manager with SA-based players, needs to keep on the good side of the Crows and Port.

He got JHF to Port and everyone's happy in his world, he couldn't care less if Nth Melb are pissed with him or upset with how the deal went down.

Nas has to be strong enough to make the call to stay, cause all the noise from his management will be to walk away.

Doesn’t a manager do what the client tells him to do?

The managers job is to extract the best possible deal he can for his client. It is no coincidence that his cut is a percentage of what his client's get otherwise where is the incentive.

The fact that Ben Williams is trying to milk all three clubs for every last cent is exactly what he should be doing. If he wasn't doing that NWM should fire him on the spot.

I’m going to ask you both one question.

IF money is so important.

Why is it supposedly going to cost us MORE to retain Nas and in LESS YEARS than what it will cost for him to go to an SA club?

Isn’t that statement backwards?

Whilst simultaneously the club had an agreement and then Ben Williams walked back the state of play within the last 3 weeks.

Doesn’t that statement point to a bigger issue at play?
I mean generally speaking longer term contract = less money per year (security for the player should mean less risk for the club). Thats traditionally been the way.

In Nas case its pretty strange.

I cant say it would make any sense to me that hed wanna stay with us for two years for LESS money than hed get going home, noting most clubs would happily take whatever duration he wants.

Everyone needs to stop speaking in absolutes on this "its not about the money" is stupid. Of course he wants to get paid. Conversely "its only about the money, just pay him" also seems dumb, he clearly has other factors in his decision making process.

If it turns out he leaves because were trying to short change him THEN go burn Linton Street to the ground, i for one dont think wed be stupid enough to do that.

According to expert AFL analyst, list manager and former superstar of the game… Josh Jenkins.
Yet another in a long conga line of media morons geezus why so many washed up hacks join media and all of a sudden are deemed “ex champs” you look at them

Jenkins - barely a player
Mooney - honest toiler
Dixon - battler
That ex Hawks/Melb flog who wears weird glasses (name escapes me) - lucky to have played in premiership teams …
Daisy - played what 1 great season ? Battler after that
I think there is a HUGE future for Byrnes, Dunstan, Billing’s after footy to be recycled as “champions”
A term thrown around way way too loosely