Wade Derksen - requests a trade to Melbourne
Liam Ryan - requests a trade to St Kilda
Leek Aleer - requests a trade to St Kilda
Campbell Chesser - requests a trade to Carlton
Will Brodie - requests a trade to Port Adelaide
Liam Reidy - requests a trade to Carlton
Sam Flanders - has requested a trade/explore options

Archer has been an underrated loss. He can run and he can hold his own in most situations, so he helps with the transition after turnovers. Hopefully we get a healthy year from him. But we can't count on it, which is why I'd be okay with Starcevich.

Comben focusing on defence and really improving could be big.

George looked like a weapon on the wing in his last game.

We need someone to claim CHF (Whitlock? Trembath? Maley? A trade target?) and we need a quick, pressuring, goal sneak who is a threat to kick 3+.
They'll definitely be trying to add to the defensive group, whether via trade or draft.

I'm not sure we'll be looking at small forwards this year with Harvey, Banch, Stevens and Payne on the list.
They'd probably want to give them some more time to develop, but we do need a quality one.
One option might be 174cm Talor Byrne, which the drafting smalls crew will have an issue with, but the kid puts on pressure and has kicked 4-5 goals twice for Vic Country and played a bit of mid as well in the CTL.
Next year there's 168cm Neocleous and a few other small/medium forwards from Gippsland that have hit the scoreboard and have some tricks that we could look at if we don't take one this year.

I would think we look more at those available out of the kpf/rucks (Schubert, Ludo, Emmett, Curtin, Ah-Mu, Hetherton etc.), mid/hbf/wings (Farrow, LeRay, Barker, Philipou, Onley etc.) and defenders (Dahlitz, Kondogiannis, Taylor etc.).

I don’t believe the upward trajectory has begun in earnest to be perfectly honest this season overall has been more of the same, clearly our list is woefully short in terms of depth sure we have had reasonable spells but we did that last year too. So many “best 22” types still go missing way to often.
You say that... but compared to last year it's pretty stark.

We're at 4.5 v 3 for starters and how many single point losses this year? 4? + a draw with last years Premiers and heaps of missed games from Larkey, Xerri, Wardlaw etc

Pound for pound, ~60% better.

You say that... but compared to last year it's pretty stark.

We're at 4.5 v 3 for starters and how many single point losses this year? 4? + a draw with last years Premiers and heaps of missed games from Larkey, Xerri, Wardlaw etc

Pound for pound, ~60% better.
Two of those wins were extremely lucky against two teams ranked worse than us we still have around 10 blokes that realistically could be delisted. We haven’t addressed key problems like stopping runs of goals or horrific turnovers. Which individuals would you say have improved. Mckercher, FOS has been solid but most have stagnated or regressed.

Teams move the ball way too easily against us and there are brief runs of quality but all too rare and not sustained. Sure injuries and suspensions happen but no players have really stepped up their performances to cover that contribution. Even our elite paid players are inconsistent within games

Two of those wins were extremely lucky against two teams ranked worse than us we still have around 10 blokes that realistically could be delisted. We haven’t addressed key problems like stopping runs of goals or horrific turnovers. Which individuals would you say have improved. Mckercher, FOS has been solid but most have stagnated or regressed.

Teams move the ball way too easily against us and there are brief runs of quality but all too rare and not sustained. Sure injuries and suspensions happen but no players have really stepped up their performances to cover that contribution. Even our elite paid players are inconsistent within games
When you sit at this card game friend, it's best to check your expectations in at reception.

Lucky? We should be so picky.
I thought we'd win 5 games, we're at 4 and a good chance against Richmond.

Lost 4 by <10, drew another. Had injuries, have upside. Interrupted years to Curtis, Duursma, Xerri, Larkey really, George looks good.

Hate to break it to you, but this is where we're at. Coming.

Reckon Erasmus would be a really good get for us regardless of people saying he is slow but not sure he will leave Freo.
Definitely the case much rather Erasmus

The following do not like the hard stuff:

LDU
Powell

McKercher
Scott
Daniel

Sheezel
Stephens
Logue

Duursma

You can't carry this many.

Work out who are the 2-3 whose weapons are worth a bit of softness and trade the rest.

Toss up between LDU & Duursma for the final spot, but we've already seen the best of LDU imo and there is still a chance to harness Duursma's potential.

At least a quarter of our list wouldn’t get a game at any other club except perhaps West Coast. It’s a terrible place to be this deep into a rebuild.

Nah.

Our balance/mix is all wrong with how we are coached to play, but individually most on our list could be turned into solid role players in better teams at the very least.

Nah.

Our balance/mix is all wrong with how we are coached to play, but individually most on our list could be turned into solid role players in better teams at the very least.
Teakle
Payne
Konstanty
Trembath
Daniel
Logue
Tucker
Scott
Corr
Fisher
Goad
Stevens
Bergman
RHJ
CCJ
Maley

None of them are AFL quality players. And I could have named another 5 or so that are borderline (e.g. Ford).

Teakle
Payne
Konstanty
Trembath
Daniel
Logue
Tucker
Scott
Corr
Fisher
Goad
Stevens
Bergman
RHJ
CCJ

None of them are AFL quality players. And I could have named another 5 or so that are borderline (e.g. Ford).

Nah. We don't have a list full of blokes who were rounded up from the pub on a Saturday arvo. The vast majority of those players have looked like an AFL player at one time or another.

7 of those have played games for at least one other club and they currently play in a team totally bereft of cohesion and structure that is plagued by a culture of conditional effort.

2 of those are currently playing their first game of AFL footy today and have both hit the scoreboard in a game we will likely lose by 50+ points. Not sure what else you expect from them at this stage.

1 of those is a developing ruck and aren't exactly notorious for hitting the ground running.

The rest? Yeah maybe, but there's no team in the league with an entire list full of great players. Our bottom handful doesn't account for how utterly shit our performances are.

Nah. We don't have a list full of blokes who were rounded up from the pub on a Saturday arvo. The vast majority of those players have looked like an AFL player at one time or another.

7 of those have played games for at least one other club and they currently play in a team totally bereft of cohesion and structure that is plagued by a culture of conditional effort.

2 of those are currently playing their first game of AFL footy today and have both hit the scoreboard in a game we will likely lose by 50+ points. Not sure what else you expect from them at this stage.

1 of those is a developing ruck and aren't exactly notorious for hitting the ground running.

The rest? Yeah maybe, but there's no team in the league with an entire list full of great players. Our bottom handful doesn't account for how utterly shit our performances are.
It is not about what players have done in the past or what they could turn into. Right now, those players wouldn’t make it into any full strength 22 except West Coast (and I’d add Richmond as well). Being this far down the road in the rebuild and having such a huge chunk that wouldn’t make another 22 in 2025 shows there is A LOT of hard yards still to be done, whether it’s development or list transition.

That's not the point though. We don't have a game plan that clearly attempts to amplify our strengths whilst minimising our weaknesses so it doesn't matter how many different players we churn through because we are never going to end up with an entire list full of AFL quality. I don't doubt that we have a **** ton of hard yards left, but we've been spinning our wheels in this vicious cycle for years.