2025 TV Ratings

• Thread starter Thread starter The_Wookie

It's why you look at the reach for afl games particularly those that are blowouts, coz the running time is so long people switch off and the 'average figure' drops through the floor.
Even the reach is low for a sunday night game though, although it is also an argument that AFL games go on for too long. If you trimmed a few minutes off each quarter, the average ratings would rise considerably.

It's interesting how many free to air games this year have been blowouts. Channel 7 must be cursing. Jonathon Brown made the point the other night thank goodness the cats v hawks game was nice and close, coz it's been rare this year.

It doesn't really matter when it comes to reach, but when using averages for a long running time game that's a blowout, the switch off rate for nuetrals would be huge. It's why for example using averages to compare last year's draw to this year's 41 point deficit wouldn't give an accurate picture of the actual interest in the contest. Reach however would, but unsure what that was last year.

Also it was interesting to see 7 did the Freo v Adelaide game into Melbourne live. I was surprised by this coz they didn't do the West coast v Essendon one on fta on good Friday. Makes me a bit confused as to what the tv deal is for these public holidays, unless there was the good Friday appeal on tv instead, not sure.

I couldn’t imagine the Saints/Freo match rating very highly. Lots of tv viewers would have reached for the remote during that first half.

Thursday #AuSportTV
#WomensOriginNine 927k (BVOD 172k) Reach 2.009m
#AFL Bombres/RoosSeven 455k (BVOD 32k) Reach 1.381m

Friday May 2 #AuSportTV
#AFL Saints/DockersSeven 527k (BVOD 33k) Reach 1.599m
#NRL Roosters/DolphinsNine 528k (BVOD 76k) Reach 1.162m

Saturday, May 3 #AuSportTV
#NRL Knights/SouthsNine 308k (BVOD 36k) Reach 857k
Game was on in the afternoon on a day election coverage dominated

Sunday May 4 #AuSportTVBreakdowns

#NRL
Panthers/Broncos Nine 554k (BVOD 72k) Reach 1.316m
Syd 168k Bris 146k

#AFL Seven 399k (BVOD 33k) Reach 1.280m
Swans/Giants - 58k (7 main Syd only)
Hawks/Tigers - Mel 120k Adl 38k Per 31k Bri N/A

Lions/Suns - 33k (7 mate Bris only)

Data; VOZ, Oztam via @mediaspyorg

Thursday #AuSportTV
#WomensOriginNine 927k (BVOD 172k) Reach 2.009m
#AFL Bombres/RoosSeven 455k (BVOD 32k) Reach 1.381m

Friday May 2 #AuSportTV
#AFL Saints/DockersSeven 527k (BVOD 33k) Reach 1.599m
#NRL Roosters/DolphinsNine 528k (BVOD 76k) Reach 1.162m

Saturday, May 3 #AuSportTV
#NRL Knights/SouthsNine 308k (BVOD 36k) Reach 857k
Game was on in the afternoon on a day election coverage dominated

Sunday May 4 #AuSportTVBreakdowns

#NRL
Panthers/Broncos Nine 554k (BVOD 72k) Reach 1.316m
Syd 168k Bris 146k

#AFL Seven 399k (BVOD 33k) Reach 1.280m
Swans/Giants - 58k (7 main Syd only)
Hawks/Tigers - Mel 120k Adl 38k Per 31k Bri N/A

Lions/Suns - 33k (7 mate Bris only)

Data; VOZ, Oztam via @mediaspyorg

Hi The_Wookie Just thought I would correct your spelling, or more likely your spell checker as this seems to be a constant problem, as I'm sure you wouldn't do it deliberately , it's spelt Bombers.
:moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache: :moustache:

7 not keen to put Lions/Suns on the main channel in Brisbane for a Sunday night game.

Yep terrible promotion of the code in the northern states again by 7, nothing new there. On the other hand women's state of origin on a Thursday night prime time goes on the ch9 main channel into Melbourne and i assume the other southern states. It just shows what happens when you have weak management that don't demand better coverage.

What I find odd is that Ch7 are willing to show the Front Bar on the main channel into QLD in a prime time slot on a Wednesday night, but won’t show the Lions off the back of winning a flag on the main channel. Front Bar is a great show and the Peter Hudson interview was fantastic, but you have to be an AFL fan to appreciate most of the jokes on the show and the guests. It wouldn’t appeal to the very casual northern states AFL fan.

I find it puzzling. I wonder what kind of ratings The Front Bar get into Brisbane and Sydney?

It just goes to show that the AFL has a very long way to go in QLD in terms of tv coverage. Ch7 aren’t willing to put the Lions on the main channel and that’s terrible exposure for the growth of the game. Ch7 are worried about the ratings hit.

If you really want to grow the game, you get as many games on FTA as possible. This stupid backwards fox deal which has locked games behind a paywall is harming the game just as much as 7 being fickle with their northern schedules. You need a thurs, fri, sat arvo, sat night and sun arvo game on 7 FTA. And that's a min. On the channel 7 matter, they need to realise FTA is dying and the AFL should force their hand by making them air every AFL fta game on the main channel. Even if it doesn't involve the lions. Brisbane gets a lot of main channel games on 7, although they should get more, but by showing only lions games on FTA, you're creating a bubble of fans who will only watch their games and nothing else. That's what the old tv schedule used to be like in the early 2000's. You would often see ratings with the Lions exceed 100k or 200k, but the next night, you would have a St Kilda V Bulldogs game rating only 5k or whatever because it would air at midnight or on a secondary channel. This created a perception that Brisbane fans in the early 2000's weren't AFL fans, they were lions fans. And the TV schedule (which restricted lions fans to watch other games) only proved that point to be right. This is why airing Lions or Suns games on Channel 7 isn't enough, you need max visibility so you can get the fans to actually love the game, not just follow the city team.

I was actually surprised it wasn't a demand from the AFL in the new tv deal negotiations, that there be a minimum number of games on the main channel into those markets. Particularly now with fta tv surviving off mostly sport and news and fta ratings dropping.

They definitely took the extra cash on this deal. It's a question of what's better for the sport, extra millions that can be pumped into grassroots, or better promotion and exposure in growth markets. The AFL is big enough to demand main channel coverage as a requirement of the deal from the fta networks, all 3 were fighting over the rights.

It seems poor, short term thinking. You need to normalise the product, particularly in those northern markets, instead of continuing to hide it away. I actually think it's more hidden now than it was in the ch 10 days, nobody watches secondary channels either, they get less than 5 percent of the market share on fta.

I was actually surprised it wasn't a demand from the AFL in the new tv deal negotiations, that there be a minimum number of games on the main channel into those markets. Particularly now with fta tv surviving off mostly sport and news and fta ratings dropping.

They definitely took the extra cash on this deal. It's a question of what's better for the sport, extra millions that can be pumped into grassroots, or better promotion and exposure in growth markets. The AFL is big enough to demand main channel coverage as a requirement of the deal from the fta networks, all 3 were fighting over the rights.

It seems poor, short term thinking. You need to normalise the product, particularly in those northern markets, instead of continuing to hide it away. I actually think it's more hidden now than it was in the ch 10 days, nobody watches secondary channels either, they get less than 5 percent of the market share on fta.
The deal is just another reminder that the AFL doesn't exist to champion the interests of the sport. It exists the champion the interests of itself.

• Thu 8/5 – Dockers/Pies Seven 591k (BVOD 42k) Reach 1.775m
  • Fri 9/5 – Saints/Blues Seven 594k (BVOD 41k) Reach 1.701m
  • Sat 10/5 – Seven 186k (BVOD 11k) Reach 567k
    • Crows/Power (SA only) Suns/Bulldogs (QLD only)
  • Sun 11/5 – Seven 431k (BVOD 19k) Reach 1.306m
    • Cats/Giants (Syd, Mel, Adl) Roos/Lions (Bri)
Round 9 of the 2025 #AFL season was watched by 1.802m on the Seven Network, averaging 451k, average BVOD 28k, ave reach 1.337m. So far this season, a reported 19.095m have watched the AFL season, with national broadcasts averaging 554k on Seven

As predicted the small drop in 7 ratings has moved over to foxtel and kayo.

Fox Footy a 41 percent jump on Thursday nights and 30 percent on Friday nights.

Overall AFL on Kayo is up 25 per cent compared to last year with a 27 percent increase in viewers.

As predicted the small drop in 7 ratings has moved over to foxtel and kayo.

Fox Footy a 41 percent jump on Thursday nights and 30 percent on Friday nights.

Overall AFL on Kayo is up 25 per cent compared to last year with a 27 percent increase in viewers.
What’re the viewership splits between 7 and Kayo on Thursday and Friday so far this year? Does anyone have the numbers and the inclination/ time to present them in a chart or table?
I haven’t watched a moment of Ch7 footy this year (I have a BT aversion), and wondering how many others are like me?

What’re the viewership splits between 7 and Kayo on Thursday and Friday so far this year? Does anyone have the numbers and the inclination/ time to present them in a chart or table?
I haven’t watched a moment of Ch7 footy this year (I have a BT aversion), and wondering how many others are like me?

No idea, off the top of my head 7 would get about double what fox would in the past, but I may be completely wrong.

Obviously this has changed a fair bit due to the migration over to fox with their 100k extra subscribers and own commentary teams.

So maybe now more 60% 7, to 40% fox. Again though just estimating with no real basis.

I genuinely think BT might be kayos best asset.

NRLW absolutely smashed the AFL last night, and they have been beating the AFL all season. Questions has to be asked of the AFL admin, and how they gave away FTA games, which has lead to this decline

A few things here:
  • the NRL w state of origin rates very well, it's only 3 games though and only on free to air.
  • It's on 9 main nationally, the AFL only on 7 main in Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide.
  • the AFL ratings are up 41% on Thursday nights from last year on fox.
  • the gap would be minimal when you add in fox and kayo ratings for the AFL.
  • the AFL game last night had little appeal, everybody including myself expected us to lose by 80 to 100 points and it looked that way in the first quarter, which would have had a high switch off rate.
  • the AFL killed AFL w by expanding too quickly meaning a poor standard got even worse and it's a missed opportunity coz we came up with the concept and the nrl copied.